Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

This crazy weather !!!

• 24-03-2013 9:24pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭

Interesting take on why our weather is becoming more erratic. Apparently it's changes in the Jet Stream due to Global Warming.
    From 3:10 to 5:45 on the following;

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

pakalasa wrote: »
    Interesting take on why our weather is becoming more erratic. Apparently it's changes in the Jet Stream due to Global Warming.
    From 3:10 to 5:45 on the following;

I didnt watch the vid yet but what would ye do if this weather kept up till june or july ? You never know whats down the line in the next few years ....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

There's no such thing as global warming. The climate has been changing naturally for millions of years all on it's own. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

zenno wrote: »
    There's no such thing as global warming. The climate has been changing naturally for millions of years all on it's own. :D
    I reckon its not all down to global warming alright .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

That's why it's called climate change now, whatever the weather they can blame man for it. Amazing how nature is not responsible for changing weather it's caused by man, whatever way you look at it nature plays the bigger part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭severeoversteer

well for the record my auld lad remembers having snow in galway in june !:eek:

I heard the older generation talking about wiping snow off the seat of the combine in October before harvesting :eek: I remember the spring show in Dublin in 1978 in the month of May it snowed in Cork that morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭grazeaway

Yes the climate is changing naturally but the rate of change has increased. There have been no major natural climate change factors such as extra volcanic eruptions or comet strikes for centuries. There is defo a link between the rate of climate change and human activity over that last couple of centuries. Take a look at the world map or the Aral Sea in Central Asia and now look at it in google maps. The knock on effect of the reducion in size of the inland sea in the local area in immense. Now if there are loads of small local changes like that then it stands to reason that lots of little changes add up a whole lot.

we dont get snow much in galway at all, last snow was 2009 but when it does snow here its fairly bad. it makes up for it in rain though !:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

Ah the good old " Galway tent" No snow No show. ;-)

we dont get snow much in galway at all, last snow was 2009 but when it does snow here its fairly bad. it makes up for it in rain though !:rolleyes:
    I remember plenty snow back in the 70's there were drifts 4' deep around gateways. When the snow in 09 came you would swear that we never got snow in Ireland before the way they were going on about it.

things stayed tipping along here durin the 2009 2010 winters despite -12 or what ever, was only slight inconvienience in my opinion, theres one thing i do hate though, Fxxking wind !!!!!!:mad:

Bizzum wrote: »
    Ah the good old " Galway tent" No snow No show. ;-)
    If Bertie had no one to powder his whiskey nose he could have blamed the snow for it :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Putting aside the reasons for it, there is definitely a big change in the weather. One thing that sticks in my mind is the amount of wind we are getting direct from the east. We normally only get that maybe once or twice a year. This winter it has been very common.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Recent Weather records and historical weather records which were attained through geological digs, carbon dating, chemical dating etc clearly show that weather patterns have a small cycle of every 17 years, a long cycle of approximately every 150 years where highs and lows (ie. Never before see heat waves or mini ice ages) can occur. It is caused by the earth's orbit, angles of orbit etc.

In broad terms, similar weather patterns can be witnessed every 17 years while extreme highs and lows of this weather can be seen every 150 years. It explains why we have quite a number of wet summers in a row, or why we have a number of cold winters in a row. We should benefit from a number of hot summers in a row or a number of mild winters in a row, bit in reality it is mainland Europe that will see this instead. Our weather is primarily influenced by the atalantic curerents. We can see this more clearly when our neighbours in the uk mainland and european continent can have a cold spell for 3 or 4 weeks, and we can be having mild weather with showers at the same time - even though we are only a few miles away from them.

That's about as much as i can remember from a degree in geography 15 years ago :confused: :pac:

I blame the sun, not man. Solar flares.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Not nearly as cold this evening as last, could actually stand and watch an animal tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Not nearly as cold this evening as last, could actually stand and watch an animal tonight.

