Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is this type of gun legal in ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

Legal, yes, but, you'd probably wind up under a restricted licence, and depending on your Superintendent and the good reason you quote for having one and why you need that model as opposed to something like a Ruger 10/22, you might not be issued a licence at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭superlite

I would hope no one ever gets a licence for a rifle like that in this country, what on earth would you want an assault rifle for. Ridiculous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭juice1304

superlite wrote: »
    I would hope no one ever gets a licence for a rifle like that in this country, what on earth would you want an assault rifle for. Ridiculous

It's a semi automatic .22lr not an "assault rifle" if i put an m-tech body kit on my standard bmw dose it become a race car? No it dose'nt because it still functions the same. I think your overreaction is "Ridiculous"

See the tiny little bullet that is a .22lr
    22LR-9-45-223-3006-12gu-LipGloss.jpg

Not to mention that assault rifles, being fully automatic (or able to fire in fully automatic mode for short bursts) are class A firearms in the EU and as such can't be bought or sold without the kind of licence that in Ireland would look like Alan Shatter standing at your shoulder while you handed the FCA1 to Martin Callinan, telling him to just stamp it and handing over a note to that effect signed by himself and Enda Kenny :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

At the end of the day its a .22 semi-automatic rifle. Its no different to any other .22 semi, it just looks like its out of a Rambo movie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,810 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

ha:pac:

juice1304 wrote: »
    It's a semi automatic .22lr not an "assault rifle" if i put an m-tech body kit on my standard bmw dose it become a race car? No it dose'nt because it still functions the same. I think your overreaction is "Ridiculous"

See the tiny little bullet that is a .22lr
    22LR-9-45-223-3006-12gu-LipGloss.jpg

Perhaps I should have put "lookalike assault rifle" in the comment as it would be more fitting. I don't think that there is a valid reason to justify getting a fac for this type of rifle other than being an over grown 12 year old playing Rambo while shooting rabbits. It's the image it gives to the general public who don't shoot, very intimidating firearm and not the right tool for shooting sports.

Different strokes for different folks, don't impose your ideas on others. People with licences for them are doing you no harm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭German pointer

It does not matter what a .22lr or any rifle looks like as long as it does the job it was purchased for. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder and that is a lovely looking piece of kit. Would not mind having one of them myself when out after the bunnies

Perhaps I should have put "lookalike assault rifle" in the comment as it would be more fitting.
    You sexist.
    Haven't you heard?

Barbie_241ef3_2531004.jpg

It's just like playing with dolls :)
    It's the image it gives to the general public who don't shoot, very intimidating firearm
    superlite, do you honestly think the general public are intimidated only by certain types of firearm?

It's been my experience that it's the "firearm" bit that they don't like, the type really is secondary. And yes, I know, this is an EBR, but I'd more advise the OP to buy something else because it's a gimmicky rifle that probably isn't very accurate than because it looks silly.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,696 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

It's the image it gives to the general public who don't shoot, very intimidating firearm and not the right tool for shooting sports.
    How so?

Unless you are on a range you are not going to see it. If on a range to see it chances are you shoot.

There are laws preventing people from walking around in the general public with firearms being displayed/carried.

Certain disciplines of competitions require this or similar types of firearms so you can compete.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

Blay wrote: »
    Different strokes for different folks, don't impose your ideas on others. People with licences for them are doing you no harm.

Ha ha, here we go, when did I impose my idea, or tell me again what is my idea.
    I stated my opinion and didn't forward any ideas.:D:D:D

Ha ha, here we go, when did I impose my idea, or tell me again what is my idea.
    I stated my opinion and didn't forward any ideas.:D:D:D
    other than being an over grown 12 year old playing Rambo while shooting rabbits. It's the image it gives to the general public who don't shoot, very intimidating firearm and not the right tool for shooting sports.

You're that ill informed that you would fit right into the Gardai as a Chief Super:pac:

'Oh that rifle looks dangerous..reject..reject..take a 10/22 instead..much safer':pac: You're one of those guys who are against pumps and semis at a clay shoot too I bet..go on admit it :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭tcac

jesus i think i opened a big can of worms sorry lads i taught it was a simple question lol. Im only new to the sport and like the look of this type of gun rather than the standard rifle

what about this gun lads i seen it today in newry she is a beauty

http://ruger.com/products/1022Takedown/models.html?r=y

love the fact it can split in half and fit into a small bag that does not look like a gun bag plus it comes with the bag too

tcac wrote: »
    jesus i think i opened a big can of worms sorry lads i taught it was a simple question lol. Im only new to the sport and like the look of this type of gun rather than the standard rifle

what about this gun lads i seen it today in newry she is a beauty

http://ruger.com/products/1022Takedown/models.html?r=y

love the fact it can split in half and fit into a small bag that does not look like a gun bag plus it comes with the bag too

Yeah the Ruger is fine, it's unrestricted as long as the mags hold 10 rounds or less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭CollardGreens

I got one last month, got my 2nd 25+1 mag a few weeks later. Great little toy for snake and gator control! Mine is a Mossberg. Ammo is hard to find, that is the only negative I have found here in the States but that should change soon. Am thinking of learning to reload my own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭juice1304

We can't be trusted with 25rd mags here:rolleyes: And we can't be trusted to reload either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭rowa

Thats a great attitude to see, with friends like you shooters wouldn't need enemies. I used to hear the same crap out of a clay shooter in our club about pistols when they were released "nuttin' buh cop killers dem yokes" :rolleyes:.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,696 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Am thinking of learning to reload my own.

Reload .22lrs. Would it be worth your while? So cheap that reloading saves feck all money, working with primed cases, and out of a semi auto?
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

There are a good few of us here me included who own these "lookalike assualt rifles" as you deem to call them and we gave plenty of valid reasons and in my case proved them justified in TWO court cases and that was NOT for a .22lr either.

I am not and neither is anyone I know some Rambo wanna be and it obviously shows your total ignorance of shooting sports and what is and what isnt a suitable firearm ,not tool ,for shooting sports.

FOR your information and education on Irish shooting sports there will be now competitions for both centre fire and small bore .22lrs semi autos now in the ROI that are recognised internationally and will be run this year.
    Also ,a more conservative country in shooting sports than both the UK and Ireland is actually Germany.
    They make the snotty plus fours, tweeds and double side by side shotgun only brigade look like a bunch of radical Hippies..
    The top selling firearm for the last DECADE has been semi auto rifles in all calibres ,shapes and sizes.

Grizzly45
    A semi auto owner and Non Rambo wanna be and person with proven reasons to own a semi auto,and damn proud of it!!!!.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

I think perhaps we've run the course on this one. OP's been answered, after all.