Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Foreign gangs fly in to steal iPhones.

• 16-03-2013 1:30am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 663 ✭✭✭

CRIMINAL gangs are flying into Dublin for weekend iPhone theft sprees which can net thousands of euro.
    One professional pick pocket was nabbed with nine stolen phones from one nightclub alone.
    Gardai have now launched a major operation against the marauding foreign gangs, mainly consisting of young smartly dressed men and women from Romania and Bulgaria.
    Last Friday night, one criminal – who had just flown into Dublin – was found with nine stolen iPhones as he left a prominent city centre nightclub.
    The suspect in his 20s – a Romanian national – was arrested as he walked on Wexford Street by officers just seconds after he had left the nightclub last weekend.
    He had stolen the smart-phones in a "methodical fashion" from unsuspecting punters who were enjoying a night out in the club.
    Senior sources say that this incident is just one example of the epidemic of thefts by foreign gangs that is gripping the capital.

Read more ....
    http://www.herald.ie/news/gangs-flying-in-to-steal-iphones-29130404.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

Great, now every nutter in the country is going to think they've been proven right about the whole roma gypsy/Romanian distinction.

Not that it really mattered to them anyway, but still.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

People still believe what the herald prints....why.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

Serves them right for having iPhones

21/25

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,381 ✭✭✭Doom

Amateur.....:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

From the thread title I got an image of half human half dragon gangsters flying down and swooping iPhones out of people's hands. I am disappoint. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

The Romanians just haven't been the same since the fall of the Roman empire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

From the thread title I got an image of half human half dragon gangsters flying down and swooping iPhones out of people's hands. I am disappoint. :(

"Dragons are terrorizing the city, and posting pictures of themselves on Instagram".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Feckin Polanski.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭grizzly

Let's close the airports until we sort this mess out. Or the nightclubs. Or the Herald.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭VEN

i believe they can fly, thats why

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Professional pickpocket?

As opposed to what? Someone who does it for the glory, not the money?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

The famous expression "Where there is money to be made..." - So no wonder pickpockets are willing to travel.

Now look, it's wrong to tell people how to live their lives. But at the same time you have to realise that pulling out a €600 euro phone in a busy nightclub is going to get the wrong sort of attention. Simple precautions can stop these scumbags from stealing your phone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

De turk our fones

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

Thank fu$k I have an Android :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

ColeTrain wrote: »
    Thank fu$k I have an Android :cool:

The Herald journalists probably just call every smartphone an iPhone.

It's hardly like this fabled Eat European Fagin gang fly over to Dublin to nick phones and blithely ignore hundreds of Galaxy Note 2s, SG3s, HTC One Xs and Experia Zs lying around in the nightclub.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

anncoates wrote: »
    The Herald journalists probably just call every smartphone an iPhone.

It's hardly like this fabled Eat European Fagin gang fly over to Dublin to nick phones and blithely ignore hundreds of Galaxy Note 2s, SG3s, HTC One Xs and Experia Zs lying around in the nightclub.

I believe the story mate, they're just coming for the Iphones. They're probably not bothered about cash or gold either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

No need for gold, they have plenty of gold teeth

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

grizzly wrote: »
    Let's close the airports until we sort this mess out. Or the nightclubs. Or the Herald.

or just romanians?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭md23040

http://www.channel4.com/programmes/secrets-of-the-pickpockets/4od

The above Channel 4 documentary shows how gangs from CEE and South America are targetting cities throughout Europe and moving where the bsuiness takes them - the tour consists mainly of London, Barcelona and Rome and it's just a natural progression to add Dublin into the mix with loads of pissed up people with valuables worth taking.

This documentary is pretty good to help you in being safer from these parasities and seeing how easy thefts can occur.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭HondaSami

orestes wrote: »
    Great, now every nutter in the country is going to think they've been proven right about the whole roma gypsy/Romanian distinction.

Not that it really mattered to them anyway, but still.

