Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Weird concoctions

• 26-02-2013 11:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭

That scene where they added brown sauce to the tea in Intermission got me thinking... what weird concotions or out of the ordinary concoctions are there, that actually work? And does brown sauce and tea actually work, have ya ever tried it?

I mixed orange with tea on holidays once, it was bloody horrible and my mum made me drink the whole thing irreguardless. I've mixed Bulmers with Robinson Summer Fruits, was lovely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Have you ever put a crispy pancake in a bowl of vegetable soup?

Well don't, it's fcuking rank.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

Might try that Bulmers and Robinson's one as I normally hate the taste of cider. When I was younger I used to put Hellman's mayonaise on digestive biscuits. Lovely at the time but I reckon nowadays I'd find it a bit icky...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Digestives with mayonaise, defintely interesting.

The worst thing is a soggy digestive biscuit which you have unwittingly dropped into your tea. It disintergrates into it, and it's too late to do anything about it, so you just have to put up with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Digestives with mayonaise, defintely interesting.

The worst thing is a soggy digestive biscuit which you have unwittingly dropped into your tea. It disintergrates into it, and it's too late to do anything about it, so you just have to put up with it.

Dropped in your tea...yeah right! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,139 ✭✭✭Red Crow

That scene where they added brown sauce to the tea in Intermission got me thinking... what weird concotions or out of the ordinary concoctions are there, that actually work? And does brown sauce and tea actually work, have ya ever tried it?

I mixed orange with tea on holidays once, it was bloody horrible and my mum made me drink the whole thing irreguardless.

Sounds like a class holiday!

Is your name Fr. Stone by any chance?

Dropped in your tea...yeah right! ;)

Ok fine, you got me, I masturbated over the biscuit, then dipped my balls into the tea.

Dirty bastard! I knew people did that!:pac:

Sounds like a class holiday!

Is your name Fr. Stone by any chance?

Hmmm, what's your favourite humming noise.

When I was pissed I used to go to a shop and buy slices of Denny ham and a packet of snax. Id take out a slice of ham and put a few snax on it, roll it up and eat it.

It's not bad....when you are drunk and desperate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 475 ✭✭ManMade

Game of soggy biscuit anyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,691 ✭✭✭michellie

Toast with butter red sauce and mayonaise.

Don't judge me :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭NoQuarter

I coated my cod in chopped almonds for dinner today. It wasnt bad but was a tad unusual!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭Dwork

I mix a bit of horse into my meatballs. Makes them moreish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭Gillo

Vanilla ice cream and black pepper, I was suitably impressed.

The weirdest I had was ginger nuts with cold sweet and sour sauce; firstly I was a lot younger and secondly hadn't eaten for 36 hours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,676 ✭✭✭✭herisson

Whit chocolate mousse with black pepper in it is really nice.

so are hula hoops and soup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 Talk To Frank

Buckfast & Calpol combo, for that looper with a bit of a cold..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

NoQuarter wrote: »
    I coated my cod in chopped almonds ...... a tad unusual!

I'll say ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭Gillo

Whit chocolate mousse with black pepper in it is really nice.

so are hula hoops and soup
    Similiar to what I said, thanks thought it'd sound gross, something about the kick from the pepper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭IIIAcHmEdIII

Kings chease & onion chrisps with a mars bar! Fecking lovely!

Also hula hoops chrisps with nutela is nice too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭bigbudda

McDonald's chips dipped into Mcflurry...

Also those pickled onion flavour crisps Snaps, dipped into chocolate yoghurt...nom

Not forgetting soup and mash potatoes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 lilyrose22

Brown bread and jam with cheddar cheese on top.. Unreal. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 CleanBurning

The cheapest cheese and tomato pizza you can find (tesco frozen own brand or similar), cooked and left go cold, smeared with chocolate spread.

Peanut butter and burgers.

Chips and chocolate (yorkie works best)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

I mixed orange with tea on holidays once, it was bloody horrible and my mum made me drink the whole thing irreguardless. I've mixed Bulmers with Robinson Summer Fruits, was lovely.

Stopped reading.

McDonalds fries dipped in strawberry milkshakes are nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Sirsok

I know it's weird but butter two slices of bread and get a bag of Doritos....seems simple enough Doritos sandwhich right?

Well chop up a banana and put that sonna bitch slap bang in the middle of your Doritos sandwhich

The mushy and crunchy sensation baffle your mind

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

I believe they've change the mixture of digestives recently, read something about it in the dailymail
    Gillo wrote: »
    V.............
    The weirdest I had was ginger nuts with cold sweet and sour sauce; firstly I was a lot younger and secondly hadn't eaten for 36 hours.

