Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Call it quits

• 02-03-2013 6:08pm
    Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Another truly dreadful day ruined...by playing golf!

On the drive home I thought why do I bother pay out so much cash on lessons and clubs and put in the practice to get so little out of it.

I'm going to do some soul searching this week and decide if I really want to keep playing. My sub a year is 1200 and between other bits and prices I'm spending an awful lot of cash that I could use elsewhere.

Yes I'm moaning and have my great friends but when your hobby stops becoming fun and you end playing for the sake of playing then maybe it's not the hobby for me.

...moan over!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,512 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

if you're not enjoying it, get out of it.

I know a few people who did this in the last few years and have come back to the game and are loving it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭ForeRight

You will feel different tomorrow no doubt.

Chin up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

On the drive home I thought why do I bother pay out so much cash on lessons and clubs and put in the practice to get so little out of it.

I'm going to do some soul searching this week and decide if I really want to keep playing. My sub a year is 1200 and between other bits and prices I'm spending an awful lot of cash that I could use elsewhere.

Yes I'm moaning and have my great friends but when your hobby stops becoming fun and you end playing for the sake of playing then maybe it's not the hobby for me.

...moan over!

I gave up for years. The enthusiasm on my comeback has blown me away.

The only thing keano, if you are in transition on swing or in game. It takes a couple of months. You need to stick that part out. It is hard. Takes time and breaks hearts.

The money is a real issue these days. So understand where you are coming from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,367 ✭✭✭Quandary

Hi op, sorry to hear u had a bad day!

Just a few questions if ya don't mind...

HOw long have you been playing?
    Do you have a handicap?
    What were you hoping to get from the game this year?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 201 ✭✭EvanCornwallis

You have clearly put a lot into the game, so you are either really good or love the game. I'd say take a break, clear your head, but don't quit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭levitronix

...moan over!

I was in the same boat 7 odd years ago and got back into golf this year, one of reasons im loving it so much is there no pressure to preform, I wana be good again but just for myself not to make cuts or get on teams again

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Quandary wrote: »
    Hi op, sorry to hear u had a bad day!

Just a few questions if ya don't mind...

HOw long have you been playing?
    Do you have a handicap?
    What were you hoping to get from the game this year?

About 3 years
    Yes, 16 ... Was given that even though all my cards were high 90s
    Just a bit more consistently. Still shooting poor scores
    You have clearly put a lot into the game, so you are either really good or love the game. I'd say take a break, clear your head, but don't quit.

I have and I still love it, perhaps competitive golf is not for me maybe just forget about scoring

Which part of your game lets you down the most?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Today it was my short game, another day it could be from the tee!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭Max Q

I think everyone goes through this at one stage or another (or annually in my case!). Just remember that golf is a game, played to be enjoyed. When it becomes anything more than just a game played for fun, that's where people become unstuck. It's easy to get frustrated when you are putting a lot of effort and cash into equipment and lessons and not seeing much progress.

Stick with it and just try to enjoy your next round. Enjoy the good shots you hit and forget about the bad ones.

Today it was my short game, another day it could be from the tee!

Try to play a few rounds without keeping score but maybe take a few weeks off first just to get your head straight.

Absence makes the heart grow fonder!

Don't give it up just yet :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Sorry to hear you are going through a downer on golf at the moment.

You could try the psychological approach (inspired from Tom Selleck in Mr Baseball :))
    Basically you stop playing golf, but you keep practicing instead. (Specifically short game, no driving range stuff)
    Soon enough you are going to be dying to get out there and actually play again... (and you game will probably be in pretty good shape after all the practice)

Think you're right Greebo. Nothing scheduled until 23rd March so 3 hard weeks of practice and see how I feel after those 3 weeks if I want to play again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭scrubber72

Felt the very same today and yesterday. Lost 7 balls in 9 holes yesterday off the tee and had only brought a driver 2 weeks ago. The thing is keano, its a game. Treat it as such. You say you paid 1200 sub this year well you would be mad to walk away.Couple of weeks off and the lead up to the masters will have you bursting to get out. Chin up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭the lawman

Sorry to hear the frustration Keano as from reading all your posts on here and your activity you obviously really love the game. With bad days if feels as if the love is not returned. It's a killer on those days.

