Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Respecting other cultures

• 07-04-2013 7:59pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

Are we always obliged to accept and respect every aspect of another culture? I ask because I've been asked a few times by a few different people if I would be interested in attending a bullfight here in Spain. When I declined, there seemed to be some surprise and one guy said, "why wouldn't you go? It's part of the culture." To me, bullfighting is not a particularly nice aspect of Spanish culture though, and it's not something I agree with at all, and yet I did find myself being somewhat guilted by other people, as if I was being disrespectful to the culture of the country I'm pretty much a guest in. But, should we always just stay quiet and get on with it? Or are cultures open to criticism and irreverence?

For me, I don't think anyone is obliged to blindly respect everything about another culture simply because it's different. Surely part of the travelling experience and learning about other cultures is also realizing that not every aspect of every culture is particularly nice, including our own?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭strandroad

Nothing wrong with abstaining from some cultural activities if they violate human rights or animal welfare IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Are we always obliged to accept and respect every aspect of another culture?

No.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 713 ✭✭✭WayneMolloy

I wouldnt recommend the bullfighting, its an unsettling experience - especially if the crowd are rowdy and baying for the poor beasts blood. It will leave you feeling sombre for days after the event.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

mhge wrote: »
    Nothing wrong with abstaining from some cultural activities if they violate human rights or animal welfare IMO.

Give us a cultural activity that violates human rights ?

mattjack wrote: »

Stoning a woman for commiting adultery.

How about the popular Kazakhstan hobby of rape?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 22 jim_beam

Are we always obliged to accept and respect every aspect of another culture? I ask because I've been asked a few times by a few different people if I would be interested in attending a bullfight here in Spain. When I declined, there seemed to be some surprise and one guy said, "why wouldn't you go? It's part of the culture." To me, bullfighting is not a particularly nice aspect of Spanish culture though, and it's not something I agree with at all, and yet I did find myself being somewhat guilted by other people, as if I was being disrespectful to the culture of the country I'm pretty much a guest in. But, should we always just stay quiet and get on with it? Or are cultures open to criticism and irreverence?

For me, I don't think anyone is obliged to blindly respect everything about another culture simply because it's different. Surely part of the travelling experience and learning about other cultures is also realizing that not every aspect of every culture is particularly nice, including our own?

only if its non white ( excluding travellers of course ) , non western , non christian

ivana bacik and vincent browne told me that last nite and who am i to question by enlightened betters

• Closed Accounts Posts: 683 ✭✭✭starlings

To me, bullfighting is not a particularly nice aspect of Spanish culture though, and it's not something I agree with at all, and yet I did find myself being somewhat guilted by other people, as if I was being disrespectful to the culture of the country I'm pretty much a guest in. But, should we always just stay quiet and get on with it? Or are cultures open to criticism and irreverence?

I don't think anything is beyond criticism and irreverence, but members of a particular culture might not be open to hearing it, so it sounds like you played it very well by declining politely and sidestepping an argument. Olé!

Stoning a woman for commiting adultery.
    How about the popular Kazakhstan hobby of rape?

Mr Bear I do believe you jest , Wayne however ... Lord knows.

jim_beam wrote: »
    only if its non white ( excluding travellers of course ) , non western , non christian

ivana bacik and vincent browne told me that last nite and who am i to question by enlightened betters

Do us a favour and show us where either of those two ever said anything like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Genital mutilation of baby boys and girls?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭Benny_Cake

Sounds as if you handled that pretty well, personally, I find bullfighting abhorrent. The only issue might be if you proceeded to lecture Spanish people on the evils of bullfighting, which would probably be rude and counter-productive,not least because many of them would agree with you. You didn't, nicely done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

I'd go to a bullfight if they took the red-cape and sword off the little piroetting gimp, locked all the exits out of the ring and left him in there on his own with the bull. Best man/bull gets to leave. Doubt it would be quite so popular with lads who like tight trousers and funny hats, but the public/bulls would have a blast.

Ole! Jasus,:eek: did ye see where it stuck its horn? Never knew one could go up so far. That has to hurt. Ole!

I'd go to a bullfight if they took the red-cape and sword off the little piroetting gimp, locked all the exits out of the ring and left him in there on his own with the bull. Best man/bull gets to leave. Doubt it would be quite so popular with lads who like tight trousers and funny hats, but the public/bulls would have a blast.