Ah sure we all do things when were young, have you move on to blondes or brunettes? :pac:

Mine, probably not all that weird but chickette sandwiches, nom, nom

Something disgusting I've seen other people do? Dipping their bread in their tea wtf? Bleurgh!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Adyx

Bulmers and Smirnoff Ice (or vodka) is NOT nice, neither is Pernod and Jameson or Martini Rosso and Baileys. These were all drinks that were given to me or they meddled with when I wasn't looking by the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭delw

Malibu & milk ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭gotthebug

Port and blue wkd don't knock it till you try it tastes like them small children's yogurts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭nice_very

you people are sick! thought I was bad with my cheesy beans/beany cheese

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,733 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Was on holiday in Germany and got some tea for breakfast. I added milk, and then added what I thought was sugar, though it was one solid kind of translucent lump (not a regular sugarcube).

Anyhow, the lump turned out to be a kind of lemon drop, an alternative to milk in tea. The lemon curdled the milk basically instantly and turned the whole thing into a sick thin paste.

I braved the frown of the waitress and asked for another cup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭JonEBGud

Creamcrackers, cheese and marmalade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

My friend used to drink a pint of bitter with banana milkshake, filthy bastard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭Boo2112

Know one person who makes noodle sandwiches, the more I think about it it's probably just the look that puts me off it, kinda looks like a flattened out brain.

Have another friend that eats boiled rice with loads of ketchup.

I like curry rolls, literally just curry in a roll. Or curry on anything actually!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 754 ✭✭✭Auntie Psychotic

Get some vanilla ice cream, let it go a little bit soft and then eat it by scooping it out with sweet chilli taytos.
    Unreal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 Talk To Frank

Used to wrap an orange fruit winder around a penguin bar, heavenly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

An Easi Single and strawberry jam sandwich is divine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 638 ✭✭✭flanders1979

disaronno, coke, lager.

beef and onion pastry between 2 slices of bread and butter with ketchup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,455 ✭✭✭weemcd

gotthebug wrote: »
    Port and blue wkd don't knock it till you try it tastes like them small children's yogurts

exactly what popped into my head when I saw the thread title. Truly is a great drink, I imagined it was like what a Flaming Moe would have tasted like...:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

Vodka red bull and bulmers is delish!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

I once made up Knorr Country Vegetable soup, and threw in a packet of Knorr potato mash into it.

It was absolutely savage if I'm being honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭petethebrick

Lion bar and Bag'o'Bones crisps sandwich is great...well I love it anyway

A weird one that they actually serve in restaurants is strawberries with balsamic vinegar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭gotthebug

weemcd wrote: »

exactly what popped into my head when I saw the thread title. Truly is a great drink, I imagined it was like what a Flaming Moe would have tasted like...:cool:
    Never heard of it down my way in cork but out in tipp one night and it sceemed to be everywhere

Blue WKD and Jagermiester is just about one of the nicest concoctions I've ever stumbled upon but by the hammer of Thor it will literally clean you inside out. I had about 10 of them one night during a Halloween bash in Fibbers (cheap drinks ahoy!) and didn't feel them sneaking up on me because they taste very similar to Jones Blue Soda. Anyways, I went back to a mate's gaff for a sleepover and had post-drinks pizza and whathaveyou from the takeaway.
    Woke up the next morning feeling dodgy in the sense that my head was fine but my stomach was like a tumble dryer. Went downstairs and said hello to my mate's mother who offered to make me a fruit salad for breakfast. (I was on a diet at the time).
    I took one bite out of a chunk of pineapple and suddenly it was like that one scene from Jennifer's Body. Puked up black sludge for the rest of the morning. Never again!
    Incidently, you can get the exact same taste without the dodgy side effects by subbing the blue WKD for Blue Jones Soda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭cathal_flynn

I once made tea and put captain Morgan's in it and about 10 sugars.... MOTHER OF GOD NEVER AGAIN!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 754 ✭✭✭Auntie Psychotic

Double blue after shock & red bull is awesome too. Expensive though :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

A combination of Fine Gael and Labour, it's been tried before and has never worked. Always leaves a bad taste in the mouth, a bit like Bill Clinton

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Chips and Mayo.

But depends on the chip. I dont like it too much if it's thick steakhouse chips. but is actually nice with fries or thin chips :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

Salt and vinegar crisps with slices of orange.

Orange juice, Captain Morgans and red bull. DELISH but jaysus are you ever hyper after it. It's a good get-up-and-go drink if you need some pep in the mornings.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,582 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

I've heard this story about a trader up in the Rocky Mountains who got snowed in one winter and his hut burnt down. And the only food left was beans and tomatos and that's where baked bean comes from.

hot noodle sandwiches rock as do chip butties with vinegar

and thin chips on a pizza