Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone fancy a bit of a gamble?

• 16-03-2013 8:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭

Just to add a bit more excitement in the forum around events I thought we could have a bit of a flutter among each other.
    Nothing mental, maybe a fiver a head? We could do it through PayPal or something.
    We'd have to probably keep it among the regulars around here or at least stick to people with a minimum number of posts to avoid people saying they're in and then legging it when it comes to coughing up the fiver.

I was trying to think of a way we could do it and I think it'll get messy if we start picking winners or method of victory etc, and we have posters picking the same thing and having to split the money.

I think the fairest way to do it is this:

We each guess the total time all the fights in an event will add up to.

Eg; if there's 10 fights in an event including a five rounder, the total time possible would be 160 minutes. You would enter a guess of say, 128 minutes and 47 seconds.

We all register an official guess before the event, and whoever gets the closest to the correct answer, without going over, wins the cash.

(I probably made that explanation way more complicated than it had to be!) :pac:

Anyway.....It's just an idea and I dunno if anyone would be interested, but if you are, say so on this thread and we'll get the ball rolling from the next event onwards if we have enough people. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,660 ✭✭✭SDTimeout

I'd be in for this.

I also think forum betting would be good. No odds or anything but I'd rather give my money to people here then Paddy Power!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,959 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

Why not just do the fantasy that most of us are doing, for a fiver a head

At least then it's not just a random guess of time, ya gotta use skill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

Good idea but maybe total minutes wont get too much excitement. How about something like

**UFC Turbo Tournament**
    Everyone picks a method of victory for all of the last 5 fights on the main card and the person to predict the most correct methods of victory wins.

In case of any ties its determined on whoever is nearest the total minutes of the last 5 fights combined going back to El Guapos original idea. If its still a tie prize money is divided. So along with method of victory selections you need to also submit total minutes of the last 5 fights on the main card combined.

So to confirm you dont need to predict winners by name just how the fights will be won. For instance Mc Gregor v Brimmage as one of the 5 fights. Its either one of 3 results KO,SUB,PTS. Any other method of victory doesnt count and is treated as if a selection wasnt made(you can curse the fighter responsible for DQ etc!).

Selections can only be pm'd to whoever is running the tournament and only if payment is already made and accepted before then. All players pm'd selections are posted on the thread by the evening of the event day at an agreed time by the person who is running the tournament and no entries can follow afterwards.

How does that sound? it can be tweaked if necessary?. Its short and sweet and a winner is crowned on the nite!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

Good idea but maybe total minutes wont get too much excitement. How about something like

**UFC Turbo Tournament**
    Everyone picks a method of victory for all of the last 5 fights on the main card and the person to predict the most correct methods of victory wins.

In case of any ties its determined on whoever is nearest the total minutes of the last 5 fights combined going back to El Guapos original idea. If its still a tie prize money is divided. So along with method of victory selections you need to also submit total minutes of the last 5 fights on the main card combined.

So to confirm you dont need to predict winners by name just how the fights will be won. For instance Mc Gregor v Brimmage as one of the 5 fights. Its either one of 3 results KO,SUB,PTS. Any other method of victory doesnt count and is treated as if a selection wasnt made(you can curse the fighter responsible for DQ etc!).

Selections can only be pm'd to whoever is running the tournament and only if payment is already made and accepted before then. All players pm'd selections are posted on the thread by the evening of the event day at an agreed time by the person who is running the tournament and no entries can follow afterwards.

How does that sound? it can be tweaked if necessary?. Its short and sweet and a winner is crowned on the nite!.
    Sounds good to me. You're right, that would be a bit more exciting than just guessing the total time.
    I'd have no problem organising it all if people get on board.

