Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

People who drive at 80kph on good 100kph National roads

• 08-03-2013 8:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33

On good National roads, with nice wide hard shoulders, with 100kph speed limits, in all weather conditions, and all times of day, I always encounter people driving at 80kph.

My question is... Why?

Why do you Morons do it?

What do you hope to accomplish? Are you trying to save money on fuel?

Why won't you get out of my way when you see me coming up behind you? You just sit there holding everyone up causing tailbacks! :mad:

I drive at the speed limit, if I see some behind me I pull over (if safe to do so). You are dangerous drivers, forcing people to overtake you!

Please tell me your reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,968 ✭✭✭blindside88

I completely agree with you, be prepared for:

1) I save a lot by driving at 80 kph
    2) it's a limit not a target

The second really annoys me, if your not competent enough to drive at the speed limit on a good road in good conditions get the F off the road. Just because you have nowhere to be doesn't mean the rest of us don't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Because the speed limit for my truck is 80km/h.

Is that ok with you??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

Remember that many vehicles are limited to 80km/h on N roads.
    This includes trucks, buses and minibuses, and all vehicles (including vans and cars) when towing a trailer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭thecomedian

Is there a law against driving at 80?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,968 ✭✭✭blindside88

padd b1975 wrote: »

Is that ok with you??

I think he's giving out about car drivers, but just out of interest would you move into the hard shoulder to let cars past?

Is there a law against driving at 80?
    Yes, when the limit is reduced in certain areas, built up areas, schools etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Thatnastyboy

Well remember, you're entitled to do 100km/h, they're just as entitled to do 80km/h. No obligation to pull over etc, onus is on you to overtake safely.

I usually plod along at 80-90, my fuel consumption goes seriously south anywhere beyond that,

On N roads I'd always pull over to the shoulder to let people pass though, but, its illegal to do so, as im sure the "black and white - by the book" people will inform you.

Wouldn't go so far as calling anyone that doesnt do 100km/h a moron now... everyone surely has a reason, and if they dont, what about it?

I think he's giving out about car drivers, but just out of interest would you move into the hard shoulder to let cars past?

I move to hard shoulder everyday to let other drivers overtake - provided it's safe and makes sense...
    f.e. if there is long stretch of the empty road, then there is no sense, as anyone who intents to overtake, can do so without me moving to hard shoulder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Atominist wrote: »
    You are dangerous drivers, forcing people to overtake you!
    I can't answer for slow drivers as I'm on the limit like yourself but tbh no-one is forcing you to overtake but yourself.
    The road is there for everyone; old, young, fast, slow. You'll just have to learn to live with it.

Btw, I am also a fast walker and it infuriates me sometimes when people walk slower and I can't get past.
    You can either let it get to you and do something rash, or zen out dude.

Technically not supposed do, but yes, if the hard shoulder is wide enough for cars to get past safely.

Sometimes its best to stay out for both our sakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭Fozzie Bear

Is that ok with you??

Mine is limited too. That doesn't stop the focking clowns in cars I regularly meet on the M18 motorway forcing me to brake or flash the lights at them to speed up in front of me. A motorway ffs!

I'd think its these sort of fools the OP was talking about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,514 ✭✭✭TheChizler

Nobody's forcing you to overtake dangerously, that's hyperbole (there's nothing I hate more than hyperbole! ;)). It's a mild annoyance at best if you have to take your foot off the accelerator for a few seconds, just overtake when it's safe. If the area's not suitable for overtaking (bends and no hard shoulder for them to pull in to) then maybe 80 is an appropriate speed to be going at.

Technically not supposed do, but yes, if the hard shoulder is wide enough for cars to get past safely.

Why not?

CiniO wrote: »
    Why not?
    Its not a designated driving lane.

Slower moving traffic are under no obligation whatsoever to pull over into it to allow overtaking.

