Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kill it, cook it and eat it

• 20-03-2013 4:57pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 545 ✭✭✭

Just saw a bit of a programme last night in RTÉ in which people observed the slaughtering of suckling lambs and then they had to tuck into a yummy dinner of lamb. The programme was probably aimed at showing people exactly where their meat came from. I have no issues whatsoever in the eating of meat, the slaughtering of animals and such.

If the only way to eat meat was to kill your own animal would you eat meat? I would, I would be fine.

If you had to kill you own animal would you eat meat? (if it was the only option) 202 votes

Yes, I would have no issues in doing it.
    0%
    I currently am a meat eater but I would not be able to kill my own food
    76%
    D-GenerateDont be at yourselfSeanehPete M.Pompey MagnusMadsLmatrimcharlie_saysrainbow kirbykeano_afc[Deleted User][Deleted User]Canis LupusRovihomerhopgustafoBalmed OutflanzerNate--IRL--mawk 154 votes
    I am a vegetarian anyway
    15%
    RabiesgeniewaterfaerieGarHh57xiucj2z946qshockwavebuilttospillAmiraniCian92donvito99charlietheminxxVanishingActsfreewheelerwellboy76Padkirtunedoutseanmaccbb1234567iDannKKkitty 31 votes
    I am a pescetarian
    6%
    positronlolliShenshenquickbeamunknowngirl!!WhisperedMiss LockhartIceFjoemDa Shins KellyLawrence1895JijsawkinkygirlBoo2112 13 votes
    I am a vegan
    1%
    Merl1nBonavoxeviltwinwonderboysam 4 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭aaakev

I do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

I've killed my own carrots before, how would killing a horse cow be a problem?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭summerskin

I've always believed that if you're going to eat meat, then at some point you should kill, cook and eat something.

My mum always wondered what happened to fluffy the cat...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

If somebody takes that approach to Fur Burgers, I can see things going awry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,624 ✭✭✭SebBerkovich

I'd Die before giving up bacon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,710 ✭✭✭Corvo

I would be like Rambo with me bow and arrow. Camouflaging myself with mud against trees.

Hunting that pig for days, tiring him out, playing the sound of bacon frying through speakers, waiting for him to crack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

imo people be taught it in school, with the meat going for their school dinners creating a better diet, and teaching them actual real world skills. Which in Ireland has been lost.
    Eg can anybody pick out edible stuff walking down a country lane?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Mary had a little lamb.
    The lads in the abattoir shot it dead.
    Now she goes to school with it between two bits of bread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I would be like Rambo with me bow and arrow. Camouflaging myself with mud against trees.
    I'm like this except I find there's no need for the bow and arrow. You can just call them over to you by saying "here sheepy, sheepy, sheepy" and then hit them over the head with a stone. They're pretty stupid and trusting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,710 ✭✭✭Corvo

ScumLord wrote: »
    I'm like this except I find there's no need for the bow and arrow. You can just call them over to you by saying "here sheepy, sheepy, sheepy" and then hit them over the head with a stone. They're pretty stupid and trusting.

I now rename you Master Splinter :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

id have no problem doing it because animals are so tasty

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

I've fished and hunted from a young age, I've been in an Abattoir while cattle were being slaughtered. I've stuck and bleed a pig and a chicken. I have no problem killing an animal to eat it.

I do however think that if we kill an animal we have a moral duty to use every single usable part of that animal.

Meat, skin, offal, everything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

SamHall wrote: »
    Mary had a little lamb.

mary had a little lamb
    full of tricks and frolics
    it tried to jump a barbed wire fence
    and fell and broke its
    little knee

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

I'd love to kill and eat an animal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,406 ✭✭✭DyldeBrill

No bother killing myself a bitta cow! Get a nice few steaks out of that sucker!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

Ahhhhhh the sweet taste of goldfish.

Seaneh wrote: »
    I do however think that if we kill an animal we have a moral duty to use every single usable part of that animal.

Meat, skin, offal, everything.
    I think that does happen for the most part. There's a value on every single part of the animal these days. If you think about it McDonald's chicken nuggets are a prime example of the philosophy of waste not want not.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,562 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

SamHall wrote: »
    Mary had a little lamb.
    Mary had a little lamb...
    that tale we've heard before,
    but then she passed her plate along
    and had a little more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

I seen it and some of it was a bit rotten to look at if I'm honest.

However, the tastiness of the animals would far overrule any kind of morals I have.
    Lamb is delish.

Of course, if it isn't a pet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

I've killed and eaten a lot of animals.

