Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Slow drivers.

• 30-03-2013 10:00pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 545 ✭✭✭Chemical Burn

They're pure scum. A whole other species. I hate them. They hinder normal people from going about their daily business. They are a vermin. They drive 80 kph on a 120 road and 40 kph on 80 roads. They should hand in their licenses and stop. Full stop. I hate them.

Do you hate slow drivers 361 votes

They are a hindrance, yes I hate them
    16%
    demanufacturedlintdrummer[Deleted User]Royale with Cheesethebmandemanhappy cookie3rdDegreeDarkJagerPogMoThoinmichelliesidcon7ofBrianJamieKdellWlankazzdeemd23040MintyDorisSeaFieldsJustAddWater 59 votes
    No, they're fine
    83%
    --Kaiser--Dagon_Kaiser_the_sycoStarkcournionigurramokshinobiBeruthielDempseykifferRabiesomahaidAlunFighting IrishPompey MagnussReq | uTeKSuprSiJoe10000Caliden 302 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭B Rabbit

Hate is a strong word , I get slightly annoyed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

They're pure scum. A whole other species. I hate them. They hinder normal people from going about their daily business. They are a vermin. They drive 80 kph on a 120 road and 40 kph on 80 roads. They should hand in their licenses and stop. Full stop. I hate them.

And you can't overtake because...?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Shouldn't be on the roads if they are unable to drive at the set speeds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭HondaSami

Motoring forum is for fast drivers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭FREDNISMO

no scummier than tailgaters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

OOH there's a mystery blank option!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭Nal

in before "its a limit not a target" brigade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,048 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »

This.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 545 ✭✭✭Chemical Burn

No, they're fine

Not always possible. Continuous white line. I'd be done for overtaking on one whereas this vermin can continue on at 70-80% of the speed limit unscathed and unpunished.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭FGR

No, they're fine
    I have no problem with slow drivers once they realise that the hard shoulder may be used to allow others to overtake safely. What bothers me are those who sit on top of the white line as if setting an example for those behind them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Slow drivers are "pure scum"? C'mon CB..........tell us how you really feel.

Id rather be behind a slow river than be around an angry driver like yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

They are annoying....hate should be reserved for taxi drivers and cyclists.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 221 ✭✭Mr. Wong

Utter bastards, the lot of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Not always possible. Continuous white line. I'd be done for overtaking on one whereas this vermin can continue on at 70-80% of the speed limit unscathed and unpunished.

Not a driver, but - isn't part of the exercise to remain unscathed and unpunished?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭JDxtra

Rage and driving don't mix well. Maybe you should hand up your licence?

I chose option " ", some slow driver are a real pain, especially those who appear to deliberately make their cars harder to overtake by hogging the centre line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭ailbheg

There are different speed limits for different vehicles - a towing vehicle has a maximum speed limit of 80km/h - are you suggesting they shouldn't be on the roads with higher speed limits?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 221 ✭✭Mr. Wong

Not a driver, but - isn't part of the exercise to remain unscathed and unpunished?
    No it's not, it's to get to my destination as fast as humanly possible. These old farts in their brand spanking new poxy Nissan fucking Micras crawling along at a snails place should be executed!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭Dwork

No, they're fine
    ..there are three more of the tools stuttering along in convoy behind the lead tool. One I can pass, three, cummon to f*** ye slow, doddery kfjghdlghgashes.

Apart from that, they're fine.

Mr. Wong wrote: »
    No it's not, it's to get to my destination as fast as humanly possible. These old farts in their brand spanking new poxy Nissan fucking Micras crawling along at a snails place should be executed!

I thought that was teleportation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

There's nothing more satisfying than seeing a hot headed eejit get annoyed by a slow driver and overtake them only to be one car in front at the next set of traffic lights.

No, they're fine
    Slow drivers annoy me too. Especially if they hog the overtaking lane. :p
    Or in an area where no overtaking is allowed, and with good reason. And even if it were, they happily drive all over their lane and out into the middle thereby making it more unsafe to overtake

Dwork wrote: »
    ..there are three more of the tools stuttering along in convoy behind the lead tool. One I can pass, three, cummon to f*** ye slow, doddery kfjghdlghgashes.

Apart from that, they're fine.

Sometimes, I just can't be bothered to overtake the slow sods, so I just leave a gap big enough for a bus (I've never had a bus use it) Stirling Moss can just go for it and I'll move over and let him go, safe in the knowledge that I will be following him for the next 20km as the road has virtually no decent overtaking opportunities!

