Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford Marathon 2013

• 13-03-2013 6:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭

Hi all! Just wondering if anybody knows anything about the route for this years Viking Marathon in Waterford. Its not up on the website yet. Is it the same as last year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭village runner

Bahanaman wrote: »
    Hi all! Just wondering if anybody knows anything about the route for this years Viking Marathon in Waterford. Its not up on the website yet. Is it the same as last year?
    Very unlikely it will be. Tramore ain't playing ball as far as I hear. Will be a few weeks before its sorted. Thinking of doing it if it suits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,138 ✭✭✭tombliboo83

Very unlikely it will be. Tramore ain't playing ball as far as I hear. Will be a few weeks before its sorted. Thinking of doing it if it suits.

No route still...crazy stuff, Im doing cork instead despite it being a home marathon..didnt think tramore wouldve been that put out tbh.cant see what route they can make without tramore in it..

Seemingly along ring road. Not familiar with Bla land so can't comment . With 12 weeks to go it ain't good enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Bahanaman

Think Tramore is going to be part of the route but not as much as last year.

The route has been decided. Around the city, out to Tramore and back from what I've been told. It's supposed to be up on the website next Wednesday. At last it seems to be sorted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭JohnnyBingo

Full and half marathon routes are now on the website

http://www.waterfordvikingmarathon.com/the-race/viking-marathon-routes.html

Looks interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭webpal

Link to map my run

http://www.mapmyrun.com/routes/fullscreen/190103986/

I think overall it looks ok. At first glance it looks like there a quite a few hills but in comparison with Dublin the elevation looks easier. I know most of the route and there seems to be a sharp hill in tramore after mile 14 and another one around mile 23 but I think I'll go for it.

Seems to be a problem bringing up that route on mapmyrun.

I had a problem with it last night but it's working this morning - just had a good look at it there now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭RubyK

webpal wrote: »
    Link to map my run

http://www.mapmyrun.com/routes/fullscreen/190103986/

there seems to be a sharp hill in tramore after mile 14

Yep, the hill up Strand Street is a bit of a toughie, but it's not that long, and once you get over it, there's a nice gradual downhill section to recover on :)

All in all I think they've done a good job with the new routes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,209 ✭✭✭Sosa

Its much better than last years...no doubt about that.
    I will be one of the pacers for the 3:30 group, so in a few weeks i will be starting to do some of the route, ( as soon as i get over boston )...i will post up the garmin links and you can all have a look...sign up people, it will be a great day in the déise

Still can't get that link to come up! :mad:

Works ok for me, I found it by going into mapmyrun and search for waterford marathon

Got the link up and running last night. Seems very interesting with a few paces where runners will be meeting each other going the other way! I wonder what do people from that neck of the woods think of the route? Also how does the route get from the Kingfisher Club over onto Lacken Road? Is there a new track there because on Mapmyrun the red line goes straight through the Club itself and over onto the road! The reason I'm asking this is because myself and a few others are thinking of doing our first 20 miler on the route from the Kingfisher club to the RSC in a couple of weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭eliwallach

Also how does the route get from the Kingfisher Club over onto Lacken Road? Is there a new track there because on Mapmyrun the red line goes straight through the Club itself and over onto the road!.

not completely familiar with Waterford, but (from the 1/2 marathon last Dec) there is a new park attached to the Kingfisher Club with wide paths running through it. I presume one of these paths will link with Lacken Road.

eliwallach wrote: »
    not completely familiar with Waterford, but (from the 1/2 marathon last Dec) there is a new park attached to the Kingfisher Club with wide paths running through it. I presume one of these paths will link with Lacken Road.

You're correct there Eli. Route brings you into the nature park and then anticlockwise as far as I know (opposite direction of last Decembers half ) to the back right hand corner if the park where gates connecting to the adjoining recycling facility will be open on the day. You won't be able to run the last 20 of the route from kingfisher as these gates are normally closed. You'll have to go around to the lacken road and start from there.

Well people! Have many of you signed up for this event? It was very well run last year and they've incorporated a full "lap of honour" on the track in the RSC to finish this year!

Might run this if I don't run 26 Sunday. Would get me nicely back into it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,209 ✭✭✭Sosa

Might run this if I don't run 26 Sunday. Would get me nicely back into it

Best of luck VR..ill have the feet up watching with a mug of scald.

Just finished a 17 mile LSR. Torture!!! The last 9 miles back into a gale! God I hate running in the wind. Running to stand still. At times I was thinking of jacking it in and forgetting about Waterford altogether! But that wouldn't be good now would it?

