Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

people with imaginary Bf's/Gf's

• 17-03-2013 4:47pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭ashers222

Do you know any?

I know a guy who claims to be in ltr with a woman who we have yet to meet as his oh. This girl exists alright, but lives in another country atm. It's as if he believes he is in a relationship with someone who he was with casually before she left but I'm not sure they ever really had anything serious to begin with.

I'm sure there are worse examples, so be nice and share them with AH so we can all laugh together at other people's misfortune and make ourselves feel better because it's raining out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

I knew a girl years ago who made her own Valentines Day cards.

I don't think I have come across the above though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭ashers222

I knew a girl years ago who made her own Valentines Day cards.

I don't think I have come across the above though.

relationships with yourself are perfectly ok though.

*goes away and hugs self

ashers222 wrote: »
    relationships with yourself are perfectly ok though.

*goes away and hugs self

Well she used to make a few, all signed by some guy. May I add she was also 17 at the time.

oh well that's different then, I would just sign them from me to me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Do you know any?

I know a guy who claims to be in ltr with a woman who we have yet to meet as his oh. This girl exists alright, but lives in another country atm. It's as if he believes he is in a relationship with someone who he was with casually before she left but I'm not sure they ever really had anything serious to begin with.

I'm sure there are worse examples, so be nice and share them with AH so we can all laugh together at other people's misfortune and make ourselves feel better because it's raining out.

Mines not imaginary - she takes up half the bed when shes inflated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭foxinsox

Only the other day I was.in work when a guy asked me to go for a drink with him..

I smile at people in my job, I try to help them, it's my job!

But he kept asking, I told him my husband wouldn't like it at all at all!

I don't even have a boyfriend, let alone a husband! So I imagined one up to save myself from the strange stalker like man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

When I was around 19 I knew a few people that said they had a "girlfriend" - when it was obvious they didnt. Of course we were all naive and stupid back then. So you can forgive it :p

But if a mature man or woman did the same? That would be really sad. I know some people say it because they dont wanna come off as someone who cant get anyone. I totally get it. But its cringe worthy when it's obviously BS.

awh foxinsox I missed you :o

will you be my grfrnd xx
    then you could just tell him you were gay and it would be true. It's a win win situation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭HondaSami

Do you know any?

She does exist, she is not imaginary.
    Is it not possible he is in a relationship with her?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

What business is it of anybody elses? There was a good movie about this kind of thing a while ago called Lars and the Real Girl.
    so be nice and share them with AH so we can all laugh together at other people's misfortune and make ourselves feel better because it's raining out.

Ah, right. We know it's not any of our business, we're just being arseholes for the sake of being arseholes. My mistake.

HondaSami wrote: »
    She does exist, she is not imaginary.
    Is it not possible he is in a relationship with her?
    I think he's more in the relationship than she is really. It's a kind of imaginary relationship and it's easy to keep up the pretence as she's not here to defend it.
    He seems to use it as an excuse a lot though. (like at events with a lot of +1s for why he's alone)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Miss Lockhart

I can't say I've come across it in anyone older than 14.

orestes wrote: »
    What business is it of anybody elses? There was a good movie about this kind of thing a while ago called Lars and the Real Girl.

Ah, right. We know it's not any of our business, we're just being arseholes for the sake of being arseholes. My mistake.
    yes, and yeah I liked that movie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

foxinsox wrote: »
    Only the other day I was.in work when a guy asked me to go for a drink with him..

I don't even have a boyfriend, let alone a husband! So I imagined one up to save myself from the strange stalker like man.

I kept asking to get a drink for me, not go for a drink with me :mad:

Now get me a mocha and get the loyalty card stamped

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭sfwcork

I go on a date with a lady named palm sometimes.her five sisters tag along also and i do them all

Wat a hero i am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭VEN

and people with imaginary encounters, bless em lonely types.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭foxinsox

I kept asking to get a drink for me, not go for a drink for me :mad:

Now get me a mocha and get the loyalty card stamped

Nope, he was definitely asking me out for a drink.

I would have imagined a girlfriend but explaining the husband was confusing enough, as his English wasn't great.

