Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Playing Golf Alone

• 07-04-2013 10:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭

Is it considered wierd to play golf alone? I'm fairly new to the sport and wouldn't feel at all comfortable inflicting my poor skills on somebody I don't know and none of my friend's play.

I work shift work and like the idea of finishing a night shift and teeing off on my own around 8am. As I said I'm awful but frustrated not getting to play much and reckon I could improve this way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭Edser

Defintely not weird. If you're lucky enough to get out on a quiet morning go for it!!

And your game should improve rapidly. You could also look at the driving range and/or pitch & putt courses to work on your drive, short game. etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 201 ✭✭EvanCornwallis

No, not at all.

Get out after your hard nights work and enjoy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭bluebottle102

I would go out and play on my own quite a bit. I find it a good idea in the evenings to play a few holes maybe playing 2 balls. And if u hit a bad shot you can hit again with no pressure of holding anyone up!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭LinksLad

Probably no department of your game will ever improve whilst playing in groups. Alone on the course, range or elsewhere for sorting it all out.

Go for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭big_drive

I often play on my own. Would say about 40% of the time. I'd play on average 3/4 times a week. Usually 2 comps on Saturday & Sunday. And try play midweek if I can for practice, that's usually the game on my own. In mid summer with good weather I might manage 2 games midweek.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭Creasy_bear

I prefer playing on my own than playing with others. No one to hold me up. I worked nights yrs ago and did exactly what you're on about - go out after the shift. But I found I only got better when playing with/watching good players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭John Divney

I love it. Especially now with cheap weekday deals on the better courses, if you can get out for a few hours, excellent.

Just you and your 9 swing thoughts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

big_drive wrote: »
    I often play on my own. Would say about 40% of the time. I'd play on average 3/4 times a week. Usually 2 comps on Saturday & Sunday. And try play midweek if I can for practice, that's usually the game on my own. In mid summer with good weather I might manage 2 games midweek.

I play a good bit on my own, work times, family etc. It is faster too.
    But it does not suit everybody as some people need people all the time. There is a personality thing to it for some. Also some people need to practice and would play in anything any time of the year, others don't and are seasonal golfers. 10 - 20 % of the time you end up playing with someone. Great way to meet all sorts.

If you are playing alone, there is a bit of skill, well a bit of cop on needed. You need to know the club pattern , good days bad days to go. Talk to the pro is a good way. Also some days (he will help) start at 10 or 6 or 3.

Also knowing how to stay out of the way, where other groups are on the course is not a bad idea (for any golfer) - people above are mentioning practice, true but it is sort of sac(golfing)rilegious for a one ball to ever hold up a group if he is not held up.

I love playing all sorts of golf and I love golf - so if I have time to play, I can't be ringing around. I just go. I've been invited to America , Europe , ended up having meals after ,gifts . Amazing the people you can meet on a golf course , if you want.

Golf is one of the most spectacular peacefull games in the world , I think there is something amazing, to see a view or have the place to yourself - just you. But company is great too.

Worth a try, but not for all. Is for me, sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭NapoleonInRags

I play a good bit on my own, work times, family etc. It is faster too.
    But it does not suit everybody as some people need people all the time. There is a personality thing to it for some. Also some people need to practice and would play in anything any time of the year, others don't and are seasonal golfers. 10 - 20 % of the time you end up playing with someone. Great way to meet all sorts.

If you are playing alone, there is a bit of skill, well a bit of cop on needed. You need to know the club pattern , good days bad days to go. Talk to the pro is a good way. Also some days (he will help) start at 10 or 6 or 3.

Also knowing how to stay out of the way, where other groups are on the course is not a bad idea (for any golfer) - people above are mentioning practice, true but it is sort of sac(golfing)rilegious for a one ball to ever hold up a group if he is not held up.

I love playing all sorts of golf and I love golf - so if I have time to play, I can't be ringing around. I just go. I've been invited to America , Europe , ended up having meals after ,gifts . Amazing the people you can meet on a golf course , if you want.

Golf is one of the most spectacular peacefull games in the world , I think there is something amazing, to see a view or have the place to yourself - just you. But company is great too.

Worth a try, but not for all. Is for me, sometimes.

Great post. Luckily I didn't bring my clubs with me to work this moring, because I'd be gone after reading that!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Kace

Some additional thoughts on this topic here from Boardsies a while back.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=70929509

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭talla10

Cheers for all the replies I'll definitely be heading out soon so, hopefully with some good weather soon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭Freemount09

I've gotten all of my hole in ones when I've played on my own !!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭Daithio12

That unlucky, shame they don't count.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭For Paws

Great post FixdePitchmark, reminds me of 2 quite different days.

