Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ULSU Elections 2013 (Voting Thursday March 14) #VoteUL

• Registered Users Posts: 271 ✭✭Ginge Young

Press release:

The members of the Electoral and Referendum Board regrets to inform the members of UL Students’ Union that the Presidential candidate, Robert Sheahan, nominated by them to run for ULSU President in the upcoming election on the 14th March is not eligible to stand for election as he is not currently a registered student in the University of Limerick.

Following consultation with Student Academic Administration in the University, the Returning Officer and our solicitor, the Electoral & Referendum Board has been advised to withdraw Robert’s nomination as per the articles outlined in the current ULSU Constitution. Specifically, Article 23.1 which states ‘All members of the Union shall be entitled to vote in and stand for elections for the directly elected positions of the Executive.’ Furthermore, Article 3.1 outlines the membership of the Union to be ‘membership of the Union shall be those students who are registered as students with the University for the Plassey campus.’.

Therefore, it would be negligent of the board and ULSU to allow Robert Sheahan to proceed to run in the upcoming election. It is an unfortunate set of circumstances that have led to Robert’s situation and we wish Robert all the best in his future endeavours. No further comment will be made by the ERB members on this matter.

Róisín Monaghan, Democracy Development Officer, (sent on behalf of the Electoral & Referendum board 2012/2013)

12th March 2013

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,407 ✭✭✭lkionm

• Registered Users Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

What constitutes as not being a "registered student"? (Aside from the obvious answer of not being a UL student in the first place!)

• Registered Users Posts: 986 ✭✭✭DJCR

lkionm wrote: »
    Are Caitriona and Emma running on a ticket?

Nah, they are just really good friends and have known each other for a good while. Cross over bound to happen with shared friends etc.

I'll leave you guys to decide what you make of it ...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uvKrvLw8tHM

Naturally I like it :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 182 ✭✭magicherbs

also heard adam knew he wasn't fully registered and tipped them off. bit of a sly move but all is fair in su politcis

• Registered Users Posts: 1,307 ✭✭✭scheister

What constitutes as not being a "registered student"? (Aside from the obvious answer of not being a UL student in the first place!)

bar the standard not been a UL student the only other thing i can think of that i saw arise in DIT was that he has not paid his registration fee.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Better to discover it now pre-election than potentially have a post-election court case if an ineligible candidate won (court cases in relation to student elections are becoming a lot more common). Or even messier, if an ineligible candidate didn't win but transfers from their pile of eliminated votes decided the election between another two candidates.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

As almost all candidates have a facebook page, people might be interested in the particular numbers of fans gained so far by each candidate's page.

Obviously this tells us nothing apart from how many "likes" the candidates have on Facebook. People who have liked particular pages aren't necessarily likely to vote, may not be UL students and may not even exist outside the virtual universe of facebook. Also (and obviously), heavily pimping a facebook page doesn't reflect any actual campaigning. In other words, anyone who reckons that it's an indication of how the actual vote will proceed is wrong. At best it's interesting for the curious, though plenty of people tend to be curious.

President:

Tim Foran (fb): 66
    Adam Moursy (fb): 152
    Kennedy O'Brien (fb): 167
    Emma Porter (weblink): No data (page other than fb)
    ROb Sheahan (fb): DQ (though, 185)

Welfare:

James McMahon (fb): 89
    Catríona Ní Dhonnchú (fb): 98
    Cathal Ronan (fb): 145

Academic:

Daragh McCoy (fb): 258
    Paddy Rockett (fb): 152

All numbers accurate at roughly 7pm this evening.

• Registered Users Posts: 114 ✭✭djnr8

DJCR wrote: »
    I'll leave you guys to decide what you make of it ...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uvKrvLw8tHM

Naturally I like it :D

All I got from that was that there's a load of nazis voting for Porter? :P

djnr8 wrote: »
    All I got from that was that there's a load of nazis voting for Porter? :P

Suppose it comes down to Ming or Hitler ;-) ??? Celebs all round !! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Quintis

http://www.ulsuelect.com/2013/2013/03/luke-ming-flanagan-endorses-welfare-candidate-james-mcmahon/

Turf cutting on the North campus to help finance the new Maguire pitches anyone?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

I've talked to most of the candidate (Here's looking at ye Rockett, McCoy and Kennedy)
    Both James & Catriona seem very passionate about the role while Cathal seems a bit more relaxed. That said both Cathal and Catriona have done some work as into how to transfer manifestos into real results. James seems a bit wishy with his.

Adam is very approachable and enjoys talking about his manifesto but something seems odd.
    He has a couple of odd ticket items (LGBT right :confused:). He seem very passive in the TST interview (as in he didn't really answer any question) and the lack of a champaign makes me wonder about his drive.

