Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Soon it will be possible to steal a police station.

• 02-03-2013 12:01am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭

A TENDER HAS been put out to turn five Fiat vans into mobile garda offices – but the move has been criticised as ‘farcical’.

Read more here.

I give it a month before someone does steal one.

Seriously though, are things really this bad?

People don't take the police force seriously as it is, whats it going to be like now.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 240 ✭✭The Barefoot Pizza Thief

"You're under arrest. See how you like spending a night in the glove compartment."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

So what, setting up a mobile office for jobs, such as stamping passport applications, and motor tax forms, in areas where the local garda station has closed down is a bad thing now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

They're quite common over here, have never heard of one being stolen. I don't really see why it's farcical?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,808 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

Wow.

Surely these will be a prime target for hackers to gain access to PULSE and download the whole database for sale to the highest bidder. Have they really thought this through?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,048 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

No-one laughed at the mobile library and mobile shop when they were around!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

We used to have paddy wagons, now we'll have Wanderly Wagons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

"Take 'em down to the station, lads!"

"But we're already here...:confused:"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ruudi_Mentari

Where are you stationed at?

Well, we're in a ditch at the moment and the adjacent pen is now holding more actual pigs than prisoners

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

Shield wrote: »
    Wow.

Surely these will be a prime target for hackers to gain access to PULSE and download the whole database for sale to the highest bidder. Have they really thought this through?

It's the Garda Síochána, not the feckin' CIA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

brummytom wrote: »
    They're quite common over here, have never heard of one being stolen. I don't really see why it's farcical?

Aren't they an extension of the local Police Station though. An effort to engage the local community?

Over here they are shutting down stations, where they are more than needed.

I had my car broken into a few weeks back and went up to Sundrive Garda station (previously one of the busiest stations in Dublin) and it had a sign on the window telling me to come back during opening hours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,029 ✭✭✭shedweller

This is what the banks have done. Things have rolled along for a very long time and we did ok. Banks come along with their made up games and lookie here. We are turning garda stations into cars. Or is it cars into garda stations?

Balls.
    We have none.
    Keep bending over, Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭nocoverart

It's all a bit "Irish" alright. I don't know why I'm thinking this, but it sounds like a Cop Shop fit for craggy Island. Dougal and Ted get arrested for a minor offence and put into the local Garda mobile station when along come some hoodlums after stealing the local Post Office and use it as their getaway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Is it any wonder that organised crime is a strong now than it ever was. We need our police force to be well manned and resourced, I know cuts have to be made but we can't let public security slide. These fcukers are laughing at us, if this continues they'll run Dublin just like the Sicilian Mafia once ran New York.

All underground you might not become aware of any difference but you're employers will, some of the rackets they run are ingenious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭juice1304

SaulGoode9 wrote: »
    It's the Garda Síochána, not the feckin' CIA.

They have a file about everyone on the pulse system which tells them alot you would be surprised what they know about you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭ITS_A_BADGER

Yo dawg i herd you like garda stations, so i put a garda station inside yo fiat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ruudi_Mentari

Yo dawg i herd you like garda stations, so i put a garda station inside yo fiat

Won't be working on their tan anyhow.

but at a time when a robbin' hood effect was inevitable

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

I'm from Tallaght, if they send one of those things here it'll be a race to see who can hijack it first and ram it into the actual garda station.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 870 ✭✭✭moonage

A toilet was once stolen from a police station.

The Guards said they had nothing to go on.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Is there going to be a jax in it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,156 ✭✭✭Iwannahurl

Let's hope the operators of these mobile police stations have learned how to park properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Normal here .. the Politie and Polizei have mobile stations that they use for control points.

Basically a Portacabin on the back of a truck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Wow.

And the stations that where only open for a few hours a day/week weren't an easy target? Or they could just as easily take a squad car.
    I had my car broken into a few weeks back and went up to Sundrive Garda station (previously one of the busiest stations in Dublin) and it had a sign on the window telling me to come back during opening hours.

So the Gardaí where out on patrol, hopefully preventing crimes, not sitting behind a desk stamping a form. We've a small police force and loads of crimes, is it not better to have the Gardaí actually able to fight crime instead of sit behind a desk?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

A portacabin has a bit more space in it than the vans they're looking at. Is the plan to have something that is taken out of the vans and set up? Otherwise it's not much of a step up from being invited into the back of a squadcar for a chat with a clipboard for a desk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

kowloon wrote: »
    A portacabin has a bit more space in it than the vans they're looking at. Is the plan to have something that is taken out of the vans and set up? Otherwise it's not much of a step up from being invited into the back of a squadcar for a chat with a clipboard for a desk.
    It's a massive step up, couple of feet at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭jjbrien

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,273 ✭✭✭flas

These are in nearly every other european city,don't see what the big deal is, we are years behind as usual....one f these in temple bar sq,one in eyre sq etc...good idea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

flas wrote: »
    These are in nearly every other european city,don't see what the big deal is, we are years behind as usual....one f these in temple bar sq,one in eyre sq etc...good idea
    You'll just have a load af sozzled souls coming up looking for kebabs/burgers then, which might be an idea to fund the overtime

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,672 ✭✭✭elefant

"Take 'em down to the station, lads!"

