Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

243 new Speed Camera Areas

• 14-03-2013 2:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭

Good news everyone!

Article with 243 New Designated Zones

I notice that the road between Killeagh and Castlemartyer on the N25 is to become one of these zones. Shame, too, as it's possibly the best stretch of single carriageway on the Cork side of the N25.

What's the consensus? Are the cams working or do people find them a hindrance more so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,565 ✭✭✭Dymo

Whats the deal with red line camera marked on the map but no speed signs up, the area I thinking of was before the new speed sections were announced.

http://www.garda.ie/gosafe.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

FGR wrote: »
    Good news everyone!

Article with 243 New Designated Zones

I notice that the road between Killeagh and Castlemartyer on the N25 is to become one of these zones. Shame, too, as it's possibly the best stretch of single carriageway on the Cork side of the N25.

What's the consensus? Are the cams working or do people find them a hindrance more so?

Working for what? Revenue generation yes im sure they are. Road Safety ?

Show me the stats that these yolks have a direct contributory factor in reduction of road fatalities in all areas described.

That will change my mind on the revenue generation side. Because thats all i believe they are for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 960 ✭✭✭guttenberg

Has they ever mentioned if they are considering introducing average speed cameras?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭FGR

Don't be giving them ideas! Those yokes are worse than the static cams. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 560 ✭✭✭wesf

243 new cameras, and not one will be "in a spot where a person has died"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭Yawlboy

I passed the "Safety Camera Van" at the lake outside Castlemartyr this morning in a stream of traffic doing 61kph that sped back up to 90 (in a 100kph zone) once passed it.

The thing is people know where they will be and are overly cautious at those points as a result. The stretch between Killeagh and Castlemartyr is the only proper overtaking spot between Youghal and Midleton. So when you are stuck behind a school bus or a tractor........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

wesf wrote: »

Unless a down hill / off ramp or straight line road counts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭FGR

Yawlboy wrote: »
    I passed the "Safety Camera Van" at the lake outside Castlemartyr this morning in a stream of traffic doing 61kph that sped back up to 90 (in a 100kph zone) once passed it.

The thing is people know where they will be and are overly cautious at those points as a result. The stretch between Killeagh and Castlemartyr is the only proper overtaking spot between Youghal and Midleton. So when you are stuck behind a school bus or a tractor........

This. I also notice that Grange on the Youghal-Dungarvan road is now a spot. Don't get me wrong I've seen a few RTAs there but they've improved that road considerably in recent years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,637 ✭✭✭celt262

That's not true the R188 has one where there was a fatality.

listermint wrote: »

Forgot that :D
    celt262 wrote: »
    That's not true the R188 has one where there was a fatality.
    Does that place fit the description above?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Camera Zone near the home place, van parked in it a few hundred metres into a 100kph zone about 50% of the time I drive by.

Its been home for about 14 years. I can only recall a few deaths in that time, 1 or 2 of them were in the one car that was been driven on the wrong side of the road.

Not a money making scheme my arse.

Also I am not sure of the number of allocated vans in Donegal, but for a county its size with the number of roads it has, I wouldn't expect to encounter 2-3 vans during a single hours drive, really thought they would be spread out more.

Does that place fit the description above?

I'm sorry i don't understand what you mean?

listermint wrote: »
    this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

I wonder have these spots actually been picked by using the stats gained from the non branded vans that they said were there to test to see if over a certain percentage of drivers broke the speed limit on certain sections of road despite there being no accidents on the road being surveyed?

So instead of increasing the limit for that section (Which would be logical as cars are being surveyed as "speeding" but no accidents occur so the limit is too low) they stick a van there to generate a bit of revenue?

this!

The location is a straight stretch of road where someone died i dont really get what you are on about :confused:

celt262 wrote: »
    The location is a straight stretch of road where someone died i dont really get what you are on about :confused:
    what i'm on about is the van is there due to the fact it is a straight stretch where the vans will catch people in order to generate revenue, not as a result of someone dying there, that's just a coincidence i reckon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭Mick ah

draffodx wrote: »
    I wonder have these spots actually been picked by using the stats gained from the non branded vans that they said were there to test to see if over a certain percentage of drivers broke the speed limit on certain sections of road despite there being no accidents on the road being surveyed?

So instead of increasing the limit for that section (Which would be logical as cars are being surveyed as "speeding" but no accidents occur so the limit is too low) they stick a van there to generate a bit of revenue?

Exactly.

Can you blame them though? They can pull out these figures for "safety" of irish roads. At the same time they make a mint.

I had to do a project on road deaths in Ireland about 3 years ago or so. We found that most deaths occured in the early hours of saturday and sunday morning on rural roads. i.e. when people are coming home from the pub, drunk. The massive shift in our attitude to drink driving is what's saving lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭mikeecho

can anyone work out which 34 zones have been removed ?

or even link to a list of the previous zones that i can filter in excel ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,167 ✭✭✭SeanW

Actually more zones in Donegal makes some sense - I also had a project on road safety recently and in 2007, by county: Donegal had the 4th highest rate of accidents, after 3 main urban counties.

I suspect it's for two reasons:
    1. Donegals' remote profile does not warrant motorway construction.
    2. Lots of mountains there means a lot of the roads are rubbish.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 228 ✭✭shinkansen

thank yer blessing ye guys are not in the uk...

its awash with cameras... actually would go as far as to say that owning a fast car is pointless.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

SeanW wrote: »
    Actually more zones in Donegal makes some sense - I also had a project on road safety recently and in 2007, by county: Donegal had the 4th highest rate of accidents, after 3 main urban counties.

I suspect it's for two reasons:
    1. Donegals' remote profile does not warrant motorway construction.
    2. Lots of mountains there means a lot of the roads are rubbish.

It's because almost every idiot under 30 in Donegal thinks he is a boyracer and drives like an absolute lunatic, basically the national sport there is rallying and most have no clue how to drive and only drive junk boxes most of the time. Kerry's roads are far worse with a similar sized population but has far lower road fatalities stats. Boyracer culture and the popularity of Motor Rallying in Donegal have sent manys the young lad to his early grave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

Mick ah wrote: »

Exactly.

Can you blame them though? They can pull out these figures for "safety" of irish roads. At the same time they make a mint.

I had to do a project on road deaths in Ireland about 3 years ago or so. We found that most deaths occured in the early hours of saturday and sunday morning on rural roads. i.e. when people are coming home from the pub, drunk. The massive shift in our attitude to drink driving is what's saving lives.
    Speed was a much bigger killer in these circumstances rather than drink driving imo. Also it's more than just our attitude towords drink driving that is saving lives right now, what's saving lives is far less traffic on the roads due to the reccession imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Essentially none of the Wicklow Mountains covered despite The Sally Gap being a well known spot for messers and the R755 to Roundwood well known for silly fast driving, I've frequently been passed by people when I've been doing 120+ on it. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pa990

The stats also show that only 1 ticket is issued for every hour of operation, to me that shows that inattentive drivers are being caught.

Compared with other countries, the speed camera setup here is fairly obvious to even a midly attentive driver.

* still not a fan of them though.