No, they're fine
    If a slow driver is doing 10 kph or more below the speed limit and holding up 1 normal person, when an opportunity to pull over arises and allow the normal person to pass, and the slow driver misses this opportunity, this 'person' should receive 2 penalty points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 477 ✭✭duckman!!

No, they're fine
    i dont have road rage but when ur stuck behind a person going 50kph on 100kph country road where theres no where to overtake
    for miles drives me f**king mad.
    people have places to be!!!

No, they're fine
    If a slow driver is doing 10 kph or more below the speed limit and holding up 1 normal person, when an opportunity to pull over arises and allow the normal person to pass, and the slow driver misses this opportunity, this 'person' should receive 2 penalty points.

Yes, particularly if they refuse to use a filter lane which is there expressly for the purpose of catching up to the speed/letting faster people by!
    Had that this morning. Grrr.
    Instead they waited until we were well into the "can't overtake here" part of the road before slowing down yet another 10kph and wobbling around, presumably intending to be helpful but way too late

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

I hate the overtake lane hoggers.

People who clearly have never bothered reading the rules of the road and just sit there in the overtake lane of a motorway doing 80-100kmph like some sort of RSA sponsored speed restrictor... Y U NO PULL OVER?!?!?!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,439 ✭✭✭Wailin

Someone has issues........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,520 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

There's nothing more satisfying than seeing a hot headed eejit get annoyed by a slow driver and overtake them only to be one car in front at the next set of traffic lights.

If Conan were about these days, this would probably be his answer to 'what is best in life ?'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭slim223

There is: 2 hot headed eejits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 477 ✭✭duckman!!

No, they're fine
    I hate the overtake lane hoggers.

People who clearly have never bothered reading the rules of the road and just sit there in the overtake lane of a motorway doing 80-100kmph like some sort of RSA sponsored speed restrictor... Y U NO PULL OVER?!?!?!!!!!

and when they finally do they flash the lights at u for driving close behind them!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,367 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

No, they're fine
    I can't believe the amount of people here supporting slow drivers, it doesn't JUST effect "hot headed" drivers. I don't drive myself, but as a passenger it's just as easy to observe. The kind of people who are slow drivers are unsafe to other road users, to be stereotypical I'm talking old grannies hunched up over the wheel and learner foreigners who don't seem to know where they are. They can't drive full stop and are a danger to everyone around them. You can disagree with me all you want but if you know who I'm talking about you'll agree with me.

And I know I'm going to sound like an arsehole but that's how it is, people in that slow category, usually with L plates, can't drive and never will be able to drive. There's new drivers who are getting a feel for driving who will eventually be able to handle themselves and there's the "slow" drivers who will never get out of that habit. The same kind of "slow" drivers also seem to be unable to indicate or even turn their lights on at night. It's ridiculous people are allowed on the road without taking a driving test.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭Solair

I was just driving on some N roads through the Burren that were signed 100km/h.

If you tried 100 you'd end up in the Burren (most likely upside down!)

I agree though, its totally infuriating to be stuck behind someome going slow for no reason where road conditions permit 80 or 100

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Gee_G

Yes,slow, inconsiderate drivers anger me! Very slow drivers are just as bloody dangerous on the road as speed demons in my opinion. More times I have nearly rear ended some body after coming around a corner and there they are pottering along at like 30mph!!

Now I'm not a fast driver by any means either. But when a person drives up my ass, swerving in and out on the road,trying to intimidate me into pulling in to let them by, not a chance!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,520 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

All things being equal, if its even possible with this argument, I think the hasty, impatient, aggressive drivers on our roads are probably a bigger problem than drivers not 'maxxing out' the speed limit of the road they're on.

That's not to say both types cannot be a danger on our roads, but over the years, one type certainly display more bad habits than the other IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

Was car five out of eight in a train caused by an L plater going 50 in a 100. To top it all any car come towards her caused her to slam on the brakes to a stop. Had one hell on a pain in my neck when I got home.

No, they're fine
    Jester252 wrote: »
    Was car five out of eight in a train caused by an L plater going 50 in a 100. To top it all any car come towards her caused her to slam on the brakes to a stop. Had one hell on a pain in my neck when I got home.

We were all learners once - but whoever was with them should have had them step it up or pull over, or not be there in the first place if they weren't ready.
    And if they were driving on their own... well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭Montroseee

bluewolf wrote: »
    We were all learners once - but whoever was with them should have had them step it up or pull over, or not be there in the first place if they weren't ready.

Gardai are really clamping down on learners driving alone, heard of many getting a serious warning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

She shouldn't be on road. Take her to a car park to get the feel of a car or a proper teacher. I was nervious as hell and I was given a lecture by after my driving test on progress. I can see why
    he wanted to teach me that.

