Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

20 Degrees last year, this year Baltic!

• 27-03-2013 1:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭

I remember last year it was like early summer, about twenty degrees, I remember going to Turkey a few weeks later and comparing the weather. This year its like the third week in November leading up to Xmas.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

Global warming me hoop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

I remember last year it was like early summer, about twenty degrees, I remember going to Turkey a few weeks later and comparing the weather. This year its like the third week in November leading up to Xmas.

The End

bodhrandude Age 12

Fixed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Changeable ain't it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

There was grand heat in that warmth, last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

Sky King wrote: »
    Global warming me hoop.
    Thats why they started calling it climate change instead..... now any time the weather is "unseasonable" its down to climate change.

Ah yes, but last year, that day you remember - that was summer.

This year though, this year will be different! It's going to be the warmest summer since '95. I'm certain of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Global warming me hoop.

That might just be piles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,482 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

I don't remember it being that warm last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

Can't even remember last week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭Chavways

Snow Sun Snow Sun Snow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

Ush1 wrote: »
    I don't remember it being that warm last year.

"First published: Tue, Mar 27, 2012, 01:00

THREE MORE days of “wall-to-wall” sun are expected as Ireland basks in unseasonable temperatures higher yesterday than in Barcelona and Crete.

Temperatures rose above 20 degrees in some parts of the country yesterday, mainly in the north-west.
    "

Irish Times (Google Cache version because of Paywall)

Note to OP: " Ireland basks in unseasonable temperatures"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,201 ✭✭✭amacca

Global warming me hoop.

Good...I was afraid someones hoop wouldn't show up until much later in this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭tomboylady

I just saw a tourist, shivering, wearing a summer dress and a light jacket. Me and my four layers of warm clothing laughed at her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

This year though, this year will be different! It's going to be the warmest summer since '95. I'm certain of it.

I'm actually hoping your right now, Maybe if we all try to believe,, A summer may just occur..

Its getting harder and harder to get through my summer "to do list" these day!

I like the snow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

This time last year was 365 days ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭Colibri

This time last year was 365 days ago.

source?

I like the snow.

I like cake!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Colibri wrote: »
    source?
    Pope Gregory XIII

You might have trouble contacting him though, he's a wee bit dead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Very worried what will happen on the day after tomorrow. Oh sh1t, Good Friday, no booze or steak!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,405 ✭✭✭Dartz

iDave wrote: »
    Very worried what will happen on the day after tomorrow. Oh sh1t, Good Friday, no booze or steak!!!!

Only a problem if you're a Christer who forgot to stock up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭Fromthetrees

Yeah and because I'm an idiot, when I went out for a smoke last night in -1 I wore a t-shirt and hoody, and when (if) the temperature reaches 20 degrees I'll be going outside smoking in a t-shirt and hoody.

WINNING!!!

Dartz wrote: »
    Only a problem if you're a Christer who forgot to stock up.

I always ask my catholic housekeep to wazz me up a quick boozesteak smoothie to have with my philly boozesteak sandwich on good friday:pac:

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

I have a video of me driving from Palmerstown to Blackrock this time last year. Blue skies everywhere. That car I was driving is only out in warm weather and I remember that I didnt even have a jumper on!

antodeco wrote: »
    I have a video of me driving from Palmerstown to Blackrock this time last year. Blue skies everywhere. That car I was driving is only out in warm weather and I remember that I didnt even have a jumper on!

Not even thinly veiled I'm a smug classic car owner post.

sigh: ok what is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Seachmall wrote: »
    "First published: Tue, Mar 27, 2012, 01:00

THREE MORE days of “wall-to-wall” sun are expected as Ireland basks in unseasonable temperatures higher yesterday than in Barcelona and Crete.

Temperatures rose above 20 degrees in some parts of the country yesterday, mainly in the north-west.
    "

Irish Times (Google Cache version because of Paywall)

Note to OP: " Ireland basks in unseasonable temperatures"

I suppose I made that clear though about having an earlier summer than usual in the OP.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,091 ✭✭✭Antar Bolaeisk

antodeco wrote: »

Now that's just crazy talk!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

Four more days and we're into April.

Does anyone remember April 2007? Weren't we getting bush fires? Small bush fires.

What are the chances it'll be warm enough for a bush fire?

Does anyone remember April 2007? Weren't we getting bush fires? Small bush fires.

I wax tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,091 ✭✭✭Antar Bolaeisk

Doubt it'll even get warm enough for a water shortage as so often happens when the temperatures creep past 15 Celsius.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Father Ted Crilly: Ah, Sister Assumpta!
    Sr. Assumpta: Hello Father!
    Father Ted Crilly: Dougal, Dougal, do you remember Sister Assumpta?
    Father Dougal McGuire: Er, no.
    Father Dougal McGuire: She was here last year! And then we stayed with her in the convent, back in Kildare. Do you remember it? Ah, you do! And then you were hit by the car when you went down to the shops for the paper. You must remember all that? And then you won a hundred pounds with your lottery card? Ah, you must remember it, Dougal!
    [Dougal shakes his head]
    Sr. Assumpta: And weren't you accidentally arrested for shoplifting? I remember we had to go down to the police station to get you!... And the police station went on fire? And you had to be rescued by helicopter?
    Father Ted Crilly: Do you remember? You can't remember any of that? The helicopter! When you fell out of the helicopter! Over the zoo! Do you remember the tigers?
    [Dougal shakes his head some more]
    Father Ted Crilly: You don't remember? You were wearing your blue jumper.
    Father Dougal McGuire: Ah, Sister Assumpta!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 62 ✭✭mewithoutyou

I wax tbh.

Haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

An actual Summer (you know, with sun in it) would be nice this year, and not this spring-blending-into-autumn sh1te that we seem to get all the time now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭seven_eleven

2012 was the worst fúckin summer ever. I swear ta jaysus if we don't get burned to a cinder, drought, and incinerated by Ra himself this summer, I'm going to stab a bag full of puppies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

The Africans nicked our Jet stream. No doubt we'll be getting emails offering to sell it back to us in exchange for our bank details.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,075 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Global warming me hoop.
    Did you miss the meeting? We now call it Global Weirding.

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

It's been a grand day here in the North West. Dry and sunny. I'm sitting at the beach right now. 7pm and it's 18 degrees

in the car

• Closed Accounts Posts: 689 ✭✭✭Mr Whirly

It's all a publicity stunt for the return of Game of Thrones. It'll be back to normal on Tuesday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭osheen

Mr Whirly wrote: »
    It's all a publicity stunt for the return of Game of Thrones. It'll be back to normal on Tuesday.

Lol
    Winter is coming ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

It can even snow in may. There's nothing unusual about this as it's just the normal workings of the climate. http://www.dandantheweatherman.com/Bereklauw/latesnow.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,676 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

It's grand weather imo. Any break from the blanket of drizzle which seems to perpetually cover this country is a nice change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,082 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

It snowed in the early hours of the 4th of April last year, so with the exception of the freak heatwave last year, we're par for the course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,265 ✭✭✭youtube!

I remember it snowed for over 2 hrs in Clondalkin on June 1st 1994. I was working on a building site back then and it was bloody freezing so much so that I had to light a fire in the house I was working on, the next day it was 20 degrees and sunny!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

20 Degrees last year, this year Baltic

Good work, it took me 4 years to get 1 degree. Enjoy your time in the Baltic. What country are you heading to Finland? Latvia? Lithuania or Estonia perhaps?