Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mick Lally Memorial race

• 27-02-2013 11:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭

Hey

any takers on this race this saturday, I see that navan is on sunday?

its a flat short fast course 40km with 4 right turns and long spint?????#

Laz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 172 ✭✭scott.s

Lazairus wrote: »
    Hey

Laz

I'll be there. First race so thought the short distance would suit.

Wonder what the numbers will be like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭wav1

Lazairus wrote: »
    Hey

Laz
    Right turns???The junctions are left turns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,794 ✭✭✭C3PO

Was going to go but 40kms is a bit short for me - going to do Sunday instead!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,137 ✭✭✭buffalo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭Pawlie

Anyone have a strava map for this :-)....40km way too short but should be fun if it has a long sprint,Navan should be a cracker too,nice to be doing a decent distance.

Pawlie wrote: »
    Anyone have a strava map for this :-)....40km way too short but should be fun if it has a long sprint,Navan should be a cracker too,nice to be doing a decent distance.

I made one just for you... http://app.strava.com/segments/3517190

I imagine I won't be #1 for long...

Thanks man,up hill finish nice gradient too,climbs will make this seem longer too :-)

Finish line is at the 19.65km mark on that segment, right at the crossroads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭Dietmar Hamann

The a4 race is 42km.
    the a3 race is 65km.
    The a1/a2 race is 88km.
    This is a rolling circuit with a good uphill finish at the shanks mare pub.

How much entry lads,surely only a tenor considering a4's only doing 42km ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭Hungrycol

How much entry lads,surely only a tenor considering a4's only doing 42km ?

Sure just bring your best singing voice and that'll do:
    243049.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 549 ✭✭✭Kav0777

Hungrycol wrote: »
    243049.jpg

That advice seems a bit false(tto)....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,460 ✭✭✭lennymc

all leinster races should be a tenner (as set by CI) as far as I know. But I could be wrong.

Hungrycol wrote: »
    243049.jpg
    I hope me legs are on song so :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭djfattony2000

Im going to give this a go too for my first road race.

So pretty much the same format as a downhill mountain bike race yeh? :p

Well that was an eye opener!

Was towards the back of the group at the the start. Then for the first downhill bit I let the group get about 6 feet away from me and that was basically that. I couldnt catch them and was spinning out in my biggest gear.

So did a lonely lap, passing a couple of other stragglers along the way, then called it quits.

Glad I turned up but will have to try and stick with the group the next time.

I also noticed I wasnt the slimmest person there either, I'll need to work on this too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭Tomred13

Was towards the back of the group at the the start. Then for the first downhill bit I let the group get about 6 feet away from me and that was basically that. I couldnt catch them and was spinning out in my biggest gear.

So did a lonely lap, passing a couple of other stragglers along the way, then called it quits.

I also noticed I wasnt the slimmest person there either, I'll need to work on this too...

Hi DjFatTony

well fair play on entering, youve bitten the bullet with your first race, and dont worry we all got spat out of the back on our first race. At least you know what to expect now and with a bit more training you will improve. Best advice is to try and get in the middle of the bunch so you dont lose the wheel in front of you when the pace picks up. Dont be dis-heartened. Get out on your bike and keep putting the miles in .
    Tom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 172 ✭✭scott.s

You weren't the only one! Same happened to me. You may have seen/passed me, was in the red jersey on the white Wiler.

Need to get training!

Thanks Tom,

I expected it to happen alright but just not as quick!

Couldnt believe the difference between it and mountain bike racing. Different sport altogether.

Yeh, Ill try another one with short laps again so I can bail when the inevidable happens :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭velo.2010

I won't start a separate thread for today's racing. Congratulations to Mr Grieves on his win in the A1/A2 race today. A fine solo to the line, I believe! Truely, greatness awaits.;) I think Buffalo got up for second in the A3 race, fair play. How he does it with no training is beyond me?

I got round OK today in A3 after one spin in two weeks. Legs cramped towards the end but a good run-out and I'll head up to Navan tomorrow. Highlight for me was some cyclocross across someone's front lawn! Again, no-one seems prepared to work in A3. Lots of oncoming cars down that tight road towards Dorey's and even on the Trim Rd there were 'moments' as the bunch spread across both lanes.