Majority of them are a menace to society, they give nothing to this country but they take a lot from it.
    It's pointless for anyone saying it's not true etc, we all know what they are like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

What have the Romas ever done for us?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭9959

I misread the thread title as:
    'Foreign Gangs Fly In To Steal Pigeons',
    ..... I am disappoint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,732 ✭✭✭weisses

I blame MOL

flights are to cheap

If you have a nice and expensive phone, then it's a bit silly to take it with you on a night out. Buy a cheap-ass one from somewhere, pop your SIM into it and leave your proper one at home.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12 Need A User Name

Cienciano wrote: »
    What have the Romas ever done for us?

I had some great burgers and chips in Cafe Roma's around the Country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Gardai have been forced to launch major operations against the foreign gangs who are made up of young smartly dressed Romanians and Bulgarians.

A good doorman will be on the ball and stop them in their tracks, I won't let them next to or near a door I'm working.

But you can be caught out, however the give away is usually two or three people reporting phones/valuable stolen in quick successio. Then you've to scan the premises for the usual suspects, I'd say this is how this guy was caught.

They're quick whores and will often use fire exits as escape routes rather than risk being caught at the front door.

To be honest they're a scourge on any club.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭monkeypants

Professional pickpocket?

As opposed to what? Someone who does it for the glory, not the money?
    Some want to keep their amateur status for the 2016 Rio Olympics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭drdeadlift

The past two months i havent had a mobile phone...bliss

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

drdeadlift wrote: »
    The past two months i havent had a mobile phone...bliss

Stolen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭drdeadlift

Stolen?

No,i was with o2 and switched back to Vodafone forgetting the phone is locked to o2.Asked os for the unlock code but they haven't bothered,reminded them once but they seem to not care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Apple are the biggest robbers. If they sold iPhones for two quid there wouldn't be a problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,873 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

The Romanians are at it in Cambridge too.

http://www.cambridge-news.co.uk/News/Gang-of-smartphone-snatchers-on-prowl-15032013.htm

And probably not the Romanians in the USA but the activities of the gangs there have added a new phrase to the English language "Apple Pickers"

http://venturebeat.com/2013/02/10/5-ways-to-thwart-apple-pickers-and-android-thieves/

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Romani Ite Domum!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭Pushtrak

"Apple pickers" I had to facepalm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Sure the Roma are at this in Dublin for years!

They dont do it in Romania or Bulgaria because the locals are wise to their ways and will beat the fook out of them.

Dublin is nice and compact, lots of clubs in close proximity with plenty of sloppy drunks with nice phones. Easy pickings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

There is a great clip on youtube of a roma dude stealing a girl's phone in Budapest, you think he's just some dopey drunk,but,BAM!!! Unfortunately,I'm too much of a techtard to post it. Sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

Ah sure, as long as they leave our swans alone sure it's grand. The poor crators.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Yeah the thefts was just made up and the criminals were from Norway.

OT: Pickpocket gangs are common all over Europe, it's not just in Dublin it happens. There was some BBC documentary on how they were sent abroad to steal and beg and send the money home. The crime bosses lived like kings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,690 ✭✭✭ElChe32

Sad that a small group can totally taint an entire nation of people. Having spent quite a while in Romania the every day Romanian are some of the most friendly, hard working and very well educated. I have many Romanian friends that are almost ashamed to call themselves Romanian abroad.
    Lets hope these gangs are rooted out and dealt with by the authorities

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

always bring out my ****ty 25 euro phone on nights out.

its great

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

ElChe32 wrote: »
    Sad that a small group can totally taint an entire nation of people. Having spent quite a while in Romania the every day Romanian are some of the most friendly, hard working and very well educated. I have many Romanian friends that are almost ashamed to call themselves Romanian abroad.
    Lets hope these gangs are rooted out and dealt with by the authorities

Nope, its people's ignorance which does that not a group of Roma.

