Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tom Darcy, AIB and the Irish media cover-up

• 25-02-2013 6:37pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭

I find it difficult to believe that this case has not been reported anywhere in the media. There are serious vested interests at play here preventing this being reported on, this is potentially explosive and could be the undoing of AIB as we know it.

A citizen, Tom Darcy, has discovered that AIB has been operating without a banking license for several years now. The gravity of the case is enormous because, if proven, every loan, mortgage, credit card or any other form of lending that AIB has engaged in is illegal, due to their lack of a banking license. Tom has now issued criminal proceedings against AIB, with the permission of the Supreme Court. This happened on the 23rd of Feburary yet not one single Irish media outlet, newspaper, radio or TV decided to report it, despite the monumental implications of the case for AIB, the government and the citizens of Ireland

http://www.facebook.com/RevolutionIreland/posts/311382892298104
    Yesterday Tom Darcy achieved all by himself what NO politician, NO regulator, No member of the Gardai would do. Tom proved to the whole world that AIB have no licence and therefore were acting completely illegally. Just like Ben Gilroy, Seamus Sherlock before him. These men are proving that one man can make a huge a difference when armed with knowledge and information. By exposing their corruption using their OWN LAWS. Listen to Tom Darcy's incredible story at this link. Folks, this simply needs to go viral. Otherwise like everything else, it will vanish into obscurity.

Radio interview with Tom here, explaining more depth
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hjkrJDkdP2s&feature=youtube_gdata_player

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,515 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

So he didnt bother to look into all this before he borrowed 17.4 million euro?
    But now they want it back suddenly he cares? Hmm yeah good luck you filthy developer i hope you get whats coming to you

• Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 28,830 Mod ✭✭✭✭oscarBravo

RATM wrote: »
    A citizen, Tom Darcy, has discovered that AIB has been operating without a banking license for several years now.
    On the contrary, Tom Darcy has claimed that AIB has been operating without a banking licence. There's a subtle - but rather significant - difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭carpejugulum

Tom has now issued criminal proceedings against AIB
    Is Tom a prosecutor?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Just listened to the interview. (Ah Jaysus, Tom, da phone is hoppin')

Clutching at straws doesn't cut it.

If, as he asserts AIB failed to update the circumstances of their banking licence, then all that potentially will happen is that the Central Bank will censure AIB. The legal standing of the loans would be unaffected.

His notion that he will nullify people's mortgages is frankly delusional.

Why would any regulator allow the bank loans to default on such a technicality?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

I don't see any Supreme Court judgement on the matter, so I'm not sure what he claims he's proven. It looks like the case has been adjourned for a week.

The earlier High Court judgement on his case is here.

There's hardly a media cover-up underway. There's thousands of cases that go through the courts with nary a mention in the press.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,336 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

VinLieger wrote: »
    So he didnt bother to look into all this before he borrowed 17.4 million euro?
    But now they want it back suddenly he cares? Hmm yeah good luck you filthy developer i hope you get whats coming to you

You gotta laugh, another developer that wants rules now and the letter of the law......... when there were no rules when the loans were dished out. I only wish I had gone and borrowed millions and called myself a millionaire, I would never have had to worry paying it back and be in NAMA now if I had blown it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,283 ✭✭✭✭Scofflaw

Mr.Micro wrote: »
    You gotta laugh, another developer that wants rules now and the letter of the law......... when there were no rules when the loans were dished out. I only wish I had gone and borrowed millions and called myself a millionaire, I would never have had to worry paying it back and be in NAMA now if I had blown it all.

To be fair, they obviously do worry about paying it back - hence attempts like this one to show that AIB was operating illegally.

cordially,
    Scofflaw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

AIB.....

You gotta Tip the hat to them in fairness.

Last year they (mistakenly) reported lots of their own customers to the IBC as missing monthly payments in loans (when it was weekly)

While they themselves were operating without a banking license.

I'm no fan of developers, but kudos to this man if he has indeed exposed a chink in their armour.

