Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

An unfortunate case of mistaken identity

• 09-04-2013 10:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭

I once walked into a record shop many moons ago and saw my friend squatting down looking at the bottom shelf of 7" singles ,i walked over to him and for a joke decided to push him over with my foot ,he rolled over onto his side then onto his back and looked up at me in disbelief ,only it wasnt my friend at all.Any one else had similar experiences?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Clandestine

,i walked over to him and for a joke decided to push him over with my foot ,he rolled over onto his side then onto his back and looked up at me in disbelief
    Friend or not, why would you do that? Thats not much of a joke...

Years ago, my then-girlfriend and I were at something that had a free buffet. I arrived late to it, walked over and kissed her on the back of the head. It was then that she turned around and I saw that it wasn't her at all. Whoever it was had a look of shock on her face and the only thing I could think of blurting out was, "You're not her!" before quickly rushing into the crowd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭Boo2112

Was at work one day when I thought I saw Who I thought was my best friend bend over the mineral fridge. Went over and smacked her as hard as I could across the arse and sent her flying into the fridge, hopped her head off the shelf and knocked some bottles. Turns out it wasn't my friend. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭lost in cork

I was young and foolish not a stand up comedian

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭irish bloke

Was waiting for my girlfriend that I hadn't seen for ages at a train station.
    She ran off the train towards me and started snogging this old guy next to me. I was horrified and so was the guys wife.

Turns out the girlfriend should have went to specsavers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

I regularly will start speaking to my wife while I'm looking at a shelf in a shop, then turn to her and realise I've been asking a stranger "do we need more toothpaste"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Redhairedguy

Years ago. Thought I saw my sister in the local shop; went up behind her and got her in a headlock whilst shouting 'Gotcha now, bitch!' ( We have a very good relationship. :p)

Yeah. Wasn't her. Ran out of that place like the dickens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

not much of a joke...

Yes it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭.Henry Sellers.

I was framed for killing my wife, had to go through a bit of hassle to clear my name. Turned out to be a guy with a mechanical arm, little rascal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

Senna wrote: »
    I regularly will start speaking to my wife while I'm looking at a shelf in a shop, then turn to her and realise I've been asking a stranger "do we need more toothpaste"?

i do that all the time, i turned to a complete stranger last week and said to her 'how are we fixed for nappies'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Pilotdude5

I once got on a bus to Galway when I was meant to be going to Cork.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

Oh.. you and me wouldn't be friends so :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Pandora2

Standing gazing at a vast array of prams whilst awaiting our baby, I dropped my hand to my side grasped his hand and cooed to my Husband what about that navy one there? It's a good price, will we take a closer look.....'I'll have to ask the Wife!' replied the startled man beside me. My lad had wandered off and was checking out the top of the range model that was beyond us!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

1ZRed wrote: »
    Oh.. you and me wouldn't be friends so :(

I used to mix you up with EdenHazard, back in your teenage angst years.

That's about as unfortunate as it gets!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

I was at a wedding with my fiance and popped to the loo. Came back and went up to a guy I thought was him at the bar, grabbed his arse and said "phwooooar!". Cue the bride's sixty-something year old uncle turning around with a look of horror, then a very big grin.

I haven't drunk tequila again since that night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

Next time that happens and you realise it just keep looking at her expectantly and say "Well, do we?!".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭HondaSami

I have done this more than once and proceeded to put shopping in someone else's trolley.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

Was playing gaa in the yard at work one day and had my back turned to the goal; plucked the ball from the clouds; turned on a two pence and rifled it towards goal only to hit the boss on the back of the head nearly knocking him out cold.
    We all ran off as fast as we could.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

I once walked into a record shop many moons ago and saw my friend squatting down looking at the bottom shelf of 7" singles ,i walked over to him and for a joke decided to push him over with my foot ,he rolled over onto his side then onto his back and looked up at me in disbelief ,only it wasnt my friend at all.Any one else had similar experiences?

A few years back I was in the zoo with my GF at the time and after looking at the tiger for awhile I started to move on to the next enclosure. My GF was walking ahead, I put my hand in the arse pocket and grabbed a feel she looked around and it was some strange woman :eek: :eek:

She seen the funny side though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭iCosmopolis

OH half went to buy a top and told me he'd meet me in Dunnes in a few mins. Snook up behind a pregnant woman of similiar height,appearance and dress and gave her a big waaasssssuuup,with open arms, in his heavy accent. She was not that amused. I nearly peed laughing when he eventually found and told me:)
    A colleague spun around on his chair gave an auditor the finger recently, when he thought it was his fellow colleague/friend behind him:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

Boo2112 wrote: »
    Was at work one day when I thought I saw Who I thought was my best friend bend over the mineral fridge. Went over and smacked her as hard as I could across the arse and sent her flying into the fridge, hopped her head off the shelf and knocked some bottles. Turns out it wasn't my friend. :o

Well, I can see how that might possibly put a strain on your relationship all right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭Archeron

I once mixed up a complete stranger with a friend of mine. Worst thing was that I didn't even notice until she put the lotion in the basket.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,911 ✭✭✭aN.Droid

This one time I was on a bus and this guy sitting next to me was eating a bucket of fried chicken. The smell was getting to me and even though I didn't know the guy I just dug in and started stuffing the chicken into my mouth.

