Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How many watches do you have?

• 29-03-2013 11:18am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭

I'm relatively a new comer to the fascination of having a nice watch, but I was just wondering how many watches people have on here.

How often do you wear each one, etc

I have what I would call 3 watches that are worthy of mention and try to rotate them around as much as possible. I find myself having to wear the Steinhart OB1 during the week at work as its more durable than my other 2 and would take a knock easier.

But that just leaves the weekend to rotate the other 2. I know if I had myself another 3 or 4 I would not get the opportunity to wear them as often.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

12. Would rotate 4 very regularly, the others regularly enough, once a month kinda thing

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,731 ✭✭✭Bullseye1

I think around 10. I generally wear the same watch for about a week and then move onto the next.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

I currently have seven. And two pocket watches which are not practical for wearing!
    I seem to go thru phases of been really in to one watch and wear it all the time....then I move on and get fascinated by another in the collection.
    But I would love to have a lot more cash and have a good watch to suit every mood....that day is far away!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭bogmanfan

I have 4. The dress watch only gets worn occasionally. The Seiko Tuna is for the gym/sports and the RSW Outland and Zenith Defy are worn roughly every second day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

I've seven with another one on its way. I tend to change every 3 or 4 days.

Looking forward to seeing peasant's tally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭Lex Luthor

Eoin wrote: »

me too...from recent posts alone there has been a few additions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

I'm in denial ...I'm not counting :D

The figure should be somewhere between 20 and 40 :o

I wear them as the whim takes me ...from just a few hours to a whole week at a time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,035 ✭✭✭blindsider

4 decent watches and a couple of cheapie digitals. I rotate 2 during the week. I wear another sports watch (for sport) at the w/e.

I'd really like to add a Stowa (Ikarus or Marine, decisions, decisions!) and an SKX007 (or even a Seiko 5) to the collection, and might get to do so by YE - but there's always sth more important to spend the money on. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭sparrowcar

6 watches, including 2 fashion watches (police, hilfiger) which I just still like the look of and won't offload them.

I wear a watch for a week or so and then change around again. Suunto gets used when in the mountains as it should be.

Tag is sitting boxed up as its going to be flipped soon.

I'd like to add a chronograph to my small collection at some time
    This one if I can get the funds together would just compliment everything else I have
    http://www.stowa.de/cgi-bin/cosmoshop/lshop.cgi?action=largepic&pic=/z/chrono1938pol/g/Stowa_Chrono_Poliert_800x800_1.jpg&artnum=chrono1938pol&wkid=136457850814412&ls=en&nocache=1364578522-14429

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

I have a bit of a eclectic collection of 6, from the reasonably decent to downright cheap and cheerful, like them all and looking forward to adding to the collection.

I have someone in the UK looking out for a good condition IWC Portuguese Chrono automatic #371446 for me, that I reckon would fall into the reasonably decent bracket:)

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭art

Eleven.

There's a dressy Bell&Ross that only gets worn on occasions, a Tag Heuer Monaco that's been left in its box (I didn't take to it) and an old Rado that I'm sentimental about so don't wear. Also have a Plojot that needs servicing, it's running very fast so that's parked for now (can't decide it it's worth the 220 or so euros to service).

The rest are rotated every day, sometimes twice a day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,563 ✭✭✭Deep Thought

Omega PO XL,
    IWC Aquatimer,
    Suunto Core,
    Steinhart Marine

Looking at maybe flipping the Steinhart and getting a white Chrono...if my rebate comes in , then IWC Portugeuse 3714 or Dornbluth or Zenith El Primerio

DT

The narrower a man’s mind, the broader his statements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

peasant wrote: »
    The figure should be somewhere between 20 and 40 :o

That's less than I thought it would be!

I have someone in the UK looking out for a good condition IWC Portuguese Chrono automatic #371446 for me, that I reckon would fall into the reasonably decent bracket:)

TbL

Thats the holy grail for me

That's less than I thought it would be!

agree with ya there....

Looking myself...its still gonna be the guts of 4k..

...the guts of 4k..
    That's about twice of what my whole "collection" cost :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Lex Luthor wrote: »
    Thats the holy grail for me

Lads,

I've gotta go to the States in May, is it worth buying a new one over there as they appear to be "reasonably" priced.

Anyone had any experience or advise.

Thanks.

