Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rás Mumhan

• 29-03-2013 9:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭

Sounds like it was a great days racing at the first stage of Rás Mumhan. A nice development in recent times is being able to follow these races on twitter, in this case provided by Fiona Cooke for @rasmumhan. With one of our own lads (Simon Ryan of Visit Nenagh) in an eight man break I was riveted to the coverage over the last 2 hrs in particular. Sounds like it was a fantastic ride by Damien Shaw (AquaBlue). These lads are absolutely on fire at the moment (Sean Lacey has 3 wins so far and another of their riders, Joe Fenlon, was third on todays stage). Ryan Mullen was in the initial break but apparently trouble with a wheel change lost him a lot of time. Looking forward to the next few days.

Some tweeters worth following during the race

@rasmumhan - updates every 2 mins or so
    @dmgcycling - from the Visit Nenagh team car - updates when time allows
    @aquabluecc - as above
    @ryanmullen9 (that's him winning the Visit Nenagh A3 last year as his profile pic - shameless plug!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,138 ✭✭✭buffalo

Can someone text me the tweets, so I can follow Rás Mumhan while riding the Gorey?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭Slo_Rida

buffalo wrote: »
    Can someone text me the tweets, so I can follow Rás Mumhan while riding the Gorey?

I can. Just post your mobile number here :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 915 ✭✭✭downwiththatsor

buffalo wrote: »

Depending on what mobile provider you have you can text follow @rasmumhan to the relevant number to get twitter updates by sms, for vodafone you need to text follow @rasmumhan to 51210, not sure what the number is for the other providers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,138 ✭✭✭buffalo

I feel slightly humbled that you answered my question. I wasn't being entirely serious though. I'll have enough to worry about following Plastik and J Madone's wheels!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭rochefan

michaelm wrote: »
    Sounds like it was a great days racing at the first stage of Rás Mumhan. A nice development in recent times is being able to follow these races on twitter, in this case provided by Fiona Cooke for @rasmumhan. With one of our own lads (Simon Ryan of Visit Nenagh) in an eight man break I was riveted to the coverage over the last 2 hrs in particular. Sounds like it was a fantastic ride by Damien Shaw (AquaBlue). These lads are absolutely on fire at the moment (Sean Lacey has 3 wins so far and another of their riders, Joe Fenlon, was third on todays stage). Ryan Mullen was in the initial break but apparently trouble with a wheel change lost him a lot of time. Looking forward to the next few days.

Some tweeters worth following during the race

@rasmumhan - updates every 2 mins or so
    @dmgcycling - from the Visit Nenagh team car - updates when time allows
    @aquabluecc - as above
    @ryanmullen9 (that's him winning the Visit Nenagh A3 last year as his profile pic - shameless plug!)

I agree with the use of twitter, was great to be able to follow all the action as it happens. On facebook someone posted a video of the 2nd KOH just a few minutes after it happened so could see everyone in the bunch and it had just happened-brilliant!
    Pity Ryan mullen had a poor wheel change-he didn't seem too impressed on twitter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭dedocdude

some carnage out there today - a few broken dreams for May too I would imagine

http://www.rasmumhan.com/results/2013/RM13%20-%20Stage%202-1,%20Etape%202-1.html

a few lads losing an hour plus! Ouchy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭marcofan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭killalanerr

today was savage i went out the back early.it was one long day but im still in

go to bed!

marcofan wrote: »

great report from a past winner of the event -
    We had one genius in our group he attacked us 5k from the finish and rode 5 seconds ahead of us all the way to the finish...cant wait to catch up with him tomorrow.

Can never understand this behavior

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭Morrisseeee

Great action on the Healy Pass:

dsc7307.jpg

Eric Downey (Strava Link) finished 13th yesterday, 2min5sec down on Tim Barry.
    ....and this guy (Strava link) finished 24th yesterday, also 2min5sec down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭killalanerr

well thats its to cold to wet and old

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

marcofan wrote: »

Great read Marcofan.
    Weather down here in Kerry has been even more brutal than normal - fair play to all who competed. Saw ye heading thru Adrigole on Saturday and people were lined out after what was 40k into a 145k stage. Some guys were about 30mins down at that stage but kept plugging away. Well done.