Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

1st run in with a driver

• 20-03-2013 11:43am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7

I had my first run in with a driver today! Was stopped at the lights in Ranelagh, there were 2 lanes, one for going right and one for going left. I'm pretty new to the area. I was stopped at the red lights on the left hand side of the road, with cars behind me. Suddenly I hear a horn, I looked up and the light in front of me was red so I assumed they were beeping at something else. A couple of seconds later I hear another one, I look around to see if I am missing any other lights, and yeah there is a filter light to the left that is green, but before I react to it, I get an intentional bump from the car behind me.

His car got a small kick, if I hadn't been so taken back by it all, there would have been a different (and perhaps bigger) reaction. Does this kind of stuff happen to anyone here often?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Eh, did you not take his details and report him?

I've never been hit by someone with their car like that, but I wouldn't be posting about it on the internet, it would be straight to the nearest Garda station.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

That bump was not on at all. Haven't experienced the same myself in years of Dublin cycling, but that being said, I'd have moved into a position that allowed the left lane filter.

Glad that situation didn't escalate into something it shouldn't have!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Korvanica

Did you get his license plates or anything? Report it to the guards if you did. An intentional bump is no laughing matter and could go disastrously wrong if the drivers foot slips etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭mitosis

Report report report! No driver should do this no matter what the circumstance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 Neverlandland1

To be honest, I was in shock and didn't get a chance to take the number. by the time I thought of it, he was driving away (didn't stop in the 1st place). All I got was that it was a 95 D red car! It took place outside of a shop but I don't know if I would have enough information to report it as the gardai probably wouldn't bother following the CCTV up. I was pretty close to the side of the road, if I had seen the filter light I would have moved even further but the driver still can't be doing things like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Korvanica

Worth a shot reporting it anyway, tell them time / place it happened and they might check in the shop for CCTV.

I would be afraid of getting in trouble for either being in the wrong lane or for kicking the car!

Would traffic watch be the people to report this to? Am I right in assuming that a department dedicated to looking after traffic is more likely to follow it up than just a general report in the garda station? Either way, I'm in work now so won't be able to act until tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,416 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

tbh i think you under reacted, if someone drove into my bike on purpose id be fuming,

so you didnt see the filter sign, its not the end of the world and certainly no provocation to bump you with his car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,138 ✭✭✭buffalo

tbh i think you under reacted, if someone drove into my bike on purpose id be fuming,

so you didnt see the filter sign, its not the end of the world and certainly no provocation to bump you with his car

Yeah, beeping is understandable, rear-ending you is not. I'd go to the Gardaí - think it might be Terenure. Or ring TrafficWatch if you prefer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭MB Lacey

I think I know where you mean, that's on my commute.
    Were you heading away from town in the left lane outside the Spar after Superquinn (both on your left)?

Yes, for tomorrow, you're supposed to get into the right lane to go straight on, because that left lane is for left turning cars and you were OMG in their way!! The cheek of you.

Completely out of order that the driver aimed their car at you, if it were me, I'd report that driver for very obvious dangerous driving, it's a busy junction and there'll definitely be cctv.
    You'll know the time and place of the incident and no matter that you kicked out at the car (in shock) I would report that driver to the police.
    Donnybrook station would be the nearest.

Sorry that happened to you, it's always a shock when drivers think your safety is some kind of joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭droidus

MB Lacey wrote: »
    Were you heading away from town in the left lane outside the Spar after Superquinn (both on your left)?

Yes, for tomorrow, you're supposed to get into the right lane to go straight on, because that left lane is for left turning cars and you were OMG in their way!! The cheek of you.

Completely out of order that the driver aimed their car at you, if it were me, I'd report that driver for very obvious dangerous driving, it's a busy junction and there'll definitely be cctv.
    You'll know the time and place of the incident and no matter that you kicked out at the car (in shock) I would report that driver to the police.

Sorry that happened to you, it's always a shock when drivers think your safety is some kind of joke.

Yeah, thats the spot. Easy to do as the filter isnt visible if you're right at the front of the queue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

He was a complete scumbag to do that. Report him and next time make sure you do some damage.

MB Lacey wrote: »

Yeah, that's the place. Hopefully there's CCTV there. I know that it's a left turn, it was just out of habit that I went straight over to the curb when stopping at the lights - have only been cycling that way for a couple of weeks.

Thanks for the advice, will call either the traffic watch or one of the gardai stations tonight when I get home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭Zyzz

Take a hammer to the back wheel exactly where he bumped you..

(jk before people get on their high horse)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,692 ✭✭✭Jarren

Are those the traffic lights in question ?

That looks like them, yeah

Had a look at those traffic lights on the way back, and they are definitely pointing inwards a lot!

