Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Has Luke Flanagan's Dail Speech ensured his re-election.

• 12-03-2013 10:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,073 ✭✭✭

Just listened to Luke Fling Flanagan's speech in the Dail re penalty points, very interesting that he has come clean on his penalty points. He has done a service to tackling corruption as far as the Gardai corruption and other public officials are concerned Whatever his shortcomings maybe. His forthrightness has to be admired. I hope it leads to his re-election as a T.D.

The Forum on Spirituality has been closed for years. Please bring it back, there are lots of Spiritual people in Ireland and elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 979 ✭✭✭Michael Weston

What did he say ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,176 ✭✭✭blackwhite

Xenophile wrote: »
    Just listened to Luke Fling Flanagan's speech in the Dail re penalty points, very interesting that he has come clean on his penalty points. He has done a service to tackling corruption as far as the Gardai corruption and other public officials are concerned Whatever his shortcomings maybe. His forthrightness has to be admired. I hope it leads to his re-election as a T.D.

Would this be his forthrightness in denying the allegatioms when they were initially made last year, and only coming clean when he realised that evidence of his wrongdoing was going to be released?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,874 ✭✭✭✭PogMoThoin

As someone who lives in Roscommon I'll be voting for him, as will the neighbors. He's a breath of fresh air compared to the other candidates.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭HondaSami

Xenophile wrote: »

He got the penalty points and accepted the opportunity to have them cancelled, how does this make him right? is he not as as corrupt as the people he is complaining about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

HondaSami wrote: »
    He got the penalty points and accepted the opportunity to have them cancelled, how does this make him right? is he not as as corrupt as the people he is complaining about?

Who cancelled them for him?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

he reminds me of tommy tiernan's character in father ted. i think tommy tiernan is an utter wanker btw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,073 ✭✭✭Xenophile

What did he say ?

Too much to type , listen back to tonights "late debate" on RTE or you can read it in to-morrows newspapers. Apologies, but I am not an accomplished typist.

The Forum on Spirituality has been closed for years. Please bring it back, there are lots of Spiritual people in Ireland and elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

The man actually applied to have his points removed, for all his good intentions!

Why is this man already a shoe in? He is NO BETTER than the rest of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Paulzx

The big bad gardai tied him up and forcibly removed his penalty points from him. It's all their fault. He just wanted to do his time

Pull the other one..he's full of crap....he just got caught doing exactly what he supposedly was "exposing"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭fullgas

He's pathetic, he came out with a lame excuse - basically saying the Gardaí made him do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

He should just man the fcuk up about it and admit his wrongs. I mean it's hardly the worst thing a TD has ever done!

mikom wrote: »

I'm sure he is familiar with the word NO, he did not have to accept having the points cancelled and he did not have to tell everyone at the council meeting he got penalty points either.
    He accepted a favour and now he is blaming everyone but himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 Philipblue12

Give me a break, when will people cope on seriously. No wonder the country is in a state. I can understand people voting for someone on the belief they have ethics as theres a certain degree of trust casting a vote. But This all happened last year and he's only making this public now. Scam possibly scamola. What a joker, and there's people here saying he's a breath of fresh air. The air must be rotten down in Roscommon if thats fresh to some people.

I'm sure he is familiar with the word NO, he did not have to accept having the points cancelled and he did not have to tell everyone at the council meeting he got penalty points either.
    He accepted a favour and now he is blaming everyone but himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭rn

What was a relatively mild story in the Sunday Indo to try and discredit him, seams to have escalated greatly - repairing the damage done to Ming by the report and creating a bonanza for the Indo... Well played Ming.

I wouldn't vote for him - but he's certainly a useful public representative to have as an independent in the Dail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,589 ✭✭✭Reg'stoy

One would imagine it was the person he wrote!! to, asking them to cancel them for him.

How do i know, im sure he will find a way to reveal those responsible.
    Now he wants to get the points on his D/lic, he is such a gob****e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,208 ✭✭✭Fattes

You mean the points he didn't get? Or lied about not getting! He is no different to the rest!

http://www.broadsheet.ie/2013/03/11/mingin/

http://www.broadsheet.ie/2013/03/12/the-irish-points-rounds-system/

Oh and this bit!!My favorite!

http://www.broadsheet.ie/2013/02/08/the-silent-majority/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 799 ✭✭✭Logical_Bear

What did he say ?

that he couldnt believe there's no pot in pot noodles:cool:

im sure he will find a way to reveal those responsible.

Hope so.
    They might be able to help me out some time.

He should just man the fcuk up about it and admit his wrongs. I mean it's hardly the worst thing a TD has ever done!

