Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Barn find E28 M5 .

• 23-03-2013 11:12am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,531 ✭✭✭

I was in a shed doing some work and I saw an old E28 in there.
    I asked the old lady who owned the shed about it and she said it was her late husbands and that when they relocated from the uk about 8 years ago that was their car. It been parked there for about 7 years still on uk plates . I asked if I could have a look around it to which she said yes.
    So I had a walk round it , D reg , black in colour , a fair amount of rust here and there ,bbs basket weave alloys , beige leather interior, elec seats, M power 6 cylinder engine and a little M5 badge on the boot. Interesting.
    Quick check of the vin num through real oem and it turns out to be a 1986 RHD E28 M5 . There's 168k on it .
    I asked the lady would she sell it and had she any paperwork for it and she said she might and came back with a nice big service file.
    I came back that evening with a battery and 5 gallons of fuel , quick check of oil and water and low and behold she started first time brakes are seized on though.The lady said she would sell it and asked me how much it was worth
    Which is why I am here, I don't want to rip the lady off or overpay for it so could you good people put a value on it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

Ask her?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

How can a D reg still be on UK plates.

Ignore me. Somebody has to break the ice and name a price to start the ball rolling.. tricky situation alright..

JJJJNR wrote: »

UK 1 August 1986 – 31 July 1987

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Rhys Essien

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭911s

JJJJNR wrote: »

In Ireland a 'D' in centre of plate means Dublin reg. In UK a 'D' at start of reg means 1986/87 reg, commonly referred to as a 'D' reg.

One here asking £23,995. sterling :eek:

Id be saying "Missus,will ya take €3,000" :D

http://www.carandclassic.co.uk/car/C374074

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭PyeContinental

5 gallons of fuel? :)
    Anyway, I don't know how much it's worth but I'd like to see some pics in situ.

One here asking £23,995. sterling :eek:

Id be saying "Missus,will ya take €3,000" :D

http://www.carandclassic.co.uk/car/C374074

TBH, if it has been sat up that long it'll need a good bit of work to get back on the road. Bill could easily run into thousands...

Is the rust only on the bodywork and relatively easy to sort? If so I imagine anything in the €1500 region would be fair enough. If the lady accepted €1500 I don't think you'd be after wronging her :)

Although as it's on UK plates and would currently attract VRT it might well be worth less, few years away from vintage tax too.

Very True.Would 2-3k seem fair then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭spyderski

You'll be spending €5-10k to get it anywhere near right if its in the condition you've described. Then it'll be €2,000 per year to tax for the next 3 years.

As you've described it I'd say a grand is fair value for both parties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,531 ✭✭✭Car99

I was think somewhere between 2 and 3k after a bit of research looks like you could easily spend 10k putting it right. I wouldn't mind putting 13 k into it if it was worth that or more when finished. If I had to break it would i get 3k back. RHD rare by all accounts only 186 made if google is correct. Decisions decisions.

5 gallons of fuel? :)
    Anyway, I don't know how much it's worth but I'd like to see some pics in situ.

5 gallons to thin out any dead fuel that might have been in the tank luckily enough I only put in two gallons and she started up.
    I'll ask can i take some photos.

These lads might give you better advice

http://bmwclassicsireland.com/

RoverJames wrote: »
    Is the rust only on the bodywork and relatively easy to sort? If so I imagine anything in the €1500 region would be fair enough. If the lady accepted €1500 I don't think you'd be after wronging her :)

Although as it's on UK plates and would currently attract VRT it might well be worth less, few years away from vintage tax too.

I reckon if I got it by the time it's finished it would be eligible for vintage tax and €200 euro vrt if that's still an option in 3 years time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭Bigus

Car99 wrote: »
    5 gallons to thin out any dead fuel that might have been in the tank luckily enough I only put in two gallons and she started up.

Just buy it, Rj s figure of 1500 would be fair.

Bigus wrote: »
    Just buy it, Rj s figure of 1500 would be fair.

This. If it were me, and I had somewhere to keep it, I'd offer ~€1500 and keep it as a long term project. Aiming for somewhere between 1st August 2016 and 31st July 2017 to complete. :D

OP,three words....you lucky ba$tard

Post up the pics when you get a chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭spyderski

The 3.5 straight six engine is bombproof. I have the similar (non-msport) engine in a 635csi and it starts 1st time, even when its been laid up for the winter.
    The main problem with 80's BMW's is rust - especially as this one spent most of its life in the UK - road salt eats the metal on these things.
    Check the inner wings, arches, door sills and underneath. If the rust is really bad it would make the car uneconomical to repair.
    The good thing is most of the parts are still available from BMW, although v. expensive.

Going to offer her €2500 and not charge her for the work I did. I want to be fair and I'm looking at it a a 3 to 4 year project. Wish me luck. I'll let ye know how it goes.

spyderski wrote: »

The 3.5 straight six engine is bombproof. I have the similar (non-msport) engine in a 635csi and it starts 1st time, even when its been laid up for the winter.
    The main problem with 80's BMW's is rust - especially as this one spent most of its life in the UK - road salt eats the metal on these things.
    Check the inner wings, arches, door sills and underneath. If the rust is really bad it would make the car uneconomical to repair.
    The good thing is most of the parts are still available from BMW, although v. expensive.

I do too. Are there many owners on here?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

I reckon if I got it by the time it's finished it would be eligible for vintage tax and €200 euro vrt if that's still an option in 3 years time.

