Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

paid my insurance guess the price

• 19-03-2013 3:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 693 ✭✭✭

i paid my insurance today it is up on my 21st birthday next week have a guess at what it cost me.
    driving a 406 hdi 110 2.0 year 2000,
    windscreen and breakdown cover,
    21 year old male,
    no penalty points,
    2 years named driving,
    1 year driving in my own name,
    no claims.
    third party fire and theft
    anyone over 25 and under 70 can drive the car if they have full license

renual quote from fbd €705
    quote from chill €2300
    quote from liberty €1900
    quotes from others were €1800+

what i payed
    €660

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭TGi666

fully comp or 3rd party?
    Not bad either way
    Cheapest I could fin is €610 @ 25 6years claim free on a 03 mondeo 2.0 diesel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

Tree Honda Fiddy Dorra.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,352 ✭✭✭Mar4ix

my insurance for toyota avensis '98, 1.8 petrol soon is up, and i did some shopping around. best what i could find was 444 (all bells and whistles , and other people car driving) , thought, feck it, will try find even cheaper, so went after third party insurance, guess, how much was for third party insurance. ..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭carzony

Conchurl wrote: »

what i payed
    €660

That was cheap:eek: i'm paying 1300 and i'm 20. that with a 1 year ncb, my renewal is due in may and i'm 21 next week so i must have a good shop-round. where u get that price?

Jaysus, when I was 22 I was paying over 3,000 Euro's on a 1.2 Punto.

How times have changed, ye don't know how lucky ye are !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

With who and what level of cover. Few months left on mine and soon time to start pricing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

I refused to drive until absolutely necessary due to the extortionate insurance costs. I had to bite the bullet at age 24, 1.0 micra, €1400 - sickening.

Well played, OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 693 ✭✭✭Conchurl

it is with fbd it is only that cheap as my father has his car the house and farm insured with them, last year i got a quote of €1100 on my own but when my father rang they gave it for €700

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭i_steal_sheep

In general, has cost of insurance gone up a lot recently? My premium (5 years NCB / No PP - Fully Comp but I do upwards of 46,000 KM a year) has risen €88.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭i_steal_sheep

it is with fbd it is only that cheap as my father has his car the house and farm insured with them, last year i got a quote of €1100 on my own but when my father rang they gave it for €700

If you're an IFA member you get (I think) another €75 off the premium. Must check my policy to see what it is...

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,208 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Try tesco for insurance too.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 295 ✭✭joetoad

On my punto I had two years named driving under the parents insurance. My insurance company let me use my two years no claim bonus as a named driver as having two years no claim bonus with my own insurance.:) I got the insurance for 580 which I was happy enough with. Other companys were charging me over double that. 580 not bad for your first insurance

In general, has cost of insurance gone up a lot recently? My premium (5 years NCB / No PP - Fully Comp but I do upwards of 46,000 KM a year) has risen €88.

Nope, insurance company just chancing their arm. Ring em and say your not happy and they'll bring it down straight away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

I'm hoping for a sub 1000 quote this year...fingers are well and truly crossed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,601 ✭✭✭Hoboo

Paid 3600 POUNDS in 2002 for a two year old bravo. Was 22, on a provo mind. But still, over 4000 euro !!! And I rang everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭jamescd

I'm 23. No NCB, just 5 years Named Driving Experience. Paying 610 quid with Liberty

Hoboo wrote: »

Paid 3600 POUNDS in 2002 for a two year old bravo. Was 22, on a provo mind. But still, over 4000 euro !!! And I rang everywhere.
    Could you not have going under someone's insurance? Was 950 under parents first year at 22, 640 year two and was still on provisional, got full license and now paying 580 for my own insurance in the third year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭The Pontiac

TGi666 wrote: »
    fully comp or 3rd party?
    Not bad either way
    Cheapest I could fin is €610 @ 25 6years claim free on a 03 mondeo 2.0 diesel
    jamescd wrote: »
    I'm 23. No NCB, just 5 years Named Driving Experience. Paying 610 quid with Liberty

TGi666, your insurance seems very high. Have you tried No Nonsense?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭johndaman66

I paid approx €2,200 in 2002 to insure a 1.9 flat diesel Renault heap of junk megavan, being 20 years old at the time. That was as a named driver on my fathers policy but it wouldn't have being much more in my own name as he only has provisional wnd had a few crashes.