There is loads of advice that you will get but if you allow me let me give you one bit that's helped me recently. Bear in mind I was smashed by a ball in the face last year and lost a tooth and I'm currently out injured with a torn Teres Minor muscle!!

I recently listened to an audio book of Bob Rotella's 'Golf is not a game of perfect' and it really made me think differently about the game and in particular the mind numbing frustration. Helped so much. So do me a favour go out and buy the audio book and listen to it as you drive to work or whatever. It's narrated by the man himself and there's something calming and genuine about it that a book doesn't give you.

I truly think this could help especially the bits about bad golf.

Whatever you decide to do, ultimately I hope you stay playing as golf and boards are better for chaps like you.

Good luck with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 592 ✭✭✭gorfield

Just throwing this out there but.... Could it be wisdom teeth??

Il get my coat.

gorfield wrote: »
    Just throwing this out there but.... Could it be wisdom teeth??

Il get my coat.
    I actually have sore teeth! Got my braces tightened and actually struggled to eat today!

the lawman wrote: »
    Sorry to hear the frustration Keano as from reading all your posts on here and your activity you obviously really love the game. With bad days if feels as if the love is not returned. It's a killer on those days.

There is loads of advice that you will get but if you allow me let me give you one bit that's helped me recently. Bear in mind I was smashed by a ball in the face last year and lost a tooth and I'm currently out injured with a torn Teres Minor muscle!!

I recently listened to an audio book of Bob Rotella's 'Golf is not a game of perfect' and it really made me think differently about the game and in particular the mind numbing frustration. Helped so much. So do me a favour go out and buy the audio book and listen to it as you drive to work or whatever. It's narrated by the man himself and there's something calming and genuine about it that a book doesn't give you.

I truly think this could help especially the bits about bad golf.

Whatever you decide to do, ultimately I hope you stay playing as golf and boards are better for chaps like you.

Good luck with it.
    Cheers lawman I actually have it somewhere must dig it out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭the lawman

Cheers lawman I actually have it somewhere must dig it out!

The audio cd is a must though Keano. He bloody talks a calming game. So simple what he suggests too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭harpsman

scrubber72 wrote: »
    Felt the very same today and yesterday. Lost 7 balls in 9 holes yesterday off the tee and had only brought a driver 2 weeks ago. The thing is keano, its a game. Treat it as such. You say you paid 1200 sub this year well you would be mad to walk away.Couple of weeks off and the lead up to the masters will have you bursting to get out. Chin up
    In Florida?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭Quahog217

Id say take a month or two out and see how you feel.

Chances are you will be raring to go.

Its hard to stay positive sometimes, keep the head up and just try enjoy it when you pick up the clubs again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭harpsman

Think you're right Greebo. Nothing scheduled until 23rd March so 3 hard weeks of practice and see how I feel after those 3 weeks if I want to play again
    Wouldnt agree with this approach. 3 weeks "Hard practice" at something youre hating at moment might not do much for your enthusiasm. My suggestion- take a fortnight off and then go out for a social 9/12 holes with a good mate on the next nice day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭ernieprice

Like you I lost interest in golf on 4 different occasions. I stopped in '93 for 4 years and was playing off 9, Left again in 98 for 4 more years and was off 10, played from 2003 to 2007 played off 9, returned in 2010 and got down to 6 but back up to 8 now. Once I fall out of love with my game I give it up untill the bug bites back. When I'm playing I give it my all and as soon as the enjoyment goes I call a halt. We are not making our living from the game so it's for pleasure and for me no pleasure no more golf. I hope you can retain your enjoyment of this wonderful game.

harpsman wrote: »
    Wouldnt agree with this approach. 3 weeks "Hard practice" at something youre hating at moment might not do much for your enthusiasm. My suggestion- take a fortnight off and then go out for a social 9/12 holes with a good mate on the next nice day.