TbL

Ps apologies Lex for diverting the thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Nolimits

Think it's 17 for me

Glycine Stratoforte 3803.14T
    SEIKO 5 MILITARY SNK803
    SEIKO 5 METALLIC BLUE FACE SNZD93K1
    Maurice lacroix Miros Diver MI6028
    Seiko Orange monster SkX781
    eiko 5 Sports SNZG35
    Stowa Icarus blued hands
    Seiko 5 Sports Military SNZG15J1
    Oris Williams 2008 day date
    CASIO G shock GW-S5600B-1JF
    Stowa hand winding fleiger, no date, made in Germany
    Orient CFA05002B
    Orient CFT00004B
    Stowa Maine Original number 2220
    Steinhart Vintage Red
    Stowa B dial Fleiger handwind
    Orient Star Wz0221El

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Clearly infected NL, musta shook hands with Peasant at some point. :)

With my stuff being old I sometimes have to be careful as they're not as robust as modern stuff and they've been around a while, so an easy life is a good idea. Though sometimes that can go either way. A good few months back I was wearing one of my more modern design yokes and one of my earliest wristwatches(long story was making sure the old one was keeping time on the wrist. Yep I'm that sad :o:)). I got hit by a car, bruises and such but the newer watch stopped working and I'm saving up the beer tokens... The old 1916 yoke, on the wrist I actually fell on? The glass popped alright but it kept on ticking and is on my wrist as we speak.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Nolimits wrote: »
    Think it's 17 for me

Glycine Stratoforte 3803.14T
    SEIKO 5 MILITARY SNK803
    SEIKO 5 METALLIC BLUE FACE SNZD93K1
    Maurice lacroix Miros Diver MI6028
    Seiko Orange monster SkX781
    eiko 5 Sports SNZG35
    Stowa Icarus blued hands
    Seiko 5 Sports Military SNZG15J1
    Oris Williams 2008 day date
    CASIO G shock GW-S5600B-1JF
    Stowa hand winding fleiger, no date, made in Germany
    Orient CFA05002B
    Orient CFT00004B
    Stowa Maine Original number 2220
    Steinhart Vintage Red
    Stowa B dial Fleiger handwind
    Orient Star Wz0221El

Nice collection...

Wibbs wrote: »

I got hit by a car.

Man....thats pushing the WIS level

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,630 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

I added number 23 to my list a fee weeks ago! Im sure I've more but no idea where they are!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭smokey20

I have the whole sum of 2... T'will be 4 come year end!!

The collection as it stands:

Casio G Shock... Circa 7 years old and has not failed me yet.

Seiko SKX007... Bout a month old and currently awaiting new strap (ordered 8 days ago, was hoping to have by now).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,265 ✭✭✭MiCr0

Anyone have a watch smart enough to deal with DST?
    I've got 5 watches, 4 Seiko's and a fossil blue titanium that I got from my wife as a 21st birthday present.
    She got me another Seiko with a puerperal calendar that goes to 2100, but I've never seen an analog with DST

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭Zagato

MiCr0 wrote: »
    Anyone have a watch smart enough to deal with DST?
    I've got 5 watches, 4 Seiko's and a fossil blue titanium that I got from my wife as a 21st birthday present.
    She got me another Seiko with a puerperal calendar that goes to 2100, but I've never seen an analog with DST

Will have to check my Casio Waveceptor, haven't worn it in ages, but I thought it had a setting for auto DST

Yeah, anything radio controlled should do it. My cheapo Lidl RC bedside alarm certainly did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,626 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

Let's see

IWC Big Pilot & Portugese Auto Chrono
    Panerai Luminor Daylight
    omega SMP, Speedy AP, AT2500, Railmaster XXL, POXL, 61 gold case Seamaster, Vancouver SMP (to brother)
    Oris TT1 (to SIL)

Not bought anything for a year; can't decide what next. Have never sold/traded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,466 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

Only 4 for me,which is the right number for my uses,

Rolex sub c, omega speedy coax, panerai 359 and iwc Portuguese chrono

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,037 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Nothing fancy in the collection as I like having many varying brands/styles:

Seiko Flightmaster SNA411
    Seiko 5 SNXS77K
    Seiko SNN079P2 (Love this- just wish it were larger)
    Seiko 5 SNK805K2
    Getat 44mm
    Citizen BM8475-00X (on the way)
    Timex T498289J (Loudest tick ever)
    Casio MDV106-1AV (Superb every day watch)
    Old Poljot
    Old 80s Paketa
    Casio F-91W
    1976 Yema Direct Read
    Rosseau (eBay brand- was given as a present)

For fun
    72 Green LED watch
    72 Blue LED watch
    Abyss LED watch
    Cheap/cheerful eBay pocket watch
    Deal Extreme TV watch
    Cheap Deal Extreme digital watch for cycling

The cheapo shame I feel posting the above after Cyrus...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Anjobe

I've been a bit of an impulse buyer over the years, looking at this list I'd really prefer to have fewer, but better, watches.

*Oris Artelier WorldTimer
    *Oris TT1
    Oris BC3
    Omega Seamaster (Vintage - 1953)
    *Seiko SKX 779 K (Black Monster)
    Seiko 7T62 chrono (I forget the model number)
    *Hamilton Khaki Auto Chrono
    *Casio Edifice EQW-M1100DB-1AE
    Tissot PR 516 GL (original, not the recent heritage model)
    Tissot PR 100
    Luminox 3400 F-117 Stealth
    Poljot Aviator Chrono
    Vostok Amphibia