Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Windscreen Repair - Autoglass or Mr Windscreen?

• 10-04-2013 8:21am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭

I've just got a chip in my windscreen - it's small, but it's directly in my field of vision. My ins co have given me the choice of having it repaired by Autoglass or Mr Windscreen - any opinions on their work?

Thanks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Are you with FBD/One Direct ? Do they actually give you the choice, I thought it all depended on what company picks up the phone first when you're transferred from the insurance company ?

I had mine replaced by Mister Windscreen a short while back. Did a grand tidy job I suppose, windscreen is secure with no additional wind noise. Only issue I'd have is that a bit of the exterior trim doesn't fix back perfectly but I suppose I can forgive them for that as it didn't look like it was designed to be removed and added back on again. It's not something I'd notice if it was like that on someone elses car, only because I actually went looking for any 'issues' with the replacement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,208 ✭✭✭T-Maxx

OSI wrote: »
    I've had Autoglass fix a chip in my screen in the past. They wouldn't come into our private, secure, underground car park despite me getting permission from the office security who said it was no issue, so it had to be done on the side of the road. Guy wasn't particularly professional. Most of the equipment fell off, or on to, the car at some point during the procedure, and he spent most of the time talking about his "rocket" A4 TDI, explaining I was wasting my money on a GTI.

Also, worth noting that my insurance company wouldn't cover the repair outside of 9-5 Mon-Fri. Apparently the windscreen repair places charge extra after that, and the insurance company won't pay it.

LOL I had exactly the opposite experience. They did my car at work (secure manned carpark), guys (2 of them) were very prof, as was the job they did. Nothing bad to say at all.

Just shows you how an individual can make/break a company's reputation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

I used Autoglass in the past for chip repairs. I called to them which in hindsight I wouldn't do again. I was given a time and arrived before then. The car wasn't worked on until well after that time and I was hanging around until they were done. No problems with the repairs, although I would let them come to me in future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Ive had both do windscreens for me. No issues with the screens or auto wipers after either of them.
    When I went to wash the car after mr windscreen, I found they had marked the paint a little bit along the rear edge of the bonnet and covered it with alittle black paint.
    When mr windscreen arrived I stressed that auto wiper function etc was critical but he tried to say that they all break after a year or two. I then wouldnt let him do anything until he confirmed that all was working and I confirmed with their office that all was ok before work started.
    Overall, I think autoglass might be a better bet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭coolisin

I've used both and both are fine, Aviva when I rang them up forwarded my call to which ever one came first I guess!!!
    Auto glass replaced the bmw windscreen with a massive scratched one I wasn't happy so complained and they replaced it the following week.
    Had the same guy both times call out, was nice friendly and apologetic over the window having a scratch.
    Mr windscreen replaced one in the Mazda same thing scratched called them back the manager never called me back and I never persued it either so slightly my own fault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Thanks for that, lads. I'm with Aviva/One Direct, she gave me the choice of either Mr Windscreen or Autoglass. Because I have three very small chips close together it may not be possible to repair, which has led to me learning that only insistent people get OEM replacement windscreens, everyone else gets spurious! I'll keep ye posted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Would there be any difference in OEM and spurious ? It's not something I even thought about when getting mine replaced, I thought they'd be all made to the same standards anyway ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭kildarelad

I have had Autoglass do a few cars for me and found them very good Mr Widscreen did the last windscreen for me on a van as my Insurance insisted on them doing it and they wont be doing it again.I would try get Autoglass if you can

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,649 ✭✭✭b318isp

This is an impossible question to answer as it is so dependant on the individuals that turn up.

I have had variable experiences with both, but you can't really judge beforehand - choose based on convenience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭aujopimur

Check that it's Autoglass with the R in the logo, Autoglass ie are chancers, and your insurer may have a payment problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭gambithh

that auto glass chip repair is a waste of money,charged me 55 euro and it looked nothing different.
    of courced when it was done i wa informed that because of they type of chip they couldnt say how effective it could have been

replace the full windshield,