Anyway, I called the traffic watch, they took the details and will then go to the gardai. She said that chances are nothing will happen since I didn't get an edge, but better off reporting these things anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭Smalltom

That really constitutes dangerous driving and/or an assault using his/her vehicle. The only problem, cameras or not, is that the Gardai will ask why you didn't report it at the time and kinda deter you in a polite way from pursuing the matter. Recommendation is to immediately contact Gardai and try and get the reg number if the car and also the regs of any car around you that will be looking. They will be looking too because someone was beeping etc. I'm not pertaining to be an expert but due to the nature of my job I can say I know exactly what I am talking about (contradiction there!). I am both a cyclist (obviously) and a motorist and I have to say that there are some lunatic motorists on the road who have zero patience/driving skills BUT there are also some lunatic cyclists out there who I have had the pleasure of encountering. I'm in no way saying that it was your fault or that you're a lunatic cyclist but pound to a penny if u were in a car he wouldn't have bumped you. Stay safe out there folks. Just in case anyone's looking for reflective jackets I know that most local Garda stations have then available for free compliments of RSA (I think). On that note, it's time to do my last turbo spin before Des Hanlon at the weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭RV

I don't think you should kick the car or 'do damage'. I don't see how that helps.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

It wouldn't be acceptable for a motorists to do it to another motorists so it sure as hell isn't acceptable to do it to a cyclist who could very easily be knocked off and hit by another car/truck.
    RV wrote: »
    I don't think you should kick the car or 'do damage'. I don't see how that helps.

Whilst this may be true I'd have to say I'd do the same as a natural reaction to somebody potentially trying to run me over,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,365 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

This is the ridiculous carry on that pisses me off, it's an honest mistake to make. I've had a similar problem of not knowing the area and the surrounding filters recently, especially where an off road bike lane will merge to the road at lights leaving you in the way of a filter.

If this was a motorist or even someone on a horse nothing would happen. Maybe 1 beep of the horn, nothing more. I don't know what it is about being on a bike but everyone feels like we won't do anything but I think it's safe to say some cyclists, including myself, don't take getting pushed around lightly. People don't think twice about cutting us off, squeezing past at 60kph or bumping into our sides just because we're on bicycles. They don't see the fact that we could get seriously injured very easily, they just see a metal frame and wheels and go for it. Ridiculous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

Ask some of the shops if they have a camera. Might have caught it too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭DUBintheSTICKS

I would be afraid of getting in trouble for either being in the wrong lane or for kicking the car!

Would traffic watch be the people to report this to? Am I right in assuming that a department dedicated to looking after traffic is more likely to follow it up than just a general report in the garda station? Either way, I'm in work now so won't be able to act until tonight

Traffic watch is just a call centre in Mayo, they take the details and pass them on to the local Gardaí to investigate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭BofaDeezNuhtz

1. Shoulda gave him a slap

2. If it was rush hour then chances are its his regular route home and he could
    be in the same place same time tomorrow batman...

3. Try keep the drama down lads, it'll be reported 'Cager tries to kill Cyclist' in the papers
    tomorrow the way some are going on fer jaysizzsake :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,156 ✭✭✭Iwannahurl

Kicking the car undermines your case, unfortunately.

I once banged hard on the window of a car that was encroaching in the cycle lane. The driver then tried to ram me, twice, even though I had a child on board.

I reported the incident straight away. The Garda officer was polite, efficient and helpful. He followed up on the case, and issued a caution to the offending motorist. However, he also told me that banging on the window (which I did in a rage because the cycle lane was blocked) only exacerbated the situation, and it was clear to me that if I hadn't done so the driver would have been the only guilty party.

Still, as I know only too well, it's not easy to keep a cool head in such situations.

I think the Garda kinda lost some perceptive there. Thumping a windows is no way comparable to what the driver did there.

I agree, but it could be seen as provocation or worse.

Bear in mind that throwing an egg at a car is "criminal damage".

Or Worse? Worse than ramming a cyclist with a child?

Child or not, cyclists are but pigeons to some motorists.

Pedestrians are just as lowly, in some motorists' eyes.

Lash out, and you may find that the unspoken road user hierarchy is regarded as a rule.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭xpletiv

Happened to me a few years ago on oConnell street. Didnt QUITE move off at the speed this jerk wanted. He hit the back tyre, intentionally. I saw red and punched his bonnet, nice dent on it. Looked at him, he was a bit in shock, flipped him the finger, and cycled off. Doubt he'll do it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,853 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

xpletiv wrote: »
    Happened to me a few years ago on oConnell street. Didnt QUITE move off at the speed this jerk wanted. He hit the back tyre, intentionally. I saw red and punched his bonnet, nice dent on it. Looked at him, he was a bit in shock, flipped him the finger, and cycled off. Doubt he'll do it again.
    This kind of thing can go very badly wrong though. Best not to escalate in a situation where the destructive abilities of the two parties are so unequal.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 357 ✭✭ballygowan1

This is actually assualt.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 357 ✭✭ballygowan1

The Gardai will try the best to deter you from proceeding with this. They don;t like paper work or any work for that matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭RV

The Gardai will try the best to deter you from proceeding with this. They don;t like paper work or any work for that matter.

I don't agree with this either. It is an unwarranted dig at the Gardai IMO. As far as I have ever seen they are just as willing - if not more so - to do their work than are any other group or profession.

RV wrote: »

I didn't go out with the intention of kicking the car, if I had I would have aimed for something less sturdy than the bumper.

I reported the incident, gave my contact details etc but have heard nothing back, so I think it's safe to say that nothing is going to happen!

I can't help but imagine that if I was in a car and another car nudged me intentionally, or if I was a pedestrian and a car nudged me intentionally, there would be a better chance of it being looked into.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭monkeypants

BostonB wrote: »
    Worse than ramming a cyclist with a child?
    Ramming the cyclist with a giant Swiss roll. Probably less effective.