Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Donut gang out in force again in South Kildare

• 10-04-2013 9:33pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,202 ✭✭✭

The Moone-Timolin bypass, old N9, is covered in the mysterious black circles again, happens every few months.
    The link road to the M9 at Balitore also got a seeing too, probably the same night.
    I wonder if they have spotters or do they just take the risk, expensive waste of good rubber if you ask me.

Is there a local spot near you where the same thing goes on or do I live in the donut capital of Ireland ?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

I live in the backside if Galway and this is a daily occurance almost everywhere.

Gives great grip on them tight bends mind, right charitable of them if you ask me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Can think of several points along the N15 around Donegal Town and its By Passes as far as Ballyshannon/Bundoran.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Fiona

Rabidlamb wrote: »
    expensive waste of good rubber if you ask me.

You would never make a drifter :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,262 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Nah it happens all over Ireland, I'd be surprised if i didnt see some black round rings on the back roads in the mornings :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,257 ✭✭✭deandean

I got a laugh out of the ring on the road right in front of the speed camera on the M1(S) around Donore...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Pulsating Star

One morning I came across a guard surveying one at a local T junction on a narrow road. There was a perfect entry, one circle and a clean exit on the T. The guard says " I don't know who it is.....but he's good :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,318 ✭✭✭Miscreant

I live in the backside if Galway and this is a daily occurance almost everywhere.

I have seen them on the M6 near Galway so the "drifters" do it on motorways too!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭thecomedian

Yeah OP I saw those, it often happens on a crossroads about 500yards from where they did them on the link road. I heard them doing it one night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,208 ✭✭✭T-Maxx

When I read the thread title I thought you meant the cops...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 916 ✭✭✭Joe 90

Fiona wrote: »
    You would never make a drifter :p
    In fact, with that attitude he probably wouldn't buy good rubber.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭blastman

Rabidlamb wrote: »
    I wonder if they have spotters or do they just take the risk, expensive waste of good rubber if you ask me.

It's probably not their rubber a lot of the time.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Joe 90 wrote: »
    blastman wrote: »
    It's probably not their rubber a lot of the time.....

Well I know lads that like Kildare as a spot for this, in their own cars with good rubber.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭fg10291

Apparently the gardai turned up at the most recent donut event on the moone timolin bypass, friend of mine arriving home that night came upon the scene and was stopped by the guards , the guard apologised for delaying him, wanted to be sure he wasn't one them, friend said the guard hand a fistful of drivers licences that they had taken off drivers and told them to Come into the station if they wanted to claim them back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Fiona

Joe 90 wrote: »

That's where your wrong.

You would be very stupid to going out messing or on track with ditchfinders on, hence the reason he would never make a drifter, spending a fortune on tyres only to wear them down.