Could have been more sambo's at the end!:rolleyes:Seriously though, it was a well run event by Dublin Wheelers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,218 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

velo.2010 wrote: »
    I think Buffalo got up for second in the A3 race, fair play. How he does it with no training is beyond me?

Lies, I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭padjo5

Began the morning with a habit i probably should get into, a 30minute warm up. Felt fresh and ready to go then at the start line, in what looked like a modest enough sized a4 group (maybe 50?). Had been injured for a few weeks so my primary aim was to finish with the bunch today.
    On the first lap i got the usual rush of blood to the head and was involved in a few attacks, none of which were successful, i reckon we just werent organised/committed enough as a group to pull it off. Paul from Waterford Club, a lad from Bray, a big lad from 'Un-Laoised' MTB(?) Club and a few others were putting in efforts to get a breakaway going, but we were a bit scattered.

Coming in the last few kms we were as 1 group, spread right across the road, motoring along, when the chap on an orange bike, with orange jersey on my right, cycling along the rough verge/ditch, over drains and bouncing all over the place, best bit of bike handling ive seen, did he stay upright?? I made a lame attempt from a long way out which came to nothing, and went backwards for the last few 100mtrs.

Congratulated the winner (Shannonside) at the finish line, he seems a bit of a character, said he was going on the beer for the next week! Well for him.

Got chatting to Killalaner over a cup of tea afterwards, think he ended up in the wrong race today....he said something about a speed wobble.........!

Lumen wrote: »
    Lies, I think.

It's all on Strava. :D

243340.jpg

Today was mostly smart riding. I did try get a break going second time over Dorey's Forge, but it came to nought, so just sat in for the last lap and made sure I was in a good position coming up to the sprint. I had the legs for the win tbh, but couldn't get up the hill fast enough with riders dying off in front of me. Wasn't sure if I got it, as myself and the winner from Limerick CC hit the line together. He was unlucky, in that his pedal unclipped, but smarter as he threw his bike across the line first - about three inches in it. <insert "that's what she said" here>

I came home for a shower and a lie-down, and after assembling my housemate's new table, I hope to have those things now. Fair play to Mr Grieves, winning in style™ since Dunsany 2012.

The closeness of the A3 finish - me on the far side (courtesy of niceonetom):

13+-+2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭velo.2010

My bad.......you have been training Mr Buffalo!:cool:

Kudos should also go to Diarmuid and ghosty669 who got in the prizes as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,794 ✭✭✭C3PO

Thanks Tom,

I expected it to happen alright but just not as quick!

Couldnt believe the difference between it and mountain bike racing. Different sport altogether.

Yeh, Ill try another one with short laps again so I can bail when the inevidable happens :D

As a fellow mountain biker I feel your pain! Exactly the same thing happened to me on my first road race. Tootling along, thinking "This is isn't so bad, don't know what all the fuss is about....." and the next thing I knew there was a couple of metres between me and the rest of the guys and it was all over! If it's any consolation it gets easier ..... eventually!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,992 ✭✭✭Plastik

Punctured out mid way through second A3 lap. Pah.

Here are some photos from Saturdays shenanigans :eek:
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/celtictrekker/page10/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Threads merged

Beasty

Here are some photos from Saturdays shenanigans :eek:
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/celtictrekker/page10/

ugh, can't believe I didn't get it looking at that. Curse you perspective!

8524493624_d1070744a4.jpg
    CON_3912 by Mc Kernan Photography.com, on Flickr

buffalo wrote: »
    ugh, can't believe I didn't get it looking at that. Curse you perspective!

8524493624_d1070744a4.jpg
    CON_3912 by Mc Kernan Photography.com, on Flickr

Always next race man :-).....the a4 race was a warfest,no words would describe it,but yesturdays A4 was a total diff race,reckon the good climbs and long distance sorts it out,I tried to get a few breaks going but lads had no interest,they just want to coast along a go for sprint finish,funny watching guys trying to go thru gaps that just are not there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭boege

That lad from Limerick only turned junior and is on the national team, watched him throw himself and bike over the line. Unorthodox would be an understatement.

T'was fair close and I could not call it watching from the side.