Wind has settled around here so it's more bearable to stand out in it.
    Walked some fields this evening and there has been serious drying over the last few days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,218 ✭✭✭zetecescort

what I have noticed over the years is the intensity of the rain has increased. what used to fall over a few days now falling in a few hours and the land can't drain it away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭Viewtodiefor

reilig wrote: »
    Recent Weather records and historical weather records which were attained through geological digs, carbon dating, chemical dating etc clearly show that weather patterns have a small cycle of every 17 years, a long cycle of approximately every 150 years where highs and lows (ie. Never before see heat waves or mini ice ages) can occur. It is caused by the earth's orbit, angles of orbit etc.

In broad terms, similar weather patterns can be witnessed every 17 years while extreme highs and lows of this weather can be seen every 150 years. It explains why we have quite a number of wet summers in a row, or why we have a number of cold winters in a row. We should benefit from a number of hot summers in a row or a number of mild winters in a row, bit in reality it is mainland Europe that will see this instead. Our weather is primarily influenced by the atalantic curerents. We can see this more clearly when our neighbours in the uk mainland and european continent can have a cold spell for 3 or 4 weeks, and we can be having mild weather with showers at the same time - even though we are only a few miles away from them.

That's about as much as i can remember from a degree in geography 15 years ago :confused: :pac:

While all the above is correct we are seeing some signs that global warming is bringing the weather pattern years closer together eg what might have happened every 20 years may now be happening every 10 yrs.

One thing that hasn't been mentioned here is that the Tokyo earthquake last year has caused the earth to shift on its axis by about 5 degrees, there are some suggestions that this has upset world weather patterns. Which I suppose is a possibility if you think about it, remember last summer the reason we got all the rain was the jet stream was too far north allowing all the lows come straight onto the south coast , likewise this spring the jetstream is too far south allowing cold artic/Siberian air over us this spring.
    I ain't a weather man but something is slightly a miss is my guess!!

reilig wrote: »
    Wind has settled around here so it's more bearable to stand out in it.
    Walked some fields this evening and there has been serious drying over the last few days.

For sure, there's an old road I drive in and it's been destroyed by persons unmentionable, but it's usually all slippery muck in a few spots. Can see it getting drier and drier day by day. What ever about the cold, the lack of rain in this area is great.

...One thing that hasn't been mentioned here is that the Tokyo earthquake last year has caused the earth to shift on its axis by about 5 degrees...
    5 degrees - I think it was more like 5cm. 5 degrees is huge.:eek:

5 degrees - i think it was more like 5cm. 5 degrees is huge.:eek:

Somewhere between 10 and 25 centimeters. No one really knows 5 degree maybe bit much alright

5 degrees - I think it was more like 5cm. 5 degrees is huge.:eek:

This might interest u pakalassa

Dr. Richard Gross, one of the head researchers working for NASA, explained that even a difference of 1.8 microseconds is important to his team because it affects the way that spacecraft being sent to Mars are navigated. Not taking the changes into account could increase the chances of failure of the mission. Gross noted that the way the Earth rotates is not very smooth, like an old car wobbling on its axle. The earthquake's effect was as if a person took a hammer and whacked the car's axle, causing it to shift and the car to drive differently. The powerful earthquake hit the Earth’s axle, causing it to spin in a slightly different way.[77]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 tontons

The weather is changing, when it rains its heavier over a shorter period but the average rain fall over leinster last year was only 10% higher than average, hard to believe but true. Giving out about it won't change it,we will have to change our systems of work to survive into the future. There will be winners and losers and as long as we don't get the climate of the gulf of labador ,same latatude as us , we are still ahead.Quote=grazeaway83816909;83816909j]

Yes the climate is changing naturally but the rate of change has increased. There have been no major natural climate change factors such as extra volcanic eruptions or comet strikes for centuries. There is defo a link between the rate of climate change and human activity over that last couple of centuries. Take a look at the world map or the Aral Sea in Central Asia and now look at it in google maps. The knock on effect of the reducion in size of the inland sea in the local area in immense. Now if there are loads of small local changes like that then it stands to reason that lots of little changes add up a whole lot.[/Quote]

Here's one for you... July in Ireland, mostly the south-west is going to be the hottest on record, especially the 27th July. This is from a bloke i know working in the north pole. He's adamant about this.

