Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sunday Fermoy racing

• 31-03-2013 6:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭

Any info out there with regards racing next Sunday in the Silver Pail GP.

Thanks Pawlie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,460 ✭✭✭lennymc

races in balbriggan next saturday and sunday. Bit closer to home for you

http://www.balbriggancc.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭Pawlie

lennymc wrote: »

Thanks man I will have a gander.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭leopard trek

Racing in fermoy is on 20km loop - very flat with quite a few drags and a drag to the finish line. Always good racing - fast though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭leopard trek

Taken from fermoy cc facebook page -
    Silver Pail Grand Prix 7th April. Race headquarters at Colaiste An Chraoibhín. Sign on from 10.00 closing at 12.30 promptly. As per Cycling Ireland regulations, one day licences will no longer be available. Underage races start from 11.30, Senior races from 13.00. All races start and finish at Castlehyde on Mallow Road. Contact Michael O'Connor 087 4107097.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭Slo_Rida

Pawlie wrote: »

Thanks Pawlie

Wasting no time flashing your new A3 numbers :cool:

Slo_Rida wrote: »
    Wasting no time flashing your new A3 numbers :cool:
    ha ha ha :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 Cayo

This is the route, according to strava.

http://app.strava.com/segments/1161717

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭michael196

ha ha ha :cool:

will you have the A3 numbers by then ?

Ossary to make the returns and CI to update and issue the A3.

michael196 wrote: »

You have to race a3 the minute you get the amount points needed for upgrade,you just let the organizers know at sign on,happened already to a mate went a3 to a2 and didnt get his numbers in time,he just let them know before race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 joe50

You have to race a3 the minute you get the amount points needed for upgrade,you just let the organizers know at sign on,happened already to a mate went a3 to a2 and didnt get his numbers in time,he just let them know before race.
    waterford have a few strong lads in the a3 bunch now, no harm to have a few strong teams in there to put it up to the NRPT lads :D

joe50 wrote: »
    waterford have a few strong lads in the a3 bunch now, no harm to have a few strong teams in there to put it up to the NRPT lads :D
    With a bit of lady luck we will give it a go,really looking forward to the nenagh classic day :D

I know 2 guys who got upgraded and CI had the numbers out very quick...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭Morrisseeee

I hope that cold easterly wind has fceked off by Sunday, I passed the Start-Finish line today doing 20-something km/h :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭polariz

lennymc wrote: »

Is this a handcap race?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭kerryscoob

joe50 wrote: »

Remember lads there only young lads after a tough Gorey, take it easy on them.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭ericzeking

I hope that cold easterly wind has fceked off by Sunday, I passed the Start-Finish line today doing 20-something km/h :o

Does this mean that the finale is on that long straight primary road heading east towards town?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭dedocdude

some results thanks to https://twitter.com/KM_Eddie

Paidi O'Brien @PlanetTriRacing Wins A1, 2 race

Dylan Foley @NRPT_IRL Wins A3 race

Paul Burke @Carrickwheelers Wins A4 race

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭ericzeking

Did A4 race, very dangerous, lots of nerves combined with rain and an unselective course meant lots of crashing. Was brought down myself at bottom of the drag to the finish which was disappointing.

Quality A3 race,loved the speed tempo and tactics etc,missed the attack by the stay away group of 6 :-(,

But very happy that I won the bunch sprint well and got 7th and 2 points.

The juniors are quality riders and I wish them the best as some probably be pro in years to come.

Thanks Pawlie

How'd you get on?
    Our posts crossed over there. Well done on scoring in your first day out man...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 426 ✭✭High Nellie

ericzeking wrote: »
    Did A4 race, very dangerous, lots of nerves combined with rain and an unselective course meant lots of crashing. Was brought down myself at bottom of the drag to the finish which was disappointing.
    I don't know what you mean by 'unselective course' - it was draggy enough for anyone who was strong and courageous enough. And there was just a bit of drizzle - I wouldn't call it rain. Ok, the roads were wet for the last lap. Hard luck with that crash. There was a bad crash in the A3 in the same spot last year. In both cases the guys riding strongly in front avoided them. I rode straight back down from the finish line and was glad to see no bodies on the road. I think it was the wind mostly that made it jittery.
    I thought it was a good race - plenty of attacking and a few good breaks that were eventually controlled. Fair play to the guys at the front who made me suffer anyway.

There was a bad crash in the A3 in the same spot last year.

And in the same spot in the A4 last year...

loved the course, first time ever on it,

thought the A4 were much less nervous that before

having said that I think there were 2 crashes behind me at various stages

mega stalls and slow downs into the wind, was a bit ridiculous

Slo, a perfect course for you.

I believe that there is a second race on this circuit in july ?

incredible how a lot fell off after the first lap of 3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭on_the_nickel

loved the course, first time ever on it,

thought the A4 were much less nervous that before

having said that I think there were 2 crashes behind me at various stages

mega stalls and slow downs into the wind, was a bit ridiculous

Slo, a perfect course for you.

