Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A car dealer who doesn't want to sell??

• 08-04-2013 12:32am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭

Hey guys hope someone can give an opinion on this. It's a weird situation really. Basically I've been looking for a new car for a while and I went to view one and really liked it, the problem is the dealer seems reluctant to part with the car for some strange reason..

I did a history check on it and it says the dealer is an owner? It doesn't really make sense to me. I got a lift out to view the car off a mate so he arranged to come view my car and see what he could give me off for trade in, but he never showed up.

When i called the garage he wasn't there someone else answered and didnt know a thing about it. He then left me a voicemail days later asking me to get back to him. So I called him up and he says he's sorry but he was away and didn't get a chance to view my car before he went and that he'd forgotten to get in touch with me to say he couldn't make it and then he says someone else came in while he was away and was dealing with one of the other guys there and is is trying to buy the car on finance so he has to give him the opportunity to buy the car before me! (can't get my head around that one)

Now this is goin on a week. Finance can be done in one hour... Also I told him i'd be a cash buyer so I'm not sure why he would be waiting around? Anyway think I'm just gonna forget about it and keep looking because something about the whole thing seems fishy. Every other dealer I've been to has been practically stalking me to buy their car after I've been out to see it! This really is a turn up for the books I've never had someone not want to sell me a car!!:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

Walk away. It could be screwed in one way or another and he is buying time until it gets "fixed".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

I've seen this happen to somebody I know recently too, same situation - cash buyer, ready to go, dealer wouldn't even return calls... I think he had the sale agreed to somebody else, but there was a delay with the finance. That's no excuse for ignoring calls though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,611 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Walk away.
    If you buy the car and there's a problem with it, imagine what he'll be like when you want him to sort it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

Plenty more fish in the sea and all that. If a dealer doesnt want your business there are plenty more out there who will. Not worth wasting your time.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

blade1 wrote: »
    Walk away.
    If you buy the car and there's a problem with it, imagine what he'll be like when you want him to sort it.

yeah, fcuk him........end of.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Feck him, give your love to some other dealer. Plenty will deal with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Lads, the question isn't whether to buy the car but rather why the dealer won't sell it to the OP!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,611 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Anan1 wrote: »
    Lads, the question isn't whether to buy the car but rather why the dealer won't sell it to the OP!

We don't know!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

Anan1 wrote: »

and the answer is that the dealer's a muppet and not worth the hassle!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 990 ✭✭✭daveob007

something not right there.its either in need of repair as said earlier or he is trying to get best price,either way walk away and when you get something else drive it into his place and give the 2 finger salute,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭George Dalton

If he is trying to arrange finance then he may be getting commission on the deal which may explain his attitude.

Still doesn't excuse his attitude though....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭Pure Mule

The dealer will probably get commission on the finance arrangement so he wins both ways - profit on the car + commission

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 990 ✭✭✭daveob007

or maybe he still owes money on the car and cant sell it,if he does and stops paying you can have the car repossessed feck him either way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭seanwhite20

Thanks for the replies lads. Don't worry I'm defo not touching this yoke I actually find the whole thing amusing it's the complete opposite of what I've experienced with any other car dealer! The theory about doing enough to mask a big problem could be right because it does seem like he's buying himself more time! Going to look at a few more this week so fingers crossed I'll have a new car by the weekend!