Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What boards.ie threads have made you angry?

• 06-03-2013 6:36pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 545 ✭✭✭Chemical Burn

As per the title, what threads on boards.ie that you have read made you angry just from reading them?

ME:

The one where the female glassed the gentleman in the face and got off with a warning and slap on the wrist.

The one that I started about sexism that you have experienced

and a few others which I will mull up later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

The one about yer man, that lad from the political party and all that money. Y'know that one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Eddie Halvey getting away with vehicular manslaughter, DUI, etc. while others are imprisoned for far less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

The one with the woman who slapped the lad twice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

The usual annual Grand National bashing thread in AH, only ones that annoy/anger me tbh!

Only 4.5 weeks to go to the next one folks :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

How am I supposed to narrow down which thread on boards has annoyed me most when I can't even figure out which one of your threads annoys me most?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 386 ✭✭lmao

Any Man Utd/Liverpool match thread..... it really brings the inner gob****e out in people!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

The My News thread 'cause it was locked :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 Um IsNot AnAnsa

The ones that turn into "ur a homophobe/anti-ghey" one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 545 ✭✭✭Chemical Burn

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 614 ✭✭✭beardedmaster

The one about the neighbour who put sharp wire on the top of the wall on one side of his house's perimeter.
    It was supposed to be to keep cats out, but the cats who climbed in were generally cats from other houses on the other sides, not the lone house on the same side of the wall with the sharp wire.

Don't really mind too much about what that neighbour did, to be honest. But some of the responses of what users said they would do to animals were really atrocious. Not just cats, but anything. It was awful!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Anything about self driving cars.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

The one about real life points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

Pretty much all threads, after a certain point. It's not so much the thread, though, more particular posters. One knob thought I shouldn't have fought back when my arm and face was close to being broken by a chick. Also, any one who uses "It's just the Internet!" as a get-out for acting like a total cunt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

I generally turn into a raging maniac whenever the monthly GAA bashing threads appear.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 221 ✭✭Mr. Wong

Animal cruelty threads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

any thread about transgender people, it's never nice. why can't we have a thread that says something positive about transgender people? there's loads of awesome transgender people out there, you wouldn't even have to look far. like Martine Rothblatt or Maddie Blaustein or Lana Wachowski

that'd make a nice change from the usual nasty threads :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Dole bashing threads usually started on Monday morning by somebody so pissed off with their job that they've decided not to do any work that day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭gugleguy

Not any thread specifically - threads where flying military aircraft at Irish airshows are perceived and so derided somehow as projecting a tour-de-force of the aicraft in,question whether it may be usaf raf or one of our own irsih air corps

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

The sexist ones and the homophobic ones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Links234 wrote: »
    any thread about transgender people, it's never nice. why can't we have a thread that says something positive about transgender people? there's loads of awesome transgender people out there, you wouldn't even have to look far. like Martine Rothblatt or Maddie Blaustein or Lana Wachowski

Start one then :L :L

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

That thread with people posting wild, prejudiced generalisations without anything to back them up, and defending their right to hold stupid, ill-informed opinions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,612 ✭✭✭Lelantos

Anything to do with Creationism, nuttier than squirrelsh*t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,026 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

All the IRA threads and all the foolish posters who think they are history teachers.

Jean & Jerry crap, Who gives a ****??????????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

Links234 wrote: »

Actually the same threads but perhaps not for the same reason. People getting banned because they choose not to believe a person can choose their own gender (creepingdeath being the obvious example). I've no feelings on the subject, just hate to see rational but unpopular opinions getting stomped out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,612 ✭✭✭Lelantos

0ph0rce0 wrote: »
    All the IRA threads and all the foolish posters who think they are history teachers.

