Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Carlingford 300 (Audax Ireland)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Intrigued....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭xbox gamer

RobFowl wrote: »
    Intrigued....
    Im tempted also, especially since it is on my doorstep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭Dermot Illogical

This looks very nice indeed. Thanks for the info!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭Zorba

How about we get a boardsie group together for this. What am I getting myself in for, 300k :o

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Zorba wrote: »
    How about we get a boardsie group together for this. What am I getting myself in for, 300k :o
    Possibly in ......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 926 ✭✭✭G rock

Zorba wrote: »

Would love to do this one too, but on holidays at that time.

Looks like a nice route, some nice scenery and climbing up around the cooley peninsula.

And will hopefully be a bit warmer than the virginia 300 this coming weekend!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭bcmf

RobFowl wrote: »
    Possibly in ......
    Maybe ....possibly...in.So close to the start but yet oh so far (to go distance wise).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 964 ✭✭✭detones

bcmf wrote: »
    Maybe ....possibly...in.So close to the start but yet oh so far (to go distance wise).

300k your all nuts!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭Zorba

detones wrote: »

300k your all nuts!

I agree

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

done a lot of that route before great route tough in a lot of places .
    no miles in me legs to tackle it again best of luck lads your going to need it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭LastGasp

Should be there, assuming I survive the Virginia 300 tomorrow !

Entered. 5 weeks to put more mileage in my legs....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭marketty

Hopefully will get to the ardattin 200 a fortnight before, depending on how that goes I'd love to try my local 300!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,531 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

So who has signed up for it?

hell of a trip way beyond me. any idea of what time you guy's will be hitting drogheda .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 marckil

Just a quick update.

Completed the finial route check yesterday, it is a good route expect climbing and some hilly sections. For most of the day there was little to no traffic on the roads.

Looking forward to next week.

Regards
    Marc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 Dromcarrig

CramCycle wrote: »
    So who has signed up for it?

I'm in!

hell of a trip way beyond me. any idea of what time you guy's will be hitting drogheda .

Unless you're up at about half 6 i don't think you'll see us :) We miss Drogheda by going through duleek, donore and tullyallen according to the route and head back to stamullen through tara and rathfeigh.

xbox gamer wrote: »
    Unless you're up at about half 6 i don't think you'll see us :) We miss Drogheda by going through duleek, donore and tullyallen according to the route and head back to stamullen through tara and rathfeigh.

ah thats a pity but i still might try and find you guys on route ,have you got any idea what time you will hit certain places on route.
    dead keen to see your set up and what kind of pace you ride at .

ah thats a pity but i still might try and find you guys on route ,have you got any idea what time you will hit certain places on route.
    dead keen to see your set up and what kind of pace you ride at .

I know the first control point is Castlebellingham @ 67k (again according to the website) so that would be about 2.5 - 3 hours for me. Don't know about the other control points yet. The experts will probably fly off at the start but i'll just ramble on at my own pace.

I don't have a set up. Just a bike, saddlebag, food, water and myself. Just doing it as i did the Kings Mountain 200k and felt good after doing it (average speed 21k according to my garmin). Sure if i don't complete it at least i said i tried. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭cnz8euq6x7syj2

My only advice is to do this.I am.

Great route and its practically summer!

xbox what bike are you riding just in case i meet you..

Its a black Rose bike. No other ones at the moment :(

The controls are in Castlebellingham (79km), Carlingford (125.8km), Castleblayney (192.9km), Navan (258.5km), Stamullen (301.6km)

Trying to bank up as much sleep as possible today as I didn't sleep all of Wednesday night/Thursday.

Getting the bag packed now, includes

Topeak super chain breaker
    3 SRAM chain joiners
    4 tubes
    Topeak mini pump
    Multitool
    2 x litres of water
    1 tyre (unsure, may risk not doing it, depends on space)
    3 x pockets full of food and a topeak bar bag full of jelly beans
    Phone turned off to save power, using it as an emergency find how far off route I am using google maps for when I get lost.

What am I forgetting?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,812 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

CramCycle wrote: »
    What am I forgetting?