Its not "hard practice" though, its just going to practice instead of going to play. Also I dont get the impression that Keano hates hitting balls, just the scoring is not happening and its getting frustrating.

A poor shot when you practice means nothing, but its very annoying during a round, especially when you are already down on your game.

After a couple of weeks not playing, but still being involved with golf, you (or at least I) would be gagging to get out onto the course and actually play.

Spot on Greebo. Plenty of good shots today but poor shots cost me dearly and got very annoying

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭Almaviva

Stick with it man. The good days will return. Been there a couple of times.

Agree with the general advice above:
    - do not compete, for several weeks, even a month or two
    - do plenty of shortgame practice (60% of your golf time) of all sorts. Try to improve it. Improvement here will help your whole game and enjoyment of it when you play for real again, as nothing keeps your momentum going even when your long game is off, as turning a few bogeys into pars with a few neat chips or pitches.
    - play some holes alone (30%). 6 or 9 at a time, playing a few balls, drop another one after a bad shot, and prove to yourself that you can do it. Dont even bother counting scores.
    - the occasional basket at the range. But just hit them without any focus on 'rebuilding' your swing or anything.
    - after a good spell of the above, then start to play some 18 holes, with friends and keep an eye on your scores again.
    - only when you have put together a few rounds start entering competitions again.

Fear not, there is light at the end of the tunnel. And its worth getting back there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭Anatom

Spot on Greebo. Plenty of good shots today but poor shots cost me dearly and got very annoying
    You'll be fine in a couple of weeks. If it weren't for you, we wouldn't have the Boards society - you helped push it on, remember?? Take a break, follow GreeBo's advice, and we'll see you in Thurles....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 201 ✭✭EvanCornwallis

I have and I still love it, perhaps competitive golf is not for me maybe just forget about scoring

If you are anything like myself, that won't be an option. I drive my wife mad with my bad moods and sleepless nights over golf . I really get on my own case about certain shots in a round , even after shooting 60s. So imagine when I shoot 80 odd . Can't help it. one thing I try and do, is remember how lucky I am, that getting a ball into a hole is my biggest worry.

Works until my next round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,939 ✭✭✭Russman

Don't give up.

As suggested earlier, have a read of Bob Rotella's "Golf is not a game of Perfect" and also "Golf is a game of Confidence"

To paraphrase Dr Bob, your number one goal is to enjoy yourself, let everything else take care of itself. Also, the best way out of a slump is to re-put things into perspective and practice the short game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,511 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Do you feel the HC is too low Keano? If so, you had a word with HC seceraty? This could be the source of all the frustration.
    It would be for myself.
    You seem to be searching/pushing for scores. That would be a disaster for me. The harder I'd try, the more pressure I put on myself, the worse I would score.

Maybe start playing off a higher handicap (in your head) for 2-3 months before the summer starts.
    Give yourself 7 or 8 shots on your next round, play 3 rounds before dropping it gradually etc.
    it might ease the pressure and build a bit of confidence.

Just remember your official HC when marking a card :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 892 ✭✭✭Ben1977

Every year I get down about the golf. I take a month off and away I go again. What I've found and it was pointed out by a pro is I was practicing hard, lots of time. Going out and expecting to shoot low. The pro said there is no point practicing if your doing it wrong ie engraining a bad swing and setup.
    My advise, don't touch a club till the boards outing. You have to lose control to gain control. Go to the outing with the mindset of I'm going to meet some new people, enjoy the day, enjoy the food and the banter. Don't expect anything and just enjoy the good shoot when they happen and forget the bad shoots. Nothing you can do about them, there in the past.

Chin up, your not alone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭For Paws

ajcurry123 wrote: »
    Do you feel the HC is too low Keano? If so, you had a word with HC seceraty? This could be the source of all the frustration.
    It would be for myself.
    You seem to be searching/pushing for scores. That would be a disaster for me. The harder I'd try, the more pressure I put on myself, the worse I would score.