No, they're fine
    You get done for progress in your driving test (run by RSA) and when you're on the fucking road Gay Byrne (Also RSA) tells you to slow down, it's a limit not a target etc ..

talk about mixed fucking messages

morons couldn't run a bath, never mind a safety campaign

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭StewartGriffin

Nearly always elderly folks. Don't be such; a Bllx. You'll be an old fart yourself some day.;)

No, they're fine
    Montroseee wrote: »
    Gardai are really clamping down on learners driving alone, heard of many getting a serious warning
    err..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

Also people somehow seem to have this nothing that a slow driver is a safe driver.

That is not true. Many slow drivers have no clue on how to judge the road situation in advance, they are mostly thinking about whatever is going on in their life, listening to what's on their radio, concentration on what their kids in the backseat are doing etc. than focusing on what's ahead.

I will admit that I drive fast but when I do drive fast, I am totally focused on what's on the road ahead constantly assessing the road and vehicle condition and looking out for any potential hazards or any drivers or pedestrians who may pose a risk and reacting accordingly. I believe that although I drive fairly fast, I am a pretty safe driver because when I drive, my focus is on the road ahead, I maintain good awareness of what's around me, I know my car's abilities and limitations very well and I'm in control of my car at all times.

Driving is not a passive activity that you do to move around the place...

No, they're fine
    Well, we probably all think we're safe drivers, but yes, there is a lot to be said for defensive driving. There were a number of people driving happily in the overtaking lane today of the n4 ignoring the signs warning that it was closing up ahead... until they finally got to the giant flashing "lane blocked" arrow and had to quickly cut into the middle lane.
    Judging the road ahead and anticipating the likely actions of other drivers on the road is very important

No, they're fine
    Also people somehow seem to have this nothing that a slow driver is a safe driver.

That is not true. Many slow drivers have no clue on how to judge the road situation in advance, they are mostly thinking about whatever is going on in their life, listening to what's on their radio, concentration on what their kids in the backseat are doing etc. than focusing on what's ahead.

I will admit that I drive fast but when I do drive fast, I am totally focused on what's on the road ahead constantly assessing the road and vehicle condition and looking out for any potential hazards or any drivers or pedestrians who may pose a risk and reacting accordingly. I believe that although I drive fairly fast, I am a pretty safe driver because when I drive, my focus is on the road ahead, I maintain good awareness of what's around me, I know my car's abilities and limitations very well and I'm in control of my car at all times.

Driving is not a passive activity that you do to move around the place...

this .. all of this

No, they're fine
    The "brakers" really get on my twix. The ones who brake for every slight bend, every oncoming car, every time they "go too fast" and every time their brain flicks back on. Nothing worse than following some slow cnut who touches the brakes every ten seconds. They don't even slow when they brake, they just do it as a comfort blanket. Either drive on to fcuk, or brake. I.E, press that middle pedal hard, stop annoying it with your foot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭StewartGriffin

What gets on my wick is when, coming up these speed camera vans, people think they have to drop down to 50kph!!

Don't really mind slow drivers, they are usually elderly or nervous types, but does annoy me a bit when you've followed them for 10mins at 70kph, then they enter a 50kph zone and continue to sail on a 70kph, thus breaking the speed limit.

Well, we probably all think we're safe drivers, but yes, there is a lot to be said for defensive driving. There were a number of people driving happily in the overtaking lane today of the n4 ignoring the signs warning that it was closing up ahead... until they finally got to the giant flashing "lane blocked" arrow and had to quickly cut into the middle lane.
    Judging the road ahead and anticipating the likely actions of other drivers on the road is very important

Very much so, I was lucky to anticipate that the twat in the mini was going to turn right at the roundabout from the left lane while I was in the right lane going straight ahead, she went directly into the right hand lane on the roundabout but as I had held back she didn't run into me!

Totally agree. I received 1 fail point on my driving test for the above. Examiner led me to a dual carriageway which was 40mph but I stayed driving at 30mph. The examiner was right, I was nervous of going faster and hindered all other drivers on the dual carriageway.

There's a fella driving on my route home. If I leave work 2 minutes late, I'm stuck behind him doing 45kmh. He drives at the central line and 8 out of 10 times when I could legally pass him, there is oncoming traffic. Arrrggghhh! The tosspot knows there are cars behind him but hasn't the driving ability nor manners to pull in.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Montroseee wrote: »

There really should be mandatory seizure of the car as well as at least 2 penalty points if an L driver is caught driving unaccompanied. Let the licensed owner then pop down to pick up the car with a nice €100 fine waiting for them. Should see an end to the unaccompanied learners then fairly sharpish.