Scud, I think doing our own separate tournament like this one would be better as a lot of people haven't played in our fantasy pool and won't be bothered registering. At least this way, people don't have to do too much to play. Just pm me your picks and your in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,391 ✭✭✭Scar Tissue

I'd be up for this (paypal balance depending of course :P)

Honestly, the game mode doesn't matter, I'll lose either way :p

I'll lose either way :p

You better! :mad:

*shakes fist

Thats good and you dont have to worry about regulars, once someone pays up and pm's selections there in!. Your elected as tournament orginiser so El Guapo.

To gauge the level of interest for this could people thank the opening post of this thread to give El Guapo a rough idea of numbers. To get as much players in i dont think the buyin will be over €10 but whatever is agreed is all good.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

Count me in for whatever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 732 ✭✭✭Xlami

All in

Nah, not for me, if it was a Fantasy style thing, or linked to our fantasy then i'd be for it, but this is really just about luck and not much skill involved

Yea, sorry, I posted in haste earlier.

I mentioned this idea a while back but would rather incorporate it into the already Fantasy League.

Whoever has the most points for the event scoops the loot. If it's a tie you either split the funds or do a roll over so the next one is double.

Yea, sorry, I posted in haste earlier.

I mentioned this idea a while back but would rather incorporate it into the already Fantasy League.

Whoever has the most points for the event scoops the loot. If it's a tie you either split the funds or do a roll over so the next one is double.

^ ^ This

And it takes 2 mins to register, people wouldn't have to enter every event for the cash, if they've paid 12hrs before event starts then they're in, simples

Not sure how we would work payments to and from people. It'd have to be a pretty trustworthy poster who creates the escrow account.

Doesn't bother me at all lads. Was just an idea for something a little different for the forum. I thought a lot of people wouldn't bother registering for the fantasy pool.

I haven't played the fantasy pool at all this time round. I keep forgetting about it! But if that's what everyone wants to do then I'm up for that.

Either that or you just state your picks in a separate thread (this or a new one).

Not sure how we would work payments to and from people. It'd have to be a pretty trustworthy poster who creates the escrow account.
    Well I volunteered to look after it with the original idea so I don't mind doing it with this one either, if its a runner.
    If people aren't happy with me doing it then we can always pick someone else or have a vote on who does it. I'm easy. (Just ask my gf) :pac:

Paypal, so much simpler, get 1 person to take the funds and adminsitrate, he will then pay out to winner
    El Guapo! wrote: »
    Doesn't bother me at all lads. Was just an idea for something a little different for the forum. I thought a lot of people wouldn't bother registering for the fantasy pool.

I haven't played the fantasy pool at all this time round. I keep forgetting about it! But if that's what everyone wants to do then I'm up for that.

I honestly think it would work better with the fantasy scoring system, it's more skill, the way that was discussed, name 5 methods of victory, you're gonna end up wit a lot of ties, which will then come down to the pot luck of guessing the time in total

I'd have voted either yourself, myself or Mellor. I know (of) Mellor for a long time from here and IrishPokerBoards. My housemate knows him personally too so that's why he'd get my vote.

I'm cool with Mellor or yourself too.
    Anybody except that Scud bloke. He's a bit of a shady bastard! :p

He is a bit of a schnake alright :pac:

I'm cool with Mellor or yourself too.
    Anybody except that Scud bloke. He's a bit of a shady bastard! :p

yeah, steer clear of him, he'd take all yer money and spend it all on midget hookers

He is a bit of a schnake alright :pac:

Reptillian like.

Yeah I think the Fantasy style would work easiest, less hassle trying to figure out who won it than doing it ourselves. I can set up a league dedicated to this if people are interested?

Reptillian like.

Yeah I think the Fantasy style would work easiest, less hassle trying to figure out who won it than doing it ourselves. I can set up a league dedicated to this if people are interested?

IF we do it this way then we can just use the current league, it's already set up for us. As we'll only be doing individual events, and people aint obliged to enter each one (well, for the cash betting), i reckon it'd be easier

+1 to the above

linkage to fantasy thread or rules?