Maybe start playing off a higher handicap (in your head) for 2-3 months before the summer starts.
    Give yourself 7 or 8 shots on your next round, play 3 rounds before dropping it gradually etc.
    it might ease the pressure and build a bit of confidence.

Just remember your official HC when marking a card :)

Good advice !

What about golf makes you happiest ?
    Reading 'Golf is not a game of perfect' helped me focus on what I wanted from the game, and stopped me being such a pin in the ass to play with when my game was poor. Your own expectations must be realistic if you are to achieve them, even on a few occasions. Expect too much of your game and the frustration is waiting to eat you up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Deep Thought

TNothing scheduled until 23rd March so 3 hard weeks of practice

Theres your problem...it should not be a chore..., you should focus on not trying so hard...you get more annoyed and fed up.

I always find that if I am having a bad day...I stop thinking, I take time to look around me, enjoy the scenery and the banter with the lads...

It only takes one shot to make you come back, it could be a par on 18 after everything else is crap or a stunning iron into a tough par 3..

But dont see it as hard graft....the minute it is, then you no longer enjoy playing and that is not what you want.

DT

The narrower a man’s mind, the broader his statements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭Dtoffee

Sounds like you are trying far too hard and expecting far too much.

We all go there at times and its a headwrecker in terms of what you want. The bottom line is that most 16 handicap golfer will hit more bad shots than good and thats why they play off 16 ..... stop looking for perfection and remember the golden rule of golf: if you play a bad shot, forget about it !

Far too many golfers feel they need to force the next shot in order to recover from a bad one and usually end up with a second duffed shot, sending themselves into a headspin of frustration. Play a bad shot, cut your losses and move on ...... and play a club or a shot you trust (in my case, my safety shot is often a punch shot as I know I can play it without stress). The best golfers all know that you cannot recover a poor shot instantly, you simply refocus and believe that at some later stage the birdie opportunity will present itself.

On days when all you game is off, bring a gun and shoot yourself ..... you're bound to miss anyway :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭Nedser101

Lads here's a question re handicap..?i joined a club this time last year and got a handicap of 23 .which t tought was generous ,but for all he comps I've entered I've never seemed to put a score on the board.so in anyway due to financial constraints did not rejoin his year.but being away from the coarse over the Christmas im only back playing the last month but every round scores have been in th mid 40s with a couple of scratches like yesterday I had 41points with 3scratches that included 9 pars and a birdie . So what ye think I should be off

Nedser101 wrote: »
    Lads here's a question re handicap..?i joined a club this time last year and got a handicap of 23 .which t tought was generous ,but for all he comps I've entered I've never seemed to put a score on the board.so in anyway due to financial constraints did not rejoin his year.but being away from the coarse over the Christmas im only back playing the last month but every round scores have been in th mid 40s with a couple of scratches like yesterday I had 41points with 3scratches that included 9 pars and a birdie . So what ye think I should be off

Competitive scores, or just casual golf. If competitive, and assuming 3 rounds in the mid 40s and one 41 then you should be off 15.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭Danny dyers double

Keaneo can I just ask what sort of scores you have been getting of late off your HC . Points wise ?

Low 20s :(

Three score of an average of 45 pts would probably cut him 2 shots each, then the 41, and add in at least one ESR. 15 ish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,512 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

Almaviva wrote: »
    Competitive scores, or just casual golf. If competitive, and assuming 3 rounds in the mid 40s and one 41 then you should be off 15.

yes, but lately - which implies winter golf, placing everywhere, possibly shortened course....

Not to take away from your great scoring original poster, it is great! but not a wholly accurate measurement of correct handicap :)

lads please start a new thread for new topics!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭scrubber72

Bad day again. 6 over after 7. 12 over after 8. Lost ball on 9. Still gonna play tomorrow. Why? Cause i can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭Nedser101

GreeBo wrote: »
    lads please start a new thread for new topics!

Sorry my fault !i thought I was starting a thread until I posted my bad .thanks for info lads,your probably right Ricky , but I'll have to wait till the spring or summer to gauge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭Freemount09

How is this made up ?? How many scratches ?? If your scratching 6 holes a round then it could be a concentration thing ?