Mine is limited too. That doesn't stop the focking clowns in cars I regularly meet on the M18 motorway forcing me to brake or flash the lights at them to speed up in front of me. A motorway ffs!

I'd think its these sort of fools the OP was talking about?
    Its the ones joining from a slip road that enrage me, sitting alongside me dawdling at 80 as the slip road merges instead of driving the fcuk on!:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Sounds to me like a case of a driver taking their own life's frustrations out on other road users. It's not a race, people need to chill out. Overtake them when it is safe to do so if you must but nobody is forcing anyone to do so. Getting worked up over something so trivial is a one way ticket to a melt down or worse.

Its not a designated driving lane.

Slower moving traffic are under no obligation whatsoever to pull over into it to allow overtaking.

Being "not supposed to" or "being under no obligation whatsoever" IMO mean something pretty much opposite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,671 ✭✭✭GarIT

but just out of interest would you move into the hard shoulder to let cars past?

Isn't that illegal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Actually I notice that when I go on winding country roads (boreens and the like) I'm always overtaken by locals.
    It's down to that I'm on unfamiliar roads with hidden dips and entrances and I'm trying to drive at a pace that will let me safely brake if something happens. The locals know the road like the back of their hand and will fly past.

GarIT wrote: »
    Isn't that illegal?

No. It isn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,671 ✭✭✭GarIT

No. It isn't.

I thought you can't drive in the hard shoulder?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Why won't you get out of my way when you see me coming up behind you? You just sit there holding everyone up causing tailbacks! :mad:

If you have problems overtaking people on such good roads maybe the problem is with you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,514 ✭✭✭TheChizler

You can temporarily.

There isn't any law prohibiting it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,752 ✭✭✭Bohrio

Why not?

This is the never ending story. Same as the roundabout thread...

yes, you can use the hardshoulder if the situation permits to help the to make things easier for the overtaking car but you did know that was originally meant for tractors and other slow vehicles? ;)

Being "not supposed to" or "being under no obligation whatsoever" IMO mean something pretty much opposite.
    Fair enough, 'not supposed to' was not the most accurate way to phrase my point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

On good National roads, with nice wide hard shoulders, with 100kph speed limits, in all weather conditions, and all times of day, I always encounter people driving at 80kph.

My question is... Why?

Why do you Morons do it?

What do you hope to accomplish? Are you trying to save money on fuel?

I drive at the speed limit, if I see some behind me I pull over (if safe to do so). You are dangerous drivers, forcing people to overtake you!

Please tell me your reasons.
    You sir come across as an aggressive driver and probably shouldn't be on the road at all if that's your attitude towords other road users.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Think people doing 80kmh on an N road is bad?

I came off the M9 at exit 5 last week, going to Wexford, there was a tailback of about 40 cars/trucks and so on, the cause? Someone driving 50kmh, they weren't old or anything, general average middle aged guy, wouldn't pull in or nothing, drove all the way from basically Carlow to Wexford at 50 kmh (boohoo get over yourself, yes I know)

Now explain that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,711 ✭✭✭C.K Dexter Haven

I don't mind people who drive 80kph in a 100kph zone. I overtake these people when it's safe to do so.

What i can't abide, is when I slow down to a 60kph zone further down the road, and these people are still going 80kph, and are now tailgating me :(

Bohrio wrote: »
    This is the never ending story. Same as the roundabout thread...

yes, you can use the hardshoulder if the situation permits to help the to make things easier for the overtaking car
    but you did know that was originally meant for tractors and other slow vehicles? ;)

No, not really. I didn't know that.
    Some time ago I was researching this issue, and went through nearly all regulations on Irishstatutebook - and didn't find an legal definition of hard shoulder and what was is designed for.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,858 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

80kph would be nirvana on the N85 between Ennis and Ennistymon. The real slow traffic sometimes gets everyone down to c.60kph. It's a pain in the swiss.

JohnBoy26 wrote: »
    You sir sound come across as an aggressive driver and probably shouldn't be on the road at all if that's your attitude towords other road users.