I had no previous driving experience but had just got a full Irish drivers license. If I was on a provisional I could have added a grand on top of that again. If it were to be a five seater car, even a 1.0 litre micra or polo I could ad another grand on top again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,237 ✭✭✭darragh o meara

Did you manage to get one of the €1 quotes by any chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭TGi666

TGi666, your insurance seems very high. Have you tried No Nonsense?
    could not get a online quote but fully comp with FBD with the same extras is €575 might give them a call

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 772 ✭✭✭GTDolanator

jamescd wrote: »

Snap!! same as me,like the exact same details

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,434 ✭✭✭fepper

well how much did you pay?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

My mother is over 61, she got a renewal quote last week for €360 fully comp from Axa on the VW Jetta 1.9tdi, switched to Liberty and got it for €249.99. It was the last insurance policy held by our family and business with Axa and Axa have now lost over €2,000/year since they refused to pay out a travel insurance claim I took in 2011 for €200 and subsuqently cancelled my own policy for switching to LPG never again will I deal with that company, incompetent shower to deal with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

i paid my insurance today it is up on my 21st birthday next week have a guess at what it cost me.
    driving a 406 hdi 110 2.0 year 2000,
    windscreen and breakdown cover,
    21 year old male,
    no penalty points,
    2 years named driving,
    1 year driving in my own name,
    no claims.
    third party fire and theft
    anyone over 25 and under 70 can drive the car if they have full license

renual quote from fbd €705
    quote from chill €2300
    quote from liberty €1900
    quotes from others were €1800+

what i payed
    €660
    You... might want to check your excess.

Though there is the chance that you slipped through the cracks and got an obscenely good quote. It happens, and good on you if that's the case.

But seriously, do make sure to check your excess.
    irish-stew wrote: »
    With who and what level of cover. Few months left on mine and soon time to start pricing.
    Don't. You're wasting your time, and that of the companies you are contacting - quotes are only valid for 30 days from when you get it, and I have had plenty of cases of quoting people under €300 who call back 31-40 days later to take it, only for the price to have gone up to €700+.

When that happens by the way, it's not the insurance fella trying to swindle, we've got a bulk number of sales to hit and if you call back 5 weeks after getting you're initial quote, we know you will take it if the price is the same. There's nothing more frustrating for us, trust me.
    Question 1. Do you have a penis? If not, there's your answer, if so...

Question 2. Is this your renewal? Never take the first price. I've never worked in renewals, but I can tell you companies I have worked for can exercise anywhere from 15-25% 'flex' (renewal speak for over-charging) which they can then 'flex' right off once you tell them you got a cheaper quote elsewhere and have the details of cover on hand for if they decide to grill you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭jamescd

Snap!! same as me,like the exact same details

Good man :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭niallu

Not as good as mine....

27 male
    2 penalty points (speeding)
    Full ncb

2.5 litre turbo petrol (220+bhp)
    Fully comp with ability to drive other cars

All for the grand sum of €308

Was delighted when they made that cock up :)

My previous 2litre e46 coupe was double that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

1,900 with Liberty?! you have almost identical criteria as myself except ive 2 years on my own and i can get insured on a 325 fully comp for 1,200? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭Petey89

Im 23 on a learner permit 1 year ncb no points 1.4 astra paying 860 tpft, thats the cheapest i could get was paying 980 last year on a 1 litre corsa, when i got the renewal letter back in dec they wanted 1200 (im with asgard) told them i wasnt taking it that i got another quote for 860 an they matched it straight away, got the 1st 860 qoute online

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Mister Jingles

1600, Micra, TPFT, first policy in my name through asgard, nobody would recognise any of my previous driving experience as they were only short term add ons to another policy. Also found when looking for insurance that they weren't prepared to match any of the cheaper quotes I got.

did you go through a broker or just straight to asgard? I found them with Britton insurance a broker in donegal so they did all the negotiations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,040 ✭✭✭yuloni

• Closed Accounts Posts: 497 ✭✭akura

I was 19 last april and payed €1450 with Asgard on a provisional licence for a 1.1 saxo(third party fire and theft) have since got a full licence just got a quote from FBD for €780(third party fire and theft)... Nice:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Mister Jingles

Petey89 wrote: »
    did you go through a broker or just straight to asgard? I found them with Britton insurance a broker in donegal so they did all the negotiations.

broker.

broker.
    aw man they really robbed you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭marcus2000

Petey89 wrote: »
    aw man they really robbed you

You can only buy Asgard motor insurance through brokers!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 358 ✭✭Joe Hart

Funnily enough just got my renewal for the exact same car. 29 male, at least 5 years NCB.
    €350

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 822 ✭✭✭king size mars bar

first insurance cost me €4200 third party fire and theft on a 1 lt starlet about 11/12 years ago!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 358 ✭✭Joe Hart

first insurance cost me €4200 third party fire and theft on a 1 lt starlet about 11/12 years ago!

Jesus that is criminal. I had to get a van just to keep the insurance down. Think it was about €1600 named driver for myself and my brothers back then.

In fairness to Harney, she cracked that little scam the insurers/mechanics/solicitors had going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 822 ✭✭✭king size mars bar

Joe Hart wrote: »
    Jesus that is criminal. I had to get a van just to keep the insurance down. Think it was about €1600 named driver for myself and my brothers back then.

In fairness to Harney, she cracked that little scam the insurers/mechanics/solicitors had going on.
    what made me sick at the time was i only paid €2000 for the car!