Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car parked illegally involved in accident

• 30-03-2013 6:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,833 ✭✭✭

I was leaving town today, on a stretch of road on the outskirts of town there was a car parked on a double yellow line, it was parked facing me on the left side of the road. I was not going fast, but there was a truck coming against me and to avoid hitting the truck, I cut too close to the illegally parked car and scraped along the side of it. There is some minor damage to the other drivers car and a little more damage to my car. I have pictures showing where the car was parked and showing that the rear end was further out on the road than the front end.

The guards came, the guard said that it was my fault since I should have avoided the car even though it was illegally parked.

Am I really at fault hear? I really think that the other driver should be paying for the damage to my car, not the other way around....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,746 ✭✭✭✭Misticles

I was leaving town today, on a stretch of road on the outskirts of town there was a car parked on a double yellow line, it was parked facing me on the left side of the road. I was not going fast, but there was a truck coming against me and to avoid hitting the truck, I cut too close to the illegally parked car and scraped along the side of it. There is some minor damage to the other drivers car and a little more damage to my car. I have pictures showing where the car was parked and showing that the rear end was further out on the road than the front end.

The guards came, the guard said that it was my fault since I should have avoided the car even though it was illegally parked.

Am I really at fault hear? I really think that the other driver should be paying for the damage to my car, not the other way around....

You hit a stationary vehicle.... Regardless of where it was parked you hit it. They shouldn't pay for any damages to your car

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Sounds like you overtook a parked car without ensuring it was safe to do so.
    Its irrelevant whether it was parked legally or not, it could even have broken down.
    Responsibility was with you to ensure to overtake safely before you drive into oncoming traffic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

You are at fault Im afraid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

Yep, completely at fault. If there was insufficient room for you to get passed the other car safely, then you should have yielded and allowed the truck pass before going around the parked car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭smcgiff

The other car owner should get a parking fine - you get to pay damages. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭TGi666

your in the wrong OP unfortunately, similar thing happened to myself (well I was parked legally) other drivers insurance paid up didn't even want to see where it happened
    although I think the person parked on the double yellows may passably get a fine for parking but depends on the guards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,551 ✭✭✭Carlow2011

Unfortunately you can't hit stuff when you're driving..it's part of learning to drive lesson 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 Koops80

This is like a dream for the motors section, getting to tell someone they are wrong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭smcgiff

Koops80 wrote: »
    This is like a dream for the motors section, getting to tell someone they are wrong

You're wrong about that...

Actually that felt good - maybe you've a point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

Other driver is liable for illegal parking, and might be prosecuted for doing so.

You are liable for causing a crash.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,357 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

Yes your in the wrong 100% here OP. but you obviously stopped and notified the cars owners etc so fair play, a lot of people would have kept driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,833 ✭✭✭ballyharpat

alright, thanks, :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

You hit a parked car, of course your at fault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭TGi666

look don't worry about it, let the insurance look after it hopefully you might have some sort of protected no claims bonus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭Nino Brown

Just to clarify OP, you were in the wrong :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,070 ✭✭✭ScouseMouse

CiniO wrote: »
    Other driver is liable for illegal parking, and might be prosecuted for doing so.

You are liable for causing a crash.

Agreed about the crash, but could the owner claim it was broken down?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

kceire wrote: »
    Yes your in the wrong 100% here OP. but you obviously stopped and notified the cars owners etc so fair play, a lot of people would have kept driving.

Because he thought the owner of the car would pay to fix his car lol

Agreed about the crash, but could the owner claim it was broken down?

Probably he could, but to avoid parking fine I would imagine hazard lights would have to be on, and towing truck service or any other kind of help should be called.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Try the old "look what you made me do" defence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

[biko] WHICH TOWN!?!?!?!?![/biko] :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

I have nothing to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

I think the op's right here. also he should sue the tyre manufacture for taking the car that direction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,833 ✭✭✭ballyharpat

Can I tak the town councill to court for not having tha streets wide enough :)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,357 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

kona wrote: »
    Because he thought the owner of the car would pay to fix his car lol

Point taken :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

CiniO wrote: »
    Probably he could, but to avoid parking fine I would imagine hazard lights would have to be on, and towing truck service or any other kind of help should be called.

If the cars alternator or battery had gone, the lights wouldn't work.

ProudDUB wrote: »
    If the cars alternator or battery had gone, the lights wouldn't work.

True.
    Or at least half true, as alternator has nothing to do with hazard light when engine is off.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

Can I tak the town councill to court for not having tha streets wide enough :)
    The lorry-maked for making their lorries too wide and the lorry-driver for being a bollix.