Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Golf or Similar

• 12-04-2013 3:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭

Hi All, I want to buy a new Golf or something similar as i have a new job that will necessitate mostly Dublin city driving but there will be some country miles too. I've been quoted €20,695 for a new 1.2 5 door, a flat €1000 discount. I want to keep my running costs and total spend each month to a minimum. If I use Volkswagen bank I can buy new for €344 a month with a 10% deposit. Does anyone know of another manufacturer with a competing offer but better? Or can I do better than getting a €1000 discount (no trade-in) by trying other VW dealers? Thanks John

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭Matthewjohn

You should look at the new Seat Leon too its very like the Golf but a bit cheaper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,837 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

New Kia Ceed or Pro'ceed with finance at a lower cost than VW might be an option too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

What apr are Kia doing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭JohnR1968

Will take a look at the other cars too. Didn't have to haggle, just asked for the straight price.

Hmmmm, I actually really like the new Golf.

The 1.2 TSI 100 HP ? and dsg ? adaptive cruise ? oh yeah got to have that!

The 1.2 should be a sweet little motor !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭randy hickey

Ah, but will she take an LPG conversion?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭Yawlboy

colm_mcm wrote: »
    What apr are Kia doing?
    3.9%

I'd guess that at that price it'll be the 85hp model though.

Yawlboy wrote: »
    3.9%

Going by the website it looks like you'd need 10k down, would they finance 90% of the car I wonder?
    Edit. Just read the small print. 50% deposit and max 48 months.

http://www.kia.com/ie/-/media/ie/add-ons/downloads/downloadable-files/new-ci-finance-offers-2013.pdf

Ah, but will she take an LPG conversion?:D

Course she will !

sSig_lol.gif

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Going by the website it looks like you'd need 10k down, would they finance 90% of the car I wonder?
    Edit. Just read the small print. 50% deposit and max 48 months.

http://www.kia.com/ie/-/media/ie/add-ons/downloads/downloadable-files/new-ci-finance-offers-2013.pdf

Hmm that's probably just giving the finance for the most popular model no ?

But 3.9% aint bad, but I'd rather the Golf though I really like the new one, It may not look as good as the ceed on the outside but it's very nice inside !

+ resale value will be good on the Golf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Doubtful you'd get a dsg for that price.

No, just checked, 24,195 Trendline That's pricey for a 1.2 low spec ! :(

And that's not the drive out the door price either ?

And a lower resale value.

OSI wrote: »
    It is a Golf. Just with **** plastics, a different body and a shorter spec sheet.

They've always had better spec. Model for model they are better specced, and arguably more interesting looking.

And after sitting inside one there's little in the difference compared to the mark 7 golf seeing as there was a gulf on the older models (mark 2 Leon especially). Resale isn't great though but then it is cheaper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭George Dalton

Resale is awful on the Seats. It is funny that practically everyone knows that Skoda is owned by VW but not nearly as many people are aware of the link between Seat and VW. We have a Mk2 Leon for sale at the moment and it has led to some interesting conversations, examples below:

Customer: Have ye any diesel Golfs for sale?
    Me: No but we do have that 2011 Leon 1.6TDI
    Customer: Oh God no I wouldn't take one of them yokes if you gave it to me for free

2010 Skoda Octavia 1.6 TDI owner: Well lads, the wife is thinking of changing her car, we find my car great on diesel so thinking of maybe another Octavia, have ye got anything there?
    Me: No Octavias but we do have that 1.6TDI Leon there
    Skoda owner: Ah no I don't think those Seats are a great car

When it sells I don't think we will be trying to get any more of them in...

SEAT -The unironic Skoda,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭JohnR1968

Thanks for the help, I'll take a look at the Seat and see how much it costs etc. Looks great in the ad, need to check it out in the flesh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭D_murph

I drove a 131C reg 1.2L Golf TSI for a day earlier this week as a loaner car while my own was being looked at and it was seriously underpowered. I would even go so far as to say that a 1.25L fiesta could go quicker than it, having owned one before.

It did have a lot of extras though. Aircon, bluetooth and a handy function where either of the front foglights come on automatically by night at the side you steer to on a sharp bend to help you see where you are going. That and the steering wheel had more buttons on it than a tv remote control lol.

Other than this, I would not be interested in one of these cars at the price as it was a dead dog on the road. I heard a quote of €22.000 when the insurance transfer was being discussed on the phone :eek:.

D_murph wrote: »
    I drove a 131C reg 1.2L Golf TSI for a day earlier this week as a loaner car while my own was being looked at and it was seriously underpowered. I would even go so far as to say that a 1.25L fiesta could go quicker than it, having owned one before.

