Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Go Safe van - can they get you when they are moving

• 29-03-2013 7:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭Tzardine

A firend of mine reckons that the go safe vans can do you for speeding eve when they are driving.

So imagine the van is doing 60 in a 60 zone. He reckons if I overtake it at 70 it will pick you up and you will get the fine.

Anybody know if this is true ?

Its one of these vans

GoSafe-van-1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Nope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

No

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

No they can't. They have to be stationary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭Tzardine

Thats the last time I stay behind one of them so.

Thanks for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 limiter12

Have the markings on the vans been phased out? Given the fact that the last 4 vans ive encountered in the last month had none.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭Tzardine

I think there are two types of vans. I often see the plain white ones too with the Garda sign on them

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭Yawns

Go Safe vans are the privately operated van. They have 2 types. One with markings and one without. The ones with markings will be the ones that capture you naughty boyos going over the limit.

The vans without the markings are generally survey vans. They are usually in place to determine if there is a need for a marked van in place.

The Gardaí vans have Garda markings on them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭HonalD

Of course if you are travelling within the speed limit, it doesn't matter if they do or not......but that's a risk anyone takes when overtaking a van.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

yes they can get you, they have rockets mounted under the front bumper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

I guess it doesn't need to be pointed out but you shouldn't be overtaking something that is doing the speed limit in a 60 zone regardless...

• Site Banned Posts: 166 ✭✭Cash is king

Just to remind ye the Garda ones are driven by Gardai and usually a Traffic Corps so if you do pass them in a zone or act the fool they can do you for it. The Garda vans actually have strobes in the grill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭margio

just going the jump on this thread instead of starting a new one. Does anyone know the max distance away the go safe van can catch a car. i saw one from a distance o atleast 100 metres and slowed down, didn't think i was breaking it anyway until i looked at my speedo and was doing 105km, and then when i had passed it, my spedo wandered up to 105 or so again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

I was behind one doing 130 kph on the 100 kph stretch of the N2 just before you get to the M50 at Finglas.

I wonder if he will give himself a ticket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

HonalD wrote: »
    Of course if you are travelling within the speed limit, it doesn't matter if they do or not......but that's a risk anyone takes when overtaking a van.
    djimi wrote: »
    I guess it doesn't need to be pointed out but you shouldn't be overtaking something that is doing the speed limit in a 60 zone regardless...

A lot of us speed around here and indeed out of here. Anybody who denies speeding is generally telling porkies :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Scortho

margio wrote: »
    just going the jump on this thread instead of starting a new one. Does anyone know the max distance away the go safe van can catch a car. i saw one from a distance o atleast 100 metres and slowed down, didn't think i was breaking it anyway until i looked at my speedo and was doing 105km, and then when i had passed it, my spedo wandered up to 105 or so again

I heard 200 feet.
    Your speedo generally reads over by a couple of km. mine at 54 km/h is actually 49.

Strituck wrote: »
    He reckons if I overtake it at 70 it will pick you up and you will get the fine.

Why would I get fined for you overtaking? :(

105 on the speedo should be ok, I think that's about 100. Going by the "you are doing ... " signs you see around the place anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭margio

if the camera was on the opposite side of the road, am i still recorded and if not what if i accelerated after i passed the van, could the back of the van catch my reg while breaking the limit going away from the van

The camera is in the back, isnt it?

As far as Im aware the van doesnt have to be parked on your side of the road in order to get you, but I could be wrong about that.

Im not really sure why you would break the speed limit while in sight of the van in either direction; is it really that hard to stay under the limit for the maybe minute or so that it can see you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

bluewolf wrote: »
    105 on the speedo should be ok, I think that's about 100. Going by the "you are doing ... " signs you see around the place anyway.

They're not the most accurate of speed readers.

GPS would see you right on accuracy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

djimi wrote: »
    The camera is in the back, isnt it?

As far as Im aware the van doesnt have to be parked on your side of the road in order to get you, but I could be wrong about that.

Im not really sure why you would break the speed limit while in sight of the van in either direction; is it really that hard to stay under the limit for the maybe minute or so that it can see you?

You would be wrong about that.

they have to be parked up, as rolling technology in these is untested and unreliable in courts.

listermint wrote: »
    You would be wrong about that.

they have to be parked up, as rolling technology in these is untested and unreliable in courts.

I said that as far as I know that van doesnt have to be parked on your side of the road. I know that it has to be parked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 248 ✭✭aisr1ofk43dpy5

Is it only from the back of the van you can be caught so ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,262 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

I passed a green coloured go safe van this evening, never seen one that colour before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭lway

OP, AFAIK they have to be stationary, i've passed them twice while they were setting up, they had the back door of the van open and seemed to have what looked like a long measuring stick with markings on it out the back door (hard to tell exactly when you're on the move), i'm guessing for some sort of calibration. If that's what they have to do then no fear of them catching you on the move.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭testicle

Autosport wrote: »
    I passed a green coloured go safe van this evening, never seen one that colour before.

They're special forces go-safe vans. Catch you for tax too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭mikeecho

testicle wrote: »
    They're special forces go-safe vans. Catch you for tax too.
    coming soon to a ditch near you
    watch this space

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭balcan

While on about gatso vans, I know the go-slow marked & un-marked vans and the garda un-marked transits.
    Lately I've met a white Iveco Daily van with orange stripe down the side and reflective strips at the back below & above the rear window with a camera inside around northeast Cork.
    Anyone have any idea who it is?

balcan wrote: »
    While on about gatso vans, I know the go-slow marked & un-marked vans and the garda un-marked transits.
    Lately I've met a white Iveco Daily van with orange stripe down the side and reflective strips at the back below & above the rear window with a camera inside around northeast Cork.

Go Safe survey van

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,261 ✭✭✭mgbgt1978

Probably waiting for an upcoming Sulky Race.....keep an eye on you-tube :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭BohsCeltic

Yawns wrote: »
    Go Safe vans are the privately operated van. They have 2 types. One with markings and one without. The ones with markings will be the ones that capture you naughty boyos going over the limit.

The vans without the markings are generally survey vans. They are usually in place to determine if there is a need for a marked van in place.

The Gardaí vans have Garda markings on them.

So what one is this ?
    I got caught in the same place with the same van with no markings

iwj1br.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,261 ✭✭✭mgbgt1978

That is probably Garda.
    They use unmarked Transits (usually with the Roof vents).
    The Go-safe survey vans are usually unmarked Renault Trafics (why only one 'F' ?), Opel Vivaro's, etc.

BohsCeltic wrote: »
    So what one is this ?
    I got caught in the same place with the same van with no markings

iwj1br.png

That's a garda robot van
    They have magnetic signs that they sometimes attach, but usually not.

Sometimes these vans can be put in survey mode.

ALWAYS be careful of these

mikeecho wrote: »
    Go Safe survey van

Alright
    Only survey vans I've seen have been small swb white Transits with the box up top & no markings whatsoever
    This is a high roof lwb iveco van with reflective markings,10 kk plate I think

mgbgt1978 wrote: »
    Probably waiting for an upcoming Sulky Race.....keep an eye on you-tube :)

Ha ha
    That's over Mallow side where I've seen them do some reckless sh!te on the n20
    This was more Fermoy/Mitchelstown area

Alright
    Only survey vans I've seen have been small swb white Transits with the box up top & no markings whatsoever
    This is a high roof lwb iveco van with reflective markings,10 kk plate I think

The only survey van I ever see in munster is the high roof iveco.

I have a vid of it somewhere