Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Double standards for groping

• 23-03-2013 11:04am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭

Why is that when a woman goes up a pinches a blokes ass it's seen as a great laugh yet if it was the other way around the bloke would be branded a perv or maybe even arrested.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Don't know ? You would have to arse someone that did it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,612 ✭✭✭Lelantos

Festy wrote: »
    Why is that when a woman goes up a pinches a blokes ass it's seen as a great laugh yet if it was the other way around the bloke would be branded a perv or maybe even arrested.
    I think Kevin Webster asked the same question

• Closed Accounts Posts: 128 ✭✭morlock_

women have smaller brains and complain when groped but see nothing wrong with it done to men. a man can retain more information in his superior brain.

mod: banned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

morlock_ wrote: »
    women have smaller brains and complain when groped but see nothing wrong with it done to men. a man can retain more information in his superior brain.

There isn't enough popcorn in the world to prepare for the reaction to this post...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

A woman groped my bum on the luas yestday. Had the hand wedged right in there so she did.

She knew I was cross when I turned round and told her she had ten minutes to stop it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭wadefuq

This is true.... was in a pub in Galway last week and on my way to the jacks there was a hen night with a male stripper in full flight... on my return the stripper had finished but the "ladies " were still quite excited so grabbed me and started lifting my t-shirt up while telling me to "get it off"... however to be honest i didnt really mind, and thats prob why theres double standards, coz we (men) lap it up a little bit ... however agreed that if the roles were reversed there'd prob be a court case

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Power, dominance and intimidation mostly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

wadefuq wrote: »
    This is true.... was in a pub in Galway last week and on my way to the jacks there was a hen night with a male stripper in full flight... on my return the stripper had finished but the "ladies " were still quite excited so grabbed me and started lifting my t-shirt up while telling me to "get it off"... however to be honest i didnt really mind, and thats prob why theres double standards, coz we (men) lap it up a little bit ... however agreed that if the roles were reversed there'd prob be a court case

That doesn't make it OK.

Banned? It was clearly a joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

Because most men like it and most women don't.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 240 ✭✭The Barefoot Pizza Thief

Been groped many times and tbh, I never minded it. In a club recently a girl started grabbing my crotch as she introduced herself and telling me what she wanted. Again, I didn't care, quite liked it but I'm sure many guys wouldn't have but the attitude is out there that it's okay for women to do things men just shouldn't and has been as long as I can remember.

I remember in School in the early 90's a group of girls where grabbing guys crotches and pinching their arses one day in a corridor and one of the lads slapped one of the girls on the arse and he ended up with her parents coming to the school and the lad got suspended.

Last year this story was in the media about a couple of girls stripping a boy and posting it on YouTube. Without question if this had been lads stripping an 11 year old girl, they would have been charged:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭HondaSami

Only while pregnant.

There seems to be a double standard with a lot of things - have been out a few times and been groped by women, sometimes when I'm just standing there. Seemingly most use the excuse of, "oh you only enjoy it" to deem it OK. Yeah, lets see what happens when I use that same excuse when groping a woman. And no, I really don't enjoy it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

There seems to be a double standard with a lot of things - have been out a few times and been groped by women, sometimes when I'm just standing there. Seemingly most use the excuse of, "oh you only enjoy it" to deem it OK. Yeah, lets see what happens when I use that same excuse when groping a woman. And no, I really don't enjoy it.

It's only a double standard as long as you let it be a double standard. If you're actually that bothered by it, then report it to security staff. They can hardly do anything about the problem if you haven't made them aware of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

Bollocko's being clever, looking deadly for the ladies.....next boards meet up Bollocko will be bollock deep in sweet sweet boardsie lady!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

It was an unnecessary comment of the type that ruins these threads.
    "All men have smaller brains" etc would get a similar response.

Joe you know the score. Questioning mod decision on thread is not OK.

Please take it to feedback or PM.

Fair warning.

It was an unnecessary comment of the type that ruins these threads.
    "All men have smaller brains" etc would get a similar response.

Joe you know the score. Questioning mod decision on thread is not OK.

Please take it to feedback or PM.

Fair warning.

Yeah, OK, You Da Bossman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭Festy

Czarcasm wrote: »
    It's only a double standard as long as you let it be a double standard. If you're actually that bothered by it, then report it to security staff. They can hardly do anything about the problem if you haven't made them aware of it.

Lets be honest here they'd just laugh at you if you done that.

And everyone there would think you were a weirdo or even gay for reporting it.

Pathetic I know but true.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,588 ✭✭✭ahnowbrowncow

HondaSami wrote: »
    Only while pregnant.

Watch out, you'll get yourself banned with jokes like that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭jaffacakesyum

I do agree it's a double standard. However, I don't agree that men who grope women are necessarily deemed pervs or that it's taken seriously. If it's reported to bouncers they would likely been thrown out but I've been groped in clubs to turn aroundand give out to the guy (would prefer not to have people kicked out) to see him and his mates (including other women) laughing. People don't take it seriously. "It's just a laugh".

And we've already seen examples of men who have been groped saying they enjoy it. Men are contributing to the double standard by enjoying it and not reporting the incidents.

Sure I myself need to report these things more often but it happens on such a regular basis in clubs it's pointless. You won't get rid of idiots (of any gender) who think it's ok to grope random strangers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭jaffacakesyum

How do you know? How many times have you reported incidents like that?

There seems to be a double standard with a lot of things

Yeah, have noticed also over the years, that it's not just groping, but more with sexuality in general.