If the car was originally hers you might get her to sort out the VRT as it will be €0. If she was the owner of the car in the UK it shouldn;t cost them anything to VRT it here. It might be a bit of work with the tax office but should be doable.
    Going to offer her €2500 and not charge her for the work I did. I want to be fair and I'm looking at it a a 3 to 4 year project. Wish me luck. I'll let ye know how it goes.

It's fair enough, though I'd go for €1500-€2000 myself.

This is presuming that the rust isn't too bad, but it will might probably need an outside respray to bring it up to scratch.

If it was mine I'd change all brake discs and pads along with giving the brake lines a possible full overhaul, this can easily run to €2000 if you can't so it yourself. It'll need new tyres as well which will be another €700 with fitting and tracking.

Needless to say all fluids, filters need to be changed along with a full service, you'll also need to clean the tank properly and maybe change some hoses and pipes that have deteriorated along with any worn suspension parts or bushings etc.

Best of luck with it, hope you get her on the road again, a car like that deserves to be out and about.

Bought it, now it goes in to my shed until I have time to restore it. Cheers for all the inputs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭Basil Fawlty

Any chance of some photos? I love those M5s

I'll start a thread on the resto when the time comes, she's nothing special to look at at the moment , exact same as a standard E28 bar the full leather interior , mechanicals and shadow line trim. I'll not post any pics till I get working on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

I'll start a thread on the resto when the time comes, she's nothing special to look at at the moment , exact same as a standard E28 bar the full leather interior , mechanicals and shadow line trim. I'll not post any pics till I get working on it.

Aaaaaaaaaaaaaargh !! :eek:

Not Fair ! :p:p:p

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

....on a similar note - I'm saying anymore, owner has things to consider - but this has been found in Ireland in the last week :eek: :eek: :eek:. Parked in a garage untouched for 25 years. This is not made up - I took the pics :)

246752.jpg

246753.jpg

Original, Irish-reg, 1-owner since 1958 (iirc.........)

I thought all this stuff had been dug up years ago.........

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

More details please.:D

galwaytt wrote: »
    ....on a similar note - I'm saying anymore, owner has things to consider - but this has been found in Ireland in the last week :eek: :eek: :eek:. Parked in a garage untouched for 25 years. This is not made up - I took the pics :)

246752.jpg

246753.jpg

Original, Irish-reg, 1-owner since 1958 (iirc.........)

I thought all this stuff had been dug up years ago.........

I'll swop you.

More details please.:D

I wish I could.......but owner needs to consider his options atmo........I have 2 people chomping on the bit to buy. I'd love to do it, but the numbers involved are......let's just say I could have a modern used 911 Turbo Cabriolet.......for less !!

Ode To The Motorist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,122 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

I'd say that is very fair. The car is going to be worth quite a bit when done, but that will take a lot of money and effort

That said, the car as is, is worth a lot more than any €1k banger

I reckon you scored yourself some karma points here :)

Good luck with the resto and keep us updated! Picture thread is a must or you will be banned from this forum ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭PyeContinental

A picture for inspiration?

1988_BMW_e28_M5_Sedan_Rear_1.jpg
    This is one of the nicest E28 M5′s we have ever seen ... We’ve always loved the way the black taillight trim looks as compared to the chrome units on the standard E28′s.

http://bringatrailer.com/2008/02/20/fantastic-first-generation-1988-bmw-m5-sedan/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,748 ✭✭✭Do-more

From the comments in the link above this bit is ominous given the OP's car is showing 168K
    The high mileage (151k) will make it hard to get this kind of money. The S38 motors usually require rebuilds between 150k and 200k miles. Some have gone over 200k before serious work, but others have had catastrophic failures at 100k or less. That matters when a rebuild will cost about $15k.

invest4deepvalue.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭Bigus

Do-more wrote: »
    From the comments in the link above this bit is ominous given the OP's car is showing 168K

American bull****, and the op's engine could have been rebuilt already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

I am very very jealous, I have no idea whats a fair offer. In fairness by the time the next person found it there may be nothing left - so whatever figure ye ar both happy with is the right one.

btw - have a look at this Harris on his M5. Love him or hate him ( or just be jealous ) he knows about motors and truly loves them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,555 ✭✭✭✭Marlow

Definatly a fair offer. Good luck with getting your fingers on the M5. Very lucky find.

/M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

POGTFO OP!!!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,358 ✭✭✭kev1.3s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭Basil Fawlty

Thats an M535i not an M5

DC72 138 0203 5' E28 Saloon M535i ECE R M

kev1.3s wrote: »

Spotted that earlier. It's a 'C' reg.. Hmmm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,555 ✭✭✭✭Marlow

Thats an M535i not an M5

Aye. Can also be spotted on the little things, like that it only has a "///M" badge, not a "///M5" badge. And rebadging is a more modern thing :)

/M

Thats an M535i not an M5

And it's not black also that M535 has the optional extra body kit which was also available on the M5 which thankfully IMO my M5 does not have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭Itsfixed

Yes, i agree, much better without the body kit.

Do join us over on BMW Classics Ireland, stick up up thread in our project cars section as we'd love to follow your progress.

Come along to our show on 23rd June in Straffan. That could inspire you to get it ready for the 2014 show!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭Torq

So? What ever became of this barn find?