Emma is also a nice person. She one of the few candidate who is canvassing student. She seem very energized but will she be able to be as energized in office.

Foran is a already a day behind. A least he has a team pulling for him. His guys are able to sing his manifesto off but is it to late?

• Registered Users Posts: 293 ✭✭Subutai

Jester252 wrote: »
    I've talked to most of the candidate (Here's looking at ye Rockett, McCoy and Kennedy)
    Both James & Catriona seem very passionate about the role while Cathal seems a bit more relaxed. That said both Cathal and Catriona have done some work as into how to transfer manifestos into real results. James seems a bit wishy with his.

Adam is very approachable and enjoys talking about his manifesto but something seems odd.
    He has a couple of odd ticket items (LGBT right :confused:). He seem very passive in the TST interview (as in he didn't really answer any question) and the lack of a champaign makes me wonder about his drive.

Emma is also a nice person. She one of the few candidate who is canvassing student. She seem very energized but will she be able to be as energized in office.

Foran is a already a day behind. A least he has a team pulling for him. His guys are able to sing his manifesto off but is it to late?
    Was very impressed this morning to see porter setting up in Red Raisens at around 8am,possibly pointlessly early but a good sign as far as effort goes.

DJCR wrote: »
    Nah, they are just really good friends and have known each other for a good while. Cross over bound to happen with shared friends etc.

So its an unofficial ticket with campaign teams going around selling both names and having both names on a car and caitrionas fb page pimping emma?

And this is just bound to happen and not preplanned?

Subutai wrote: »
    Was very impressed this morning to see porter setting up in Red Raisens at around 8am,possibly pointlessly early but a good sign as far as effort goes.

I walked back through there around half 6 looking for sweets to keep the sugar up for study and Cathal and the lads were there handing out manifestos to a few. The rest had cleared out apart from Kennedy table but no one was at it, he had sweets but not the best ones. ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 58 ✭✭Tighearnan

I walked back through there around half 6 looking for sweets to keep the sugar up for study and Cathal and the lads were there handing out manifestos to a few. The rest had cleared out apart from Kennedy table but no one was at it, he had sweets but not the best ones. ;)

Hustings had grabbed most people id imagine. :P

Jester252 wrote: »
    He has a couple of odd ticket items (LGBT right :confused:).

His LGBT issues had me wondering also, as I didnt know much of his work related to this area and was fearing that it was just a buzz word for the poster. But after discussing it with him his ideas seem very possible and very beneficial. From working with out in ul in the past I think his plans would fit very well with the aims of the society which is always a good thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭Chavways

So its an unofficial ticket with campaign teams going around selling both names and having both names on a car and caitrionas fb page pimping emma?

And this is just bound to happen and not preplanned?

Well what do you suggest they do? Split their group of friends 50/50 for the week and not let anyone mention a word about the other campaign while they're out and about?

And yes this was bound to happen. If you knew these people you'd know they have a very similar group of friends. They couldn't just ignore one of the candidates for the week while campaigning 100% of the time for the other.

Tighearnan wrote: »
    Hustings had grabbed most people id imagine. :P

What hustings? Clubs and Socs I presume?
    Well by cleared out I mean all their stuff was gone and they hardly brought their stuff there. That explains Kennedys absense so.

I liked that anyway that they were still there, gave me a better chance and to have a quieter chance for Cathal to talk to me and expand on the north campus idea. He told me that eventually if it is succesful that the president and academic officer would use this office once a day as well as it would be able to sell tickets and stuff when he is there which I would never queue for a ticket in the main building.

I think having a talk with Cathal tonight he definitely has the most realistic ideas after considering Dereks post of their other jobs and time constraint. Since both have done the job and understand it better I am swayed for Cathal because after looking at Catrionas, her ideas will take 1 person about 4 years to do not including her other duties as welfare officer and deputy president and presumably all the paper work they have to fill in and sign with grants and all that jazz.
    I think she is too top heavy on mental health and will neglect other areas of her job which Cathal has not as he knows the roles and other secondary and tertiary roles of any job which she does not.
    I also like the 'Be sound' motto. Be mentally sound. I see what he did there. I could easily talk to him rather than her as he would have the ability to make you chuckle and you could easily chat to him on FB asking for something/appointment which I think is very important and a very valuable natural character trait.

