Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anxiety after visit to Sinn Fein Bookshop

• 05-03-2013 12:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48

I hope this is the right place for this.

So a few weeks back I was walking along the Jervis street area when I came across the old sinn fein shop/headquarters on Parnell street. I noticed some nice badges in the window, particularly a old 'Irish Republic' flag badge.

So I popped in to buy it. I had to buzz in at the door first. I found the place a bit unsettling as I felt the guy was sizing me up.

Anyways, I paid for the badge and left. A few days later a friend of mine pointed out that I wasn't in the main Sinn Fein shop, I was actually in the Republican Sinn Fein place and asked if any garda stopped me when I left. (these guys are supposed to be connected to the C.IRA)

As apparently this happens a lot.

Nobody stopped me but my friend pointed out that I was probably followed home or/and now may be under surveillance by the special branch.

I suffer with anxiety attacks regularly so as you can imagine this has triggered many panic attacks.
    I haven't been able to get the idea out of my head. I researched it online and indeed many people have complained about being followed and questioned.

It's been about 9 weeks now. I guess I'm asking what should I do? I already feel horrible for giving money however small to them. Should I report to a local garda station and tell them my story or leave it alone.

I'm scared they'll laugh at me as well.
    :rolleyes::(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

I think you are fine. Best to just forget about it. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 13th Floor Elevator

Lux23 wrote: »
    I think you are fine. Best to just forget about it. :)
    It's just everywhere I've read states the place is under heavy surveillance. I just don't want to be mistook for something I'm not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,057 ✭✭✭MissFlitworth

Nobody stopped me but my friend pointed out that I was probably followed home or/and now may be under surveillance by the special branch.

I'd like to think Special Branch are adept enough at their jobs to know that someone who spent a couple of minutes in a shop and left looking a little unsettled probably didn't go in on CIRA business. I also think they don't have the sort of money behind them that you'd need to put every person who goes into a suspicious shop on surveillance. Your average person who walks by that shop isn't going to know that it's rumoured to be linked to something dodgy, there'll be more people than just you who wandered in to pick up a badge.

As for stories online about people being stopped & questioned coming out of there, just imagine for a moment the kinds of conspiracy theorists who tend to visit shops like that. I'm not saying it doesn't happen but if it's the same scruffy looking shop I'm thinking of on Parnell Street in the 15+ years I've been walking by it I have *never* seen anyone walk out and get stopped by a Garda, plain clothes/special branch or otherwise.

I don't think you have anything to worry about but even if you were under surveillance all that's going to happen is that very quickly it'll become clear that you're just you & had no dodgy reasons for going in there.

I'd like to think Special Branch are adept enough at their jobs to know that someone who spent a couple of minutes in a shop and left looking a little unsettled probably didn't go in on CIRA business. I also think they don't have the sort of money behind them that you'd need to put every person who goes into a suspicious shop on surveillance. Your average person who walks by that shop isn't going to know that it's rumoured to be linked to something dodgy, there'll be more people than just you who wandered in to pick up a badge.

As for stories online about people being stopped & questioned coming out of there, just imagine for a moment the kinds of conspiracy theorists who tend to visit shops like that. I'm not saying it doesn't happen but if it's the same scruffy looking shop I'm thinking of on Parnell Street in the 15+ years I've been walking by it I have *never* seen anyone walk out and get stopped by a Garda, plain clothes/special branch or otherwise.

I don't think you have anything to worry about but even if you were under surveillance all that's going to happen is that very quickly it'll become clear that you're just you & had no dodgy reasons for going in there.

Thanks a lot guys. It's just with anxiety, it tends to start connecting dots all sorts of ways and manafests horrible thoughts.
    It doesnt help that some idoit or idoits keep spray painting 'CIRA' on walls around my area which serves as a constant reminder.
    Sometimes I think.. maybe they'll think I did that. It's such a horrible feeling sometimes.

I know if it wasn't this, it would probably be something else. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,695 ✭✭✭December2012

Don't worry you'll be ok.

You did nothing wrong and won't get in trouble with the gardai.

Ira graffiti is all around Dublin, painted mostly I imagine by teenagers trying to act hard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Ando's Saggy Bottom

You have nothing to worry about here.

The bigger issue is the fact that you have managed to get so worked up over something so innocuous. Do you feel anxiety on a regular basis. If so some counselling could help you a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Your friend was winding you up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭Brego888

That's actually a pretty good story.
    I'd be happy that I could tell it if it happened to me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Scruffles

if it woud help put mind at better ease,then go speak to the gards,or phone or email them, here is a list of contacts [some with emails,though am not sure if any woud apply in this situation] http://garda.ie/Controller.aspx?Page=3430
    its a pity it doesnt have a proper email service setup as it woud open up other communication avenues for people who otherwise woud not be able to contact them through disability or difficulty,the UK police have an easy email system,not that theyre any good at answering.

Thank you all for the kind and supportive replies.
    You have nothing to worry about here.

The bigger issue is the fact that you have managed to get so worked up over something so innocuous. Do you feel anxiety on a regular basis. If so some counselling could help you a lot.

I know this is something that needs to be addressed. I sometimes feel I find things to worry about. Sometimes it's so horrible I'll use drink to try forget about the overwhelming fear (which I know is really bad)
    Your friend was winding you up

In honestly he wasn't, he'd just heard stories. I heard them myself as well. A lot of people on message boards have posted about being arrested and accused of membership of the IRA and serving time.