Most of us know that Romanians are not always Roma, unfortunately the ignorant tar them all with the same brush.

I've trained with a lot of Romanians, and worked with some too and my experience of them reflects yours.. In fact they hate the Roma community, but not because it gives them a bad name but because their experience with them has been just as negative as mine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Spunge wrote: »
    always bring out my ****ty 25 euro phone on nights out.

its great

Or you could use a blackberry. No-one would steal that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭Dwork

There is a simple deterrent- drive a small nail through the top left corner of your phone and then tie it to your belt with a suitable length of string. If you use black string it looks more sophisticated.

Then, when some sneaky phone pincher flies in to lift it, you can wait until they are making their escape and at the last second, tug firmly on the string, thus unbalancing them and causing your phone to fly back into your hands. (you can get your friends and family to pretend to pickpocket you a few times so you get the hang of it.)

Imagine how surprised the baffled pickpocket will be when your phone magically flies back to its rightful owner! This method also works well for when you forget your phone on a table - your trusty string will ensure it follows you everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Is there any control over who gets in and out of this country at all?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭Dwork

steddyeddy wrote: »
    Is there any control over who gets in and out of this country at all?
    Is there any merit in modifying the "phone-string" idea to encompass possibly undesirable visitors identified at Immigration? We could drive a small nail into them and attach a piece of string...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

If you have a nice and expensive phone, then it's a bit silly to take it with you on a night out. Buy a cheap-ass one from somewhere, pop your SIM into it and leave your proper one at home.
    But the whole reason for buying a fancy phone is so you can show off when your out. I have a cheap ass phone for normal use and then take out the fancy phone for showing off in pubs. You can't begin to understand how it broke my heart when someone noticed the plastic screen cover that's on new phones and I had to take it off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭Kichote

ScumLord wrote: »
    But the whole reason for buying a fancy phone is so you can show off when your out. I have a cheap ass phone for normal use and then take out the fancy phone for showing off in pubs. You can't begin to understand how it broke my heart when someone noticed the plastic screen cover that's on new phones and I had to take it off.

I always leave that on. New phancy phones dont interest me anymore. All the same touch screen android crap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Dwork wrote: »
    There is a simple deterrent- drive a small nail through the top left corner of your phone and then tie it to your belt with a suitable length of string. If you use black string it looks more sophisticated.

Then, when some sneaky phone pincher flies in to lift it, you can wait until they are making their escape and at the last second, tug firmly on the string, thus unbalancing them and causing your phone to fly back into your hands. (you can get your friends and family to pretend to pickpocket you a few times so you get the hang of it.)

Imagine how surprised the baffled pickpocket will be when your phone magically flies back to its rightful owner! This method also works well for when you forget your phone on a table - your trusty string will ensure it follows you everywhere.

Sir ,may I present this.
    http://www.google.ie/imgres?um=1&hl=en&safe=off&sa=N&biw=800&bih=485&authuser=0&tbm=isch&tbnid=PE697TIRw8VxdM:&imgrefurl=http://cartinafinland.fi/en/picture/63387/terrorist%2Bbomb,%2Bwhich%2Bcan%2Bbe%2Btriggered%2Bby%2Ba%2Bmobile%2Bphone.html&docid=zgtDU_MoD6tw2M&imgurl=http://cartinafinland.fi/en/imagebank/image/63/63387/terrorist%252Bbomb,%252Bwhich%252Bcan%252Bbe%252Btriggered%252Bby%252Ba%252Bmobile%252Bphone%252B63387.jpg&w=600&h=400&ei=L75EUaToHuaO7Abzs4GICQ&zoom=1&ved=0CFAQhBwwAQ&ved=1t:3588,r:1,s:0,i:80&iact=rc&dur=1090&page=1&tbnh=175&tbnw=275&start=0&ndsp=7&tx=179&ty=52

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

ScumLord wrote: »

But it on ebay. or even better a plastic replica of the phone.