Ole! Jasus,:eek: did ye see where it stuck its horn? Never knew one could go up so far. That has to hurt. Ole!

A fighting bull named "Mouse", which became one of the most popular and most feared beasts in Spanish town festivals after he killed three people, has died.

El País said the 12-year-old black-and-white bull, which weighed 550kg, died on Sunday on a ranch in the eastern town of Sueca.
    Owner Gregorio de Jesus told the newspaper he planned to stuff the beast and put him on display at the ranch.

The bull, known as Raton (mouse in Spanish), was a leading attraction in bull-running events during summer festivals because of his lethal charges.

Town halls were reported to have paid up to $18,000 to have him in their festivals. Some 3,000 people turned out for his final run before he was retired in September 2011.
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2013/mar/25/mouse-popular-fighting-bull-dies

Genital mutilation of baby boys and girls?

Horrific behaviour , same as Waynes example .
    In the context of the OPs first post can you really going see yourself ever having to experience/see this behaviour from cultural point of view.

I cant honestly ever see myself in a country that would stone another human being , likewise I doubt I'll ever be near a situation where a child is mutilated.

Mr Bear I do believe you jest , Wayne however ... Lord knows.

I was not jesting - unfortunately. It is an aspect of some cultures that I find abhorrent.

In the context of the OPs first post can you really going see yourself ever having to experience/see this behaviour from cultural point of view.

Nope. If I was asked to attend a bull-torturing spectacle I'd make it very clear that I find it barbaric and if they had a problem with that then fuck 'em.
    I cant honestly ever see myself in a country that would stone another human being , likewise I doubt I'll ever be near a situation where a child is mutilated.

Me neither but it doesn't mean we can't condemn it. I also think getting babies' ears pierced is unnecessarily cruel and that's a common practice here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Honour Killings.

Nope. If I was asked to attend a bull-torturing spectacle I'd make it very clear that I find it barbaric and if they had a problem with that then fuck 'em.

Me neither but it doesn't mean we can't condemn it. I also think getting babies ears pierced is unnecessarily cruel and that's a common practice here.

Im agreeing with you , bull torturing.. very apt way to describe it .

• I don't see why you'd have to go to a bullfight. Lots of Spanish people don't. Not approving of one aspect of the culture doesn't mean you don't respect it as a whole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

I think Spain is pretty divided over bull fighting though. It seems, like all things here, political and also generational. The nationalistic right-wing love it, young left-wingers hate it, it seems so it's a pretty contentious topic even within the country. If someone I know who likes it asks me my opinion on it, I tell them honestly. I believe bull-fighting is barbaric and I'm not going to hide my feelings about it (if asked) I'll be polite about it, of course. If it offends them, then so be it. Tbh, I've found more who hate it than like it but that might just be the kind of people I know or perhaps it's less popular than it once was?

But I get what you're saying. I suppose on the topic above I'd speak freely about it as many people hate it and I don't think my view is controversial or offensive because it's already been so widely debated.

I've commented on other aspects of Spanish culture to the Spanish but I've learned my lesson. I commented one day to my students that I thought Spain was quite a sexist culture still and gave examples (we were discussing quotas). It was 3 men in the class and they were highly offended. One asked me how I'd feel if they called Irish people drunks and I said I'd probably agree with them! I also explained that I've lived in their country for 3 and a half years, so perhaps I am in a position to have some insight and can see the wood for the trees having lived elsewhere and being in a position to compare (unlike the 3 of them). In the end I had to apologise and tbh, I prefer to just shut up now. People don't like foreigners criticising their culture ime, so I don't (to their faces) for a quiet life.

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Honour Killings.

In the context of OP's first is it likely you are going to be near / or be asked to participate.

My understanding is that the OP is asking is it acceptable to refuse to attend / experience another countries cultural event.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

I don't see why you'd have to go to a bullfight. Lots of Spanish people don't. Not approving of one aspect of the culture doesn't mean you don't respect it as a whole.

I'm not going to, it was just that a couple of the reactions I got when I said I wasn't going got me thinking about the attitude that some people have about criticizing other cultures, like it's somehow disrespectful to openly disagree with a cultural practice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 742 ✭✭✭mayotom

Nodin wrote: »

Quote:

A fighting bull named "Mouse", which became one of the most popular and most feared beasts in Spanish town festivals after he killed three people, has died.