I know most of that is probably written by questionable characters and idoits, but it still is enough to get the anxiety ticking.
    Brego888 wrote: »
    That's actually a pretty good story.
    I'd be happy that I could tell it if it happened to me!
    Yeah, maybe one day mate.
    Scruffles wrote: »
    if it woud help put mind at better ease,then go speak to the gards,or phone or email them, here is a list of contacts [some with emails,though am not sure if any woud apply in this situation] http://garda.ie/Controller.aspx?Page=3430
    its a pity it doesnt have a proper email service setup as it woud open up other communication avenues for people who otherwise woud not be able to contact them through disability or difficulty,the UK police have an easy email system,not that theyre any good at answering.

You're so right mate, I talked to a friend last night and he thinks this is a pointless idea, as he feels it's just bringing unnecessary attention to myself.
    I dunno. It's hard to explain to people. I'll watch the news and if there is a robbery reported on the other side of the country I get anxious thinking maybe I'll be blamed on it.
    I'll walk halfway to work and convince myself I've left the front door open and have to return home.

The replies here have gone a long way in helping me relax a little more but I now realise I probably need professional help.
    Thanks again guys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭username123

I dunno. It's hard to explain to people. I'll watch the news and if there is a robbery reported on the other side of the country I get anxious thinking maybe I'll be blamed on it.
    I'll walk halfway to work and convince myself I've left the front door open and have to return home.

The replies here have gone a long way in helping me relax a little more but I now realise I probably need professional help.
    Thanks again guys.

I would strongly advise you to speak to your GP. Its awful for you to be living with such a level of anxiety. The world could be a much nicer place for you if you got this under control, at the moment it dominates your life. Best of luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭RossFixxxed

I would strongly advise you to speak to your GP. Its awful for you to be living with such a level of anxiety. The world could be a much nicer place for you if you got this under control, at the moment it dominates your life. Best of luck.

Just want to second that. We all have the odd 'did I close the door/turn off the whatever' moment here and there, but it seems to be heavily impacting on your quality of life.

I'd say go to a GP, I've met people with very similar anxieties and they benifitted greatly from help.

Anxiety can be treated with medication, therapy and relaxation techniques.

After a while of developing new strategies to deal with situations, your body the becomes used to not panicking, and you can come off the meds or reduce your therapy, etc.

I've been there and it's really horrible.

The great thing is that it is easily and relatively quickly treatable, so you might want to go speak with your dr.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭Cunning Stunt

OP I am sure there is nothing to be worried about.

I very much doubt the guards do surveillance on everyone who goes in there. For one thing, they would have to be aware that people wander in there on an innocent basis - and secondly, even if they wanted to, I seriously doubt they would have the manpower or the budget to be putting everyone who goes in there under surveillance. Sure we're reading every week about how strapped for cash they are!

Can you imagine the uproar if someone like yourself found out they were being spied upon and followed just for wandering into a bookshop? I am sure we would have heard about it.

I know it's hard not to worry - I am also a born worrier, but just try to put it out of your head. It's not worth it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭GRMA

OP I think you have a bit of a problem because you have blown this all out of proportion.

While the justice system is messed up to such a degree that the opinion (with no presented evidence behind it) of a Garda can get you done for membership of an illegal organisation thats not going to happen to you.

Think about it, CIRA are a secret group, they don't meet up in RSF HQ for cups of tea and a chat. The cops arent going to think you are a member cause you bought something

I've been in a good few times (they have a great selection of hard to get history books) and I've never been stopped by the Garda or anything

You wouldnt have been followed home. Its not illegal to go into a shop.

You have to be much more active a member of a group like RSF to get harassed by the Garda like that.... buying a badge doesnt quite cut it lol

Special branch stand out like a sore thumb anyway you would have seen them but they dont spend all day sitting outside the RSF bookshop anyway

Thanks again guys.
    I'm beginning to see I have a serious mental/anxiety problem that isn't going to fit itself. I know I should stop self medication with alcohol as well.

The replies here have gone a long way believe me. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭username123

Youre one of the lucky ones OP, imagine the amount of people going around and suffering with anxiety like you do and worse - who never ever tell anyone, say it out loud or post it anywhere. At least you recognise there is something to get sorted. Its really no big deal, you wouldnt believe how common anxiety problems are, most people suffer at some stage in life - bit like back problems eh???

Good luck, I hope you find inner peace.

That's true.

I went on anti ds for a while, I told a friend and she told me that she had been on them too, so had others.

Well done for noticing the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭LadyMayBelle

Good luck at the GP op, and fair play to you for recognising that things arent quite as they ought to be; that worrying as much as you are is unnecessary that's often the first step to getting yourself back on track.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭face1990

OP, there are some very good books about anxiety/worrying. One I'd recommend is The Worry Cure. It explains the mental processes that lead to, and reinforce, worrying. Understanding it is half the battle, I've found!

Also, I wouldn't contact the gardai about it. Your anxiety over this is irrational, and you need to recognise it as such. Going out of your way to contact them to alleviate your anxiety is a coping mechanism rather than a solution. The actual events don't warrant any action at all.