You get used to is the more you do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 222 ✭✭Kinzig

Killed and eaten many animals and birds, dont have a problem with it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 772 ✭✭✭GTDolanator

Ive shot partially skinned cooked and eaten deer in the one day,dont think id have an issue killing other animals to eat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,201 ✭✭✭amacca

I'd Die before giving up bacon

I love a bit of bacon (especially good maple cure or a good thick streaky rasher) as much as the next carnivore but............

take that to its extreme and you might die precisely because you wont give up bacon

Ive shot partially skinned cooked and eaten deer
    Shooting a partially cooked and eaten deer doesn't sound like much of a challenge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

I prefer to eat my animals alive. Fresher that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Feathers

What's my alternative — farm my own veg, or would I still get to just go into Tesco & buy it?

I like meat, & wouldn't mind killing it, but I'm pretty lazy too. Don't think I'd be getting in from work at 7 o'clock too often & going out the back to slaughter a cow or hunt a few wood pigeons…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

There'd certainly be less excuse for ending up with horse in my beef lasagne.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭Ilik Urgee

One of my earlier memories is of myself and two brothers holding down our "pet pig" on a flatbed car trailer while the old man slaughtered the mite.
    When he retracted the knife the blood flew straight up and covered us in fresh warm blood. Will never forget that sensation and made worse by the fact that we had to hold onto the fucker while getting a blood shower.
    I just heard the cooker pinging, my pork chops are done:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Auldloon

Ilik Urgee wrote: »
    One of my earlier memories is of myself and two brothers holding down our "pet pig" on a flatbed car trailer while the old man slaughtered the mite.
    When he retracted the knife the blood flew straight up and covered us in fresh warm blood. Will never forget that sensation and made worse by the fact that we had to hold onto the fucker while getting a blood shower.
    I just heard the cooker pinging, my pork chops are done:D

The killing of pigs by amateurs leads to some mighty strange scenes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Auldloon

Oh ya, have killed cooked and eaten loads of fluffy and feathery stuff. Much more honest way of feeding yourself and loved ones. Wish I could do it more often nowadays but don't currently live in a country where I can hunt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

As in killing a pet dog or something?
    Or do you mean raising animals for the sole purpose of killing them?

Former, no. Latter, sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 638 ✭✭✭flanders1979

People regularly eat small spiders whilst asleep. Does that count? I remember reading that somewhere ages ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,872 ✭✭✭Sittingpretty

People regularly eat small spiders whilst asleep. Does that count? I remember reading that somewhere ages ago.

You mean they don't wake the spiders first? To give them a decent chance of escape? LOUSY! ;):D

As in killing a pet dog or something?
    Or do you mean raising animals for the sole purpose of killing them?

Former, no. Latter, sure.
    If it really came to it tho that dog would be another mouth to feed or could be used to feed you and your family. at the moment iv 3 dogs which would feed me and mine for about 3 weeks if needed, thats certainly not a resourse id pass up!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭Steve O

I am a vegetarian anyway
    I would happily live on pure vegetables if I had to kill and eat my own meat.

I eat it because its convenient and tasty but theres no way I will kill any animal.

I'm happy to be ignorant on this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭greenflash

I live on a farm full of three legged animals. Love meat but cannot bring myself to kill one of my tasty friends.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,562 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Pull it, twist it, bop it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

I am a pescetarian
    Vegetarian already anyway.
    But I have in the past killed chickens on my uncle's farm, and helped slaughtering pigs.

I think there certainly is something to be said for the approach "If you couldn't kill it, don't eat it". I had a friend at university who was pescetarian for that exact reason, she realised one day that the meat she was eating came from an animal that she wouldn't be able to bring herself to kill. So she stopped eating meat. I felt that it was a very morally honest approach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

aaakev wrote: »
    If it really came to it tho that dog would be another mouth to feed or could be used to feed you and your family. at the moment iv 3 dogs which would feed me and mine for about 3 weeks if needed, thats certainly not a resourse id pass up!!

Well yeah, if it was "eat the dog or die", I'm eating the dog.
    But if someone said "here, kill the lamb or kill your dog", I'd pick the lamb

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Miss Lockhart

I am a pescetarian
    I'm vegetarian a long time and I have no problem with meat eaters at all in general. But I have no respect for those who deliberately avoid and ignore information about how the animals they eat were reared and how they were killed. If you know the facts and enjoy your meat then fair play but I have a low opinion of those who bury their head in the sand and can't face the reality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

I'd have little problem with the killing part. It's the butchering part that would catch me. I'd probably need to be shown how to do it correctly first. After that, it's dinner time.

After a couple of times it gets easy, you would be used to it in no time if you had no choice!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭Justice!

aaakev wrote: »
    After a couple of times it gets easy, you would be used to it in no time if you had no choice!

Yeah I guess hunger really would be the best sauce in a situation where you had to catch and cook everything you wanted to eat!