Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

THURSDAY 28TH FEB

• 28-02-2013 10:58am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 786 ✭✭✭

Well boo on Rossom for making me do my own work today.

15.30 @ Ludlow - Grove Pride @ 7/1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭BQQ

An interesting one today.

Greenhead High 16:50 Southwell @10/1
    {Last win was at Wolverhampton off a mark of 67. Running off 59 here and prefers the fibresand. Record of 2nd-1st-2nd under this jockey all here at Southwell. First time visor might sharpen him up and this is his time of year(all wins in Jan/Feb)}

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 786 ✭✭✭fangee

BQQ wrote: »

{Last win was at Wolverhampton off a mark of 67. Running off 59 here and prefers the fibresand. Record of 2nd-1st-2nd under this jockey all here at Southwell. First time visor might sharpen him up and this is his time of year(all wins in Jan/Feb)}

Very good spot. Enough for me to get stuck in !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

The only one that caught my eye last night. That said he was 14/1, won't be backing at 9s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Few decent races at Thurles today. Hopefully Treacle runs a nice race to put him right for the Grand National, trip is obviously way too short but the plan is meant to be 2 runs before another go at the national.

Seefood is a big price at 16/1 in the grade 2. Bright New Dawn is a worthy favourite after his last 3 runs and it will be interesting to see how good Touch The Eden is. Throw in Venture Capital, Rory O'Moore, Mala Beach, Jennies Jewel and Reine Angevine and it looks a competitive race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭superfurry1

Have not had a sniff of a winner lately feel like im in that film the cooler and im William h Macey so here are some bets to swerve today/jinx.:p
    Lucies diamond 3-1 >>>>>> 3.20 Southwell
    grams and ounces 3-1>>>>> 3.10 taunton
    ifyoudsayso 5-2 4.>>>>>> 4.00 ludlow
    touch of eden 3-1>>>>>>>> thurles 3.55

ps if the 4timer comes in im off to barbados:D

First at Ludlow, Bullet Strand available with Coral at 6/5. Third behind Far West last time, 2 1/2 lengths behind River Maguie. Surely this is max bet material

Edit gonna hold fire

First at Ludlow, Bullet Strand available with Coral at 6/5. Third behind Far West last time, 2 1/2 lengths behind River Maguie. Surely this is max bet material

Edit gonna hold fire

Who's Cross was decent for Willie Mullins now with chemical Nicky. Probably best watched. Is that what changed your mind? That Far West race was an absolute joke of a race as well.

What changed my mind is that he was probably flattered the last day and would prefer to see him over 2 and a half.

Saw that horse win in Sligo one day, wouldn't imagine he was anywhere near a stable light but the drift on the other was off putting too

Thank God I held off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Edit gonna hold fire

Evidently not. ;)

waiting on apache rising for a tiny across the card treble

fangee wrote: »
    waiting on apache rising for a tiny across the card treble

ah bollix

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭sting60

Meydan 3.55 this has to be the best bet of the year Deauville Prince 5/2.The fav Elleval is 7/4 rated 77, DP rated 105 and the third fav is rated 80 all level weights.There is something seriously wrong with that betting .Based on ratings DP should be odds on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭rossom

5.25 Thurles

The Housekeeper 12/1

Another Rules debutant for the excellent rookie trainer Harry Kelly who boasts a tremendous 7 wins and 5 places from just 21 runners in Bumpers this season and although his 6 year old mare only brings average Point form to the table she's quite nicely bred and crucially brings race fitness to the table. This daughter of Heron Island is a full sister to Charlie Longsdon's excellent Hazy Tom who was a winner of his first 4 races and wasn't beaten that far in a Grade 2 Hurdle as well. Looking specifically at The Housekeeper, she finished an average 10L beaten 5th on her first start Between The Flags at Bartlemy in May 2012 in a race that doesn't look great form and although she put in an improved performance on her only subsequent start at Nenagh last month when finishing a 3.5L beaten 3rd it still doesn't rate as good form. What I am hoping is that connections have used those Points to get her some racecourse experience and race fitness and I expect her to put in an improved showing on her first start under Rules. Given that her brother was a comfortable winner of both his Bumper starts, breeding certainly suggests that she'll have the speed necessary for this 2m contest. Her rookie trainer has proved very adept at readying his horses for their debut under Rules and there is no doubt in my mind that she'll be ready to run a big race today. With Kelly's regular Bumper jockey Pa King not racing today for whatever reason, Roger Quinlan looks an eye catching booking in his absence on what will be his first start on what will be the jockey's only ride of the day. Given the tremendous record of Harry Kelly in bumpers and this mare's likeable pedigree, I certainly think she could run a very nice race if improving on what she has done so far and hopefully she's good enough to land this race at a nice price.

5.20 Southwell Monzino 33/1 is definitely worth a small e/w bet. Fav will be very hard to beat but Monzino is massively overpriced in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,365 ✭✭✭Crash Bang Wall

Good call

Brilliant work. I also had it in a double with my selection which finished 2nd. Nearly a big pay day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Nice one on Greenhead High as well as Groove Price.
    Nice little return on them both - fair play lads!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭SRFC

Got a tip for Lady of Glencoe in the bumper at thurles 7/2

SRFC wrote: »
    Got a tip for Lady of Glencoe in the bumper at thurles 7/2

Nothing worse than backing against your rules and backing a mare :mad:

Nice call BQQ. Monzino 4th like all good e/w. The Housekeeper a little disappointing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

SRFC wrote: »

Nothing worse than backing against your rules and backing a mare :mad:

And Mullins' horse wins.
    Oh if only we knew someone that had a contact in the stable, we all could have got on.

Ugh Venture Capital had to be put down. Awful for JP, he was going to win that race as well.

Slattsy wrote: »
    And Mullins' horse wins.
    Oh if only we knew someone that had a contact in the stable, we all could have got on.

Went off 5/1 from 6/4 wouldnt say she does much at home to be going off that price in fairness but well done with your little dig you're hilarious you'll be delighted with a few likes or thanks on your post :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

Just so you dont feel left out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

So you don't feel left out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,665 ✭✭✭dirkmeister

Johner wrote: »
    Ugh Venture Capital had to be put down. Awful for JP, he was going to win that race as well.

It didn't sound good when Dessie said that the jockey had got up but Venture Capital hadn't.

VC was looking like a very likely winner too, awful pity.

Slattsy wrote: »
    So you don't feel left out.

Your one funguy, there is not mushroom around here for the likes of you.

KEMPTON 7:30 TOPOLSKI 33/1 this one seems to be over priced big time to me, it has been running in far better company and I think worth an EW punt, (I could be wrong, it has happened before),

but I will be firing a few EW on this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭cichlid child

KEMPTON 7:30 TOPOLSKI 33/1 this one seems to be over priced big time to me, it has been running in far better company and I think worth an EW punt, (I could be wrong, it has happened before),

but I will be firing a few EW on this one.

unlucky. Great run

The last @ Kempton,

HAWAIIAN FREEZE @ 10/1, I think has a big chance, but RAPID WATER is the 1 to beat @ 3/1.