Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

€500 inverter welder

• 05-03-2013 12:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭

Well lads, don't know if this is the right section but i'm looking to buy an inverter for doing a few jobs around the farm and a few other projects, looking for something over 160 amps preferably around the 200 mark and around the €500 mark that will do stick amd tig welding and am tempted by this

http://www.iedepot.ie/tig_arc_welder_sale/

Does anybody have one or have used one before? Or what other makes and models would you recommend around the same price?

Cheers guys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

ormondprop wrote: »
    Well lads, don't know if this is the right section but i'm looking to buy an inverter for doing a few jobs around the farm and a few other projects, looking for something over 160 amps preferably around the 200 mark and around the €500 mark that will do stick amd tig welding and am tempted by this

http://www.iedepot.ie/tig_arc_welder_sale/

Does anybody have one or have used one before? Or what other makes and models would you recommend around the same price?

Cheers guys

Do you need TIG, never used it myself so dont know what uses its hand for. car panels, really light stuff? Seen a very good deal on a ESAB inverter around 200 amps recently. have a look about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭ormondprop

Tig is used for stainless, haven't done much of it myself yet but doin an apprenticeship as a fitter with a metal fabrication company so hoping to do a few nixers with it once i get better, we have a few smaller esab, murex and parweld inverters at work, but the murex are out of my price range, the 160 amp parweld is a good little welder but a bit underpowered at stick for a few jobs i'm planning but the next model up is about 700 and has no tig torch with it, i haven't seen any good deals on esabs besides the 160 amp ones but i'd prefer something a little more powerful

Cant remember where I saw the deal for the 200amp ESAB, would be a decent machine, think they are all being sold as Murex now so maybe thats why there were some to be had cheap. Bought a Parweld in a rush recently at €300 for 180 amp, works fine for me as have a big murex mig in the shed aswell for heavy work.

Would you get many nixers in Stainless? doubt it as most business work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭ormondprop

My boss said he'd pass a few jobs on to me that aren't worth taking on himself so i'll hopefully get a few when i get better at it so i'd like to have the option of doing that, wn esab 180 would be grand, we have a 160 at work and its good, but i'd like that extra bit of power over 160 so the machine isn't under as much pressure,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 limiter12

Hard to beat that price in fairness, good value being offered there. As for the 200 amp it is a bit over kill a 160 amp should fulfill all requirements. I have a 160 amp for about 7 years which has alot of work done both tig and mma.

From my own experience Just dont dog it, i would certainly not even consider using 4mm rods. Dont use on long extension leads the voltage drop will fry the card. And with the inverter type welders when they break best to consider them like a tayto bag, just dump them the economics of repairing doesnt stack up when compared with the replacement costs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,722 ✭✭✭maidhc

I bought this before Christmas:

http://www.caulfieldindustrial.com/esab-buddy-arc-180-amp-inverter-stick--tig-welder/p-e13489pd.html

Good value and a brand with a much better name than SIP.

maidhc wrote: »
    I bought this before Christmas:

http://www.caulfieldindustrial.com/esab-buddy-arc-180-amp-inverter-stick--tig-welder/p-e13489pd.html

Good value and a brand with a much better name than SIP.

thats the baby I saw for sale somewhere, serious good price