Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Grand National 2013

• 25-03-2013 3:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,016 ✭✭✭✭

Rich Revival 10/1 at the moment worth an e/w

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Been looking at the odds on PP,think I might take a punt on,gave me a good run for my money at Cheltenham

White Star Line e/w @ 16/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,224 ✭✭✭jimjamcos

I'm keen on 2 for this.

Marasonnien: Very unlikely that Boston Bob and Back in Focus will run. As Ruby confidently gives away at the 3.40 mark in this Willie Mullins feature pre-Cheltenham (http://www.racinguk.com/video/watch/willie-mullins-feature) the Irish National has been the aim for this horse. Decent form behind Lord Windermere a couple of runs back and should be better for extra distance. Sure to go off much shorter with National punters latching onto the Ruby Mullins combo. 12/1

Romanesco: Really like this horse and have followed him since his unlucky fall at last when looking the winner at Cheltenham back in October, being repaid with a couple of places at big prices in recent runs. He needs to be ridden very patiently but travels well and can see him picking off beaten horses come the business end of race, if he turns up. May need better ground but was a good 2nd to Colbert Station on soft at Leopardstown at Christmas. This horse is not far off a big win IMO. 14/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭ste2010

jimjamcos wrote: »
    I'm keen on 2 for this.

Marasonnien: Very unlikely that Boston Bob and Back in Focus will run. As Ruby confidently gives away at the 3.40 mark in this Willie Mullins feature pre-Cheltenham (http://www.racinguk.com/video/watch/willie-mullins-feature) the Irish National has been the aim for this horse. Decent form behind Lord Windermere a couple of runs back and should be better for extra distance. Sure to go off much shorter with National punters latching onto the Ruby Mullins combo. 12/1

Romanesco: Really like this horse and have followed him since his unlucky fall at last when looking the winner at Cheltenham back in October, being repaid with a couple of places at big prices in recent runs. He needs to be ridden very patiently but travels well and can see him picking off beaten horses come the business end of race, if he turns up. May need better ground but was a good 2nd to Colbert Station on soft at Leopardstown at Christmas. This horse is not far off a big win IMO. 14/1

These 2 are the standout selections for me too from quick review.
    Romanesco ran a blinder in the Kim Muir and my only concern would be he might feel the affects of those exploits that day. I had to double take at the weight he's allocated...and a few others..
    You'd be sure Ruby won't be getting down to 10-2 either on marsonnien if he doesn't think he has a serious serious chance. Haven't really had a look at the race in detail but one thing that baffles me is the weight allocations on some.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,224 ✭✭✭jimjamcos

ste2010 wrote: »
    These 2 are the standout selections for me too from quick review.
    Romanesco ran a blinder in the Kim Muir and my only concern would be he might feel the affects of those exploits that day. I had to double take at the weight he's allocated...and a few others..
    You'd be sure Ruby won't be getting down to 10-2 either on marsonnien if he doesn't think he has a serious serious chance. Haven't really had a look at the race in detail but one thing that baffles me is the weight allocations on some.

2nd and 3rd favourite now @ 8/1 and 10/1. Hope you took yesterdays prices!

Anyone know if sea of thunder is running on Monday?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

Quel Esprit has been scratched but (unless the RP is wrong) the weights haven't gone up with Junior down to carry top weight of 11-9

Leaves Marassonien on 10-2 if this is the case, surely Townend will ride him if this is the case?

I'm on my phone so can't check their respective "lowest riding weights" on the RP site over the past 12 months

Quel Esprit has been scratched but (unless the RP is wrong) the weights haven't gone up with Junior down to carry top weight of 11-9

Leaves Marassonien on 10-2 if this is the case, surely Townend will ride him if this is the case?

I'm on my phone so can't check their respective "lowest riding weights" on the RP site over the past 12 months

Ruby rode 10 if I can recall on shooters wood or ulk du Lin this year if I can recall

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭Overthelast

That video jimjam put up swings it for me. Marsonien.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 THEBOSS46

I got a feeling OUTLAW PETE will be up for the National. Hard race in Cheltenham, but if all is well I think it can jump it's way to sucsess. Trying to get the weight for it, if you know please post. Had Lion Na Bearnai last year @ 33/1, thought it stood out a mile. Whatuthink folks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭rossom

Ruby rode 10 if I can recall on shooters wood or ulk du Lin this year if I can recall

He did 10-1 on Shooters Wood which was the lowest. He was meant to get down to 10-2 for Ulck Du Lin but after riding in the previous race he didn't ride him and Jacob did instead.

