Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Useful farming inventions

• 05-03-2013 10:21pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭

If this has already been done no bother.

I was thinking Elactric fence, Hydraulics, Ai, ecision seeders etc I'd be interested in what you think:P:P:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭hoseman

1/2 ton bag of fertiliser,Round bale,Front loader

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Barbed wire, and if that doesn't work, a second higher row of barbed wire!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Manoffeeling

A calculator.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

The STOP button

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

vise grips and baling twine

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

My father cut hay for hire with an old fingerbar. He always said that the rotary mower was the best invention ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

I think this was done before somewhere, the milking machine won hands down!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Cattle crush

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

The digger,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

A son. Thread closed. (no offence Whelan or kovu)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

The Ferguson 20. Big leap forward from the horse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 516 ✭✭✭TEAT SQUEEZER

ai gloves...;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Penicillin. Or for purely farming based, silage for our Irish summers:cool:

Or a daughter willing to attract a man with more land

:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

well i take offence seeing the mess some "sons" have made i think it doesnt matter if your male or female

in answer to the op... the calving jack, dont use it much but very glad to have it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭grazeaway

The shed,
    Tractor with Front loader
    Calving jack
    Power hose
    Welly's
    Cattle crush/locking barrier

And would he be a PERFECT son!

far from perfect, but he will be cheap labour when he grows up a bit. So will the daughter by the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭locha

Chainsaw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

pakalasa wrote: »
    My father cut hay for hire with an old fingerbar. He always said that the rotary mower was the best invention ever.

Trust me he is right, myself and the father cut twenty acres one year with a finger bar. (Well drove the tractor, I walked after the blade cleaning the bar)

Mind you it left a nice clean field afterwards

It must have been hell with horses

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

There was plenty of help back then, more and stronger people around well used to manual labour all year round. Skip forward in time from us, as far ahead as we're from the horse farmers, and someone will be saying WTF were those lads at, that must have been murder!

far from perfect, but he will be cheap labour when he grows up a bit. So will the daughter by the way.
    i remember when we went to ante natal classes there was a father there who was going on i cant wait til my son is born so i can play football with him, the child doesnt come out born a farmer or a footballer, you cant force a child to live the way you want them too, ithink pressurising any child in to any way of life is wrong how many farmers kids grew up with a hatred of the farm and couldnt wait to get away... kids should enjoy their childhood and should not feel pressure to farm... rant over

whelan1 wrote: »
    i remember when we went to ante natal classes there was a father there who was going on i cant wait til my son is born so i can play football with him, the child doesnt come out born a farmer or a footballer, you cant force a child to live the way you want them too, ithink pressurising any child in to any way of life is wrong how many farmers kids grew up with a hatred of the farm and couldnt wait to get away... kids should enjoy their childhood and should not feel pressure to farm... rant over

I agree that they should be free to choose their own path, but they will have to help out about the place too. I had 4 siblings who did not want anything to do with the farm but they all had to help out, like it or not, when there was work on.

It is part of growing up and instilling this workrate in a child, and an understanding that they are going to have to do things in life that they might not like or neccessarily want to do is one of the most important things a parent can do imo. I also work with teenagers everyday and the amount of them that give up with the excuses "I don't like that" or "I don't want to do that" or "thats stupid" is staggering.

My children may not be farmers but by god will they understand the importance of work. Also, a little hardship can focus the mind towards the auld study I find. My rant over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 597 ✭✭✭PatQfarmer

I agree that they should be free to choose their own path, but they will have to help out about the place too. I had 4 siblings who did not want anything to do with the farm but they all had to help out, like it or not, when there was work on.

It is part of growing up and instilling this workrate in a child, and an understanding that they are going to have to do things in life that they might not like or neccessarily want to do is one of the most important things a parent can do imo. I also work with teenagers everyday and the amount of them that give up with the excuses "I don't like that" or "I don't want to do that" or "thats stupid" is staggering.

My children may not be farmers but by god will they understand the importance of work. Also, a little hardship can focus the mind towards the auld study I find. My rant over.

Laughing at that here! My kids (15, 13, 11) all help out on farm, if not during week due to school, then at weekends. I try to "even out" the time and chores and then reward, even if it's only a thanks!
    Have heard it all from "You only have us as slaves" to "I'm NEVER gonna be a farmer", but when asked to help, they all muck in:)
    In defence/appreciation of whelan and Kovu, AT PRESENT(!) the best worker and stock handler by far is my eldest daughter.
    Whatever they end up doing, the work ethic instilled by farm work, where it has to be done, no matter what, is huge.
    We are privileged to be able to rear our kids on the land.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,837 ✭✭✭Markcheese

3 point linkage .... That and education...

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

I don't know which if any of my 4 will want to farm but last night it all went to hell in a handcart. Cow down at the most inaccessible part of the cubicle shed another calving at milking time. We were just finishing up at around 8.45 last night having fed 2 newborn heifers:D (the one who went down was calving also) when the oldest lad arrived in the yard unbidden. He had come back from training and I still wasn't in so he came over to check if everything was ok. He's by no means an enthusiastic farmer but the work ethic is being instilled in him and he's concientious anyway. It was still grand to see him coming. We have one girl and she never has to asked twice to give a hand at home orin the yard.

IF I ever have kids(which I doubt :D ), I would work the crap out of them on the land just incase anyone of them would get to like it. I would hate to see a child of mine going farming and would do everything to discourage them :( Not much of a thing to say about your job

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

PatQfarmer wrote: »
    We are privileged to be able to rear our kids on the land.

That's how I feel too.

I think that having your kids do work on the farm gives them a good work ethic for the future - no matter what role they choose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭JohnBoy

reilig wrote: »
    That's how I feel too.