It was so delicious.

But.. It wasn't fried chicken.. It was a baby... It was a baby!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Just remember, I was out in a disco with an old girlfriend, it was packed and we were walking around to find friends, we were getting separated so she grabbed my hand and started making her way through the crowd, but it wasn't my hand. So this stranger knowing it was meant to be my hand looked back at me and laughed, so I motioned to continue on, he just went along with it, she made it a good distance around the dance floor before she looked around to see him and nearly had a **** attack. Of course me and him were in stitches laughing, she didn't find it as funny, hence why she is now an ex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,061 ✭✭✭damagegt

I left a shop before my dad when I was a kid with plans to lay down in the back seat and scare him.I got into the car and got right down behind the drivers seat.He got in and didn't say a word,I didn't think anything of it,and started to drive off so I left him drive 200-300m down the road before I popped up and scared the sh!t out of him.Turns out I had gotten into the wrong car and gave a 65 year old man a heart attack as well as my ole man who thought someone had taken me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Jamie2k9

Once in a carpark and didn't know my registration number and came accorss a car the same as mine, same year etc and was getting ready to open the doors when this one comes running saying stop him he's trying to rob my car. We both then started shouting at each other saying its my car now F off etc. I would not let her open the doors so she called the gaurds and said fine do it its my car. Gaurds arrived and assked both of use to open the doors. It wasn't my car and I was mortified the gaurds didn't know what to do but laught, I just walked away and hoped I would never meet this women again. I couldn't even bring myself to say sorry.

The worst day ofl my life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

Jamie2k9 wrote: »
    Once in a carpark and didn't know my registration number and came accorss a car the same as mine, same year etc and was getting ready to open the doors when this one comes running saying stop him he's trying to rob my car. We both then started shouting at each other saying its my car now F off etc. I would not let her open the doors so she called the gaurds and said fine do it its my car. Gaurds arrived and assked both of use to open the doors. It wasn't my car and I was mortified the gaurds didn't know what to do but laught, I just walked away and hoped I would never meet this women again. I couldn't even bring myself to say sorry.

The worst day ofl my life.

None of this happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭Full.Duck

Me and my mates decided to go to Barcelona for a week. On the way to the airport we stopped off at the garage to pick up some brekkie rolls. Me being the gent i am i decide to buy my mate one for driving us to the airport. All goes well, go in get my rolls and walk back out hop in to the car, delighted because i was out first and got shotgun. Jumped in and gave my mate his roll and said 'there ye go sexy, hope you like sausages ye durty beggar'. I wasn't my mates car.

In my second class in the school I'm in in now, I asked the assistant Vietnamese teacher questions thinking she was a grade 12 student for a few minutes. Only when I asked her for the HW did she say she wasn't a student.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 350 ✭✭mickgotsick

In my second class in the school I'm in in now, I asked the assistant Vietnamese teacher questions thinking she was a grade 12 student for a few minutes. Only when I asked her for the HW did she say she wasn't a student.

B+

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

went to a wine bar on a date, not really the kind of place I frequent. I got up from my seat and walked over to a girl and asked her for the food menu, she was wearing black and I presumed she was a waitress. she wasnt, and I think I offended here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

went to a wine bar on a date, not really the kind of place I frequent. I got up from my seat and walked over to a girl and asked her for the food menu, she was wearing black and I presumed she was a waitress. she wasnt, and I think I offended here

Last Christmas we were getting a tree in a big warehouse sort of place full of them, and a man came up to me and really arrogantly pushed the tree into me and said "I'll take that, get it ready for me". I smiled and said that it'd be no bother, so proceeded to I haul it to the back and fuked into into a huge pile of other trees and went about my business :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,076 ✭✭✭Eathrin

At the start of college I was getting a few people's numbers in my course. When I texted one lad to meet him about something I went to the meetup spot but when said person (we'll call him Brian) greeted me, all I said was something along the lines of "Oh, I'm just waiting for Brian".
    This all happened because I didn't know my colleagues very well at the time and I had entered a couple of their names incorrectly :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 971 ✭✭✭Senecio

I used to work for a company with a pretty common uniform (navy pants and a light blue shirt, small unrecognisable logo). I was often mistaken for a shop assistant every time I stopped off at the grocery store on the way home for a few essentials. Eventually I gave up trying to explain to people that I didn't work there and just started giving them random directions.

Customer: Can you tell me where to find the flour and banking powder?
    Me: Aisle 7, half way down on the left

Aisle 7 was toilet paper and cleaning agents

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Apanachi

it wasn't me but my husband's grandfather, he was walking down the street and met an aquaintance he hadn't seen in years, he stops and says "hey, long time no see" (or something to that effect anyway), so the two of them are delighted to have met again, have a great chat for bout 10/15 minutes, until the Hubby's granddad asks yer man how's Mary* keeping, the other guy was baffled (who the feck is Mary?) the granddad said, "your wife, silly", to which the other guy explained that his wife was called Jacinta*, turns out that both of them had thought the other one was someone else, a case of mutual mistaken identity

*I have no idea what the real names used were....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭Problem123456

Senecio wrote: »
    I used to work for a company with a pretty common uniform (navy pants and a light blue shirt, small unrecognisable logo). I was often mistaken for a shop assistant every time I stopped off at the grocery store on the way home for a few essentials. Eventually I gave up trying to explain to people that I didn't work there and just started giving them random directions.