Day 1. Was due to play a competition at a course I hadn't been to in years, so rambled in one morning.
    Had intended to play 2 balls & just get the layout sorted / make a few notes etc, but (Oh fcuk) there's this guy at the 1st tee smiling at me. He goes 'are you on your own' and I go (sigh) 'sure grand, let's go so'.
    Best decision I ever made, lovely guy, interesting history, the round flew by and he even gave me a few really good tips about managing the course.

Day 2. Different course, different guy. 4 hours of torture as he explained the game to me. How I didn't kill him I'll never know. Ran off 18th green to car shouting something about an emergency over my shoulder.

Playing on yer own, are ye ?.

Beware the lone golfer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

For Paws wrote: »
    Great post FixdePitchmark, reminds me of 2 quite different days.

Day 1. Was due to play a competition at a course I hadn't been to in years, so rambled in one morning.
    Had intended to play 2 balls & just get the layout sorted / make a few notes etc, but (Oh fcuk) there's this guy at the 1st tee smiling at me. He goes 'are you on your own' and I go (sigh) 'sure grand, let's go so'.
    Best decision I ever made, lovely guy, interesting history, the round flew by and he even gave me a few really good tips about managing the course.

Day 2. Different course, different guy. 4 hours of torture as he explained the game to me. How I didn't kill him I'll never know. Ran off 18th green to car shouting something about an emergency over my shoulder.

Playing on yer own, are ye ?.

Beware the lone golfer.

Lol - not always perfect - you get an odd- ball every 1 in 10. But hey I'm a bit mad meself.

That bloke you ran away from was me. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭For Paws

Lol - not always perfect - you get an odd- ball every 1 in 10. But hey I'm a bit mad meself.

That bloke you ran away from was me. :P

No way. He never fixed his pitch marks. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Ditto!
    Had 2 without another soul to witness them.
    First one I stood on the tee for 10 mins waiting for someone, anyone to appear...to no avail :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭Ilik Urgee

You save the nearest the pins for the comps is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭Joeyjoejoe43

GreeBo wrote: »
    Ditto!
    First one I stood on the tee for 10 mins waiting for someone, anyone to appear...to no avail :(

*Cough* Bullsh!t! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭scubapro

Ditto!

They were all being held up by the 4 ball behind:D

Is there any worse fate for a golfer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Topper Harley

Great post. Luckily I didn't bring my clubs with me to work this moring, because I'd be gone after reading that!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭Freemount09

Ditto!

Ha unlucky. I was only Bu11****tin but I did come close once and was actually glad it didn't go in cause I was on my own. :p
    Ilik Urgee wrote: »
    You save the nearest the pins for the comps is it?

No I was going for a hole in one there too, but I only 99% 'pured' it !! Its always good to get out the measuring tape !! Must remember to take my own one out of my bedside locker and put it in my golf bag !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭Ilik Urgee

Ha unlucky. I was only Bu11****tin but I did come close once and was actually glad it didn't go in cause I was on my own. :p

No I was going for a hole in one there too, but I only 99% 'pured' it !! Its always good to get out the measuring tape !! Must remember to take my own one out of my bedside locker and put it in my golf bag !

There's no need, I have my own;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭MungoMan

I used to play alone quite a bit when i was starting out.

To be honest, I always felt a bit odd playing alone, especially when meeting other people who were playing in groups.

I always play better when playing with others, its almost as if I'm ashamed to hit a bad shot, so i dont force it as much, if that makes sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Topper Harley

I play alone frequently enough since I joined a club very nearby where I live. Although I only play alone when it's fairly quiet and I don't intend to play 18 holes. I usually end up playing more holes than I intended but have only ever ended up playing all 18 alone twice.

I find it very useful for practice as you can hit your normal shot and then try shots you wouldn't usually play and compare them. You can really concentrate on what you're doing and analyse it thoroughly without being distracted by playing partners or worrying about holding up partners or groups behind. I also find it easier to use my Golfshot app to measure any/all shots if I wish so that I have a good understanding of my distances. Doing this take time and concentration. So many times I've hit a massive drive (for me) and meant to use the GPS to measure it only to reach my ball and realise I forgot to as I was too busy chatting while leaving the tee box. :rolleyes:

Today, for example, I played 9 holes (set out to play 3-6) and hit my driver and 3 wood of every tee to compare them. I got a lot of information out of it and also made some improvements and I really doubt I would have managed this while playing alongside someone. Now I'm better prepared my my next 'proper' round in a group. :)