FWIW I'm on the Marasonnien Express too. Got some 20/1 early doors

Choo choo ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭Oscars Well.

Was there not a jockey change on that Ulk Du Lin ride? I'm nearly sure Daryl Jacob took the ride, it was only announced shortly before the race iirc.

That's right! Thanks Rossom just mentioned also on the previous page

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭beaker1

4:50 Fairyhouse – Irish Grand National

MARASONNIEN looks to be on a good mark for his handicap debut. A grade one winner over hurdles, where he stayed on well to beat Vesper Bell, he has run well over fences without getting his head in front. His run behind Lord Windermere, where he was beaten just 2 lengths at level weights now looks really good form after his win in the RSA Chase and this step up in trip looks like it should suit. He has not looked the quickest horse so far, so I feel it is a good idea to try marathon trips with him. A rating of 135 looks lenient and gives him a very low weight (10-2), which is important as 8 of the last 9 winners carried 10-5 or less. Willie Mullins had several entered in this, but has made him his number one for the race and taken his other leading contenders out, so that could be a tip in its self.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭El Ninotorres

Having a small bet on Panther Claw. Was ver impressed with his run last time out.

Ruby rides Marasonnien

Junior runs off top weight so only a rise of 1lb. Marasonnien carries 10-3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭Jayo11780

I'm heading up to Fairyhouse on Monday for this... very interesting race to say the least.
    I've been going through the trends etc... and have come up with the following shortlist:
    Muirhead
    Rich Revival
    Panther Claw
    Rapidolyte de Ladalka

At a push Ill be backing Panther Claw with a saver on Muirhead who could turn out to be most certainly the value bet in the race!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Marasonien at 11/1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

Carlingford Lough & Panther Claw e/w for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭con___manx1

anyone got any faith in jacksonslady. i backed her at lepordstown just after christmas won a few bob at 12/1.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭Overthelast

anyone got any faith in jacksonslady. i backed her at lepordstown just after christmas won a few bob at 12/1.

I was with marsonien but just did jacksons ew instead. It's the grand national. Hard to be confident about anything but that's my only bet tomorrow. I liked that video one of the lads here threw up on marsonien but he's now 8/1 & I'm a greedy bastxzd so 20/1 appealed more for my modest stake, along with the fact that Mullins yoke is a maiden over the bigger obstacles put me off a little. No wild science behind my selection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

WHODOYOUTHINK

I think I'm right in saying Commanche Court is the only maiden chaser to win this

Marasonnien looks like he'll start jolly too, but the last 13 have been beaten. Not a stat that would put me off hugely when it's often close to 10/1 the field on Betfair i.e. you'd only expect 1 jolly in 11 to win anyhow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭rosskeen

I had a small bet on her each way earlier in the week at 25s and another few quid on her on the exchanges at 48. There seems to have been some support for her, probably helped by Barry Geraghty getting the booking. I'm hoping for a big run.

Only other one I've backed was Carlingford Lough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭Oscars Well.

Quote from Geraghty;

As you probably know, one of the big races that has eluded me at home is the Ladbrokes Irish Grand National (4.50) in fact I’ve never really got close in the race – but I’m fancying my chances this time around on JACKSONSLADY.

This will be the first time she’s tried an extreme distance but I’ve ridden her seven times and won three of them and been second twice and third once so she knows how to get to the winners enclosure.

She switches off nicely and relaxes easily so I think there’s a very good chance she’ll get the trip and a bigger concern would be how testing the ground is.

The nicer the ground, the better it suits her but I’m sure Philip Dempsey has her nicely tuned up for this.

Her last run over fences was at Leopardstown on Boxing Day when she won well over two miles and he gave her a nice break then let her have a spin round on the flat at Dundalk in the middle of March.

That is certain to have put a nice edge on her for this and if the ground is reasonable then I see us as serious contenders.