Lights, spare batteries. Having met a guy on a long walk in Wicklow a while back, I now also carry a spare seat bolt, a couple of spokes, and a bunch of cable ties in my seat post. Can't beat a bit of healthy paranoia ;)

smacl wrote: »
    Lights, spare batteries. Having met a guy on a long walk in Wicklow a while back, I now also carry a spare seat bolt, a couple of spokes, and a bunch of cable ties in my seat post. Can't beat a bit of healthy paranoia ;)

Cable ties, thats the thing.

I have lights already attached.

Guys,

There is a lot of shops along the way. For the 300KM route check this is what I brought last week did not use most of it but it is always good to have spares.

Cycling Gear:
    Extra Base-layer (used)
    Rain jacket (Used)
    Extra gloves (Wish I had) Brought a pair of workman's gloves in Castleblayney. as the ones I had where so waterlogged I could not get them back on after the stop.
    two back lights
    Front light ( with battery pack)
    two Buffs (Used)
    Skull cap (will leave this from now as the weather is getting warmer) (used)
    Glasses

Tools and Spares:

Very small Topeak chain breaker
    Tier leavers
    2 chain joiners
    3 tubes (abit over kill, but I would prefer to have 3 and only need two, than need 3 and not have a spare)
    Repair kit (with valve adapter)
    Tyre Boot (longer runs a spare tyre)
    BBB full pump
    Spoke key (normally have spare back spokes taped to the frame. Not this time)
    Cut down Multitool (removed the bit I do not use)
    2 x 750 waterbottles. (Make sure they are full at the start)
    food (Bars, etc)
    Phone
    Garmin 800
    Cycling Computer
    Spare brake and gear cable
    Emergency Energy gel

I think that was it.

any ride reports lads i did go out in the car but not feeling the best i had to turn for home, seen plenty cyclists but dont think it was any of you guys.

Not a great day for me. First of all slept it so i didn't get to leave stamullen until 8.30 (two and a half hours later). Had to quit the cycle 165k in as i just had lead legs. I wouldn't have made it much further especially with those rolling hills further on the route.

I think i seen somebody in a swords jersey who desended from jenkinstown when i was about to go up it. Didn't see me though.

Fair play to anyone who completed it. Super weather helped with the enjoyment. The scenery was stunning. I hope somebody got photos.

Thanks to Marc for organising it. I shall hopefully be back next year to set off at the correct time and complete it. :)

best layed plan's xbox.still you got a good days cycling in fair play.
    hopefull next year i'll tackle some audex rides certainly wont be doing any this year ,no miles ion legs ans 3 stone overweight.:mad:

best layed plan's xbox.still you got a good days cycling in fair play.
    hopefull next year i'll tackle some audex rides certainly wont be doing any this year ,no miles ion legs ans 3 stone overweight.:mad:

What about this year? Two months to the Rock Savage 200 which in on our doorstep. ;) Its all about taking care of yourself on the cycle.

If you look at it as a cycle of average 20kph = 10 hours, then you have 3 and half hours for stopping. Easy on paper! Even go one further and break it down to four 50k cycles. No problem to you.

Got caught in the lab last night and didn't ge out until after 7am, called Marc to let him know that I was yet again a DNS.

Sad times, loooked like great weather.

xbox gamer wrote: »
    What about this year? Two months to the Rock Savage 200 which in on our doorstep. ;) Its all about taking care of yourself on the cycle.

If you look at it as a cycle of average 20kph = 10 hours, then you have 3 and half hours for stopping. Easy on paper! Even go one further and break it down to four 50k cycles. No problem to you.

ah you make it sound easy :rolleyes: but honest i don't have enough miles in my legs this year but defo will do one next year just to get a taste of it,
    it's been 2 years since i done a century ride tough going but enjoyed every pedal stroke like you i did it my way.:cool:
    where is the the rock savage i will try and get to look at this one.

did anyone take a camera.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,423 ✭✭✭lizzylad84

ah you make it sound easy :rolleyes: but honest i don't have enough miles in my legs this year but defo will do one next year just to get a taste of it,
    it's been 2 years since i done a century ride tough going but enjoyed every pedal stroke like you i did it my way.:cool:
    where is the the rock savage i will try and get to look at this one.

this one might also be of interest to you
    http://www.audaxireland.org/calendar/gazetteer/around-down-200/