Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fallen Soldier Has No Contactable Family - Funeral Tomorrow 21/03/2013

• 20-03-2013 8:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭

Just posting this in case anyone knows this man, or would like to attend the funeral.

Link

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭SplitCartridge

http://www.broadsheet.ie/2013/03/20/are-you-free-tomorrow-2/
    Paddy Gilford, of the Irish Defence Forces Veterans’ Association, writes:

Peter Comerford who left the Defence Forces in 1971 and who servd in the 5th Infantry Battalion has died. No relatives can be found. Maybe somebody would have an hour to spare to attend the Mass tomorrow morning.
    The Funeral Mass will be held in St Agnes’ church, Crumlin, Dublin, at 11.30am with cremation at Harolds Cross Cemetery at 1pm.
    Hopefully somebody will have a bit of time to spare to honour a fallen comrade.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 2,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Morpheus

One of his family have contacted the vets and will be in attendance, he has a grand-daughter thankfully.

http://www.facebook.com/IrishDefenceForcesVeteransAssociation/posts/491673847558771
    UPDATE the Grand Daughter of Peter Comerford Charlene has been in touch through our faceboook page and has informed us that he will not be alone. At this time the Irish Defence Forces Veterans Association would like to convey our deepest sympathy’s to the Comerford Family..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭tac foley

That has to be one of the saddest posts I've ever seen on these boards.

RIP, Peter Comerford, 'Stand down, duty done.

tac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭SplitCartridge

tac foley wrote: »
    That has to be one of the saddest posts I've ever seen on these boards.

RIP, Peter Comerford, 'Stand down, duty done.

tac

Update from a Mate of mine that's at the funeral.

Army, Navy, Aircorps, RDF, Garda, DF Chaplain, Group from the 7th Battalion, and piper all present. ONE and other vets associations present too.

The internet has done some good I reckon!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 2,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Morpheus

f**king brilliant. fair play to one and all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,282 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Update from a Mate of mine that's at the funeral.

Army, Navy, Aircorps, RDF, Garda, DF Chaplain, Group from the 7th Battalion, and piper all present. ONE and other vets associations present too.

The internet has done some good I reckon!

Excellent!
    If i was in Dublin I'd have gone myself.
    Well done and thank you to all those who attended and paid their (and our respects)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I actually missed this and only seen it on the Indo's site this morning.

Very sad, but it shows the bound we build as soldiers, sailors and airmen is a bound like no other and its never broken.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

^
    ^
    ^
    ^

Brilliant !

Like as has already been said. It's nice to see the internet do some good.

A dignified passing R.I.P.