Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Favourite game as a kid

• 28-03-2013 5:06pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭

Connect Four, I still play this now. Whoever loses pays for the take away.

As a kid

Hitting a tennis ball against a wall, when everyone went in for their tea.

BMX ramps, that were made to paralyze .

Transformers. Robots in the skys. Or robots in disguise. I was never sure.

My Little Pony. My next door neighbour had the full set, including the Pony nursery. Ponies wearing bibs and having bottles is a memory I will never forget

Games. Thoughts ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,773 ✭✭✭Synyster Shadow

Playin rounders with all the cousins and racing each other across the tops of 60 or so bails that farmers stupidly put in two lines at just the right distance apart for jumping

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Doctors and nurses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

curbs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Starcom, hungry hungry hippos and hiding so my uncle wouldn't touch me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

I suppose somebody will have to say doctors and nurses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Red Rover and Tip the Can

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

snubbleste wrote: »
    Doctors and nurses

See

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Tip the Can.

Hiding in random spaces, sending some randomer out as bait, disguising ourselves as each other so the person who was "on" would call out the wrong name thus giving you the chance to free all.

Hours of fun until the teachers banned it because we were, quote: "Hanging around doors too much." :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 Talk To Frank

headers & volleys, hours of fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Masturbation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭jojobeans

Mammies and daddies:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭Gweedling

Streets: Kick the can, rounders, kiss chasing (forever alone face), tying a rope to a lamp post and using it as a swing, out robbing golf balls on the nearby course then selling them back in the car park . . .

indoors: blockbusters board game, monopoly, pogs, top trumps, anything on the mega drive or NES.

aaah, childhood.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 358 ✭✭Weevil

Robbin' orchards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

curbs

Jaysus! It was years before I saw American History X. Was this in 'town'?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Runner-man, Colour-man. Used to play it every single Wednesday during the summer holidays. Great game in fairness. Cannot remember what the rules or the purpose of the game was but am guessing there was running and colours involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

We used to play IRA a lot
    Have one person having to find the rest of yas who all have a letter and when they catch you basically kick sh1t into ya to get your letter to get the word
    Many a time came home bruised and bloodied

FYI I'm pretty sure it's KICK the can
    Not tip the can

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

FYI I'm pretty sure it's KICK the can
    Not tip the can

Was always "tip" in our school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭Jogathon

Tip the can on long summer evenings when it was dusky dark. You could do some serious sneaking on your belly up to free everyone especially when it was played in a biggish garden. Fantastic fun. You'd go in covered in grass, muck and nettlestings.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

What do you call that game, where a line of kids held hands opposite another line and a person would charge the line and try to break through?

Kids these days are missing put on so much

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,676 ✭✭✭✭herisson

Tag on top of the bales of hay behind my house with my neighbours.

And sometimes we used to stand on the bales while a few pushed from the bottom and we would walk against the way it was rolling. Loosing your balance was terrifying :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

What do you call that game, where a line of kids held hands opposite another line and a person would charge the line and try to break through?

British Bulldogs?

There was also Buffalo Charge which was awesome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭Blingy

Red rover.
    'Red rover red rover I call x over'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭jojobeans

I thinks that was called bulldogs but not too sure:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭Ava_e

Red Rover or British Bulldog.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 698 ✭✭✭belcampprisoner

avoid the priest,or Christian brother

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭seven_eleven

Finding a sheet of wood was the best thing ever. Lean it up against a few bricks or planks and you had an amazing bike ramp.

It would attract 20+ kids in my neighborhood, and we all be ramping it, and doing mad stuff. We also used to build loads of dirt ramps in the local woods and we'd all be bombing it around there all day.

We were like a pack of wild animals I tells ya! We werent all friends either, its just everybody had bikes and played outdoors so whever the activity was we went.