Sadly though, i can't see it working out towards ordinary peoples benefit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,684 ✭✭✭JustinDee

Damn you banks for loaning me all that money against my will etc etc . . . boo hoo . . .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,727 ✭✭✭✭Godge

I don't see any Supreme Court judgement on the matter, so I'm not sure what he claims he's proven. It looks like the case has been adjourned for a week.

The earlier High Court judgement on his case is here.

There's hardly a media cover-up underway. There's thousands of cases that go through the courts with nary a mention in the press.

He got hammered in the High Court.

I did like the judge's reference to a "series of unfortunate events", seemed tongue in cheek to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

There's a good whack of this off some of Mr Darcys assertations http://rationalwiki.org/wiki/Freeman_on_the_land#Freeman_successes

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

I find it difficult to believe that this case has not been reported anywhere in the media. There are serious vested interests at play here preventing this being reported on, this is potentially explosive and could be the undoing of AIB as we know it.
    Firstly, nothing exciting happened last week, a mundane adjournment was granted in the Supreme Court. It's on again this Friday, why don't you ring up the servile media and tell them that something spectacular is going to happen and they should get reporters down there?
    A citizen, Tom Darcy, has discovered that AIB has been operating without a banking license for several years now. The gravity of the case is enormous because, if proven, every loan, mortgage, credit card or any other form of lending that AIB has engaged in is illegal, due to their lack of a banking license.
    And one presumes other peoples savings and wages will also disappear into the same ether? Or is his argument that only bad things can be invalidated by such nefarious deeds?
    Tom has now issued criminal proceedings against AIB, with the permission of the Supreme Court. This happened on the 23rd of Feburary yet not one single Irish media outlet, newspaper, radio or TV decided to report it, despite the monumental implications of the case for AIB, the government and the citizens of Ireland
    Perhaps because such a news story would amount to a picture of Grandpa Simpson waving his fist with the headline "Old Man yells at cloud". We'll see how he gets on this Friday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭ooter

Has anyone heared how he got on today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 MsAB

A citizen, Tom Darcy, has discovered that AIB has been operating without a banking license for several years now. The gravity of the case is enormous because, if proven, every loan, mortgage, credit card or any other form of lending that AIB has engaged in is illegal, due to their lack of a banking license. Tom has now issued criminal proceedings against AIB, with the permission of the Supreme Court. This happened on the 23rd of Feburary yet not one single Irish media outlet, newspaper, radio or TV decided to report it, despite the monumental implications of the case for AIB, the government and the citizens of Ireland

http://www.facebook.com/RevolutionIreland/posts/311382892298104

Radio interview with Tom here, explaining more depth
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hjkrJDkdP2s&feature=youtube_gdata_player

Tom Darcy wouldn't know the truth if it bit him in the backside. He is a property developer in debt of €17.4m who has orders against hm from 4 different institutions

He was a taxi driver and set up a union...then all of a sudden had several homes a across Dublin.
    Bulit onto one without planning €167,000 extension with no planning at all, it was eventually knocked cos he disobeyed a court order. They issued High Court proceedings against him last year.
    He applied for planning for a €35m housing project that was refused, that's when he started on about wreckless lending.
    AIB, Clontarf Credit Union, and Irish Life and Permanent, Fingal County Council and another developer all took orders against him and the wife.
    How do you go from being a taxi driver to owning homes in Howth and Malahide and a €17.4m debt and suing the banks for givig it to you?
    This man is dangerous! He is a member of DDI there's a bigger plabn here and it's not revenge for the people!! Steer clear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,739 ✭✭✭serfboard

Man owes shed-loads of money to bank. Man can't or wont' pay it. Man goes to high court to avoid having to pay it. Man loses. Man then goes off on a Jim Corr and tries to invent some mad conspiracy thing about the bank not having a licence.