Customer: Can you tell me where to find the flour and banking powder?
    Me: Aisle 7, half way down on the left

Aisle 7 was toilet paper and cleaning agents
    Oh you devil

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭ado100

I was in a supermarket recently and this complete stranger turned around and asked "do we need more toothpaste?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭StewartGriffin

I was framed for killing my wife, had to go through a bit of hassle to clear my name. Turned out to be a guy with a mechanical arm, little rascal.

You too eh? Happens to the best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,107 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

A few of us were in the pool swimming a good few years ago now, one of my mates was up against the wall and he made a dive for what he thought was me to pull down my shorts, it was some randon bloke who was just doing lengths. It must have been some shock for him to have some fella dive at him and pull his shorts down. I nearly drowned laughing i was in the deep end and couldnt move i was laughing so much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Kev_2012

I was working in Dixons about 10 years ago and we used to have blue jumpers with large red writing saying "DIXONS" as clear as day on the back.

On my lunch one day, I was walking up the stairs in HMV and a woman behind me ask me could I tell her where she'd find U2's greatest hits. If I was a c*nt I could have went to town on her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭BizzyC

I set my brother up once when we were kids in a pool.

We were playing marco polo, he was trying to find me when a random French guy entered the pool.
    I hid behind him and drew my brother in.

The guy got a shock when this blindfolded 12 year old jumped on him for no reason shouting "MARCO".

I had a highly developed and evil sense of humour for a 10 year old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

Pilotdude5 wrote: »
    I once got on a bus to Galway when I was meant to be going to Cork.

How far did you get before realising the error of your ways?

Ive got two of these storys,
    one time I was meeting the missus at the Luas stop at Stephens green.
    I came up to the Luas stop and she was getting tickets/change so I came up behind her and gave her a bear hug.
    Needless to say it was some other chick.
    Absolute morto.
    To add to the embarrassment my missus was looking at me from about 3 meters away laughing.
    At least the victim could see she looked like my missus because she sat at the window right beside the ticket machine while we got tickets!

The other one happened to my mates at the National aquatic center a few years back.
    A few friends went there for a bit of craic.
    One of the lads decided to "drown" one of the girls so he swam underneath her and grabed her by the legs and pulled her under for a bit.
    Turns out it was a 10 year old boy and you guessed it he went ballistic.
    His ma started freaking out and they left!

would of loved to have seen that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

I was once walking down the main street of Cavan. I had never been there before and had just arrived to do a few days work. Next thing a young lady slapped me across the face, called me all manner of obscenities and threatened to have me killed. Apparently I got her sister pregnant! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭Bummer1234

Was in Asda in Enniskillen and heard this fella with sellotape over my head about to stick it to my head...I turn around to him,He then says..

"Ohh sorry...Thought you were my friend"...

He walked away ashamed..It looked like he wanted to jump into a huge hole if it opened up in the ground,...I found the funny side of it and laughed it off :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭unknowngirl!!

I haven't but I think this case is hilarious :)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zfdi_PWV-ZY

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭S28382

Myself and the girlfriend went into Mcdonalds i went to the counter she went to get a table as i was ordering another couple had come in and the bloke stood behind me with his girlfriend sitting directly across from him.... my GF came up from behind him grabbed him by the ass and kissed him on the cheek and told him she had got a table.....i turned around and she seen me looked at the bloke and went as red as her hair, she ran back to the table with her face glowing from embarrassment. I never laughed so hard in my life and while we were sitting having our food the other guys GF was staring my missus out of it i dont think any of them enjoyed their meal. Ah it was class. :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭sfwcork

S28382 wrote: »
    Myself and the girlfriend went into Mcdonalds i went to the counter she went to get a table as i was ordering another couple had come in and the bloke stood behind me with his girlfriend sitting directly across from him.... my GF came up from behind him grabbed him by the ass and kissed him on the cheek and told him she had got a table.....i turned around and she seen me looked at the bloke and went as red as her hair, she ran back to the table with her face glowing from embarrassment. I never laughed so hard in my life and while we were sitting having our food the other guys GF was staring my missus out of it i dont think any of them enjoyed their meal. Ah it was class. :D

best day Ever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

My uncle often tells me a story of when he was walking out of college one evening and saw what he thought was his then-girlfriend walking ahead. He snuck up behind her, lifted her up so that he was carrying over his shoulder and walked on a bit like that before putting her down again. Her dress was cocked up in the air for all to see underneath. It wasn't her at all.

He went on his merry way pretending it never happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭rain on

I lived in one of those houses that are divided up into flats in Dublin before, was on the payphone in the hall one day when a girl came out of one of the flats and patted me on the arse. I am a girl as well so I don't know who she thought I was.