I believe that there is a second race on this circuit in july ?

incredible how a lot fell off after the first lap of 3.

I was one caught behind the spill at the end of the first lap. There was no proper chase, it was me and two juniors trying to get back on, but it looked like the hammer might have gone down at the same time as we passed a lot coming off the back off the group?

We held it to about 150m for a km or two, but we weren't getting back with that wind. In the end, after trying to get some up and overs, me and another fella ploughed on and helped each other home.

My first race, happy I was comfortable in the bunch in first lap, gutted I wasn't able to see if I could last there for the 3. My own fault for being at the back, but the middle of the group was crazy at times and it was beginning to thin out so I thought I'd stay there for another while.

Both crashes in front of me were due to riders on the wrong side of the road squeezing back in when a car was coming.

there was a idiot junior in the a4 group, riding out on the wrong side of the road, for most of the first lap,

wrong side of road again on the bends approaching the first left of the circuit,

Myslf and another told him off and to get on his side of the road

met a head on car,

who ever u are, that was dangerous for yourself and unnecessary in the race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭Morrisseeee

Did the A4 aswell, towards the end of the 1st lap & as we approached a car some cyclists got nervous and a lad went down just in front of me, kinda guessed something was about to happen & I just avoided it.

After that I said "ok I'm heading up to the front of the group", I then found myself in the first 5 or so and there were plenty of guys willing to drive it on, I stuck with them but paid the price, after another 15km at a high heart rate (& still feeling the effects of a headcold) I was wasted.

The peloton was well stretched at this stage as we headed to Glanworth, the tailwind guaranteed a high average speed. I drifted to the back (to recover) but as we turned into the wind I saw the peloton drifting agonizingly into the distance, .....game over.

@michael196 : there's the Dan O'Donovan race but not over the same circuit, it's slightly shorter, ie. 10km, start/finish the same tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭JoeBTheBullet

Fair play to you there Pawlie! Already counting down the points to A2! I got first today in Balbriggan so hopefully not long before I'll be up with you in A3..just need one more point! Might be able to pull top 8 out of the bag next week in Stamullen! You heading up for next weekend? Gonna try make it out for the 3! Looking forward to racing with you again!

Joe (UCD)

looking at photos i was just gonna comment that lads looked well behaved on their own side of the road etc - probably cos it was windy and 90% of lads in a race dont want to feel the wind

dsc_7318.jpg

Shame to hear of the lads on wrong side again. At least that circuit is generally very quite for traffic.

Fair play to you there Pawlie! Already counting down the points to A2! I got first today in Balbriggan so hopefully not long before I'll be up with you in A3..just need one more point! Might be able to pull top 8 out of the bag next week in Stamullen! You heading up for next weekend? Gonna try make it out for the 3! Looking forward to racing with you again!

Joe (UCD)
    Thanks Joe,yep seen yea got your win well done man,dont do nothing silly next weekend and just get what yea need to get up :D

Im doing the Aqua blue classic Sunday,be real tough race and good build up to the Nenagh Classic then.

See yea very soon thou man and again well done on win :D

dedocdude wrote: »
    looking at photos i was just gonna comment that lads looked well behaved on their own side of the road etc - probably cos it was windy and 90% of lads in a race dont want to feel the wind

dsc_7318.jpg

Shame to hear of the lads on wrong side again. At least that circuit is generally very quite for traffic.

This was the A3 race,and it seemed to be alot safer than a4 races no one doing stupid things or causing crashes,for best part of the race the riders stayed on right side and only coming into finish did riders move all across the road.The road was nice and wide and had a lovely surface and was a real good hard finish to a race.

Reckon it was more down to the speed we traveled at as why they where no kamikaize moves up on wrong side :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭JoeBTheBullet

Thanks Joe,yep seen yea got your win well done man,dont do nothing silly next weekend and just get what yea need to get up :D

Im doing the Aqua blue classic Sunday,be real tough race and good build up to the Nenagh Classic then.

See yea very soon thou man and again well done on win :D

All I need is a top 8 finish on sunday to move up so I'll be happy with anything north of 8!

Very good, we will all be heading down to the nenagh classic so I'll see you then!

Well done to you too, see you soon and good luck next weekend!

All I need is a top 8 finish on sunday to move up so I'll be happy with anything north of 8!

Very good, we will all be heading down to the nenagh classic so I'll see you then!

Well done to you too, see you soon and good luck next weekend!

Lads do you need a minute for privacy :D

Slo_Rida wrote: »
    Lads do you need a minute for privacy :D
    Jealous :P

for best part of the race the riders stayed on right side

Right side? or Correct side?

dedocdude wrote: »
    Right side? or Correct side?