From the high court judgement:
    he says that he did not defend the proceedings because he was depressed because of a series of tragedies and disasters that befell him and his family. These were the loss of his business, the destruction of his family home by fire and a series of bereavements of family members. He does not exhibit any medical reports to back up this claim
    Neither is it a defence to say that clearance of account and refinance were conditions, without producing any documentation in support of that contention
    The series of allegations made by Mr. Darcy about regulatory non-compliance by the bank and other statutory breaches is not backed up by any specific information
    Spot the pattern yet? ;)

And finally
    Mr. Darcy has put forward an explanation for not resisting the claim in the summary summons. He says that he was deeply depressed.
    The mere fact that a person has been afflicted by unfortunate events - even a series of unfortunate events - is not sufficient to demonstrate a degree of incapacity by reason of clinical depression. I do not know if Mr. Darcy received medical treatment. Neither do I know when exactly the events that he refers to took place. It seems to me that the explanation for failing to do anything about the summary summons is in the circumstances less than sufficient.

The delay in moving to make this application is more difficult to explain. Mr. Darcy's depression cannot explain that because he was actively engaged in the special summons proceedings and filed affidavits and was represented and he availed himself of opportunities to make his case. Mrs Darcy was also involved in that process. It follows that I think that Mr. Darcy has not overcome this obstacle of explaining the delay.

Overall, it seems to me that the fundamental question here is whether there is a defence to the bank's claim. And in all the circumstances I cannot see that there is.

I refuse this application to set aside the bank's judgment on its summary summons.

That's it!
    He was refused planning for a €35m development due to the fact he was in major trouble with Fingal for building without permission that's when he morphed into Jim!
    I'm glad other people can see it, how the heck are so many buying into this!? It just shows the sad state of affairs and how desperate people are for some sort of hope

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 dublinsd

Conspiracy theory! A word invented by the controlled media to shun the distrust in government and its peripherals.
    If you have a brain, why listen to the masses? Do your own research!!! Im bored with this nearly. Its obvious to me the masses dont have a clue and people such as myself are told to shut up because people cant handle the truth.
    F the EU, banks, the education system, the church, the health system. Everything around you is fake and designed to keep you down WORLDWIDE.
    Fair play to the people of France, Spain, Greece, Iceland, Brazil,at least your putting up a fight.

dublinsd wrote: »
    Seems to me that DDI have the potential for expansion! They are one of many awakened groups that realize we the people of Ireland are being screwed to the wall.
    I hear the faint whispers of Jim Corr.A man that was also shot down and discredited by the zombie public. Whats happening here is happening all around globe. One world order, an engineered collapse and what next?I wonder? A banking unification. Problem, reaction solution.
    Our country has been assassinated and most of the people just sat by as they were more concerned about looking good down the pub yabering about their new house. I was laughed at for never buying back then. I had enough cop to realize its a scam. Does not really matter as I am being ripped off in rent anyhow and unemployed. An unemployed engineering graduate with F all chance of even getting started here after returning to education, advice given to me by state agencies.
    Think we all should say thanks to David McWilliams, the only economist who screamed at every one at the time.You were right David!
    Praise is due to every citizen who now takes action. Jesus the IRA didn't do as much damage in its history in comparison to the bankers/politicians if Eire.
    Be vigilant about people warning u away from the likes of Tom Darcy! WTF do you work for? The banks! Be frightened so called leaders! The masses are educating themselves. If Edna Kenny pretends to sniffle in disgust and sheds a tear nearly(Oscar winning)while he addresses the Madeline survivors, just imagine what kind of act he will portray in years to come for the survivors of economic treason. Have a good day people!!!

Another DDI zombie!! DDI are the most ridiculous farce of an oraginisation I've ever seen! I'vemet Ben Gilroy and he has no idea what he's doing, the man is a racist homophobe. They are filling people full of lies and manipulating misfortunante circumstances for their own gain. Raymond Whitehead was ousted from the originaland the original party collapsed as he was caught n several occasions putting hos own personal bank account number on donations links os websites and posters. They haven't even disclosured thier SIPO records, haev submitted no accounts at all. STAY AWAY FROM DDI they are not what they seems

Im not backing DDI and saying they are brill. I do think praise is due for the people that have taken action though.

