Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Indian Gang Rape of Swiss Tourist.

• 16-03-2013 9:56am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭The Aussie

From the country that holds Cattle in higher regard than Woman.

"A Swiss woman was gangraped by a group of eight unidentified persons in Datia district of Madhya Pradesh, police said today.

The incident took place near the town late last night when the woman along with her husband was touring the region on a bicycle as part of their India tour, Datia SP, C S Solanki told PTI.

The couple was camping at a place on their way back from Orchha, where temples of Lord Ram are situated, and were proceeding to Agra when they were looted and the victim was allegedly gangraped in the presence of her husband, police said.

The woman has been admitted to Kamalaraje hospital in Gwalior and her medical tests have confirmed rape, police sources said.

Eight persons have been rounded up on the basis of suspicion and are being questioned in connection with the case, the SP said.

"We are scouring the forest area in search of those involved in the crime," he said without giving more details."

http://newindianexpress.com/nation/article1504011.ece

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

rounded up on the basis of suspicion

WTF:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

What an absolutely horrific ordeal for that couple. I honestly don't get how human beings can inflict such torture on others.

Hopefully these bastards are caught and put away for the rest of their miserable lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

keith16 wrote: »

bad translation? people are generally arrested under suspicion, then charged and then tried, then found guilty (if they're guilty). It's just a way of saying it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 734 ✭✭✭Tom_Cruise

I know there are cruel people in this world, but when i hear about something like this its makes me wonder what must be going through these peoples heads - if anything at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭muckisluck

And this in a country who sent for our ambassador to voice their concerns about medical practice in our country. Physician heal thyself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

keith16 wrote: »

Police there will grab 8 people, force them to confess and move on.

Although a European camping in India is worse then pitching a tent in a Darndale green.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

The Aussie wrote: »
    From the country that holds Cattle in higher regard than Woman.

Number of female prime ministers of India: 1
    Number of bovine prime ministers of India. 0

Bit of an exaggeration OP.

SamHall wrote: »

But they have had multiple famines because they won't shoo cattle away from crops.

and let's not look at dalits too closely shall we?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭The Aussie

SamHall wrote: »

In Hinduism, the cow (Sanskrit: go) is revered as the source of food and symbol of life and may never be killed. Hindus do not worship the cow, however, and cows do not have especially charmed lives in India. It is more accurate to say the cow is taboo in Hinduism, rather than sacred.

Cattle treated with respect. Yes
    Women treated with respect. No

OP. no exaggeration.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

multiple famines? link please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

Grayson wrote: »
    But they have had multiple famines because they won't shoo cattle away from crops.

[Citation needed]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Amazing India :rolleyes:

I really don't see the appeal of India, its pretty much all one big sh!thole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Inbox

Oranage2 wrote: »

I can back that statement up :eek:

http://www.chinasmack.com/2010/pictures/filthy-india-photos-chinese-netizen-reactions.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭9959

'Rape' occurs in most, if not all, countries in the world, the tragic case of the young Romanian woman Mariora Rostas being an example, so let's not 'gang-up' on India so readily.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Gyalist

Police there will grab 8 people, force them to confess and move on.

Although a European camping in India is worse then pitching a tent in a Darndale green.

Two German men were attacked in the Phoenix Park, one of them died and the other only escaped the same fate by pretending that he was dead. Their mistake was in assuming that the park was a safe place for camping. Irish people seem to have very short memories. Was that attack a fair reflection of Ireland in general?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

9959 wrote: »
    'Rape' occurs in most, if not all, countries in the world, the tragic case of the young Romanian woman Mariora Rostas being an example, so let's not 'gang-up' on India so readily.

In all fairness, things are out of hand in India and gang rapings of women there has been a major concern for Indian women for quite some time. It would seem that punishing rapists has not been something that the Indian government or police have really taken seriously.

There are so many reported cases now of the gang rapes of women and children, god only knows how many go unreported, and the murdering of the rape victims is an even more sinister aspect of these rapes. It would appear that there are many organised gangs of men prowling around with the intent of gang rape. Something is clearly very, very wrong in India and personally I wouldn not even consider going there.