Fingers crossed ;) I don't believe him but we'll see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

Here's one for you... July in Ireland, mostly the south-west is going to be the hottest on record, especially the 27th July. This is from a bloke i know working in the north pole. He's adamant about this.

Fingers crossed ;) I don't believe him but we'll see.
    was that santa claus:D seems along way off yet

whelan1 wrote: »
    was that santa claus:D seems along way off yet

snow down here last night, maybe he has taken up a job share with the easter bunny.

twas absolutlly bitter yesterday. home place faces south east and once you get out of the yard your fairly exposed. lad accross the vally took out all the ditches on teh farm over the last 10 years was looking accross at some of his cows yesteday. they looked like wagons in a circle all huddled togeher to get some shelter. fella next has his ina line along the south ditch all happy out chewign the cud. no prizes for guessing which cows id say were happiest

grazeaway wrote: »

snow down here last night, maybe he has taken up a job share with the easter bunny.

twas absolutlly bitter yesterday. home place faces south east and once you get out of the yard your fairly exposed. lad accross the vally took out all the ditches on teh farm over the last 10 years was looking accross at some of his cows yesteday. they looked like wagons in a circle all huddled togeher to get some shelter. fella next has his ina line along the south ditch all happy out chewign the cud. no prizes for guessing which cows id say were happiest

Snowing here now! But at least it's not raining, bring it on!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,516 ✭✭✭Maudi

Putting aside the reasons for it, there is definitely a big change in the weather. One thing that sticks in my mind is the amount of wind we are getting direct from the east. We normally only get that maybe once or twice a year. This winter it has been very common.
    myself and the missus noticed this while watching the sea..waves seemed to be flowing the "wrong"way..and it was because of that easterly wind..and it was quiet cold for an easterly too..talking about climate change...the ice caps are melting at an unprecdented rate..all that water has to go somewhere..hence the heavy prolonged rainfall for weeks at a time.

Maudi wrote: »
    myself and the missus noticed this while watching the sea..waves seemed to be flowing the "wrong"way..and it was because of that easterly wind..and it was quiet cold for an easterly too..talking about climate change...the ice caps are melting at an unprecdented rate..all that water has to go somewhere..hence the heavy prolonged rainfall for weeks at a time.

It's called the spring breakup it happens every single year, nothing unusual about it at all.

Maudi wrote: »
    The gulf stream is the cause ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

Sam Kade wrote: »
    The gulf stream is the cause ;)
    Its simon coveny, the ifa, the tans, the yanks and your man that lives down the road with too many cows. and maybe justin mc carthy

1chippy wrote: »
    Its simon coveny, the ifa, the tans, the yanks and your man that lives down the road with too many cows. and maybe justin mc carthy

You forgot Larry !

The two Sean's, fitzy and quinn are at the root of it all so i reckon Anglo/IBRC have some part in it too. They have a part is pretty much every other misery in this country so why not the weather as well. All these ghost estates must have some kind on negative impact.

either way we'll blame them anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

I've thought of one benefit of the cold weather. Calves are thriving well. Any e-coli or other virus that raises it's head soon drops it thinking I'll wait 'til the weather softens a bit. It's the only upside though.

Ya, I've all the suckler calves out now and they are loving it. Running around with their tails up. Something I didn't see all last year.