Ohh yes..
    JohnyBoy always know best who should be on the road, and who shouldn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

I don't mind people who drive 80kph in a 100kph zone. I overtake these people when it's safe to do so.

What i can't abide, is when I slow down to a 60kph zone further down the road, and these people are still going 80kph, and are now tailgating me :(

ah....the one speeders...one speed for the motorway, dualcarriageway, backroads, villages...

Generally completely oblivious to their surroundings as well :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭OldmanMondeo

I have drove at 80kph on a national route, I have drove well under the speed limit on good roads, why, because I don't have to drive at the speed limit. Maybe I had a hard day, maybe I am a little tired, maybe I am just enjoying the drive, either way I don't pull a gun and FORCE anyone to over take me. If you want to pass, easy to do safely.

With that, there has been time when I would be in a hurry or feel like going a little faster, then as long as I am being a safe driver and keeping within the law, so be it.

And if anyone has a problem with my safe driving, then kiss my bumper!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

I drive at 80km/h cos I feel like it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 475 ✭✭ManMade

I've been driving for a few months now. It's annoying how many people believe the maximum is the minimum. If someone is uncomfortable driving at 100 why are they idiots. They are being responsible. Flashing you're lights aint going to make them feel anymore comfortable. Safety/being in control beats driving the limit every time.

Although being stuck behind someone doing 80 is quite annoying its not something I get up in arms about because when I'm unsure of a turn off,my surroundings or first time on a road I'm that guy going 80 and don't give a sh*t if you have to be somewhere, my safety comes first always.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭joebloggs32

wexie wrote: »

ah....the one speeders...one speed for the motorway, dualcarriageway, backroads, villages...

Generally completely oblivious to their surroundings as well :mad:

They usually have a 14 year old corolla without hubcaps

• Closed Accounts Posts: 288 ✭✭jimbomalley

You know whats worse than these people?? Middle lane cruisers on the M7!! These idiots proper piss me off, learn the bloody rules of the road and pull the f**k over into the left lane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Or if you are waiting for an opertunity to pass them, and you think maybe after this village. Only for them to blast through, you catch up a bit later, and stuck behind them again.

You know whats worse than these people?? Middle lane cruisers on the M7!! These idiots proper piss me off, learn the bloody rules of the road and pull the f**k over into the left lane

I have got to admit that I got stuck in the middle lane of the M50 the other morning, overtook a few cars, but couldn't get out of the middle lane, both lanes either side moving quicker. I was only MORTO...

Sarcasm detector malfucti#^@/!&@:@.
    Read the message before responding old man, I said the M7 but perhaps I should clarify for the aged, the 3 lane N7 from Naas to Dublin. Ive no issue with the M50

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,752 ✭✭✭Bohrio

No, not really. I didn't know that.
    Some time ago I was researching this issue, and went through nearly all regulations on Irishstatutebook - and didn't find an legal definition of hard shoulder and what was is designed for.

Yeah I remember, I learnt a lot from that thread...

I read that somewhere more as an anecdote so I wouldnt swear on it...

Sarcasm detector malfucti#^@/!&@:@.
    Read the message before responding old man, I said the M7 but perhaps I should clarify for the aged, the 3 lane N7 from Naas to Dublin. Ive no issue with the M50

I know the M7 and I know about 3 lane motorways, my point was and is, traffic in the middle lane moves slower than either other lane because of middle lan hoggers. I wasn't being sarcastic, but some young lads wouldn't know the difference....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 700 ✭✭✭galvo_clare

On N roads I'd always pull over to the shoulder to let people pass though, but, its illegal to do so, as im sure the "black and white - by the book" people will inform you.

No, it's not illegal - only on a motorway. This myth seems to be widespread.

