Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Henderson update

• 16-03-2013 10:53am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭

Simonsig scoped dirty after the Arkle
    (Henderson quoted saying 'just as well we didnt scope him day before')

Oscar Whiskey lame after world hurdle

Riverside Theatre and MTOY heading for Aintree

Grandouet and Sprinter Sacre coming over on the boat

Bobs Worth and Long Run 'very unlikely' to run again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

I found it strange that he said they didn't run Bobs Worth in the Pillar because of the ground. At the time they blamed a minor problem

I know a few people who didn't back him yesterday on the basis of him having missed his prep due to this "minor" problem

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭RichieLawlor

I found it strange that he said they didn't run Bobs Worth in the Pillar because of the ground. At the time they blamed a minor problem

I know a few people who didn't back him yesterday on the basis of him having missed his prep due to this "minor" problem

A horse that can win the arkle not 100% is rather impressive aswell.

Think it was clear something was wrong with Oscar Whiskey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,224 ✭✭✭jimjamcos

A horse that can win the arkle not 100% is rather impressive aswell.

Think it was clear something was wrong with Oscar Whiskey.

Anybody believing that, just by pure bad luck, Oscar Whiskey has happened to be wrong on ALL 3 tries over 3m is deluded.

Oscar Whiskey was out on his feat after World Hurdle last year.
    He never felt right in the Cleeve apparently.
    He was lame after the World Hurdle again this time.

It hardly has anything to do with the trip he's running over? :rolleyes:

I've a funny feeling the horse will be just fine by the time Aintree comes around. The same ole 'excuse' is being used by Henderson when the fact is he's been running a 2.5 horse into the ground over 3m.

jimjamcos wrote: »
    Anybody believing that, just by pure bad luck, Oscar Whiskey has happened to be wrong on ALL 3 tries over 3m is deluded.

Oscar Whiskey was out on his feat after World Hurdle last year.
    He never felt right in the Cleeve apparently.
    He was lame after the World Hurdle again this time.

It hardly has anything to do with the trip he's running over? :rolleyes:

I've a funny feeling the horse will be just fine by the time Aintree comes around. The same ole 'excuse' is being used by Henderson when the fact is he's been running a 2.5 horse into the ground over 3m.

Thursday was the worst ever though, he pulled up. Probably a non stayer but they crawled at the start and he couldn't even lay up with the pace set by Bog Warrior. Pretty obvious it wasn't just the trip this time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

I was skeptical about Oscar Whisky before the race & needless to say I'm skeptical after but he was beaten too far out in a slowly run race for it to have been the trip surely

Not saying he stays 3m properly just that he was beaten on Thursday long before the trip became an issue

Yea on reflection yous are probably right but it's time for Henderson to give up on trying 3 mile with the horse. Maybe Oscar Whiskey just looks at the racecard before his 3m races and thinks "they can **** off if they think I'm running that far!!" :P

It is possible 3 miles on heavy ground in the Cleeve has finished Oscar Whiskey. I wouldn't go near him if he lines up at Aintree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

lol people taking anything Henderson says at face value!

FWIW I agree that it was in no way the trip that beat Oscar Whiskey, he never ran he's race and imo himself and Reve de Sivola killed each other the previous day in dreadful ground.

lol people taking anything Henderson says at face value!

FWIW I agree that it was in no way the trip that beat Oscar Whiskey, he never ran he's race and imo himself and Reve de Sivola killed each other the previous day in dreadful ground.

Some of it has its merits. That was Simonsigs worst performance in 2 years, he never travelled like he usually does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Some of it has its merits. That was Simonsigs worst performance in 2 years, he never travelled like he usually does.

Agreed, but as the old saying goes, even a stoped clock is right twice a day ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,474 ✭✭✭longshotvalue

He still won the arkle relatively easily, and really hadnt beaten anything in the last 2 years.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭SRFC

I dont agree,he absolutely tanked into the straight and it was miles back to whatever was 3rd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,173 ✭✭✭hucklebuck

SRFC wrote: »
    I dont agree,he absolutely tanked into the straight and it was miles back to whatever was 3rd.

He never jumped or travelled like he normally does, something amiss with him alright.

hucklebuck wrote: »
    He never jumped or travelled like he normally does, something amiss with him alright.