El País said the 12-year-old black-and-white bull, which weighed 550kg, died on Sunday on a ranch in the eastern town of Sueca.
    Owner Gregorio de Jesus told the newspaper he planned to stuff the beast and put him on display at the ranch.

The bull, known as Raton (mouse in Spanish), was a leading attraction in bull-running events during summer festivals because of his lethal charges.

Town halls were reported to have paid up to $18,000 to have him in their festivals. Some 3,000 people turned out for his final run before he was retired in September 2011.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2013/mar/25/mouse-popular-fighting-bull-dies

RIP Raton, Met him at San Fermin a few years ago

• I think Spain is pretty divided over bull fighting though. It seems, like all things here, political and also generational. The nationalistic right-wing love it, young left-wingers hate it, it seems so it's a pretty contentious topic even within the country. If someone I know who likes it asks me my opinion on it, I tell them honestly. I believe bull-fighting is barbaric and I'm not going to hide my feelings about it (if asked) I'll be polite about it, of course. If it offends them, then so be it. Tbh, I've found more who hate it than like it but that might just be the kind of people I know or perhaps it's less popular than it once was?

But I get what you're saying. I suppose on the topic above I'd speak freely about it as many people hate it and I don't think my view is controversial or offensive because it's already been so widely debated.

I've commented on other aspects of Spanish culture to the Spanish but I've learned my lesson. I commented one day to my students that I thought Spain was quite a sexist culture still and gave examples (we were discussing quotas). It was 3 men in the class and they were highly offended. One asked me how I'd feel if they called Irish people drunks and I said I'd probably agree with them! I also explained that I've lived in their country for 3 and a half years, so perhaps I am in a position to have some insight and can see the wood for the trees having lived elsewhere and being in a position to compare (unlike the 3 of them). In the end I had to apologise and tbh, I prefer to just shut up now. People don't like foreigners criticising their culture ime, so I don't (to their faces) for a quiet life.

This is the thing. The Spanish (I know I'm generalising) cannot stand anyone criticising their culture. They can give it out but they can't take it. They have no problem telling me that we're all drunks or that Irish food is crap, but if I mention anything remotely negative, they go mental. That's why I avoid the whole bullfight discussion, or any other discussion about Spanish culture. They ask me what I think but they really don't want to know. They want you to say what they want to hear.

I love Spain, but this is one thing that drives me mental.

I'm not going to, it was just that a couple of the reactions I got when I said I wasn't going got me thinking about the attitude that some people have about criticizing other cultures, like it's somehow disrespectful to openly disagree with a cultural practice.

Most bullrings have musuems and guided tours available to tourists. Might be a compromise, go to the ring for an afternoon, appreciate the cultural aspect and not have to actually attend a fight.

If you are in the south of Spain the one in Ronda is pretty cool.

This is the thing. The Spanish (I know I'm generalising) cannot stand anyone criticising their culture. They can give it out but they can't take it. They have no problem telling me that we're all drunks or that Irish food is crap, but if I mention anything remotely negative, they go mental. That's why I avoid the whole bullfight discussion, or any other discussion about Spanish culture. They ask me what I think but they really don't want to know. They want you to say what they want to hear.

Same in Ireland. Like one big dysfunctional family. We can criticise the place until we are blue in the face - but god help any foreigner who joins in or does the same!

Ffs - the first question put to any celebrity being interviewed by rte is what do you make of Ireland. If they answered by saying you guys have a major drink problem, the litter around the place is insane, weather sucks and you have tracksuit wearing, junked up demons roaming your city centre - they would be lynched.

• Same in Ireland. Like one big dysfunctional family. We can criticise the place until we are blue in the face - but god help any foreigner who joins in or does the same!

Ffs - the first question put to any celebrity being interviewed by rte is what do you make of Ireland. If they answered by saying you guys have a major drink problem, the litter around the place is insane, weather sucks and you have tracksuit wearing, junked up demons roaming your city centre - they would be lynched.