(From the rules of the road - roads with broken yellow lines at the side)

This road contains a hard shoulder,
    which is normally only for
    pedestrians and cyclists.
    If a driver wants to allow a vehicle
    behind them to overtake, they may
    pull in to the hard shoulder briefly as
    long as no pedestrians or cyclists are
    already using it and no junctions or
    entrances are nearby.

And again from RoR

Avoid driving too slowly
    In normal road and traffic conditions, keep up with the pace of the traffic flow
    while obeying the speed limit. While you must keep a safe distance away from
    the vehicle in front, you should not drive so slowly that your vehicle
    unnecessarily blocks other road users. If you drive too slowly, you risk frustrating
    other drivers, which could lead to dangerous overtaking.

Couldn't have said it better myself...

And finally, motorways
    You must not drive on any part of the motorway that is not a
    carriageway; for example a hard shoulder, except in case of emergency.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

Ohh yes..
    JohnyBoy always know best who should be on the road, and who shouldn't.
    I never said the op shouldn't be on the road, I said the op "probably" shouldn't be on the road if they view other (slower drivers as "morons").

Now Maybe the op is a good carefull driver and is just having a rant on here, which is why I said "probably" as I have no evidence of how the op behaves on the road.

You CiniO on the otherhand have or had videos of your driving up on youtube, one with you driving at 200km/h, another video where you caused the car behind you to crash into a barrier by your overreaction to a situation by slamming on the brakes. You also had another video up of someone driving aggressively on the back roads of mayo braking many laws who you deny is yourself but I suspetct otherwise tbh.

There is no question CiniO that your a danger on the road and should be off it, you clearly can't drive safely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭Lawless2k12

irish-stew wrote: »
    Or if you are waiting for an opertunity to pass them, and you think maybe after this village. Only for them to blast through, you catch up a bit later, and stuck behind them again.

Oh Jaysus I hate that! They do have the speed on the great road and double the frickin' speed going through villages. @ssholes!!

My usual driving is doing 104/105 (105 reads 100 in reality for my speedo for those high horse people ;) )

But even so, I'll USUALLY (not always) pull into the hard shoulder for someone. Only a couple weeks ago, since I use my mirrors regularly, I noticed a BMW gaining ground rapidly on me so I pulled into the hard shoulder as I didn't want to be getting in the way of him. Tore past me and then I realised there was something up as he had a motorbike almost scraping his bumper! Haven't a clue what they were doing but I don't think I could have fit my car in sideways between them. And I drive a small car :o

There were cars coming towards me as well so it would definately have ended badly for someone...

Bohrio wrote: »
    Yeah I remember, I learnt a lot from that thread...

I read that somewhere more as an anecdote so I wouldnt swear on it...

In general all we know about hard shoulders is from ROTR.
    This road contains a hard shoulder, which is normally only for pedestrians and cyclists. If a driver wants to allow a vehicle behind them to overtake, they may pull in to the hard shoulder briefly as long as no pedestrians or cyclists are already using it and no junctions or entrances are nearby. Different rules exist for hard shoulders on motorways.
    http://www.rulesoftheroad.ie/rules-for-driving/traffic-signs-road-markings/road-markings.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Thatnastyboy

Couldn't have said it better myself...

Fair 'nuff, my bad, didnt ever stop me driving on it anyway :pac:

The bit about keeping with traffic is open to interpretation though,

IMO driving 80 in a 100 zone would not constitute unecessary hold-up, but nice extracts all the same,

Learn something new every day :)

I know the M7 and I know about 3 lane motorways, my point was and is, traffic in the middle lane moves slower than either other lane because of middle lan hoggers. I wasn't being sarcastic, but some young lads wouldn't know the difference....

Well aint I just MORTO at persuming not one hint of sarcasm in your post.

This isnt a face to face conversation, start capitalising words like morto at the end of sentences and expect people to take some offence

Well aint I just MORTO at persuming not one hint of sarcasm in your post.

This isnt a face to face conversation, start capitalising words like morto at the end of sentences and expect people to take some offence

Jesus, your easy to offend..