Link here http://www.attheraces.com/article.aspx?ref=redirect&hlid=533604&lid=barry+geraghty+blog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭oldfella

gonna stick a small few euro on start me up at 33/1...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭Andalucia

carlingford lough has a right chance. whilst ground a little better would ideally suit, he does have form on soft. granted a little luck in running, reckon this well handicapped chaser can land the spoils

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭con___manx1

Quote from Geraghty;

As you probably know, one of the big races that has eluded me at home is the Ladbrokes Irish Grand National (4.50) in fact I’ve never really got close in the race – but I’m fancying my chances this time around on JACKSONSLADY.

This will be the first time she’s tried an extreme distance but I’ve ridden her seven times and won three of them and been second twice and third once so she knows how to get to the winners enclosure.

She switches off nicely and relaxes easily so I think there’s a very good chance she’ll get the trip and a bigger concern would be how testing the ground is.

The nicer the ground, the better it suits her but I’m sure Philip Dempsey has her nicely tuned up for this.

Her last run over fences was at Leopardstown on Boxing Day when she won well over two miles and he gave her a nice break then let her have a spin round on the flat at Dundalk in the middle of March.

That is certain to have put a nice edge on her for this and if the ground is reasonable then I see us as serious contenders.

Link here http://www.attheraces.com/article.aspx?ref=redirect&hlid=533604&lid=barry+geraghty+blog

thats an interesting article all right. im gonna back jacksonslady ew anyway. she ran a great race on stevens day. shes a great jumper and i think geraghty will get the best out of her on the day.

I'm guessing Carlingford Lough is Pricewise?

Money for it & large liquidity surrounding it on Betfair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭ft9

I like Home Farm. Small bet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭tipster

marrasonnien for me missed 20s but got 16s panther claw has a chance will stay forever anyway

My fancies for this are "quietly fancied" and "marsonnien"
    Re carlingford lough the trip or even 3m is a bit of an unknown. I believe This has been his target all year so they must have serious faith in him staying!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭rossom

4.50 Fairyhouse

Blazing Beacon 40/1

The Irish National looks a minefield as per usual and I'm hoping Frank McGuinness's Blazing Beacon will be a lively outsider in this and I'm hoping he can land this very lucrative prize. Although now in his veteran years at the age of 11, he's very lightly raced for one of his age with only 19 races to date. Furthermore, he's still very lightly raced over fences winning 3 of his 5 starts and I still feel he's on a workable mark of 130. An impressive winner of a Point To Point on his only completed start, Blazing Beacon was only moderate in his 12 starts in Bumpers and over hurdles but he really took off when he was sent chasing. After a good 2nd on chase debut behind the talented De Valira in September 2011, he showed the benefit of experience when routing a small field by 30L later that month before running a fine 4th in a Grade 3 Chase over 18f behind some very useful sorts in October that year. Blazing Beacon had only one more start that year when winning impressively over 22f at Wexford in a Novice event but it transpired that he injured a tendon which saw him sidelined for a long time. After 505 days off the track, Blazing Beacon made a successful handicap debut off a mark of 122 when landing a gamble over 19f at Wexford last month and he definitely showed he still held his enthusiasm for the game. Under Bryan Cooper, Blazing Beacon jumped phenomenally well for the most part and was taking lengths out his rivals at every fence in the heavy ground as he led from the front. With a reduced advantage approaching the final flight, Blazing Beacon wasn't at his usual fluent best and was headed after the last. However, he regained the advantage with authority late on to score by half a length but he clearly had a lot more left in the tank than the margin suggests.

He's been upped 8lbs for that effort on what will be just his 2nd start in a handicap and he's clearly unexposed over fences despite his veteran status. Given that it was his first start in a very long time, he's entitled to come on an awful lot for the run (although he could bounce) and he certainly seems to retain his ability. Given that the furthest he has raced over Under Rules has been 2m6f, his ability to stay 3m5f is a complete unknown but he looks a horse who is full of heart and he will certainly give it his all. I do, however, think he looks a strong stayer and definitely have hope that he can last home over the mammoth distance. Although McGuinness has maintained he is a better horse on good ground (which results would support), he won on heavy ground LTO and he can act on it. With Junior in the field, Blazing Beacon is allowed to race off a lovely racing weight of 9-9 with the extremely talented Mark Enright taking a very useful 3lb off. Although I can't advise anything other than a small bet in such a competitive event, it would be a wonderful story if Blazing Beacon could win this given that he hails from Frank McGuinness's very small yard and I'm hopeful for a big run from this lightly raced veteran whose wonderful jumping is a huge asset in a race of this nature.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,494 ✭✭✭finbarrk