Temperatures to rise above 9C from Thursday 11 April 2013. Long way off, but some light at the end of the tunnel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,493 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Weather after news giving east and north east breeze with severe night frosts right through next week now,So thats going to be another week to 10 days of no growth.Feckin brillant.Luckily im ok for feed and okish for grass for another 2 weeks but if this drags on mch longer itll drive some lads over the edge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

was just looking at accuweather and between 20-26 april there is 2.8 inches of rain, im praying now they are wrong

simx wrote: »
    was just looking at accuweather and between 20-26 april there is 2.8 inches of rain, im praying now they are wrong

Yeah was looking at long range forecast there too, looks at present April is not going to see much growth at least in the first two weeks anyway, hopefully It may change as mt cranium says its very uncertain

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭whitebriar

Guys....
    Scientifically,Exact weather forecasts are only possible to 10 days and can be wildly inaccurate past day 5.
    Computer weather models tell us roughly where everything is going to be accurately enough inside those 5 days but sometimes events trick computers.

General statements like cooler/warmer wetter etc can only be made outside of that but with a big pinch of salt.

The likes of Ken Ring and any others are from the stopped clock school.

The accuweather app or any app referenced above is also no good beyond 5 days as they are generating forecasts off a wildly inaccurate gfs weather programme that's unreliable outside 96hrs.

If you want some more info,go to any internet weather forum or google.

So basically don't worry,....and if it is a flood on april 25th or whatever,it won't be because accuweather says so today.
    Use them yokes for 4 days ahead max.

whitebriar wrote: »
    Guys....
    Scientifically,Exact weather forecasts are only possible to 10 days and can be wildly inaccurate past day 5.
    Computer weather models tell us roughly where everything is going to be accurately enough inside those 5 days but sometimes events trick computers.

General statements like cooler/warmer wetter etc can only be made outside of that but with a big pinch of salt.

The accuweather app or any app referenced above is also no good beyond 5 days as they are generating forecasts off a wildly inaccurate gfs weather programme that's unreliable outside 96hrs.

So basically don't worry,....and if it is a flood on april 25th or whatever,it won't be because accuweather says so today.

This is true I did say it was uncertain, but they are picking up trends occurring which are not promising but very changeable

Guys....

This is true I did say it was uncertain, but they are picking up trends occurring which are not promising but very changeable

Guys....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭whitebriar

I wouldn't say trends either.
    Irelands weather is unusual at the moment,it's always going to revert back to the usual.

Also the gfs weather programme those app's are based on changes,often completely,4 times a day.
    The UK met office distrust it so much,they hardly glance at it.

If you don't believe me,write down what any of those apps say today,that the weather will be in 10 days and then in 10 days see if it was right.
    Do that a few times and you'll see.

There's no sense in worrying about weather in a months time.

It was showing 11C today in the car coming home at 4.30.

First day in a while I didn't put jackets on young lambs. It actually felt like a nice day at times.

Guys....

I've pointed that out a few times on here but it just falls on deaf ears :( What makes me laugh every year you have people going around in April saying that they heard that we are going to get a heatwave in June or whenever and they are fully convinced it's going to happen :rolleyes: A few years ago someone said that we were going to get a heatwave in August and that the temperature would be +40°C :rolleyes: That would be a new record as the highest recorded tempt in Ireland was + 33.3°C at Kilkenny Castle 26th June 1887.

Sam Kade wrote: »
    I've pointed that out a few times on here but it just falls on deaf ears :( What makes me laugh every year you have people going around in April saying that they heard that we are going to get a heatwave in June or whenever and they are fully convinced it's going to happen :rolleyes: A few years ago someone said that we were going to get a heatwave in August and that the temperature would be +40°C :rolleyes: That would be a new record as the highest recorded tempt in Ireland was + 33.3°C at Kilkenny Castle 26th June 1887.

It's only true if the Donegal postman says it's going to happen :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

was over with an eldery neighbour over the weekend lifting out a dead cow for her and got chatting to the lad from the knackery. he says they are flat out collecting animals and reckon a lot is down to the weather. famers after running out of good feed and animals having to to left out on bare fields in the cold. Says they have collected more calfs in the 1st 3 months of this year then all of last year, lots of cows calving down too early.

he might have a point, if so this weather is really starting to have an awful effect.