How in the hell are that couple ever going to have a normal relationship again? The woman underwent a horrific and violent gang rape, while her partner was forced to watch it, unable to help her. That is 2 lives destroyed.

9959 wrote: »

Unfortunately so. But it does happen more in countries where women are valued less. One only has to see the rates of female infanticide and foeticide (sp?) to see that women are valued less than men.

That's not to tar everyone with the same brush. the protests after the bus rape were a good sign. But unfortunately there's still a very long way to go.

msg11 wrote: »
    Oh my god. :eek:

Indeed but then one shouldn't judge from our standards. Were there a fairer distributuion of wealth in the world, these issues could be tackeled , but there isn't. Despite our economics woes, we are still amongst the richest in the world.

And i forgot to mention eve teasing
    Eve teasing is a euphemism used in India and sometimes Bangladesh[1] for public sexual harassment or molestation of women by men, with use of the word "Eve" being a reference to the biblical Eve, the first woman.[2] It implies that the woman is in some way responsible for the behaviour of the perpetrators of this act. Considered a problem related to delinquency in youth,[3] it is a form of sexual aggression that ranges in severity from sexually suggestive remarks, brushing in public places and catcalls to outright groping.[4][5][6] Sometimes it is referred to with a coy suggestion of innocent fun, making it appear innocuous with no resulting liability on the part of the perpetrator.[7] Some voluntary organisations have suggested that the expression be replaced by a more appropriate term.[8] According to them, considering the semantic roots of the term in Indian English, Eve teasing refers to the temptress nature of Eve, placing responsibility on the woman as a tease.[9]

Sexual harassment by strangers, as with any type of harassment, has been a notoriously difficult crime to prove, as perpetrators often devise ingenious ways to harass women, even though eve teasing usually occurs in public places, streets, and public transport.[10] Some feminist writers claim that this behaviour is a kind of "little rape".[11] Some guidebooks to the region warn female tourists to avoid attracting the attention of these kinds of men by wearing conservative clothing.[12][13] However, this harassment is reported both by Indian women and by conservatively dressed foreign women.[14]

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

corktina wrote: »

Indeed but then one shouldn't judge from our standards. Were there a fairer distributuion of wealth in the world, these issues could be tackeled , but there isn't. Despite our economics woes, we are still amongst the richest in the world.
    So rich people don't rape?

You might tel that to the victim of anthony lyons and see if she thinks the same!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

Why do we always blame somebody else?

It's the West's fault for gang rapings in India because we have developed a (partially) civilised society and have prospered. God forbid these animals in the East actually step up to the plate and act like human beings and work on developing themselves

(Not referring to all eastern people in this regard)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,435 ✭✭✭mandrake04

Been there..... Unfortunately. Toilet of the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭MissFire

Inbox wrote: »

Forking hell! I know what I'm going to be thinking about for the rest of the day!

I agree and disagree (I do that a lot)

I know what you're driving at. Societies which are not as advanced tend to have customs and attitudes that we consider backwards. they are attitudes that were prevalant in europs and the US 50 or 100 years ago.
    In india, a lot of the protesters would have been from the newer middle class. Wheras in a village which barely has telephones, they might have more archaic customs and attitudes towards women.

I half agree. I'll often mention in a discussion about islam, that most of the bad attitudes are in countries which are backwards. More modern countries tend to have a version of islam which is more compatible with our value system.
    the societies that don't are barely out of the agrarian phase and have, despite their faults managed to progress about 300 years in a period of 50. But they are still behind us.

This doesn't mean i can't judge their actions. There's a difference between pluralism and relativism. With one I can accept that different doesn't mean bad. With the other I can't judge at all.

And although I can think that the society has progressed a lot, i can still condemn the crimes that occur and judge both those who commit them & the society that created those attitudes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

I was reading the thread and someone posted a link to a Chinese related site. I was browsing it and came across the thread below. The views of posters there are pretty shocking (in relation to the rape of a man by a woman).