Ye Carlow lads normally throw in the towel

Jaysus you're a comedian Village Man! I'm cracking up here! Hope you're set for the big one tomorrow and you won't be throwing in the towel yourself;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭babalobioddy

Ok lads keep it nice. A Kilkenny man here just after the full in connamara looking forward to Waterford. Carlow, Waterford and Kilkenny let the battle begin !!!!

Good man Baba! A Kilkenny man living hundred yards inside Carlow! The only battle will be with the clock! The Village Runner will be blitzing the streets of London tomorrow and will be in great fettle for a possible attempt on Waterford. Good luck with the hills tomorrow. Dunno how you can face them. Although I threw a few into the run today meself.

How did you get on in Connemara ?? Interested to see your first half and second half splits.

Splits were not good 1st half 1.36 2nd 2.02. There was an awful head wind for the last 13 miles. my pb is 3.19 but on the day in connamara id have been happy with 3.30. so all in all taking the conditions into account happy overall.

Signed up for waterford. With 9 weeks I will give it a lash. 10g to drop before it though

That's the stuff Village Runner!! You'll not be too far from the front that day I'd say!:D

Around 3 miles

Signed up for waterford. With 9 weeks I will give it a lash. 10g to drop before it though

You might need to drop more than 10g though;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭123agh

Got the link up and running last night. Seems very interesting with a few paces where runners will be meeting each other going the other way! I wonder what do people from that neck of the woods think of the route? Also how does the route get from the Kingfisher Club over onto Lacken Road? Is there a new track there because on Mapmyrun the red line goes straight through the Club itself and over onto the road! The reason I'm asking this is because myself and a few others are thinking of doing our first 20 miler on the route from the Kingfisher club to the RSC in a couple of weeks.

Route from the kingfisher Club to lacken road is closed but will be open on the day of the race so unfortunately you will be unable to run the exact route until the day. Unfortunately the route took a bit of thouught as restrictions were placed on us from the state bodies so i apologise for the delay but i believe it is a faster course than last year there are about two tough hills in it one on the lacken road and the other in the tramore the one in tramore is steep but short the lacken road is long and drawn out. if you have any questions dont be afraid to ask me.
    Hope you enjoy the run:)

123agh wrote: »
    Route from the kingfisher Club to lacken road is closed but will be open on the day of the race so unfortunately you will be unable to run the exact route until the day. Unfortunately the route took a bit of thouught as restrictions were placed on us from the state bodies so i apologise for the delay but i believe it is a faster course than last year there are about two tough hills in it one on the lacken road and the other in the tramore the one in tramore is steep but short the lacken road is long and drawn out. if you have any questions dont be afraid to ask me.
    Hope you enjoy the run:)

Thanks for the update. It must be difficult trying to get things sorted when you're trying to fit a race in around the town. I know the hill in tramore. Thankfully it is short but it comes at an interesting part of the race. Is there a place to park near the route exit onto Lacken Road? I reckon we'd still be able to get a 20 mile long run done if we went from there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭123agh

Thanks for the update. It must be difficult trying to get things sorted when you're trying to fit a race in around the town. I know the hill in tramore. Thankfully it is short but it comes at an interesting part of the race. Is there a place to park near the route exit onto Lacken Road? I reckon we'd still be able to get a 20 mile long run done if we went from there.

If you park in the W.I.T car park on the Cork Road or during the week park in the RSC . If you run the route from the lacken road to the finish you will get about 19 ish miles as the track in the rsc is closed you will miss that bit as well .The hill on the lacken road is not easy either and it is a bit long :)

123agh wrote: »
    If you park in the W.I.T car park on the Cork Road or during the week park in the RSC . If you run the route from the lacken road to the finish you will get about 19 ish miles as the track in the rsc is closed you will miss that bit as well .The hill on the lacken road is not easy either and it is a bit long :)
    Don't like the sound of that hill on the Lacken Road!! It'd be good to see it what its like though. It couldn't be worse than the hill from the Cork Road up to half way on last year's route! Please say its not!!!!:eek:

Sounds like a tough one. Might have been a mistake signing up. Tramore hill is hard. Will have to run 19 to see for myself. Time will tell. Now time to get into shape. Ran 80 min this morning. Lovely morning for it. Met a lad after walking 5 miles on his way home from a great night out.