I think he's more in the relationship than she is really. It's a kind of imaginary relationship and it's easy to keep up the pretence as she's not here to defend it.
    He seems to use it as an excuse a lot though. (like at events with a lot of +1s for why he's alone)

Do people still feel the need to justify why they are single ?
    Maybe they are friends and it's you who is reading too much into it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Gee_G

I used to work in a pub and years ago there was a group of lads in on a Sunday Session. This one lad(who is a complete tool!) Was showing his phone around to the rest of the group, showing all these dirty messages this girl was sending him. Everytime his phone beeped, the phone was passed around. He was telling all the lads that they were having phone sex etc.

Later on, he went to the toilet leaving his phone beside his pint. Needless to say, one of the lads picked up his phone(presumably to text this girl joking) and down the list of messages in his inbox from this girl was a message saying something along the lines of:
    You are now subscribed to this text service. You must be over 18. This service costs €1.00/msg or something along the lines of that.

Needless to say he left shortly after!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

I would have imagined a girlfriend but explaining the husband was confusing enough, as his English wasn't great.

Just tell him you have AIDs. Easier.

Mad. You had to imagine a husband, because his weeks of masturbating while imagining sexual interactions with you gave him the courage to ask you out.

Its the circle of life.

Do people still feel the need to justify why they are single ?
    Maybe they are friends and it's you who is reading too much into it.
    that's what I thought. But no..he's pretty sure he's in a relationship.

Nodin wrote: »
    Mad. You had to imagine a husband, because his weeks of masturbating while imagining sexual interactions with you gave him the courage to ask you out.

Its the circle of life.

OMG it was you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭ITS_A_BADGER

Do you know any?

Thing is tho you said this girl does exist, you said they casually dated before she went ive heard of people actually waiting for each other when one of them went abroad i dont think its strange that he says thats the reason why he didnt bring anyone to an event, as hes waiting for her to come back and doesnt want rumours of him being with another girl

OMG it was you!

Course not, I've been here all week.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭sfwcork

How does the op know that his not in a relationship?

Thing is tho you said this girl does exist, you said they casually dated before she went ive heard of people actually waiting for each other when one of them went abroad i dont think its strange that he says thats the reason why he didnt bring anyone to an event, as hes waiting for her to come back
    ok, but he'll be waiting a while.

Do you know something about her he doesn't?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭FGR

I was about to say fair play to the guy for asking you out foxinsox - but being that he isn't irish it's obviously commonplace in his own culture to ask people when not blinding drunk!

I just get the impression that a lady would think you're the creepiest thing going if you asked them out in a place other than the pub/club.

FGR wrote: »
    I was about to say fair play to the guy for asking you out foxinsox - but being that he isn't irish it's obviously commonplace in his own culture to ask people when not blinding drunk!

I just get the impression that a lady would think you're the creepiest thing going if you asked them out in a place other than the pub/club.

Yep. Even in the toilet when they're sitting down and relaxed, they get freaked out if you go near them at all. I blame the drink culture, meself.

Do you know something about her he doesn't?

I know she wasn't exactly in a relationship with him before she left? (but they had been together once or twice) I also know she's working abroad and has no definite plans on returning any time soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,201 ✭✭✭amacca

I hate feeling like I have to somehow excuse myself for being single at events like these sometimes

I'm soooo sorry normal people!.....Its my fault that anyone I ever loved just didn't feel the same way and I cant quite bring myself to just pick someone and pretend for the sake of not being the odd one out.

Just to break the monotony I have occasionally made up an imaginary OH that couldn't make it as i'm single more than I'm with someone - other times I haven't mentioned someone I was going out with as I just didn't care what people thought of me (or was trying to convince myself i didn't)

I often wonder if I'm the problem or this idea that everyone absolutely must be in a relationship all the time to be considered successful/normal the problem - it gets me down at times that I've not had much in the way of LTRs

Then I wonder how many people out there are faking it to conform, how many people out there essentially just picked what they could get and tried to make the best of it......given the large number of marriage breakups/problems etc I wonder If I'm actually the abnormal one here for not wanting to waste my time with people I feel only a mild liking for and then try and pretend my way into a LTR with them or are those that try to pretend to conform the ones behaving abnormally.

Then I wonder wtf is the point of it all.....then i think to myself if there is an afterlife and i get a chance to communicate with a higher power the one question I will want to ask is Why? fcuking why? what the fcuk was the point of that continuous disappointment?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

Why concern yourself with things like this op? unless you're jealous why get involved? Let him be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

I know the truth now!

