Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Punch in nightclub

• 06-03-2013 4:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1

Hello,

Apologies if this is the wrong place to post this. Please feel free to move it mods if its the wrong forum.

Basically I was out with my girlfriend at the weekend in a nightclub. I was on the dancefloor with a friend of mine & she was walking towards me with a friend of hers when a guy made a move on her. She politely declined but then he grabbed her & pulled her very close to him in sexual way. Seeing this I went over to him & pushed him away from her. While I was doing this another friend of his punched me in the eye. Before I could do anything the bouncers were on top of all of us & ejected them from the club.

I calmly explained what happened to the bouncers & then they put me in a taxi to the emergency department of our local hospital because my eyebrow was bleeding. After waiting for hours, I was given a brief exam, had a stiri strip put on my eyebrow & sent home.

Four days later & my vision is still blurred in my right eye. I went to an optician because of this & they have informed me that an eye specialist will be able to sort it out but I will basically be on the hook for a couple of hundred euro.

The nightclub head bouncer said he was going to call me on Monday & but hasnt called since.

I was just wondering whats the best thing to do? Should I just accept that ill be on the hook for a couple of hundred euro & pay? Is the nightclub anyway responsible? Is it possible to catch the guy that did it & charge him? The nightclub has cctv anywhere so getting footage of the incident shouldnt be a problem

Any advice is much appreciated. Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,458 ✭✭✭chops018

The charter doesn't allow the seeking/giving of advice.

Go to the Guards for a criminal action, go to a Solicitor for a civil action. (You should probably go to a Solicitor for either actually).

A Solicitor will be the best person to advise you.

It may be hard to find out who the person actually is.

Seems like the bouncers done what they could and acted quickly by stopping it and ejecting everyone, then putting you safely in a taxi to the hospital.

Sorry for your situation, but it is very hard for a comeback when you don't actually know the person who hit you. He might never be seen around there again, and no one knows his name etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 cd.galway

The scene of the incident was in a nightclub and Gardai do not take these claims that seriously ie.. alcohol levels etc., and more often than not the cameras are not even on, they are just there for show. Getting a name should have been the first port of call and if the bouncers thought necessary they would have called the Gardai to the nightclub ie. not let ye leave without first taking statements etc.
    I would persist with the nightclub however and make sure to get as much info as possible if you are going to bring a claim. Good luck!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

See here re Criminal Injury Compensation Tribunal but don't expect to get paid your expenses any time soon. Watch time limits for application.

Seeing a solicitor is always the safe option if you want advice, etc.