Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Training options with hand in cast?

• 08-03-2013 11:00am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 424 ✭✭

Hey hey!:) Popped this in my log but prob better here.

Wondering if anyone here can give me some other ideas on this...

Looks like my hand will be in a cast least 4wks and can't work off my regular programming so I need some training options; the below are all that seem feasible:

Leg Press
    Hamstring Curl
    Single leg squats
    Plank (one arm)
    Crunches

^^Going to have to work out cond blocks with them too.

Crosstrainer - just legs
    Bike - I hate cycling/spinning so this is last resort!

Sooooo annoying and I know people will say take a stay home etc. but I really want to get back into things, was off sick long enough and already getting more squishy than I'd like! Jelly belly FTW:o

Thanks in advance !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭GoldCobra

check out scoobys workshop , he recently injured himself and put up loads of videos about working out without using his hand/arm.
    http://scoobysworkshop.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭rubiesarered

Depending on whether your hand will hurt from body impact, you can do squat jumps and split lunges.

Cable leg kickbacks are a killer (if it has an ankle strap attachment).

Ab work such as double leg raise, single leg raise, scissors, v-ups, russian twists...... Obviously none of them are going to be as difficult as they would be if you were using weights but it's still better than doing nothing!

I'm recovering from a bad rotator cuff sprain at the moment and am forbidden from any exercises involving holding weights or movements that raise my arm above shoulder height. You might be more limited as it is your hand that you can't use but you'd be surprised how many exercises you can do without your hands/arms!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 424 ✭✭TheBellJar

Depending on whether your hand will hurt from body impact, you can dosquat jumps and split lunges.

Presuming you have access to a gym, you can do cable leg kickbacks (if it has an ankle strap attachment).

Ab work such as double leg raise, single leg raise, scissors, v-ups, russian twists...... Obviously none of them are going to be as difficult as they would be if you were using weights but it's still better than doing nothing!

I'm recovering from a bad rotator cuff sprain at the moment and am forbidden from any exercises involving holding weights or movements that raise my arm above shoulder height. You might be move limited as it is your hand that you can't use but you'd be surprised how many exercises you can do without your upper body!!

Thanks!

Yeah I was thinking split squats/single leg – only thing is they’d be unweighted; e.g. can’t barbell squat and not sure how one handed KB squats will go….
    Not sure on jumps...will looks into that one!

No hand grip for HLRs so they’re a no-go and not sure there is much point with unweighted Russian twists…can’t see having any impact!

TheBellJar wrote: »
    not sure there is much point with unweighted Russian twists…can’t see having any impact!

I get this but I figure that moving is better than not moving! I'm not allowed to lift for at least four weeks (and then will have to start back with baby weights) so it was either do what I could or sit on a couch and get depressed.

Yeah I'm in the same boat, 4 weeks min and then rehab- frustrating! Look on your mans face when I said 'so eh, I guess that means deadlifting is out?!' was priceless:P

Ha! I asked if I could do squats if I had someone lift the barbell on and off me or if I used a squat rack.

Good luck with the recovery - I'm just over halfway there and its very frustrating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,761 ✭✭✭Col_Loki

You might want to cut out the bike/crosstrainer as you will sweat quite a bit, the result is you get a nice paste forming under your cast & it tends to get quite smelly after 4weeks....depends if that bothers you or not.

Col_Loki wrote: »
    You might want to cut out the bike/crosstrainer as you will sweat quite a bit, the result is you get a nice paste forming under your cast & it tends to get quite smelly after 4weeks....depends if that bothers you or not.

It’s a fiberglass slab, I’d say it’d be grand tbh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭Nolimits12

Ick! feel your pain op! Had surgery in november, but I was told absolutely no exercise for 6 weeks! I went insane.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

Get a decent backpack, daysack or schoolbag. Fill it with weight and with towels to pad it out and stop the weight from shifting. After that you can do lunges, squats, squat jumps, step ups. Just try to have the bag tight to your back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,761 ✭✭✭Col_Loki

It’s a fiberglass slab, I’d say it’d be grand tbh!

Yep mine was fiberglass too but the bandage soaks underneath soaks up the sweat, then add dead skin into the mix (after a couple of weeks) and you get the paste.

Best of luck with it anyway, i hated the bloody thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

No matter what you do though you are going to sweat and the cast will get smelly.

I've no advice to give on what sort of training you can but but I will say this. Invest in a ruler so that you can stick it down there to scratch when it gets itchy ! :)

Don't do it, I found that when I scratched once, I couldn't stop!

discus wrote: »
    Get a decent backpack, daysack or schoolbag. Fill it with weight and with towels to pad it out and stop the weight from shifting. After that you can do lunges, squats, squat jumps, step ups. Just try to have the bag tight to your back.

I could...but it's most likely just another way to break myself!

No matter what you do though you are going to sweat and the cast will get smelly.

I've no advice to give on what sort of training you can but but I will say this. Invest in a ruler so that you can stick it down there to scratch when it gets itchy ! :)

Ye that's my train of thought. Going to work with the one arm on upper body to at least maintain that and then just do legs press,split squats,ham curls etc. I think! I'll see how I get on to start with. Motivations at an all time low with all this sh1te!

Thanks all :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭Scuba Ste

Ye that's my train of thought. Going to work with the one arm on upper body to at least maintain that and then just do legs press,split squats,ham curls etc. I think! I'll see how I get on to start with. Motivations at an all time low with all this sh1te!

Thanks all :)

Not wanting to demotivate you further but only working one side could lead to an imbalance that you'd end up working on after the cast comes off.

Safety bar squats, if you've access to a bar and zombie squats could work.

Scuba Ste wrote: »

Not wanting to demotivate you further but only working one side could lead to an imbalance that you'd end up working on after the cast comes off.

Safety bar squats, if you've access to a bar and zombie squats could work.
    Yeeeaaaa but been advised it is a case of get weak both sides or just one and work the other back up after!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭Scuba Ste

Yeeeaaaa but been advised it is a case of get weak both sides or just one and work the other back up after!

True.

I could...but it's most likely just another way to break myself!

You're joking right?

You obviously don't know me very well :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Don't do it, I found that when I scratched once, I couldn't stop!
    You can get creams to stop itching, one is eurax. Works very well, you could dap some on something like a giant cotton bud and stick it down.
    Scuba Ste wrote: »
    I think I read that if you work one side you lose less muscle on the other, not sure though.