Depending on tomorrow I will be voting Cathal and Paddy so far as Kennedy wasnt there so late and he was on my list as was Rob :(

I would urge any of ye on the fence for welfare to consider Dereks post as I did and try to grasp the timeframe in which they have to work and the other tasks they have to do on a daily basis as well as being deputy president, which I only noticed was on Cathals manifesto and not the other 2, so he is well aware of his responsibilities and has made his manifesto out accordingly as Jester pointed out earlier as to why there was less campaigns which in my logic is that there is simply not enough hours in the day to be doing what he wants as he has to cater for the students first.
    What if a student/issue came in to caitriona and she was showing wnolan how to have safe sex or vice versa with her not having time to do the safe sex with him. (sorry buddy). I think that is her downfall which is good for James if people cop on as his manifesto is lacking long changes and developements and may have been too harsh on him earlier so he will get my #2 and on that bombshell I end my hunt for welfare.
    (Thats how to reference Top Gear, James)

President is too tough to call as well with Rob gone, he seemed nice.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 182 ✭✭magicherbs

honestly, keep your SU ****e away from north campus

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 14,009 Mod ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

magicherbs wrote: »

Could you elaborate on this point?

What if a student/issue came in to caitriona and she was showing wnolan how to have safe sex or vice versa with her not having time to do the safe sex with him. (sorry buddy). I think that is her downfall which is good for James if people cop on as his manifesto is lacking long changes and developements and may have been too harsh on him earlier so he will get my #2 and on that bombshell I end my hunt for welfare.
    (Thats how to reference Top Gear, James)

So I'm gonna go for a stab in the dark here and say that you dont like caitriona for some reason?

What if Cathal was in his office showing wnolan safe sex and some issue came to him? Or James for that matter? Your argument for Caitriona having some disadvantage doesn't make any sense as it's not exclusively a problem she would face?

how long ya been here ? If longer than a year you most likely used the SU shop on the north campus was running and I would love to see you list every facility you use and claim that none of them are SU provided.

Chavways wrote: »
    Well what do you suggest they do? Split their group of friends 50/50 for the week and not let anyone mention a word about the other campaign while they're out and about?

And yes this was bound to happen. If you knew these people you'd know they have a very similar group of friends. They couldn't just ignore one of the candidates for the week while campaigning 100% of the time for the other.
    Im not sure if it is my tiredness or what but the way you phrased that seems snarky and this is the second time one of her team has done that on here.

But in fairness would they not benefit from an official ticket so?

I dont have too much of an issue, slightly unfair since they can combine resources but I dont like having my hand led by one of caitrionas team today telling me to vote for Emma as well.
    Was like the elections of past, just trying to get their friends in too rather that the most realistic person.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 14,009 Mod ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

When the hell did I become the poster boy for not understanding safe sex?!

:(

• Registered Users Posts: 857 ✭✭✭Polar Ice

What if a student/issue came in to caitriona
    okay
    and she was showing wnolan how to have safe sex
    having trouble picturing that, but keep going
    or vice versa
    and that's where you lost me

• Registered Users Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Quintis

I would urge any of ye on the fence for welfare to consider Dereks post as I did and try to grasp the timeframe in which they have to work and the other tasks they have to do on a daily basis as well as being deputy president, which I only noticed was on Cathals manifesto and not the other 2, so he is well aware of his responsibilities and has made his manifesto out accordingly

I agree but I don't think people who haven't done the job previously aren't aware of the time, financial and legal restraints of the position, that's where Cathal has the advantage. No candidate is going to be able to fully implement their manifesto that is the limitations of the sabbat positions, unfortunately

• Registered Users Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

What I got from Ikionm post is that your not voting for Caitriona because she a girl and girls have sex in public places.
    How much porn do you watch?

wnolan it happen when you became a mod :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 5 Ttastic

also heard adam knew he wasn't fully registered and tipped them off. bit of a sly move but all is fair in su politcis

That's a bit harsh, especially with no proof.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭Chavways

Im not sure if it is my tiredness or what but the way you phrased that seems snarky and this is the second time one of her team has done that on here.

But in fairness would they not benefit from an official ticket so?

I dont have too much of an issue, slightly unfair since they can combine resources but I dont like having my hand led by one of caitrionas team today telling me to vote for Emma as well.
    Was like the elections of past, just trying to get their friends in too rather that the most realistic person.

If anything they are splitting their resources(i.e friends and people who are helping both) and are worse off in terms of people having to double job trying to support both campaigns.

And I wasn't being snarky but can you sugeest another alternative that would 100% prevent campaigners from mentioning the other campaign? Say they did actually run an official joint campaign; then people would still be complaining that both campaigns would be supporting each other. But as I said that's to be expected when you have a lot of the same people campaigning for both candidates and whether or not there was an official link between both wouldn't realy make a difference.