In films for instance, there are double standards of what they will show women doing, whereas they would never show men doing the equivalent of. Violence towards the opposite sex is an obvious one but have also noticed how often you will see women behaving in a sexual way to underage boys a whole heap of times, yet can't recall one scene where it's shown as being harmless for a man to do similar with an underage girl.

Google: 'Yoima Vald - 800 Bullets' for an example of such a scene (it's on Metacafe and is quite explicit).

There are tons of movies like that. In Malena, the main character played by Monica Bellucci, has many scenes with a young boy (15 at the time of shooting).

Have no issue with these films by the way but I do with the obvious double standard, that if the child in these films was a girl and not a boy, I sincerely doubt they would see the light of day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Its called the "Diet Coke" anomaly.

Its perfectly ok for women to sit in a field, throw a can of Coke at a lad, get him to spray himself with it and whip his tshirt off while they wet themselves with excitement. On the other hand, if a bunch of lads threw a can of beer at a lady and she did the same thing, it would be "sexist".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

Who decides it's a great laugh when men are groped?
    Personally I think anyone who gropes a stranger is a ****ing skank. Some men say they enjoy it, which I can't understand, but it still doesn't make it ok.

How do you know? How many times have you reported incidents like that?

Never reported it myself but I know one fellow in a club a few months back who was being harassed by a group of women he mentioned it to one of the security guys and he said "suck it up lad":rolleyes:

I also recall just recently some bloke in that same club getting thrown out for pinching a womans backside :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

Grope everybody would appear to be the logical answer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭danslevent

keano_afc wrote: »
    Its called the "Diet Coke" anomaly.

Its perfectly ok for women to sit in a field, throw a can of Coke at a lad, get him to spray himself with it and whip his tshirt off while they wet themselves with excitement. On the other hand, if a bunch of lads threw a can of beer at a lady and she did the same thing, it would be "sexist".

You have got to be kidding me. Most adverts involve semi clad women. Sex sells and both genders are generally very sexualized in adverts.

I remember two years ago Heineken had girls in bikini esque Rugby gear for their massive billboard ads. So they can be displayed like that but the first women's Rugby final was only broadcasted on tv recently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

The diet Coke ad - originally shown in the mid 90s yet still flogged to death by a few folks who like to pretend it's "a woman's world".
    They must be delighted it's back. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 915 ✭✭✭judgefudge

I've been groped in pubs (I'm female) many a time. It's not pleasant but I wouldn't go reporting the person or branding them as a weirdo. I'd imagine most men feel the same when it's done to them.

Groping anyone is unpleasant.

Decent people are decent and can see that, regardless of sex. Getting real sick of all women being branded the same in this forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

I thought you said we were going to be honest here Festy? You've never actually tried it then? So really you couldn't possibly know if they'd just laugh at you.

Festy the only thing pathetic about the above is that you actually mistakenly believe it to be true.

It's never personally bothered me enough to want to report it as I have an expectation of such behaviour when I go into the club, where people's inhibitions are lowered by consumption of alcohol.

I've only once been made feel uncomfortable enough to turn around to a chap and inform him that my ass was not public property when he thought he'd chance his luck and went for a reach under between my thighs.

That's IMO when he went from being a harmless gropey drunk to a creepy little shìt, and had he persisted in his behaviour then I would indeed have informed the security staff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Real Life

This is true. I was in a bar last night, standing at the bar waiting on friends, a hen party was just beside me. One of the girls came over and pulled me into the group and then they started taking photos with me, which i didnt mind too much but then a couple of them started trying to take my clothes off.
    If that happened the other way around imagine what would happen.

Madam_X wrote: »
    The diet Coke ad - originally shown in the mid 90s yet still flogged to death by a few folks who like to pretend it's "woman's world".
    You used quotation marks there. Did someone actually say that?
    They must be delighted it's back.
    Classic deflection.

Weren't Hunky Dory ads pulled off billboards because the ads were considered to be sexual objectification? Surely then you can see the double standards at play. Fail to see how anyone merely pointing that out is trying to suggest it's a "woman's world".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,201 ✭✭✭amacca

Grope everybody would appear to be the logical answer.

amacca likes it when sexually aggressive ladies grope him

amacca awards more points for high value areas and has several velcro bullseyes prepared for application to his sexy clothes over these areas for his next night of being anonymously groped in the club

arse = double 20
    crotch = 50 (bullseye)

amacca appreciates gentle considerate touching at first progressing to rhythmic firm massage with intent to satisfy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,773 ✭✭✭Synyster Shadow

danslevent wrote: »
    I remember two years ago Heineken had girls in bikini esque Rugby gear for their massive billboard ads. So they can be displayed like that but the first women's Rugby final was only broadcasted on tv recently.

I always thought it was hunky dories shows how much I say attention I have seen them just normally when driving

Czarcasm wrote: »
    I thought you said we were going to be honest here Festy? You've never actually tried it then? So really you couldn't possibly know if they'd just laugh at you.

Festy the only thing pathetic about the above is that you actually mistakenly believe it to be true.

It's never personally bothered me enough to want to report it as I have an expectation of such behaviour when I go into the club, where people's inhibitions are lowered by consumption of alcohol.Suck it up lad was what the bouncer said to him.

I've only once been made feel uncomfortable enough to turn around to a chap and inform him that my ass was not public property when he thought he'd chance his luck and went for a reach under between my thighs.

That's IMO when he went from being a harmless gropey drunk to a creepy little shìt, and had he persisted in his behaviour then I would indeed have informed the security staff.

Oh come on now any bloke who goes up and reports an incident like that is not going to be taking seriously like I said in my previous post about someone I know who reported it was basically mocked for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Empty your pint over her in the interests of equality.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

I think we'll leave it at that on this one.