Do you not think he was travelling well turning in? he was pulling a cart going by overturn 3 out? he wasnt niggled at once going around until jumping the 2nd last.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Simonsig is much better than he showed in the Arkle imo.

If he settles and jumps better next season then I pray they both make the Champion Chase because it will be amazing viewing.

mdwexford wrote: »

If he settles and jumps better next season then I pray they both make the Champion Chase because it will be amazing viewing.

Nothing will get Sprinter Sacre off the bridle I hope they keep them apart it wouldnt be fair on simonsig getting smashed by an all time great,send simonsig back hurdling Nicky do the right thing :D

mdwexford wrote: »

And Flemenstar too hopefully, if his connections campaign him right next year!!

Do you not think he was travelling well turning in? he was pulling a cart going by overturn 3 out? he wasnt niggled at once going around until jumping the 2nd last.

Sorry, too much drink!! He was but he never settled at all, while I like Bailey Green there is no way he is ever that close to a 100% Simonsig.

I have got to say the 5/1 with VC Bet for the CC is looking very tempting, back him each way and if he doesn't beat Sprinter or doesn't run in it you get your cash back.

hucklebuck wrote: »
    Sorry, too much drink!! He was but he never settled at all, while I like Bailey Green there is no way he is ever that close to a 100% Simonsig.

I have got to say the 5/1 with VC Bet for the CC is looking very tempting, back him each way and if he doesn't beat Sprinter or doesn't run in it you get your cash back.

I have it on good authority Rock on Ruby is going chasing next season and will be running in the Champion Chase as a novice :D

I'd prefer to have a punt on the derby and guineas markets before Cheltenham couldnt be bothered investing money this early.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Nothing will get Sprinter Sacre off the bridle I hope they keep them apart it wouldnt be fair on simonsig getting smashed by an all time great,send simonsig back hurdling Nicky do the right thing :D
    Bold statement. You really do under rate Simonsig. This is a horse that wasnt even 70% and he still won an arkle while jumping poorly. I cant wait to see him absolutely canter home at Aintree on the bridle.

Gringo180 wrote: »
    Bold statement. You really do under rate Simonsig. This is a horse that wasnt even 70% and he still won an arkle while jumping poorly. I cant wait to see him absolutely canter home at Aintree on the bridle.

You'd give him a chance of beating SS would you? What price would you lay me if they met id happily take 1/5 if it was on offer against simsonsig,I dont not rate the horse? I think he has a great engine and would prefer him in a champion hurdle after seeing him jump in the arkle,either step him up in trip or send him over hurdles no point trying to keep him at 2 mile he wont get near the freak ss

Also LOL at the lads paying any attention to what chemical nicky is saying about his horses at cheltenham he wouldnt tell the truth in confession ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

You'd give him a chance of beating SS would you? What price would you lay me if they met id happily take 1/5 if it was on offer against simsonsig,I dont not rate the horse? I think he has a great engine and would prefer him in a champion hurdle after seeing him jump in the arkle,either step him up in trip or send him over hurdles no point trying to keep him at 2 mile he wont get near the freak ss

Also LOL at the lads paying any attention to what chemical nicky is saying about his horses at cheltenham he wouldnt tell the truth in confession ffs.
    To be fair after seen S.S performance in the champion chase I dont think anything would get near him, but if there is one that maybe has a chance it is Simonsig.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Gringo180 wrote: »

You have no idea if he was at 70% or not. And I don't know why people always use jumping poorly as an excuse, jumping is probably the most important part of the overall performance, there's no guarantees it's certain to be perfect next season. I doubt he'll be going to Aintree with a bad scope 3 weeks prior.

I think it was a good performance for a horse that was too fresh, and Baily Green was probably better on the decent ground than people are giving him credit for. Even Sprinter Sacre didn't win the Arkle all that easy, and he had a better prep into the race than Simonsig. I'd say he's still under the label 'potential superstar'

I have it on good authority Rock on Ruby is going chasing next season and will be running in the Champion Chase as a novice :D

Are you joking?
    I'd prefer to have a punt on the derby and guineas markets before Cheltenham couldnt be bothered investing money this early.

Flat racing, pfff :)