It highlights the massive gap culturally between nations and that what we see as civilized. While I don't think we're always right or just, other countries have a long way to 'progress'. It's not exactly how I'd like to phrase it but right now I'm still too sleepy.

http://www.chinasmack.com/2013/pictures/bold-powerful-chengdu-woman-rapes-passing-man-on-street.html

I was reading the thread and someone posted a link to a Chinese related site. I was browsing it and came across the thread below. The views of posters there are pretty shocking (in relation to the rape of a man by a woman).

It highlights the massive gap culturally between nations and that what we see as civilized. While I don't think we're always right or just, other countries have a long way to 'progress'. It's not exactly how I'd like to phrase it but right now I'm still too sleepy.

http://www.chinasmack.com/2013/pictures/bold-powerful-chengdu-woman-rapes-passing-man-on-street.html

Good lord

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,007 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Meanwhile here in Ireland not one RC priest or bishop who helped their colleagues carry on raping kids has ever faced any charges for their crimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

China smack is just a Chinese troll site

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

China smack is just a Chinese troll site

So I'm figuring out- I had never heard of it before this morning.

I think that needs a warning attached. I haven't seen that many corpses since reading about genocide

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

muckisluck wrote: »
    And this in a country who sent for our ambassador to voice their concerns about medical practice in our country. Physician heal thyself!

Well in fairness, in Ireland we usually murder our Swiss students after raping them.........

No one should be taking the high ground on either issue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

Seriously??!!
    Holy fúck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

I normally hate the whole whataboutery thing prevalent on AH, but when I think of gang rape,the first instance in my head is the Cratloe woods rape, whats shocking is that they're out now, in short,lets not turn this into a fukk India thread.Hope the couple are getting the treatment they need,and hope the rapists will get the treatment we want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭kellso81

More modern countries tend to have a version of islam which is more compatible with our value system.

We like to think that but it's not necessarily the case,

http://www.homeoffice.gov.uk/crime/violence-against-women-girls/female-genital-mutilation/

"In the UK, it is estimated that up to 24,000 girls under the age of 15 are at risk of female genital mutilation. Across government work is taking place to tackle this cruel and brutal practice."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭Blondini

Holy sweet lamb a jaysus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,565 ✭✭✭Dymo

But in India a a woman who can be seen is seen as a woman available for violation,rapid modernization and urbanization in India have made women, especially young women, visible as never before. And as a white women in India, Indian men think they are open game as they have lower moral standards as there not covered in head to toe and can treat them as objects and hiss at them in the streets to show them there intentions.
    http://www.theatlantic.com/sexes/archive/2013/01/as-a-girl-in-india-i-learned-to-be-afraid-of-men/266813/

Rapists and sexual assailants also know they are likely to get away with their crime: While the NCRB reported a 112 percent increase in reported rapes between 1990 and 2008, three-fourths of accused perpetrators remained in 2011 at large and only 26 percent were convicted in 2012

kellso81 wrote: »
    We like to think that but it's not necessarily the case,

http://www.homeoffice.gov.uk/crime/violence-against-women-girls/female-genital-mutilation/

"In the UK, it is estimated that up to 24,000 girls under the age of 15 are at risk of female genital mutilation. Across government work is taking place to tackle this cruel and brutal practice."

That's not islam. In the west we just tend to recognise it as islam because in a lot of the countries where it's performed, they are predominately muslims.

think of it like the issue of rape. It's a problem in many countries like India and pakistan. One's hindu, one's muslim. In reality it's the underlying culture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

mikom wrote: »
    Well in fairness, in Ireland we usually murder our Swiss students after raping them.........

No one should be taking the high ground on either issue.

You make it sound as its a regular practice, its happened once as far as we know. Does it mean that we can't comment on the widespread practice of rape in India?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,272 ✭✭✭Barna77

Jesus Christ almighty.... I'm sick now

mandrake04 wrote: »
    Been there..... Unfortunately. Toilet of the world.

I guess it depends on where you go to an extent.

I'm going next year for a family wedding, part of me is terrified and part of me feels you should confront your fears. (just as I eventually did regarding Belsen and Auschwitz which I was in denial about for many years, not been there yet but I will)

I'm delighted I shall have local guides with me all the same

(PS I expected the Ganges to be bad, but those pictures exceeded my fears)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

Dymo wrote: »
    But in India a a woman who can be seen is seen as a woman available for violation,rapid modernization and urbanization in India have made women, especially young women, visible as never before. And as a white women in India, Indian men think they are open game as they have lower moral standards as there not covered in head to toe and can treat them as objects and hiss at them in the streets to show them there intentions.