"But we're already here...:confused:"

Break 'em away toys

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

Even if I made this up and said to people that the new garda stations would be on wheels in the future, no one would believe me.

A fine looking ban garda i must say, but she has that eye about her as if she's going to give shatter a rolling stones...

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

So they're turning a paddy wagon into a police station... Interesting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

cournioni wrote: »

I'm still pondering on this garda-van station thing..... I just don't get it. I'm missing something. :confused:

Could they be speed camera vans acting out as if they are new garda stations ???, doesn't sound right but what does sound right any more.

Are they parked and embedded on the side of the roads ? Pondering.

Speed cameras in disguise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 772 ✭✭✭GTDolanator

jjbrien wrote: »

Yes but this is more acceptable as a mobile police station because its bigger,funny enough the gaurds have one of these fiat ducato van s with the 2 axles on the rear and a massive body on it,but i think its for mobile cctv

Del2005 wrote: »
    So the Gardaí where out on patrol, hopefully preventing crimes, not sitting behind a desk stamping a form. We've a small police force and loads of crimes, is it not better to have the Gardaí actually able to fight crime instead of sit behind a desk?

Are you serious?

That makes no sense whatsoever. You are suggesting the Guards from the station where out patrolling and that is why it was closed.

And what if they arrested someone? Do they just come back and sit in the stations car park until morning?

Of course not. When stations are closed it is because man power has been cut down on, the cost of running the station is considered too much.

It's not because they want the Guards that were sitting behind desks out on the beat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

In China they execute you and then harvest your organs all in the back of a van!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Am I the only one that thinks that this isn't a terrible idea?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭dilallio

While he's at it, Shatter should force the church to sell of all its properties, and have priests say mass in a mobile church like the one when Fr Dougal was stuck in the milk van.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭HondaSami

Wow.

40% of garda stations cannot access PULSE:
    http://www.google.ie/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=garda%20stations%20no%20pulse%20&source=web&cd=1&cad=rja&ved=0CCsQFjAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.rte.ie%2Fnews%2F2012%2F0213%2Fgarda.html&ei=0d0xUfOQKYS5hAfh4IGIAg&usg=AFQjCNFLPKuKZsSpL5EtVaHIbw31perNFg

What are the chances of these mobile vans getting access to log onto pulse?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Mobile Justice Units 2013AD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

crockholm wrote: »
    You'll just have a load af sozzled souls coming up looking for kebabs/burgers then, which might be an idea to fund the overtime

Why does a job which by it's nature is a 24/7 job get OT for night work?:confused: Shift allowances cover that.
    Are you serious?

That makes no sense whatsoever. You are suggesting the Guards from the station where out patrolling and that is why it was closed.

And what if they arrested someone? Do they just come back and sit in the stations car park until morning?

Of course not. When stations are closed it is because man power has been cut down on, the cost of running the station is considered too much.

It's not because they want the Guards that were sitting behind desks out on the beat.

They take them to a staffed station.

You've said it yourself, manpower in the Gardaí is down. So for a station to be open, and have prisoners in cells, you'd need at least 3 Gardaí there 24/7. If they close this station then at least 2 of these Gardaí can be doing something other than sitting in a station, not able to respond to incidents/calls.

Gardaí in stations are a waste of Gardaí, we can have civilians do most of the station jobs. Why do you need a fully trained Garda to stamp a form or fill in a theft report??

Gardaí should be patrolling the streets to pro actively attempt to prevent crimes, protect us from assault or enforce more than 2 of our road traffic laws.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,495 ✭✭✭apache

god sakes!

lets have all civilains run the country.
    **** like this pisses me right off. no wonder this country is in the state its in with this uneducated attitude.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭lockon...

Seems like a great idea.

We have persisted with the high number of Garda Stations in this country and it's just nuts. It's a legacy from the RIC days when the British wanted to quell the Irish. There's nearly 50 Garda Stations in Donegal!!! Gardaí behind a desk do focking nothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭Artful_Badger

cournioni wrote: »

Yep, it'll be "You're under arrest" "Take him down around town lads".

lockon... wrote: »
    Seems like a great idea.

We have persisted with the high number of Garda Stations in this country and it's just nuts. It's a legacy from the RIC days when the British wanted to quell the Irish. There's nearly 50 Garda Stations in Donegal!!! Gardaí behind a desk do focking nothing.
    no theres not 50 garda stations in donegal! the ones that are there are part time. you are trolling now. and with a name like lock on.....:rolleyes:

another example of an uneducated misinformed opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭lockon...

apache wrote: »
    no theres not 50 garda stations in donegal! the ones that are there are part time. you are trolling now. and with a name like lock on.....:rolleyes:

another example of an uneducated misinformed opinion.

There's 47. Count them yourself:

http://www.garda.ie/Stations/Default.aspx

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭E.S.T.

We have them here in the US but they are normally pretty big trucks and more common for special operations or mobile command centers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,131 ✭✭✭Azure_sky

Ppfft, good luck carrying it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Wow.

Doesn't require so much effort. I went to a police station to give a witness statement a few years back and I was left alone in a room for about 15 mins with a PC that was logged into the Pulse system.

ring them and see how many is open! they are not manned all day. you are looking at the internet and getting all your information from there?
    @ lockon.