Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New training tyres???

• 10-04-2013 12:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15

Im hoping to crowd source a problem I have
    Ive just gotten a new set of training wheels (ultegra hubs on mavic open pro rims hand built by Humphries) and im having trouble deciding on tyres. Normally I use continental gatorskin's which i love and had zero problems with but im thinking of switching to vittoria rubinio pro's any thoughts? (Im a 100kg rider averaging 400-500km a week)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

I've never used Rubinos, but I am currently using Zaffiro pros on one bike, and Gator Hardshells on another. Way prefer the Zaffiros, the ride quality is miles better. Never punctured on either tire. I'm much lighter though, ~60kg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭Paul Kiernan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,532 ✭✭✭Unregistered.

Attack/Force as a Training Set?! Sure you'd have to replace them in no time, where is the value in that?

Conti list the Attack/Force as more training/less race oriented than the GP4000s, probably the all round tyre of choice for most people.

Conti, unlike say, Schwalbe, don't give a great deal of information about durability but I don't see anything to suggest the Attack/Force are especially short-lived.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,532 ✭✭✭Unregistered.

Conti list the Attack/Force as more training/less race oriented than the GP4000s, probably the all round tyre of choice for most people.

Conti, unlike say, Schwalbe, don't give a great deal of information about durability but I don't see anything to suggest the Attack/Force are especially short-lived.

The GP4000s would be the longer-lasting all-rounder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭Dermot Illogical

I use Rubino Pro and find them very good. Great puncture resistance, and they roll well too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭colm_gti

As a training tyre....Conti GP 4 Season....end thread!

colm_gti wrote: »
    As a training tyre....Conti GP 4 Season....end thread!

Good tyre but, boy, they're pricey. I'd see them more as a good winter tyre than a pure training tyre.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭bcmf

Either the Rubino Pro or Zaffiro if the budget is tight. Great tyres for the money

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Hey lads, what's the difference between the Zaffiro and Rubino?

And what's the difference between the normal and pro versions of those tyres other than one is folding and one is wired?

Never mind, just seen the TPI for each tyre, fierce difference!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 Killiangm

The Grand Prix seem to be getting alot of love. My main priority in a training would be puncture resistance are the gatorskin and Grand Prix comparable in this? With the Grand Prix a better rolling tyre?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,967 ✭✭✭De Bhál

Threads per inch....
    In case ye were wondering. I was.

Just fyi, planet x ireland have the Rubino Pro folding tyres for €22 each at the min, which the cheapest I've seen it anywhere besides planetx uk's website, where it's €20 but you have to either spend more than €60 or pay €10 for delivery.

Also what do people think of rotating tyres? Yes/no? Ive only been cycling seriously a year and the two sets ive gone through by the time the back has squared off the fronts are hardly showing wear

Oooohhhhh.

The UK site has These Vittoria Open Corsa EVO KX Folding Tyres for €23 each, looks a fecking bargain, usually €65 each!

Killiangm wrote: »
    Also what do people think of rotating tyres?

They're generally the best ones.

Swapping the front and the back

Killiangm wrote: »
    Swapping the front and the back

I knew what you meant. :)

I do swap them sometimes. As you say, the back wears quicker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭The Big Lebowsky

Was using conti GP 4000s and wouldn't reccomend them as a training tyre. I suffered too many tread cuts and punctures..
    The Conti GP 4 season is a much more durable tyre...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭bcmf

Seaneh wrote: »
    Oooohhhhh.

The UK site has These Vittoria Open Corsa EVO KX Folding Tyres for €23 each, looks a fecking bargain, usually €65 each!
    And free UK shipping for orders over £20.
    Parcel Motel FTW. :D

bcmf wrote: »
    And free UK shipping for orders over £20.
    Parcel Motel FTW. :D

Oooohhhh yeah, handy! Might just take the plunge!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭Craig06

I have Michelin Pro 4 Service Course tyres on my wheels. Great tyre in the wet and dry.

Lads, using 23mm tyres on rims with an internal width of 17mm, is that a big nono? Getting really conflicting info online...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭Radial

According to Sheldon Brown, not a good idea to swap tyres and put a worn tyre on the front for reasons of safety.

http://sheldonbrown.com/tire-rotation.html

In the event of the front tyre blowing out at speed it's extremely difficult to retain control. Move the front tyre to the rear and put a new tyre on the front. When the rear wears out again simply rotate the front tyre to the rear and replace the front.

All tyres are then used to their max, no waste.