Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Opinion on 02 Bmw 318i M Sport?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Underpowered (IMO) and has too many doors for a 3er (IMO) and no mention of test.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,688 ✭✭✭zweton

Taking too much of a risk without nct? I think this should pass nct ok what ya reckon?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭S28382

If t hasn't got a recent service history I would be wary of it as it's around the 120000 mile Mark that iv experienced a multitude of problems in 3 series bmws. With the mileage being at 140 I'd be looking for a recent service history otherwise if you buy as is there could be hole burnt in your pocket. In saying that they are a nice car I wouldnt change my Beemer for the world. Good luck with it if you get it.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Nct Up Until 04/13

Taxed Up Until 05 / 13

Am I reading the same ad?

OP you could ask the seller to put it through as it's within three months if you were interested?

S28382 wrote: »
    If t hasn't got a recent service history I would be wary of it as it's around the 120000 mile Mark that iv experienced a multitude of problems in 3 series bmws. With the mileage being at 140 I'd be looking for a recent service history otherwise if you buy as is there could be hole burnt in your pocket. In saying that they are a nice car I wouldnt change my Beemer for the world. Good luck with it if you get it.

Ya it has recent service history.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

zweton wrote: »
    Ya it has recent service history.

check the history, test drive it, and if you like it ask the seller to test it now, so you get an idea of what's wrong if it fails, and some (but not much) reassurance if it passes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭ian87

It's not an m sport. Aftermarket wheels and no m sport bumpers as far as I can see. 318i is quite underpowered. There are nicer colours and genuine m sports out there. I'd hold out for a coupe tbh..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

ian87 wrote: »
    It's not an m sport. Aftermarket wheels and no m sport bumpers as far as I can see. 318i is quite underpowered. There are nicer colours and genuine m sports out there. I'd hold out for a coupe tbh..

Not for circa €2k I'd imagine though..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

That is not a M Sport. It is a SE with aftermarket alloy wheels and I wish owners would not lie in their adverts. While owners have put aftermarket M Sport bumpers on their cars or retro fitted M Sport seats, most don't go to the lengths of replacing the standard beige headlining with the black M Sport headlining. It's a pre facelift E46 318i too which has the dog slow 1.9 litre engine. The facelifted 318i got the more powerful 2.0 litre engine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭ian87

166man wrote: »

Not for circa €2k I'd imagine though..
    There are coupes out there for 3k circa and selling at 2.5k.. Might need to be patient granted..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭S28382

Stheno wrote: »
    check the history, test drive it, and if you like it ask the seller to test it now, so you get an idea of what's wrong if it fails, and some (but not much) reassurance if it passes.

Yeah +1 on this, you definitely dont want to get a dud Beemer as they can be expensive to fix up if its a serious problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,584 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

Not an M-sport as said before - no front bumper, the headliner isn't anthracite and I'm pretty sure the M-sport came with an M-emblazoned multi-function steering wheel as standard. The M43 is a bit gutless for the car, the 02 facelift N42 engine offers more horsepower at 142bhp compared to 118bhp.

At 146k miles I'd be going over the service history with a fine tooth comb and checking for maintenance work done to the car. Stuff like a replaced thermostat/coolant expansion tank/water pump (the E46 cooling system is notoriously a bit dodgy), replaced control arm bushings and the other stuff that's meant to happen at around 100k.

Get the seller to put it through the NCT, it's €75 and if they don't want to then walk away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,208 ✭✭✭T-Maxx

Not a BMW fanboy myself, but for less than €2k (NCT'd of course) I'd say it's a grand enough yoke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭BillJ

To me it doesnt seem like great value when compared to this for example: http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4646471

^^You could expect to get the newer 2.0l 143 bhp engine, alcantara/possibly leather seats with lower mileage, MFSW etc for this kind of money, maybe 2500 if you could stretch to it.
    Been looking at 3-ers for months and bought a 318ci coupe last week, the coupes are getting a higher price, good value in the saloons.

Keep looking op, I reckon there will be better value to be had

Edit: above may not be genuine m-sport, but is higher spec than car in op

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

I have a very similar 2000 E46 M43. Only major differences is that mine has leather seats and 135k miles. No way would I expect to get €2k for mine.

On the plus side, even with the M43 engine, it's still a great car to drive. Mine is running very well.

feck, i really want an m sport now.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,943 ✭✭✭Burning Eclipse

zweton wrote: »
    feck, i really want an m sport now.:)

Ask yourself what you want it for man, and also consider how high you can go engine wise? Is a straight 6 2.5L a possibility?

I drive a 1.8L M-sport. 1.8 is the most I could afford if I'm being honest, but M-Sport meant I got nice trim and spec inside. The anthracite headliner is beautiful (imo) and I have lovely beige leather seats. At the same time, the suspension is stiffer than I'd like. If I spent all my time on good roads that would be fine, but I don't.

On the engine front, 1.8 has very little poke, I'd imagine the same could be said for the 2.0. I've heard nothing but good things about the 6-Cylinder engine however.