I don't agree at all. Loads of foreigners moan about Ireland and the Irish usually join in or at least debate peacefully. I was out a few days ago with 4 Spanish and 5 Irish people. One of the Spaniards (first time we'd met him) had just come back from Ireland and immediately started saying how ugly and fat the women are, how crap the weather is and how rubbish the food is. Nobody was that bothered except me, and that was only because I knew he wouldn't be able to take any criticism of Spain. And I was right - I said I thought Spanish food was stodgy and boring and he went mental. Completely oblivious to the fact he'd just done the same thing.

Celebrities aren't the same as normal people. They HAVE to say nice things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

Man VS Food...........Spanish style

I don't agree at all. Loads of foreigners moan about Ireland and the Irish usually join in or at least debate peacefully. I was out a few days ago with 4 Spanish and 5 Irish people. One of the Spaniards (first time we'd met him) had just come back from Ireland and immediately started saying how ugly and fat the women are, how crap the weather is and how rubbish the food is. Nobody was that bothered except me, and that was only because I knew he wouldn't be able to take any criticism of Spain. And I was right - I said I thought Spanish food was stodgy and boring and he went mental. Completely oblivious to the fact he'd just done the same thing.

Ive found the opposite to be true, Irish people tend to be very defensive of their country. Even more so when abroad. Your experience points to the contrary - fair enough.

Anyway, if you want to wind up a Spaniard, ask one about their moorish ancestry. Even better if you can subtly bring it up in conversation.

They tend to freak the f*ck out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭The Th!ng

I think bullfighting is a disgusting spectacle and I like it when the matadors are killed.

Ive found the opposite to be true, Irish people tend to be very defensive of their country. Even more so when abroad. Your experience points to the contrary - fair enough.

Anyway, if you want to wind up a Spaniard, ask one about their moorish ancestry. Even better if you can subtly bring it up in conversation.

They tend to freak the f*ck out.

I've found the Spanish surprisingly nationalistic. They take an awful lot of pride in their history and culture and everything, and I'd agree with Izzy here, they don't seem to take criticism that well. Far more than Irish people. If anything, I've found Irish people to be almost the opposite - completely self-loathing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

All humans are equal but not all human cultures are equal.

Same in Ireland. Like one big dysfunctional family. We can criticise the place until we are blue in the face - but god help any foreigner who joins in or does the same!

Izzy Wizzy is right - the Spanish get really offended too....worse than us Irish. In fact does any culture take criticism well from foreigners? Americans are also highly sensitive of criticism. I can't think of one culture who'd take it on the chin tbh.

The Spanish have a massive inferiority complex that I don't think people are aware of internationally. The defensiveness is to hide their underlying insecurities. They'd also admit to that themselves, I think.

I've found the Spanish surprisingly nationalistic. They take an awful lot of pride in their history and culture and everything, and I'd agree with Izzy here, they don't seem to take criticism that well. Far more than Irish people. If anything, I've found Irish people to be almost the opposite - completely self-loathing.

You are hanging out with the wrong type of Irish people so!

Just out of interest - why were you surprised that the Spanish were nationalistic?

And here is me being even nosier again - whats the national mood like over there at present?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

You respectfully declined. Nothing wrong with that.

You can respect a culture in general but have a dislike for a particular tradition in it.

Izzy Wizzy is right - the Spanish get really offended too....worse than us Irish. In fact does any culture take criticism well from foreigners? Americans are also highly sensitive of criticism. I can't think of one culture who'd take it on the chin tbh.

Left wing Americans are very critical of their country and fellow citizens. Lefties tend to be self loathing, I find.

You've it all worked out bro.

There's plenty to criticise. The left-wing in Spain would be more critical than the right-wing. I can usually tell someone's political leanings by how open they to hearing criticism. I think it's healthy. No culture is perfect and if we can't criticise constructively and find ways to make changes, how can we ever develop as a culture?

I know you're not a fan of progressives or liberals so I know you won't agree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭St.Spodo

You are not obliged to respect anything you find offensive or is contrary to your sense of morality.

• The Spanish have a massive inferiority complex that I don't think people are aware of internationally. The defensiveness is to hide their underlying insecurities. They'd also admit to that themselves, I think.