This is true. I've been with groups of women in India and Sri Lanka who were 'felt up' in busy crowded marketplaces. They do see western women as being easy. There's a definite immaturity when it comes to sexual matters.

I can't totally dismiss India though. It's an amazing and fascinating country. Westerners don't always like it, it's hot, it's crowded, there's poverty. It's too intense and full-on for some people but I'm glad I went there.

Wattle wrote: »
    I can't totally dismiss India though. It's an amazing and fascinating country. Westerners don't always like it, it's hot, it's crowded, there's poverty. It's too intense and full-on for some people but I'm glad I went there.

I get that. I've always wanted to go there. it's a country that's a subcontinent that's how bid and diverse it it, it's a fecking subcontinent.

So YES, Cattle treated better. :pac:

Thanks for links.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Vile stuff but it's dangerous to stereotype a nation based on the actions of a disgusting few. There is no denying that there is a significant issue with gang rapes in India though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 teenage dirtbag

Despicable Nation. And they had the idiocy to produce this headline

"Ireland murders Indian dentist"

Aidric wrote: »
    Vile stuff but it's dangerous to stereotype a nation based on the actions of a disgusting few.

Agreed 100%, but the more its highlighted and the more awareness the better, for locals and sadly enough now for Foreigners.
    Aidric wrote: »
    There is no denying that there is a significant issue with gang rapes in India though.

It does seem to a epidemic, but is these the only ones that have been reported, how many others are there?
    A quick search turned up this story (link included)

"Rape is in the spotlight in India as reported cases continue to rise. Source: AFP
    TWO women have been kidnapped and gang-raped near Delhi in two separate incidents that highlighted the persistent risk of sexual assault in India.
    In one case, three men abducted and attacked a 19-year-old woman, who hailed an auto rickshaw carrying two male passengers near a popular shopping centre in Delhi's satellite city of Ghaziabad last weekend, a police official said.
    "The driver drove the rickshaw to a remote forested area where he and the two other men repeatedly raped her before fleeing the area," Nitin Tiwari, Ghaziabad's senior superintendent of police, said.
    The teenager then made her way to a local police station where she filed a case against her attackers, two of whom confessed to their crimes earlier this week, Supt Tiwari said.
    Police are still in pursuit of the third man, he added.
    The second incident involved a 25-year-old woman who met one of her alleged attackers in a park in east Delhi on Wednesday to discuss a possible job opportunity, Delhi police press officer Satbir Singh said.
    "She said the man offered her a soft drink, which she drank before passing out due to some illicit substance in the drink. When she woke up, she found herself trapped in a car with a few other men inside," Mr Singh said.
    "The men raped her before dumping her near a dustbin, where police found her lying unconscious at two in the morning," he said.
    Police have registered a case and are hunting for the alleged attackers, he added.
    Police also said a three-year-old child who was allegedly kidnapped and gang-raped had been admitted to a hospital in the southern state of Kerala, local media reported Thursday.
    The toddler went missing on Tuesday morning, before a group of school students found her lying unconscious outside and called the police, according to NDTV news channel.
    The child sustained several injuries and has already been through two surgeries at a hospital in Kozhikode city, where she is currently under observation.
    The crimes provide grist for a growing debate in India over the status of women and girls and their safety in the country.
    Rape incidents in Delhi alone have doubled this year, India's minister of state for home affairs Mullappally Ramachandran told the upper house of parliament on Wednesday.
    The Indian capital has seen around four rape cases a day since January 1, compared to an average of two rape cases registered daily in 2012, though the increase could be attributed, in part, to more reporting by emboldened women.
    Thousands took to the streets to protest against India's treatment of women following the fatal gang-rape of a 23-year-old student on a moving bus in Delhi"

http://www.news.com.au/world-news/two-woman-gang-raped-in-india/story-fndir2ev-1226592816087