Want to go for a drink?! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

that's what I thought. But no..he's pretty sure he's in a relationship.

Maybe he just doesn't fancy you and by saying he has a g/f he figured he's letting you down gently.

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    Maybe he just doesn't fancy you and by saying he has a g/f he figured he's letting you down gently.
    maybe, but he knows I'm not interested in him either so that's a bit confusing.

amacca wrote: »
    I hate feeling like I have to somehow excuse myself for being single at events like these sometimes

I'm soooo sorry normal people!.....Its my fault that anyone I ever loved just didn't feel the same way and I cant quite bring myself to just pick someone and pretend for the sake of not being the odd one out.

Just to break the monotony I have occasionally made up an imaginary OH that couldn't make it as i'm single more than I'm with someone - other times I haven't mentioned someone I was going out with as I just didn't care what people thought of me (or was trying to convince myself i didn't)

I often wonder if I'm the problem or this idea that everyone absolutely must be in a relationship all the time to be considered successful/normal the problem - it gets me down at times that I've not had much in the way of LTRs

Then I wonder how many people out there are faking it to conform, how many people out there essentially just picked what they could get and tried to make the best of it......given the large number of marriage breakups/problems etc I wonder If I'm actually the abnormal one here for not wanting to waste my time with people I feel only a mild liking for and then try and pretend my way into a LTR with them or are those that try to pretend to conform the ones behaving abnormally.

Then I wonder wtf is the point of it all.....then i think to myself if there is an afterlife and i get a chance to communicate with a higher power the one question I will want to ask is Why? fcuking why? what the fcuk was the point of that continuous disappointment?
    this actually. All of it. (well most of it up until the communicating with the dead bit)

I know she wasn't exactly in a relationship with him before she left? (but they had been together once or twice) I also know she's working abroad and has no definite plans on returning any time soon.

Fair enough but that does not stop them having a relationship. I'm not sure what your motive is in all this, are you concerned about him or laughing at him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Fair enough but that does not stop them having a relationship. I'm not sure what your motive is in all this, are you concerned about him or laughing at him.

Jealously?

a bit of both really. But mostly because of what Amacca posted. concerned because he feels the need to fit in. I thought AH would have funnier forever alone stories though.

this actually. All of it. (well most of it up until the communicating with the dead bit)

Ah in fairness and for the sake of accuracy I was imagining communicating as a dead person with some godlike higher power as opposed to communicating with the dead :D

Not much of an improvement I'll grant you though!

Jealously?
    far from it :( I think it's sad that people need to go that far to conform with what society expects of you.

Jealously?

That was my first thought but I felt the op needed a chance to explain herself.
    a bit of both really. But mostly because of what Amacca posted. concerned because he feels the need to fit in. I thought AH would have funnier forever alone stories though.

I'm not sure he is the problem, he seems to be handling the situation it's you who is having a problem with it.

AH's is never alone :P

That was my first thought but I felt the op needed a chance to explain herself.

I'm not sure he is the problem, he seems to be handling the situation it's you who is having a problem with it.

AH's is never alone :P

by creating an imaginary girlfriend? OK.

far from it :( I think it's sad that people need to go that far to conform with what society expects of you.

Indeed and society gives not one sh1t about what i expect of it and rarely if ever shows any sign of conforming to my expectations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

But how is she imaginary??

amacca wrote: »
    Indeed and society gives not one sh1t about what i expect of it and rarely if ever shows any sign of conforming to my expectations.
    I have the solution to all your problems. Marry yourself. I hear it pis$es off the minions in their masses and when you get the +1 invite you get two meals for the price of one. (at weddings anyway)

It's only you who thinks she is imaginary tbf, you admitted she does exist, he did have a fling with her so how is she imaginary?
    You don't think he is having a relationship with her but you don't know for sure do you?

It's only you who thinks she is imaginary tbf, you admitted she does exist, he did have a fling with her so how is she imaginary?
    You don't think he is having a relationship with her but you don't know for sure do you?
    She is a real person but she is an imaginary GF. How do I know? Because I know the guy and that's enough for me.

(but yeah, if it fits I'm jealous of his imaginary gf, wish I had one :()

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭GalwayGuy2

"Eh, I've got with someone, don't be havin' a laugh...who? Well, you know, it was on holiday..."

Pretty sure we've all heard something like that when we were younger:P