"They are not what they are"
    Right and FG, FF, and L are??????? I dont think so! They all work of the same agendas under the pretense that we the public have a democratic society.

FF/FG
    Republican/ democrat
    protestant/catholic
    black/ white,
    northsiders/southsiders
    Muslim/Hindu
    Nazi Germany/ The EU!!!!!!!!!!!.......1 world order......WAR

Im not backing DDI and saying they are brill. I do think praise is due for the people that have taken action though.

"They are not what they are"
    Right and FG, FF, and L are??????? I dont think so! They all work of the same agendas under the pretense that we the public have a democratic society.

FF/FG
    Republican/ democrat
    protestant/catholic
    black/ white,
    northsiders/southsiders
    Muslim/Hindu
    Nazi Germany/ The EU!!!!!!!!!!!.......1 world order......WAR

dublinsd, I think the Conspiracy Theories forum may be a more suitable outlet for your posting. The Politics forum is not an appropriate place for this and your other posts.

Further such will be deleted and, given this warning, probably infracted, which will likely lead in turn to a ban.

moderately,
    Scofflaw

Conspiracy theorists talk with statistical and factual information to try and enlighten the public to a better understanding of how they are being controlled and micro managed.
    Conspiracy theorists look for the truth and root cause analysis of systemic failures within modern politics.

How are they not linked Mr Moderator??????

You are clearly not allowed have an opinion on this thread. There is nothing wrong with anything I have said, all true and can be checked. No idea what I;ve been givin a warning for must be a DDI thread. Following gangsters like Tom Darcy and Ben Gilroy is not the way to change, you cannot even have an opinion, it's all brainwashed bullcrap, but good luck with it!

Both of you need to read the forum charter before posting again. And perhaps both of you, while protesting I'm cracking down on you for your opinions, might pause to note that your opinions are diametrically opposed.

Commenting on moderation in thread is not allowed anywhere on boards.ie, for the simple reason that it derails threads. You would both know that if you had read the forum charter, or the more general boards posting rules.

moderately,
    Scofflaw

No sorry I tend to spend my time educating myself as to what is going on. I dont have the time to spend reading through the small print of your website.
    I do find it unusual that the moderator involve his/her thoughts on what we are discussing. Surely, your job is simply to categorize the databases of comments and NOT to have an opinion on what the websites clients are discussing.

Yes it seems you can only say so much on this website. Ah Well plenty more fish in the sea......

diametrically opposed me arse!

Cracking down on my opinions eh!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

No sorry I tend to spend my time educating myself as to what is going on. I dont have the time to spend reading through the small print of your website.
    I do find it unusual that the moderator involve his/her thoughts on what we are discussing. Surely, your job is simply to categorize the databases of comments and NOT to have an opinion on what the websites clients are discussing.

Yes it seems you can only say so much on this website. Ah Well plenty more fish in the sea......

diametrically opposed me arse!

Cracking down on my opinions eh!!

Banned for ignoring multiple mod instructions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 413 ✭✭MeteoritesEire

Scofflaw wrote: »
    To be fair, they obviously do worry about paying it back - hence attempts like this one to show that AIB was operating illegally.

cordially,
    Scofflaw

which they obviously were and hence Toms recent Supreme Court victory

certainly should raise some eyebrows that win

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,902 ✭✭✭✭28064212

which they obviously were and hence Toms recent Supreme Court victory

certainly should raise some eyebrows that win

Link?

Boardsie Enhancement Suite - a browser extension to make using Boards on desktop a better experience (includes full-width display, keyboard shortcuts, dark mode, and more). Now available through your browser's extension store.

Firefox: https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/boardsie-enhancement-suite/

Chrome/Edge/Opera: https://chromewebstore.google.com/detail/boardsie-enhancement-suit/bbgnmnfagihoohjkofdnofcfmkpdmmce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,606 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

28064212 wrote: »
    Link?

Mention in the legal forum but no details as yet on the reason for the courts ruling. Also I think the ruling was only about the main family home, not all the loans.
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=87523547&postcount=2004