No it's not but he is the supposedly part of the new breed of politian. The politian who is transparent, in my opinion he's the worse kind at least any one with half a brain cell knows the mainstream politian is corruptible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

What a pathetic man. He was caught with his hand in the cookie jar and tries to come up with an excuse to make him seem like some sort of saviour.

The worst thing is some people buy into this as it's all so "rage against the machine".

Him and his supporters need to grow the f**k up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭Lumbo

he reminds me of tommy tiernan's character in father ted. i think tommy tiernan is an utter wanker btw

What do you think of Tommy Tiernan's character in Father Ted?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Will the honest politician please stand up.
    Oh crap just realised there's never been an honest politician since time began

How do i know, im sure he will find a way to reveal those responsible.
    Now he wants to get the points on his D/lic, he is such a gob****e.

Lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,692 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Same as the rest ... despite what he may tell us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

He can play the high and mighty card all he wants, but at the end of the day he accepted help from another local councillor and a superintendent to dismiss his fines and points. Then also denied it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

If he had any credibility then he should have refused to have the points. At least we know he is now in good company with Mick. Birds of a feather and all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,073 ✭✭✭Xenophile

The subject will probably be covered on TV3 .........Tonight with Vincent Browne starting just about now or in a few minutes time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

I think he spoke quite well and candidly.

I actually can't believe there's people 'supporting him' a fraud of a man. But then no surprise as he's pals with another hypocrite William Mick Wallace .

That TD issued iPad certainly helped

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,692 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Mick Wallace and Ming Flanagan, getting off with things the common man can't.

I like this new breed of politician.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Why didn't he highlight this before someone else brought it up? Ah he was going to bring it up in Minister Shatters internal review to highlight systematic abuse
    First instance - A Garda Sergeant took it upon himself to do away with the penalty points

In the second instance - He wasn't on Dail business, he was on his way to a county council meeting. Why doesn't he name the senior county council official that took it upon himself to get his points cleared.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭Notorious97

Lol i cant believe how casually he is explaining this, hes not the biggest baddie in the dail lol but hes as bad as the ones offering to remove the points.

"Cohort of gardai going around asking people do they want points removed" lol contender for statement of the year i reckon. You would swear they forced him, he was offered a get out of jail card, and took it and now has been found out.

I dont know why we bother obeying the law at all, i hope hes punished for it, hes making out the gardai are bullying people into this, its a bad culture alright, but its individuals and not the entire force. He needs to man up and admit he chanced his arm to get away with it. Stop blaming others for getting caught ming!

Boombastic wrote: »
    Why didn't he highlight this before someone else brought it up? Ah he was going to bring it up in Minister Shatters internal review to highlight systematic abuse
    First instance - A Garda Sergeant took it upon himself to do away with the penalty points

In the second instance - He wasn't on Dail business, he was on his way to a county council meeting. Why doesn't he name the senior county council official that took it upon himself to get his points cleared.

Because he's full of sh@te!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭DUBACC

That's a whole new level of squirming by Ming on Vincent Browne at the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

PogMoThoin wrote: »
    As someone who lives in Roscommon I'll be voting for him, as will the neighbors. He's a breath of fresh air compared to the other candidates.

Fresh air? Really? Ming is the worst kind of more of the same.

DUBACC wrote: »
    That's a whole new level of squirming by Ming on Vincent Browne at the moment.

Oscar nomination

Seriously - this is comedy gold! The guy is a chancer and is being found out big time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭Notorious97

DUBACC wrote: »

Seriously - this is comedy gold! The guy is a chancer and is being found out big time.

Good man vincent, running amok on him lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭joe swanson

the man is a complete hypocrite. the people of roscommon who voted for him really need to look at themselves.

I like the way he said to the guard he was on the way to a Dublin council meeting. I'm sure it was an off the cuff remark and he wasn't aware of the rules regarding politians and penalty points.

Good man vincent, running amok on him lol

...."But sure it's endemic in society that people ask for points to be quashed....'

....'but sure i was on my way to the Dail'....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

Lumbo wrote: »
    What do you think of Tommy Tiernan's character in Father Ted?

a hopeless gobshite that you cant help feeling sorry for

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

eh, ehhhh, eeeh, eh, eh

It wasn't my fault, ehhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

any of his supporters listening to Vincent at the mo. The guy is a moron and the scary thing about it is he's an elected rep of Roscommon.

Boombastic wrote: »
    eh, ehhhh, eeeh, eh, eh

It wasn't my fault, ehhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

Ehhhhhhhh it was mick Wallace and miss piggys fault we were having group phone sex at the time Vincent while I was on the way to the dail

maybe he's a genius and this is part of the techinal groups big plan to expose now hypocritical and corrupt our politians are...ahead oc his time lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

it seems like its a political initiation to be corrupt in one form or another. speak out or try to change the status quo and your favours magically appear in the media. disturbing the way irish politics is conducted