Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish-isms

• 09-04-2013 3:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭

IRELAND ......... The only place where........
    • When you were young, you went to bed when Glenroe was over,
    • If you die from alcohol poisoning, you're considered a lightweight,
    • '**** off' means 'Are you serious?', ... ...
    • The person that you insult most is probably your best friend,
    • Saying 'I will yea' means that you definitely won't,
    • '**** it, its grand' means that you couldn't be bother finish it properly,
    • 'Hes fond of a drink' means he suffers from severe life-threatening alcoholism,
    • Saying you're going for a drink means you might not be seen again for 3 days,
    • Crisps are called 'Taytos' and fizzy drinks are called 'minerals',
    • 'For the craic' is the best reason for doing anything,
    • The best cure for a hangover is more drink,
    • Nobody can go a day without saying 'Jaysus',
    • 'Meeting' has a double meaning,
    • Tea is the solution to every problem,
    • And water is the solution to every GAA injury,
    • 'I got stuck behind a tractor' is a perfectly valid reason for being late,
    • We eat Tayto sambos for lunch, and ham sandwiches on the way to Croke Park,
    • You can insert the name of a gardening tool into any sentence and it still makes sense, e.g. 'I had a rake of drink last night' or 'I'll be out in a minute, I'm just shoveling down the dinner',
    • GAA is considered religion,
    • Its perfectly acceptable to call your mother 'mammy' even though you are a fully grown adult,
    • Saying 'Now we're sucking diesel' means that you are happy with the outcome of the situation,
    • Drinking 'tae' is everyone's favourite past time,
    • You're scared of the wooden spoon,
    • The word 'like' goes in every sentence,
    • You can say 'Any craic' to a garda and you won't get arrested.

Any More?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

There was a huge thread about it before. Then the Journal robbed all our quotes and made their own list out of them... bastards!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭Welruc

7ofBrian wrote: »

• 'Hes fond of a drink' means he suffers from severe life-threatening alcoholism,

:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

I don't tend to open these sort of e-mails OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

'Meeting' has a double meaning,
    • You can insert the name of a gardening tool into any sentence and it still makes sense, e.g. 'I had a rake of drink last night' or 'I'll be out in a minute, I'm just shoveling down the dinner',
    • Its perfectly acceptable to call your mother 'mammy' even though you are a fully grown adult,
    • Saying 'Now we're sucking diesel' means that you are happy with the outcome of the situation,

Any More?

I know the rest, but what does that mean?

Lars1916 wrote: »
    I know the rest, but what does that mean?
    Kissing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

It's that yoke in the press. An English person would not know what you said.

Or in school, "get your copies out of the press". Just wouldn't work in any other English speaking country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭PingO_O

"Yeah ill be there in 10 minutes" :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

PingO_O wrote: »
    "Yeah ill be there in 10 minutes" :rolleyes:

Like in 'the bus will be here in a minute'? Or 'the place is just a minute walk down the road'?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Thats grand so... said just as NK sends nukes our way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

An Irish conversation:
    Person 1: Well

Person 2: Well

Person 1: Alright?

Person 2: Alright?

Both nod their heads and move on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭hoodwinked

"eat your poppies, there are starving children in africa"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭PingO_O

Lars1916 wrote: »
    Like in 'the bus will be here in a minute'? Or 'the place is just a minute walk down the road'?

Yeh, then you call them back in an hour and they're hammered and haven't even left yet

An Irish conversation:
    Person 1: Well

Person 2: Well

Person 1: Alright?

Person 2: Alright?

Both nod their heads and move on.

Grand...

smash wrote: »
    Grand...

..... Not a bother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭Falthyron

'I'm on my way', means 'I have not left the house yet'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

smash wrote: »
    Grand...
    ..... Not a bother.

Whist, the pair of ye, I'm listenin' to the deaths!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭MiseryMary

Any More?

Can I hav a fag!!! love?= ( can i have a cigarette please?)

What yu lookin at ?! =( why are you staring at me?)

fecking pigs!=( ****ing Garda/cop )

look out for the shades ! =( look out for the Garda/cop=pigs)

you handicap!!!=( your a retard)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 754 ✭✭✭Auntie Psychotic

Ending a phone call

"Ok, yeah, alright so bye bye bye bye bye bye bye"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭giant_midget

Falthyron wrote: »
    'I'm on my way', means 'I have not left the house yet'.

haha i'm really guilty of this!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

IRELAND CORK ......... The only place where........

fyp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭Rastadoyle

living with your ma into your thirties

Chucken wrote: »
    Whist, the pair of ye, I'm listenin' to the deaths!

Do we need to pass ourselves?

Ja know what I mean??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 983 ✭✭✭CiaranK

Saying 'Come here to me' when the person is standing next to you.

Or boiled 7 up being the cure to any illness