It did have a lot of extras though. Aircon, bluetooth and a handy function where either of the front foglights come on automatically by night at the side you steer to on a sharp bend to help you see where you are going. That and the steering wheel had more buttons on it than a tv remote control lol.

Other than this, I would not be interested in one of these cars at the price as it was a dead dog on the road. I heard a quote of €22.000 when the insurance transfer was being discussed on the phone :eek:.

Imagine what the old non turbo 1.4 would have been like then ? :)

But do you know there are 2 variants of the 1.2 TSI ?

A 84 hp 118 lbs torque 0-100 km/h 11.9 seconds

And a 104 hp 129 lbs torque 0-100 km/h 10.2 seconds

My guess is that you had the 84 hp ?

That's mad I just looked at the Seat website and the Leon can get quiet expensive, 1.6 TDI few extras ended up being 27,000 ? WTF, no way!

Having said that I wouldn't pay over 30K for a 2.0 TDI Golf decent spec either.

Imagine what the old non turbo 1.4 would have been like then ? :)

But do you know there are 2 variants of the 1.2 TSI ?

A 84 hp 118 lbs torque 0-100 km/h 11.9 seconds

And a 104 hp 129 lbs torque 0-100 km/h 10.2 seconds

My guess is that you had the 84 hp ?

According to the cartell website, it was the 85bhp one alright but 11.9 seconds would be wishful thinking IMO. It seemed to be very sluggish and getting the revs up didnt mean more power either. A lovely car otherwise but no power though.

And the new golf is what 300 kg lighter too?

Maybe new tight engine?

5,300+ km on the clock so maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭boreder

I had a 131 1.2TFSi A1 as a loan the other week, and again, it was a gutless engine, even for the smaller car.

My 1.6TDi felt like a rocket when I got back to it :D

boreder wrote: »
    I had a 131 1.2TFSi A1 as a loan the other week, and again, it was a gutless engine, even for the smaller car.

My 1.6TDi felt like a rocket when I got back to it :D

Must have been the 84 hp again ?

The 1.2 TSI 104 HP is .05 second faster to 100 km/h than the 1.6 Diesel which doesn't make sense considering the diesel has 53 or so lbs more torque, unless the diesel is a lot heavier, that would explain the difference. ?

The diesel is woeful, either way they are all too low on power for any useful overtaking or load in the car.

Indeed, it seems like the 140 hp 1.4 TSI would be a much better bet, 8.4 seconds 0-100 isn't bad.

Maybe the 1.2's would be better suited to the Polo ?

I would have thought the extra torque of the diesel would have made it quicker to 100 km/h than the 104 HP TSI, unless they are telling porkies about the HP/Torque of the Diesel ?

0-60 is a bit meaningless to be fair, 40-70 is where its at.

Depends, If you're pulling out from a junction and see a gap and you know the car coming is putting the boot down then 0-60 is pretty relevant.

If you overtake a lot then maybe the 40-70 is more important, maybe slow motorway traffic in the left lane and you want to move to the right lane then the 40-70 is more important.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭boreder

Must have been the 84 hp again ?

The 1.2 TSI 104 HP is .05 second faster to 100 km/h than the 1.6 Diesel which doesn't make sense considering the diesel has 53 or so lbs more torque, unless the diesel is a lot heavier, that would explain the difference. ?

It was the base spec... literally nothing of any note in the car. Amazing the difference a few options make.

Not everyone buys a car to be flying around the place.

I do 900km's a week at 71 MPG... that was my reason for buying the diesel. I stick the cruise control on and leave it at that, so generally speaking, overtaking doesn't concern. Also, its an A1, so 2 adults is the maximum load :D

I find the 105bhp pokey enough, especially if its just me in the car (which it is 99% of the time). I had an S3 before the A1, and while it's obviously not even in the same solar system performance wise, for normal driving around it's perfectly acceptable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭black123

Try a SEAT garage the basic reference model of leon has bluetooth and aircon etc. But the style model has loads of spec. They do 3% and 4.9 on the PCP finance. The Leon was not a consideration until i sat in one you get a lot of bang for your buck. Because i got a good deal i went for the FR version because i love the lights and i wanted to have a bit of fun driving. If price in an issue why not go for the 1.2 style model way cheaper than a golf way more spec just as reliable because they are from the same platform and imo much better looking. Loved the old golf all of them infact but the new one is just bland. Again just give the leon a go might surprise you.