Oh yeah, big time. It's weird that in Ireland they seem to have this image as open, fun-loving extroverts who don't take themselves seriously. I think they may have been confused with Latin Americans along the way. The Spanish do like to party, but on the whole they're incredibly self-conscious, conservative, and they take themselves very seriously. I gave up even trying to do fun games or drama activities in my English classes like I do in every other country because they wouldn't join in. They are lovely people, but nothing like people back home seem to think they are.

There's plenty to criticise. The left-wing in Spain would be more critical than the right-wing. I can usually tell someone's political leanings by how open they to hearing criticism. I think it's healthy. No culture is perfect and if we can't criticise constructively and find ways to make changes, how can we ever develop as a culture?

I know you're not a fan of progressives or liberals so I know you won't agree.

Oh, I am open to constructive criticism of Irish culture. Its far, far from perfect. Over reliance on mind altering substances, littering, the influence the church still has, our infatuation with an teanga, the ah shure it will do or be grand attitude.

Absolutely, criticise away. But there is a major difference between criticising aspects of irish life and culture - to actually despising it and possessing a self loathing attitude.

One which Irish lefties have in abundance. So I cut them out of my life total.

Oh yeah, big time. It's weird that in Ireland they seem to have this image as open, fun-loving extroverts who don't take themselves seriously. I think they may have been confused with Latin Americans along the way. The Spanish do like to party, but on the whole they're incredibly self-conscious, conservative, and they take themselves very seriously. I gave up even trying to do fun games or drama activities in my English classes like I do in every other country because they wouldn't join in. They are lovely people, but nothing like people back home seem to think they are.

I absolutely agree. As you said, the Spanish, on the whole, are lovely but everything you've said is completely true. The self-consciousness is pretty extreme, actually and it really surprised me. They hate to look ridiculous (sentido de ridiculo) but again, they've admitted that themselves. They're the ones who told me about it. Like you, I've given up a long time ago on role plays. Too many extremely uncomfortable situations where you have grown men and women going red in front of you. It's an aspect of Irish culture I really miss. We really can laugh at ourselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

I found that with a Spanish mate of mine but I thought it could be just him. Interesting post!

Oh, I am open to constructive criticism of Irish culture. Its far, far from perfect. Over reliance on mind altering substances, littering, the influence the church still has, our infatuation with an teanga, the ah shure it will do or be grand attitude.

Absolutely, criticise away. But there is a major difference between criticising aspects of irish life and culture - to actually despising it and possessing a self loathing attitude.

One which Irish lefties have in abundance. So I cut them out of my life total.

Hasn't been my experience. I'd consider myself an Irish lefty as are most of my friends and family and we'd all love our country but see a lot wrong with it. I don't think self-loathing has a political leaning.

You are hanging out with the wrong type of Irish people so!

Just out of interest - why were you surprised that the Spanish were nationalistic?

And here is me being even nosier again - whats the national mood like over there at present?

I was surprised because I never really thought it still existed to the extent that it does. I study over here and I take classes in Latin American Literature, and in the first class, the lecturer asked the class what they thought of the relationship between Spain and Latin America. Immediately the foreigners took a back seat for this one, and the Spanish students went for it. Everyone who spoke, bar one girl, said that the main feeling they felt when they thought of Latin American was pride - proud for discovering America in the first place and then for spreading the Spanish language and culture to that part of the world and finally for bringing Christianity. One girl said that she felt some embarrassment about Spain's colonial past, and she was laughed off by pretty much everyone, including the lecturer. I've also seen the nationalism rear its head with regards to Catalonia at times too, which has sometimes been pretty nasty.

As far as national mood, from what I've seen, a lot of complaining, occasional strikes, but there doesn't seem to be too much changing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭Fr D Maugire

In fairness, that would be a common trait to most countries. Most people do not like outsider's running down their own and we the Irish are just as bad.

I have had non Irish friends who are quite comfortable criticising Ireland around me but would never say anything negative in groups of Irish people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

Horrific behaviour , same as Waynes example .

Stoning someone to death I wouldn't see as a cultural practice, it's a punitive one. However genital mutilation does seem to be a cultural practice.

I think Nationalism in Spain is intrinsically linked to their political persuasion though. There was a anti-abortion protest yesterday in the centre of Madrid where obviously the majority of attendees would've been right-wing and people came with Spanish flags wearing Spanish paraphenalia. Nationalism is a dirty word among the left-wing.