Are people happy playing for €10 per event? I've a PayPal account and am happy to use it as an escrow account (providing people here think I'm trustworthy enough).

Oh you! :pac:

Yeah €10 is fine with me, as we talked about earlier not everyone has to pay in every event.

The next event isn't for almost 3 weeks so people have loads of time to save up a tenner. No excuses!!

Yeah I'm cool with a tenner.
    And I'd be happy with Cereal looking after it.
    If you rob my tenner, I'll fly to Malta and hunt you down like a dog.

Gonna have to set up a few rules, here's one 2 can think of, add away if ya can think of any more

1. In the event of a tie, the moneys will be carried over to THE NEXT LISTED EVENT and whoever is higher in this event out of the tied winners gets the winnings.

2. If you want to play in the PAID event you must pay via paypal (details to come) and as soon as you have paid you must post here that you have paid and are in for the event.

scudzilla wrote: »
    Gonna have to set up a few rules, here's one 2 can think of, add away if ya can think of any more

1. In the event of a tie, the moneys will be carried over to THE NEXT LISTED EVENT and whoever is higher in this event out of the tied winners gets the winnings.

2. If you want to play in the PAID event you must pay via paypal (details to come) and as soon as you have paid you must post here that you have paid and are in for the event.
    When you pay, you should post a screenshot of your payment receipt or post your receipt number.
    Any acting the bollox and not paying and you won't be allowed enter again. And you'll have to spend a night alone in a seedy hotel room with Scud.

When you pay, you should post a screenshot of your payment receipt or post your receipt number.
    Any acting the bollox and not paying and you won't be allowed enter again. And you'll have to spend a night alone in a seedy hotel room with Scud.

I don't think not paying will be an issue, i won't be entering every event, and am sure a few others will be like that too. If ya don't pay, ya don't enter, pretty simple.

And as for the hotel room, any hot females on this forum? I'd give 'em the best 10 seconds of their life

Cereal claims with a bit of slap he's at least a 5/10.

Can't see you doing much better in here..

Not liking the direction of this conversation lads... I'm not up for sexy time with any of yee!

Another rule I had in mind was, funds must be sent before midnight on Friday (Providing event is on Saturday). Post a screenshot of transfers. No after timing bullshít.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,961 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

I'm in whatever ye decide

now ill start reading the thread :)

yep, fantasy sounds good
    lost interest in the old one we were doing as I missed
    too many events

A few bob in it and I'll be in every one of them
    paddy will suffer as a result

I take it we're waiting for a more 'concrete' event? :p

I'm happy to play this one for €10 if others are.

This place has been pretty quite lately though so not sure we'd get many runners.

I'm happy to play this one for €10 if others are.

This place has been pretty quite lately though so not sure we'd get many runners.

im in and ill be here for the next few hours
    id be happy to have a punt

the starting time or the quality of the event might not suit many though

Sorry guys, totally forgot about this, spent my paypal balance on thurs, bank transferred on Fri but will take 2 days, so next event for sure

Figure we'll wait for Jones v Sonnen

first time doing the fantasy
    no idea if this is good but got 5/6 boosts right
    called a few really bad in hindsight

fantasye.jpg

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

I see its less than the average so enough said about that

Normally, that's a decent score. This week was above average.

Mailburner, you were the only one out of all of our league who went for Brimmage!!! WTF was up wit that!! :p

scudzilla wrote: »
    Mailburner, you were the only one out of all of our league who went for Brimmage!!! WTF was up wit that!! :p

shush
    say nothing

id seen brimmage fight before
    never seen mcgregor
    figured that pick might come back to bite me in the arse :D

the confidence in the forum should have been enough but no

Anybody fancer a tenner on the Jones/Sonnen card? If ya want in just say you're in, all losers must pay the winner 10euro by paypal, gonna have to be a trust thing

I'm in

In.

I'm in

who wants my tenner? :D