Jean & Jerry crap, Who gives a ****??????????
    What about chunky munkey threads about peeps having 1 last anything before giving it up, let's say.....junkfood? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

humbert wrote: »
    Actually the same threads but perhaps not for the same reason. People getting banned because they choose not to believe a person can choose their own gender (creepingdeath being the obvious example). I've no feelings on the subject, just hate to see rational but unpopular opinions getting stomped out.

that's a pretty big whitewash of why people are banned, I'm not going to comment on anyone in particular's ban, but generally people who've been banned for what they've posted in those threads were abusive. and I'd actually say that a large amount of posters are decidely against trans people, yet don't manage to get themselves banned, so it's not an unpopular opinion and not the reason for people being banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭johnny_knoxvile

a recent one about do you look down on people who dont workout...it annoyed me because the mods locked it claiming the OP was trolling...maybe they were his actual views...it was funny though.

THIS ONE :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,026 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

Lelantos wrote: »
    What about chunky munkey threads about peeps having 1 last anything before giving it up, let's say.....junkfood? ;)

Thats quality reading though :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

The only threads that make me angry are the ones the mods lock for no good reason

Let a thread die off itself ffs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Self-loathing morons who denigrate everything Irish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

The ones were I am called fat :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭debabyjesus

Anything cycling, cyclist, bike vs car, road tax/motor tax, im a great healthy fit cyclist and you're a lazy incompetent environment polluting motorist, sure its only 25km commute could you not cycle it threads...

I ****ing hate cyclists.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭ashers222

That was nice while it lasted, some really decent people here in AH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭Katgurl

The Irish women bashing ones, they'd actually died off for a while but then I saw Irish women being slated for being fat, jealous, ugly on the thread started by the American girl looking for advice on moving to Ireland.

I would abso love to meet in person these cyber Adonis who lump me into a fat, ugly, jealous, unattractive category.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

All negative threads about Private Sector vs public sector bashing.
    I have a job and love dragging myself into work every day because the way I see it Im lucky to have a job unlike my plumber neighbour who had to sell his Navara last month out walking his dog every morning leaving s*%& t all over the footpath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

The ones were I am called fat :(

you're not fat, you're delightfully squashy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭CollardGreens

Threads about bodily fluids with noises & smells.

Oh, cat threads. I don't like people expressing a desire to harm cats but listening to cat owners makes me want to go out and harm cats. Very conflicting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

"Not accepting a homosexual as a roommate. Discrimination/Homophobic?"

One post making a point on the grounds that they might not have anything in common with them. So not sharing the same interest in gender ye both like to fuck is a valid point when seeing if you've something in common with each other?

Thick as pig's shit. You wouldn't have a clue if you were living with a gay person unless they told you, 90% of the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 683 ✭✭✭starlings

threads where people post oh yeah I bet you're a right liberal/Catholic/sexist/vegetarian/homophobe/banker

without actually reading each other's posts

:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭fro9etb8j5qsl2

humbert wrote: »
    Oh, cat threads. I don't like people expressing a desire to harm cats but listening to cat owners makes me want to go out and harm cats. Very conflicting.

I posted a thread once about my cat in the Animals forum and I was LYNCHED for being so cruel as to actually let my cat out into the garden unsupervised :eek: One choice b1tch stopped short of accusing me of neglect :mad: Self righteous twats...... Hence I no longer post in that forum. I still check in every so often now to report some of the more inflammatory comments though :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 591 ✭✭✭spankysue

Any threads that a certain conspiracy nut waded into and ruined with his insane ramblings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭MickFleetwood

This one.

The threads about guns where the pro posters suggest arming schools, etc. That mob are loo lah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭joe stodge

Any thread about travelers and how we all know what the majority of them get up to and how the boards.ie team/mods won't let us talk about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

getting angry over words on a screen is beyond retarded

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

And thread with any sort of stereotypes in it

IM0 wrote: »
    getting angry over words on a screen is beyond retarded

I guess dumping you by text is the way to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭Henlars67

Any thread which accuses people of racism where no racism actually exists.
    Boards and the world in general is currently full of people who try to find racism everywhere.

People are going to get so bored of it that in time actual real instances of racism will end up being ignored.