Bahanaman, don't worry about the Lacken Road, it's nothing like the Butlerstown to O'Keeffe's Cross ordeal. You'll be grand :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 256 ✭✭MacSwifty

RubyK wrote: »
    Bahanaman, don't worry about the Lacken Road, it's nothing like the Butlerstown to O'Keeffe's Cross ordeal. You'll be grand :)

The haul up to Hasbro at mile 24/25 is the bit I am dreeading!!!!

MacSwifty wrote: »
    The haul up to Hasbro at mile 24/25 is the bit I am dreeading!!!!

All I can hear is hills ? It can't be that bad. How lOng is this hill ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 256 ✭✭MacSwifty

All I can hear is hills ? It can't be that bad. How lOng is this hill ??

About 200m, those who ran the winter league last year will know it! On the plus side it is all down hill from there to the RSC - at least a mile

Don't be worried too much Village!

Its a nice course - impossible not to have the odd hill but anthing we go up we will have to come down again as it it virtually a loop!

Plan the odd incline into the training especially towards the end of the LSR and you will be grand!!!

RubyK wrote: »

Phew! That's a relief! Tramore hill will be tough but I think there's a gradual slope back down after it which will offer a chance of recovery. Really looking forward to this race now. Last year's was a real blast and excellently run. The training is going well (touching every bit of wood within reach!) Only missed one session from my plan so far and that was purely due to alcohol poisoning! But sure a fella has to live! A bit like Village Runner, I could do with shedding a few stone lbs! The target time? Up in the air at the moment. To be honest dunno what I'm capable of:confused: 3:18 in DCM last year after missing 6 weeks training leading up to it. 1:29:34 half marathon PB in Wexford last year. Any advice on a realistic target would be welcome!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭Ri na hEireann

Was working towards this marathon as my first but am wondering now whether a different one might be the better option with all the hills I'm hearing of? I'd be just looking to just get around but have only done slightly above half-marathon distance at this stage. The thoughts of a huge hill in Tramore that far into it seems like I might be better of doing the half and holding off for a flatter course with more miles in my legs?

Don't let hills be a reason not to run a marathon. Most marathons have hills ,it is inevitable that hills will be a part of your marathon race day. Try and do some hills in your training and as it is getting close to race day I would increase my long run from where you are at the min.
    Best of luck.

Was working towards this marathon as my first but am wondering now whether a different one might be the better option with all the hills I'm hearing of? I'd be just looking to just get around but have only done slightly above half-marathon distance at this stage. The thoughts of a huge hill in Tramore that far into it seems like I might be better of doing the half and holding off for a flatter course with more miles in my legs?

Don't be scared by the idea of a few hills! I don't like them myself but they're a fact of life and you can't have a marathon in this country without them. The Waterford race is relatively flat actually. That hill in tramore is steep but mercifully short with a nice downhill stretch just after to help get the feeling back in your legs! You've set this as your goal so back yourself and go for it! You'll be glad you did. Just up the mileage on the long runs over the next few weeks towards the 20 mile mark or even slightly over. This was a great race last year. Really well organised. You'll only be kicking yourself on the 29th of June if you don't do it!

Hopefully this link works, it's the google street view of the hill in tramore. It's not that bad or long plus there isn't an uphill for miles after it.

http://maps.gstatic.com/m/streetview/?panoid=nuOOJYnwx9Leou8kgd1EyA&cbp=0,126.30963685046278,,0,0

You may need to pan right and up strand street to see it

I included this hill in my 17 miler yesterday. It came at about mile 8 so a bit earlier than it will be on the day (I think you hit it around mile 13-14 or thereabouts). It's a tough hill there's no doubt but I would say easier than Heartbreak Hill in DCM just before the stillorgan flyover at mile 20-21. Easier because it comes earlier in the race. I would love to see the profiles side by side to compare the two. Also took in the last hill as you exit ballybeg up to the cork road. It's not so bad plus knowing you only have 1.5 miles or so to go and its all down hill to the track at the RSC should give a good physiological lift to help push you along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 Scifo

Anyone know if there are any training groups doing a long run this Sunday - they mention a couple on the website??

There will be a gang going from Superquinn at 9am every Sunday morning. Various pace and distance. Some doing 16 others doing 18. There are some training for the half as well and I think they are up to 10.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 Scifo

Thanks JB, might tag along for the 18, have 20 in my schedule so will have to throw another couple on at the end

Scifo wrote: »
    Thanks JB, might tag along for the 18, have 20 in my schedule so will have to throw another couple on at the end

I'm sure you will find that some of the group will be up to 20 so you should be ok for company - depending on what pace you and they are doing.