Now a days you wouldnt see a kid on a bike at all, let alone would they dare go down a curb in fear of falling off because they're too delicate and sheltered. We all had some nasty falls and crashes, how some of us weren't killed I dont know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,006 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Probably World Cup or else 1 touch off the wall (names vary)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

... small boys in the park, jumpers for goalposts. Rush goalie. Two at the back, three in the middle, four up front, one's gone home for his tea. Beans on toast? Possibly, don't quote me on that. Marvellous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Football, playing hide and seek on the neighbours farm, sometimes dangerously around the slurry pit (those ads still give me nightmares!) wrestling was fairly big at school as well. Got awful rough sometimes especially when you had to fight the lad from sixth class. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Setting fire to the hay field or on special occasions the hedges and bush's around it too, twas a seasonal game.
    The gardai took part too and the fire brigade.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭Ava_e

... small boys in the park, jumpers for goalposts. Rush goalie. Two at the back, three in the middle, four up front, one's gone home for his tea. Beans on toast? Possibly, don't quote me on that. Marvellous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭tomboylady

We used to create obstacle courses through the fields around us. Also used to play 40/40 until it was so dark we couldn't see.

Board game wise, I was actually obsessed with The Game of Life. I remember asking Santa for it when I was about 8 (obviously not fully understanding the game!) and playing it literally every week for a few years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Miss Lockhart

Kerbs, or paths, as my neighbours called it. We played a lot of IRA as well.

Indoors I loved Guess Who and Mask.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Ava_e wrote: »
    Red Rover or British Bulldog.

Bulldogs charge is what it was called

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭joe stodge

Knick-knacks or string knick-knacks,
    We done verbal knick-knacks from time to time, until some aul caught us and threatened to knock the shít out of us with a wheel brace. Good times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭alph

Mario Kart on the super Nintendo

Best game ever made.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

Manhunt or as some use to call it ira,was a great game to play with a group.Games of it could last hours

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Ava_e wrote: »
    Connect Four, I still play this now. Whoever loses pays for the take away.

Take the tedium out of this with Connect One

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭joe stodge

We also used to put dog shíts under the local aul bints cardoor handles as well and wait in the field across from her house playing football for hours until she went to go out. Oh how we laughed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭derfderf

alph wrote: »
    Mario Kart on the super Nintendo

Best game ever made.

As much as I loved it i always prefered micro machines when a few were playing. Very cut throat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

We used to build a base and go on "missions" to the end of the garden. If we saw a "Janet House" (a bird, a plane, a microlight etc.) we had to run or it would shoot us. If we were inside and the TV was on, we had to watch out for the "Scary Lady Face" (who controlled the Janet Houses) as she was trying to kill us.

I have no idea where any of that come from. Kids are weird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭MomijiHime

Simon says
    Tamagotchi
    Fight with sister
    What time is it Mr.Wolf?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

Playing on the silage bales and then get ate for bursting holes in them

Making forts with square bales and playing dares with the neighbours in them. Bales were mighty craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Sync

Headers and volleys hands down, or the variation of it named 60 seconds. :)

tomboylady wrote: »
    Also used to play 40/40 until it was so dark we couldn't see.

40/40 home was my favourite childhood game. One evening we were playing it and I was running so fast to get home that I didn't notice the concrete bollard in front of me. I ran straight into it and knocked myself out!

Oh, leap frog and double dutch too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,406 ✭✭✭DyldeBrill

Nothing beats oldskool games!

Loved pogs myself and a bita pop up pirate!

Can't be kinex or lego either!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 394 ✭✭RaRaRasputin

Water pistol/ bomb fights in summer when you formed two armies and the aim was to get as soaked as possible

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭A_Sober_Paddy

Player Manager for Playstation...Won back to back European Cups with Watford...what a game

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

There was this one guy in the group who we used to pick on (he was a nice lad,one of us but there's always one at that age).Anyway we used to wait for him to be "on" playing kick the can,then we'd all go home and watch him trying to catch us from our bedroom windows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭Burky126

Playing in traffic.

:(