How come your still off 16 ? Do you enter singles comps and get 0.1's back ? I'd deffo talk with your handicap sec tell him your struggling to play off 16 and get your handicap revised upwards.

Who do you play with ? Are you playing with single handicappers who you are trying to outdrive and match them with shots that they could pass off but you can't ? Or are you playing with hackers who are dragging you down ? Do you play with friends who ye are out for the craic first and golf second ? Or do you play with strangers who you are maybe abit nervous playing with till you get to know them ??

There are loads of Q's here but like the others I'd recommend not making any rash decissions ! Sure it'll be the weekend now again before you know it and you'll be itching for a round !! :)

How is this made up ?? How many scratches ?? If your scratching 6 holes a round then it could be a concentration thing ?

How come your still off 16 ? Do you enter singles comps and get 0.1's back ? I'd deffo talk with your handicap sec tell him your struggling to play off 16 and get your handicap revised upwards.

Who do you play with ? Are you playing with single handicappers who you are trying to outdrive and match them with shots that they could pass off but you can't ? Or are you playing with hackers who are dragging you down ? Do you play with friends who ye are out for the craic first and golf second ? Or do you play with strangers who you are maybe abit nervous playing with till you get to know them ??

There are loads of Q's here but like the others I'd recommend not making any rash decissions ! Sure it'll be the weekend now again before you know it and you'll be itching for a round !! :)

Lots of scratches and doubles! Think I had 5 scratches the weekend! My concentration needs working on, Saturday was a very slow round and I think I couldn't stay focused and was half arsed over a lot of shots as we were waiting on tee boxes and fairways!

Play with anyone who'll play, be it higher and lower! Weekend was with strangers but I held my own when on song!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭Freemount09

Lots of scratches and doubles! Think I had 5 scratches the weekend! My concentration needs working on, Saturday was a very slow round and I think I couldn't stay focused and was half arsed over a lot of shots as we were waiting on tee boxes and fairways!

Play with anyone who'll play, be it higher and lower! Weekend was with strangers but I held my own when on song!

Yea I've seen you strike the ball very well, and you can play. I'd put money on it being a concentration thing !

By low 20's I'll assume 24 points from 13 holes, isn't actually too bad ! Just cut out the scratches and you'll be mid 30's no bother !

Make sure you have something to eat and drink going around, to keep your concentration up. Slow rounds are hard though !

I think if I go play a few holes on my own, I'll try to focus on each shot. There are times when I'm just going though the motions. I guess practice with purpose is what they'd call it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭dines08

I think if I go play a few holes on my own, I'll try to focus on each shot. There are times when I'm just going though the motions. I guess practice with purpose is what they'd call it.

We need to get a round in together soon. Hate hearing this talk of not enjoying it, hopefully I could help you to enjoy it a bit more.

if you are still eager to play instead of practice, play with only half your clubs, will get you focusing on making some shots rather then just hitting the ball.

i reckon you need something to just break out of the regular monotomy of playing badly.

Rehabilitation!

Firstly, thanks to for all the advice and those who sent PMs etc. Good folk round here.

So on Tuesday I went to the chipping area and worked on different shots with different clubs. Part of my frustration was I guess, I only had one shot for certain situations and if that wasn't working out I was trying new things, obviously never good during a comp!

I got hold of Dr Bob audio book and listened all week, when he speaks about Palmer guiding the high handicapper around the course hit home the most. It's sticking to the safe shots, even when lads around me might be on the green in 2 I have to play my shot and and never second guess myself.

Friend wanted to play today and I sort of was reluctant but he just lost his job so wanted some fresh air. I told myself on the first tee, your are going to hit bad shots but let them go! I never once played a shot in the 10 holes that I didn't want to hit, yes there were some poor ones but I just smiled and said next shot!

10 holes, no scratches, a few pars, bogies and some doubles but I can work on them!

Sorry for the long post... Short version...played ok again...still love them game!