Quietly Fancied for me. 25/1. €50 ew.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭Starscream25

marasonnien for me, happy with 11/1 this morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭MikeCork2009

Had a punt on Romanesco at 14/1. Got to have a great shout if Cheltenham exploits have not taken too much out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Have Marsonnien at 16's. Will probably back Carlingford Lough e/w also if I can get bigger than 10's 5 places

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,008 ✭✭✭kksaints

Quietly Fancied for me. Also think Cross Appeal could run well but dont think I will back it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭sting60

Marasonnian could be thrown in of 135 and Im sure Noel O Brien has no idea how good he is.If this novice jumps well then he could win hard held as I believe Mullins has had the brakes on to protect any handicap mark.I have backed Jadanli at hugh odds in the hope the ground would be bottomless but it has dried out but he could still run a big race.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

Romanesco for me. who knows, i might start liking the jumps if he wins:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 120 ✭✭bozharry

Hi any tips for today for fairyhouse?my first time goin racing and I haven't a clue how to even back a horse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,882 ✭✭✭✭Rock Lesnar

Been on Romanesco for weeks now, really liked the way he ran at cheltenham (apart from it not winning :(), Hope the ground dries out some more before 4.50 though, have worked up there in the past and there always seems to be a Breeze so hopefully it will dry out.

Just had a bet on Sweeney Tunes to, should appreciate the 3m5

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Going for two small each ways at big odds. Cross Appeal needs to return to form but is well handicapped if he does at 40/1 and Start Me Up, 50s is available

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭ForeverYoung90

Sweeney Tunes for me as well.Also I heard Goonyella could be up there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,474 ✭✭✭longshotvalue

Irish Grand National

I’m never one for going for any of the favourites in these races as they are invariably too short, and recent results in this race have proven that point. I’m going for 2 long shots that have on their best form the capability to compete. Both have been poor enough lately but that has resulted in a very big price. Cross Appeal won the Paddy Power Chase at Leopardstown last year and followed up with a great run of a higher mark in the Galway Place. He is still a young and possibly improving horse, who hopefully has had this race in mind. He looks easily worth 40/1 with 5 places on Stan James. I’m also going with Our Victoria at an even bigger price. She was a very good 4th in 4 miler at the festival last year of a higher mark, has had a break lately and is actually very consistent in her runs. 50/1 with 5 places looks huge, given that she will stay the trip.

1 Point EW 40/1 Cross Appeal Stan James 5 Places

1 Point EW 50/1 Our Victoria Stan James 5 Places

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

aidankkk wrote: »
    Irish Grand National

I’m never one for going for any of the favourites in these races as they are invariably too short, and recent results in this race have proven that point. I’m going for 2 long shots that have on their best form the capability to compete. Both have been poor enough lately but that has resulted in a very big price. Cross Appeal won the Paddy Power Chase at Leopardstown last year and followed up with a great run of a higher mark in the Galway Place. He is still a young and possibly improving horse, who hopefully has had this race in mind. He looks easily worth 40/1 with 5 places on Stan James. I’m also going with Our Victoria at an even bigger price. She was a very good 4th in 4 miler at the festival last year of a higher mark, has had a break lately and is actually very consistent in her runs. 50/1 with 5 places looks huge, given that she will stay the trip.

1 Point EW 40/1 Cross Appeal Stan James 5 Places

1 Point EW 50/1 Our Victoria Stan James 5 Places

Have always been interested in Our Victoria. Her and Askanna, both Colin Bowe mares, took my eye a couple of years ago. I will put a small bet on her and keep the fingers crossed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭Alpha Dog 1

Small bet on jacksonslady each way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,057 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Competitive Edge @ 16/1 (the Real McCoy)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭ft9

Ive done the usual scatter of fivers for the national on Betfair.

Home Farm 12.0
    Marasonnien 11.5
    Jacksonslady 27.0
    Cross Appeal 55.0
    Away We Go 36.0

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Looking forward to Cross Appeal and Start Me Up dead heating $$$$$$