I think that having your kids do work on the farm gives them a good work ethic for the future - no matter what role they choose.

Likewise.

it's only very part time for us yet, but I love having the lads out in the fresh air doing something. my proudest moment of parenthood so far (five year old girl and 2 year old boy) was watching my then 18 month old son carrying a stick (a very small stick) into the shed and throwing it on the woodpile when we were cutting a bit of timber last autumn.

My daughter is a great woman for coming fencing too. They're a complete hindrance as you often spend more time minding them or cleaning sh*te off them than working. But I wouldnt have it any other way.

Complete thread derailment here. I'm voting for selective breeding. (even though it's more of a concept than an invention)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

There was a (short) time when I thought the fingerbar mower, believe it or not, was the best invention ever!

When we were young, our summer holidays were spent going around WITH A SPADE cutting the tops of thistles!!! Really when I think about it, it was like my oul' lad came up the most boring tedious jobs EVER for us to do! Another one was filling half barrels with water for the cattle out of a garden hose!!! It was years later before I discovered what a ball cock was and how relatively cheap they were, but I digress.

We had an old pierce fingerbar mower thrown in the corner of the yard. I was certain that it was the solution to my summer 'holiday' chores! So I hopped on my bike and headed to the local machinery parts shop, then pedalled home and fitted a new blade, replaced some broken fingers and the wooden drive rod, all out of my own money box too I might add!

I stuck it on the back of our 135 and inched around the field happy out until it'd choke up, the belts would start slipping or the rod broke. :mad: :mad: Eventuall my funds ran out, and I got the brainwave to make my own push rod out of a piece of softwood 2X1 :rolleyes: You can just imagine how long that lasted!!

Thanks for bringing back the memories Pak.... NOT!!! :D:p

Thankfully life isn't so bad now and I've moved on...... :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

JohnBoy wrote: »
    I'm voting for selective breeding. (even though it's more of a concept than an invention)

We still taking about kids here? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

IF I ever have kids(which I doubt :D ), I would work the crap out of them on the land just incase anyone of them would get to like it. I would hate to see a child of mine going farming and would do everything to discourage them :( Not much of a thing to say about your job
    Thats my fathers attitude with me . He never has a good thing to say about farming yet it has kept him going all his life . I wouldnt listen to him though he wouldnt do anything else after .
    Two of the proundest fathers around here have sons that were utter let downs , one is selling drugs and the other the farm ! My two boys can do as they please when they come of age but they will be worked along the way to earn a bit of pocket money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 294 ✭✭countryjimbo

Muckit wrote: »
    I stuck it on the back of our 135 and inched around the field happy out until it'd choke up, the belts would start slipping or the rod broke. :mad: :mad: Eventuall my funds ran out, and I got the brainwave to make my own push rod out of a piece of softwood 2X1 :rolleyes: You can just imagine how long that lasted!!

Thankfully life isn't so bad now and I've moved on...... :D:D:D

ah the memories ..... Just telling my lads last night about our old fingerbar mower and how many times I had to replace the wooden push rod after getting stuck in rushes or something.

Thankfully we've moved on!

I vote for 4wd !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 197 ✭✭case 5150

ah the ole calving camera, ah god send, herself can even look at the screen and see is there anything happenin when she up feeding the child, i can carry on snoring at her annoyance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

One of the inventions taht has changed farming is the electric fence. Before it cost an arm and a leg to fence places and keeping internal boundries was tough work now you can subdivide big fields into paddocks at minimal costs.

reilig wrote: »
    That's how I feel too.

was away there for a while, a good few replies, my two brothers - dont farm- both said that when in interviews and the prospective employers saw they where from a farm it really made them interested in them, one works from 4am 5 days a week and has been kept on in his job while alot of his colleagues have been let go.... they realise that its not just 9 to 5 with weekends off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

Three point linkage, an invention of Harry Ferguson.
    Lead to a famous patent case with ford I believe. An Irishman to

A very excellent reverse manoeuvre from a potential ignorant approach to child rearing! Remember Seamus and the Bull

No not a reverse horsebox. Just an elaboration on my original point. They will still be used as free/very cheap labour.

Let's hope they do well in school :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 Brother24

Round Bales

Let's hope the do well in school :rolleyes:

I hope so too. Education has carried me a good way in my life so far and I hope it will do the same for my kids. I would actually rather they didn't farm full time to be honest as on the scale we are on there is no future in it imo. Part time it may be an option alright but that is up to him/herself. As I said we all helped out and were used as a source of labour. It doesn't do any harm at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,685 ✭✭✭Cavanjack

Why don't you just pack the farming in if your not happy at it? You only live once.

Cavanjack wrote: »
    Why don't you just pack the farming in if your not happy at it? You only live once.

Pride and fear of change maybe?

My bank wouldnt be very happy:rolleyes: Suppose I could do a Bill Cullen:D and have no morals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,685 ✭✭✭Cavanjack

My bank wouldnt be very happy:rolleyes: Suppose I could do a Bill Cullen:D and have no morals
    Deep down like most farmers you probably love it. Why else would you have over 2000 posts (haven't read them but presume they are mostly about farming) on boards chatting about something that you dont like? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Deep down like most farmers you probably love it. Why else would you have over 2000 posts (haven't read them but presume they are mostly about farming) on boards chatting about something that you dont like? :rolleyes:

Yeah Bob!?:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

He's just fed up he got no action down in Cork.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Trust me he is right, myself and the father cut twenty acres one year with a finger bar. (Well drove the tractor, I walked after the blade cleaning the bar)

Mind you it left a nice clean field afterwards

Back then the crops were lighter little or no artificial fertilizer. There was a better chance of a standing crop.

He's just fed up he got no action down in Cork.:D

erra lads, that sort of talk is below the belt